Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

The UK response to Covid-19 [MOD WARNING 1ST POST]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

meeeeh wrote: »
    He is not an architect of his own misfortune. It's just as possible more careful politicians will catch it. As I said I find the whole thing ironic but I don't think he caught it because he was particularly dismissive. Ciara Kelly had videos about hand washing, what to do and she also got it (different kind of irony).

Of course it is but going around shaking hands with patients being treated for corvid-19 mean it was an absolute cert that he was going to contract it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

timhenn wrote: »
    Grow up. This is a serious matter.

Oh, okay so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭timhenn

Aegir wrote: »
    If the cap fits.

There was no such policy, other than in the heads of boards posters.

You had to back down from that claim the other day. Sad to see you've gone back to it.

There was such a policy. It wasn't invented on boards.ie but within the uk government!

Of course it is but going around shaking hands with patients being treated for corvid-19 mean it was an absolute cert that he was going to contract it.

He's out of his depth as PM. No gravitas at a time when it's needed. Just dithering and waffle.

Oh, okay so.

It's a bad day for Boris fans. His strategy has blown up in his face. No one wishes ill on the man but the real sympathy should be held for the hundreds and possibly thousands who will die because of his actions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,337 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

In fairness to the Irish politicians, they all rowed in behind the message that this was a serious situation early on. Whether it was Mary Lou making a point of self-isolating because her kids attended the same school as a known patient or the pronouncements of any government minister or even Micheal Martin.
    They tried to stress the importance that the public needed to take it seriously. Leo made sense and was calm and stressed the importance in his speeches.

Across the water, the head fuckwit was going around telling people "Nothing to see here. Sure I'm still going around shaking hands like nothing happened. No need to modify your normal behaviour at all lads. We're British and exceptional after all. Tally-ho Brexit"

RobMc59 wrote: »
    Over 100,000 tested and more new hospitals to battle the effects of the virus-I don't particularly like Johnson but he's certainly brought the country together and is showing true leadership from the front despite having contracted the virus....respect to him.

Three posts later
    A bit of bad news brings all the trolls out-you should get back under your bridge tim.

You should have at least waited until the posts got onto the next page lad

It's a bad day for Boris fans. His strategy has blown up in his face. No one wishes ill on the man but the real sympathy should be held for the hundreds and possibly thousands who will die because of his actions!

Absolutely. I don't think it was wilful, just incompetence and he was ill-advised. Thousands will die because he left it too late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭theological

Over 100,000 tested and more new hospitals to battle the effects of the virus-I don't particularly like Johnson but he's certainly brought the country together and is showing true leadership from the front despite having contracted the virus....respect to him.

Agreed. There's a huge effort at the minute to reduce the spread. When mass testing comes onboard the invisible cases will start becoming visible and then one can act according to the data.

There's still no evidence that the UK is dealing with this in a worse way to other European countries.

A general takeaway for the whole of Europe is that people arriving from Italy should have been quarantined in the same way as those arriving on rescue flights were. But hindsight is a wonderful thing and we have to deal with it based on what is the case today.

Agreed. There's a huge effort at the minute to reduce the spread. When mass testing comes onboard the invisible cases will start becoming visible and then one can act according to the data.

There's still no evidence that the UK is dealing with this in a worse way to other European countries.

A general takeaway for the whole of Europe is that people arriving from Italy should have been quarantined in the same way as those arriving on rescue flights were. But hindsight is a wonderful thing and we have to deal with it based on what is the case today.

Other posters spent days arguing with you over on the other thread. And you were adamant that Johnson was timing things perfectly. You went very quiet (as predicted) when Johnson did a 180 degree turn in a the space of an hour or two

Are you trying to deflect to blame the Italians when the first cases in the UK were direct from China. Also, the first identified super-spreader was a Brit who spread it back to the UK (from I think, Singapore) and then on to a ski resort in Italy

Other posters spent days arguing with you over on the other thread. And you were adamant that Johnson was timing things perfectly. You went very quiet (as predicted) when Johnson did a 180 degree turn in a the space of an hour or two

Are you trying to deflect to blame the Italians when the first cases in the UK were direct from China. Also, the first identified super-spreader was a Brit who spread it back to the UK (from I think, Singapore) and then on to a ski resort in Italy

You probably need to read more carefully if you determined that I was "blaming the Italians".

