Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying ammunition

• 07-04-2020 1:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7

just wondering am I allowed to travel to buy shotguns shells I need them to shoot crows on recently planted barley does this count as essential

• Registered Users Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Ring your dealer,if still open,and get them mailed to you.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Probably cheaper to herd them out the same way they came in :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Feisar

Probably cheaper to herd them out the same way they came in :)

I was gonna say slugs are hard got.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭peteshamrock

Just buy online and have them delivered. Its ridiculously easy to do. Sportsden.ie will ship next day delivery. Others are available but I have never been disappointed with the level of service from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Bagpipe

just wondering am I allowed to travel to buy shotguns shells I need them to shoot cows on recently planted barley does this count as essential

Jaysus shooting 'cows' is quite rough;). Well its protecting your livelihood so it would be considered essential i believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭eoin.d

Just buy online and have them delivered. Its ridiculously easy to do. Sportsden.ie will ship next day delivery. Others are available but I have never been disappointed with the level of service from them.

Definitely recommend sportsden i rang for cartridges for clays yesterday morning and had them at 3pm today. Same last week for game cartridges had them next day. They use DPD the only courier any good here

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Gunshop.ie and outdoorsports.ie are very good as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,451 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Even if you were to travel most shops, all in fact, are shut down. I've gotten emails from Sportsden, Outdoor sports, etc. saying that while the shop is closed their online services are still functioning, albeit at a slightly slower rate due to the current situation and the couriers.

So traveling, while not advised, may also be redundant.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Anyone know is Harbour House's gunshop still doing mail order?Or are they INOP until this is over?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Gorgeousgeorge

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Anyone know is Harbour House's gunshop still doing mail order?Or are they INOP until this is over?

Which one harbour guns or gunshop.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

eoin.d wrote: »
    Definitely recommend sportsden i rang for cartridges for clays yesterday morning and had them at 3pm today. Same last week for game cartridges had them next day. They use DPD the only courier any good here

I live about ten miles away from Sportsden and for the cost of delivery I couldn’t drive to Navan and pay for parking.

Which one harbour guns or gunshop.ie

Gunshop.ie.
    Emailed them about 10 days ago,got no response... My message could have gone to email heaven too?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Gunshop.ie. are still open for mail order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Gunshop.ie.
    Emailed them about 10 days ago,got no response... My message could have gone to email heaven too?:confused:
    Got a similar lack of response from a number of gunshops a couple of weeks ago as I am interested in buying either a semi-auto or a pump action.

Dont think they would be up to gunsales at the moment friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RandRuns

Another recommendation for Sportsden - I've ordered off them twice since the lockdown, and very happy with price and delivery time both times.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Asus1

Ive bought some stuff off outdoor sports and they were grand to deal with.They offer next day delivery with dpd for €5.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Thanks lads. Came wondering where to go. Fox taking hens in broad daylight and it looks like i have only 7s left.

Will try Sportsden