Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Mairead McGuinness Brexit farewell.

• 30-01-2020 1:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭

Whatever our views on Brexit, I was very disappointed with Mairead McGuinness as Vice-President of the European Parliament her remarks yesterday were an absolute disgrace, ''take your flags with you'' who the hell was she trying to impress, she just couldn't leave her FG politics outside the door, with an election shortly here, she thinks there's votes in ''Brit bashing'' banging the green drum, well she has a wake up call, this election is about homes, health and pensions, playing the green card is long gone. Insulting our nearest neighbours does nothing for Anglo Irish relations and Mairead McGuinness cheap shot low life remark yesterday does nothing for that, and is an insult to demorcracy, a position of Vice-President of the European Parliament should be above making personal insults and served with dignity and respect, yesterday she let the mask slip, just couldn't help herself getting a final dig in at our nearest neighbour, she lowered the office and lowered herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,816 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I feel completely the opposite, I thought she was excellent.
    Farage and his lot an embarrassment as usual, even Diane Dodds was embarrassed

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Nigel was being nigel and she should have just let them have their little smug party, she wont be seeing them again. She made the entire EU look salty and gave nigel and his supporters a lovely video snippet to fondly remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

h.gricer wrote: »
    Whatever our views on Brexit, I was very disappointed with Mairead McGuinness as Vice-President of the European Parliament her remarks yesterday were an absolute disgrace, ''take your flags with you'' who the hell was she trying to impress, she just couldn't leave her FG politics outside the door, with an election shortly here, she thinks there's votes in ''Brit bashing'' banging the green drum, well she has a wake up call, this election is about homes, health and pensions, playing the green card is long gone. Insulting our nearest neighbours does nothing for Anglo Irish relations and Mairead McGuinness cheap shot low life remark yesterday does nothing for that, and is an insult to demorcracy, a position of Vice-President of the European Parliament should be above making personal insults and served with dignity and respect, yesterday she let the mask slip, just couldn't help herself getting a final dig in at our nearest neighbour, she lowered the office and lowered herself.

this is off the wall

how was she 'Brit bashing'?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,776 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I thought she was great, putting the eejits giving two fingers to the EU like overgrown kids firmly in their place.,

I'd say the whole parliament is heartily sick of them at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

She dealt with Farage and his cronies brilliantly. Went up hugely in my estimation.

How embarrassing were the Brexit party for the UK? Jingoistic imbeciles

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

It has nothing to do with "FG politics" and she's not up for election as she is no longer a TD.
    Ridiculous OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,384 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I think she should have held her breath and let them have their final little bitter “moment”. I’m sure it was well flagged probably for years that this would be the carry on. The important thing is he and his ilk are gone now- of course they’ll still be sniping on the outside and im sure Farage will be a regular in Brussels sticking his oar in. Like a bitter divorced ex would do

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

You're not allowed bring flags into the chamber and wave them around, it's part of the rules.

She asked them to bring the flags (that they had brought in) with them if they were leaving. Assume you're one of those people who dumps their crap everywhere and expects cleaners to pick it up after you?

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Exiled1

Wonderful riposte by Mairead McGuinness.
    Listen again to the bit about 'hate'.
    Good riddance to Farage, Widdecombe and all the other n**tters!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Baybay

As I understand it, national flags are not permitted in that arena. It was a form of disrespect for Farage & his followers to do what they did & McGuiness, in her role, would be expected to call them on it. Contrast the flag wavers behaviour with the MEPs rendition of Auld Land Syne as ways to say goodbye.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭h.gricer

Nigel was being nigel and she should have just let them have their little smug party, she wont be seeing them again. She made the entire EU look salty and gave nigel and his supporters a lovely video snippet to fondly remember.
    Absolutely agree, she should have grit her teeth, but just could help herself, the British people had their referendum, but because the result is not to the liking of Mairead McGuinness, Brit bashing and banging the green drum doesn't work anymore, the Irish people have moved on, her remarks were cringing, to say the least, she was probably chuffed, years in Brussels she out of touch.

so you've doubled down - fair play

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭h.gricer

It has nothing to do with "FG politics" and she's not up for election as she is no longer a TD.
    Ridiculous OP.
    It's everything to do with FG politics, yes she is no longer a TD, but she is very much a member of FG and a FG MEP.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,190 ✭✭✭✭elperello

He broke the rules, she just did her job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Aaaand here come the bootlickers

• Registered Users Posts: 915 ✭✭✭never_mind

Pretty sure you are making your own Brexit views quiet clear here in your ridiculous and petty post about the VP of the EP doing her f'in job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I thought she handled it perfectly. They were only cut off when they took out the flags. She was only doing her job. Any other of the VPs would have done the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭hawley

Baybay wrote: »
    As I understand it, national flags are not permitted in that arena. It was a form of disrespect for Farage & his followers to do what they did & McGuiness, in her role, would be expected to call them on it. Contrast the flag wavers behaviour with the MEPs rendition of Auld Land Syne as ways to say goodbye.

Why were the pro EU MEPs allowed wear scarves with the Union Jack on them? Is it just flags that are banned? If Nigel Farage and his group wanted to sing Rule Britannia, whilst wearing Union Jack scarves, would they have been allowed?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

The party broke the rules of the parliament and were censured as a result, as should be the case in ANY parliament. This is a non story.

pixelburp wrote: »
    The party broke the rules of the parliament and were censured as a result, as should be the case in ANY parliament. This is a non story.

not where bootlicking Brexiteers are concerned

• Registered Users Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It's a pity that she didn't have a Scottish flag to wave back at farage and tell him it won't be long until that part of the Union Jack will be flying there.

better off not descending to those levels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Hopefully this is the beginning of a trend that every time Farage steps up to a mic someone turns it off.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

I thought she was fantastic. She was just saying what we were all thinking. A good portion of the blame for Brexit lies on Farage's lap and I think Mairead handled the whole situation perfectly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭newport2

Ridiculous OP.

Agreed. And here she is calling others to order and rightfully so. Again just doing her job and doing it well.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

It's everything to do with FG politics, yes she is no longer a TD, but she is very much a member of FG and a FG MEP.

But aren't FG just a bunch of West Brits who would have Nigel Farage march a contingent of Black and Tans down O'Connell Street if they got a chance?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

years in Brussels she out of touch.

Actually, considering that her attitude is one of almost superhuman patience that has almost reached exhaustion at the childish behaviour of the UKIP/Brexit party, she is in touch with most of the world's population who, outside of the Brexiteer echo chamber, see the UK political establishment as an absolute joke!

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭brucky

Let herself down alright, like a lot of people he obviously got under her skin. She should have said "we wish you all the luck in the future and just smiled".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

brucky wrote: »
    Let herself down alright, like a lot of people he obviously got under her skin. She should have said "we wish you all the luck in the future and just smiled".

She would then be facilitating a breach of rules, so no - best not to stoop to that level.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-party-eu-parliament-farage-union-jack-flags-meps-a9308516.html

I don't think it was a big deal.
    Nigel et al waved flags as David Sassoli recently banned national flags.
    She said they weren't allowed any more.

Then she pulled the hate card of course
    She also criticised Mr Farage for invoking “hate” in his attacks on the EU