I'm simply saying that the same measures that were put in place for rescue flights from Wuhan should have been put in place for all flights returning from Italy a few weeks ago.

The cases from China were actually well managed in the UK.

You probably need to read more carefully if you determined that I was "blaming the Italians".

I'm simply saying that the same measures that were put in place for rescue flights from Wuhan should have been put in place for all flights returning from Italy a few weeks ago.

The cases from China were actually well managed in the UK.

So you are rowing back now on your position that Johnson and his great advisors were being genii and doing things perfectly?

That was your position about a week ago, no?

He has an illness which has the potential to make him very ill. He also knows that he has probably endangered family and friends, not least his pregnant partner. To think that is a good thing, or deserved, is schadenfreude.

That's right. But it was the same illness that he apparently didn't mind the great unwashed having to deal with the consequences of a week or two earlier.

I don't think you quite understand what schadenfreude means.

So you are rowing back now on your position that Johnson and his great advisors were being genii and doing things perfectly?

That was your position about a week ago, no?

Every country in Europe failed to put in sufficient measures to stop it spreading from Italy. Perhaps that could be regarded as a criticism.

Beyond this point, there's no good evidence to suggest that the UK didn't act according to what was appropriate at the time in terms of the measures, and I still hold that position.

Ireland is probably 2 weeks behind UK numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

Three posts later

You should have at least waited until the posts got onto the next page lad

There's a sense of togetherness here in the UK donnie lad and people like you who seem to get pleasure from the misfortune of others are admittedly disconcerting but ultimately of no consequence,just an annoyance,like stepping in dog muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

What do you want me to do? How many examples do I need to post here before you get it into your head that testing is important.

Testing is not important if there's no coherent strategy in place to deal with the results, both positive and negative.

As Peregrinus has outlined above (matched, I think, by robinph's argument), a positive test in a sick person is of limited usefulness, because the treatment they receive will be dictated by their symptoms, not by their test result.

A negative test in a sick person is pretty irrelevant because the treatment they receive will be dictated by their symptoms (with only the slight advantage that their prognosis might be slightly better)

So what about the test results in people showing no signs? Well, if they're negative, they're negative ... at the moment. So what does that mean - that they should be sent back to work stacking supermarket shelves or sweeping the streets? That they should be re-trained to deal with old/vulnerable people? That they should be rounded up and quarantined on the Blasket Islands to be ready to repopulate the economy when this is all over? At the very least, you'll need to re-test them next week and the week after - so you'll need three times the number of tests as people you plan to sample.

And what about those testing positive with no signs? Should they be quarantined on the Blaskets instead? Or should they be put to work in the hospitals on the grounds of being already infected so they can't catch it a second time? If it's a breastfeeding mother, do you take her away from her child? If it's a child, do you take them away from their siblings? If you fall back on the simple recommendation that the infected should self-isolate, how do you supervise compliance and what do you do with people who decide not to cooperate?

The time for aggressive mass testing was weeks ago, even months ago. There's little point in doing it now - and no point in comparing who did what with who's doing what when your points of comparison are all people/countries doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

"deadly disease" haha. For boris? Mild symptoms? Have you listened to the man at all, or read any of the news of the virus? He will be graaaaaaaaand.

EDIT: And yes, i still find it a funny twist. :pac:

No, do you know what would be a really funny twist? And sooo ironic? If you or someone you love gets it or your good self and is pretty sick or maybe looking at hospitalization. Now that would be just hilarious, and I’m sure you’ll be the first to see the funny, ironic side and slap your thighs with the mirth of the whole thing....

splinter65 wrote: »
    No, do you know what would be a really funny twist? And sooo ironic? If you or someone you love gets it or your good self and is pretty sick or maybe looking at hospitalization. Now that would be just hilarious, and I’m sure you’ll be the first to see the funny, ironic side and slap your thighs with the mirth of the whole thing....

Disgusting post! Wishing ill on somebody and their family. Delete that post now and I'll delete this post quoting it.

There's a sense of togetherness here in the UK donnie lad and people like you who seem to get pleasure from the misfortune of others are admittedly disconcerting but ultimately of no consequence,just an annoyance,like stepping in dog muck.

Of course. The British togetherness.
    When you have a poor person who says that their life and job will be negatively impacted by the likes of Brexit, you don't sneer at them and call them "Remoaners".

When people (WHO, scientists and doctors in other countries) pointed out, what seems like weeks ago, that Johnson's faffing about would result in many many more dead British bodies, what did many posters on here do? Did they all say "No, one body is one body too many. We need to shut everything down and look out for each other as a country".

Did ye fuck. Plenty of ye on here talking about Johnson's perfect strategy and timing and how his experts were better than everyone else. It will affect us here too. Directly and indirectly. As well as many Irish people unfortunate enough to be over there.

So the 750-odd dead Brits are like annoying dog-shit on your shoe? Fair enough if that's what ya think. I'm off now. Need to take a break for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

But hindsight is a wonderful thing and we have to deal with it based on what is the case today.

Dealing with things based on what is the case today is already too late. Once again (and yeah, I'll keep saying it until enough people get the message) there's no need for wonderful hindsight in this situation: this situation was predicted, everything that has happened was foreseeable and foreseen. Across Europe, governments were slow to act, and Johnson was the slowest. No amount of "blitz spirit" on the part of ordinary Brits can change that. If anything, it risks aggravating the situation as people with no real understanding of disease control "do their bit" and inadvertently spread it further and wider than it otherwise might have travelled.

That's right. But it was the same illness that he apparently didn't mind the great unwashed having to deal with the consequences of a week or two earlier.

I don't think you quite understand what schadenfreude means.

I know well what it means. You might have missed the fact that I accused nobody in particular of indulging in schadenfreude. Yet here you are reacting to the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Ireland is probably 2 weeks behind UK numbers.

No we arent, we implemented our restrictions at least a week before them when they were already ahead of us at 2k cases.

We will level off the curve far sooner than they will

VinLieger wrote: »
    No we arent, we implemented our restrictions at least a week before them when they were already ahead of us at 2k cases.

UK reported cases were at the same level as Irish reported cases 10 days ago. There's at least 3 weeks go to in the UK until it peaks, and Ireland is a few weeks behind because of less exposure to China.

Both countries will get through it, but there's no evidence at this juncture to suggest that the UK is going to be substantially worse off than other European countries including Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

He'll go down in history as one of the greatest PM's. He battled the EU and won and he has battled this Chinese virus with courage (despite being hit by it himself). I can only imagine what his predecessor would have done. Can one surrender to a virus I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

What's the best measure of comparison? Deaths per million of population probably the most effective i think. Current standings:

Ireland 3.91
    UK 8.72

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

VinLieger wrote: »

The Cheltenham numbers will distort that a bit. Had the British government done the responsible thing and cancelled Cheltenham, or had the gobsh1tes here not gone, our numbers would be lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

What's the best measure of comparison? Deaths per million of population probably the most effective i think. Current standings:

Ireland 3.91
    UK 8.72
    UK DPM are currently at 11. Still one third the numbers of The Netherlands, for example (Italy and Spain being off the charts).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Disgusting post! Wishing ill on somebody and their family. Delete that post now and I'll delete this post quoting it.

If you don’t like a post you report it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

serfboard wrote: »
    UK DPM are currently at 11. Still one third the numbers of The Netherlands, for example (Italy and Spain being off the charts).

Ah right, i was looking at old data. The comparison was being made between here and the UK, using test case numbers which doesn't seem particularly useful.

The UK does not look as bad as other european countries, poor little San Marino is up over 600 dpm, but other charts so they are ahead where even italy were in deaths a couple of weeks ago so you'd have to fear that dpm number will keep rising for a while.

serfboard wrote: »

Numbers of proportions of deaths are tricky right now because we don't know how many cases are really out there. We have confirmed cases but we don't really know how many are out there because we can't test widely yet.

The mass testing will really help in terms of determining where the virus is most active and how to target measures as opposed to using only top down stay at home orders. The antibody test will be useful to confirm how many have had it historically also and to determine who has built up immunity to it.

I recommend Dr. John Campbell on YouTube for this. Pretty informative stuff.