Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Other hobbies/Obsessions?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Homer wrote: »
    Does Mrs Sparrowcar know the value of all these items ;) I could drop it into conversation next time I see her :D

(I know Mr and Mrs Sparrowcar by the way :p)

Those in glass houses....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

2shea wrote: »
    Now that is seriously cool! How did you get your hands on that if you don't mind me asking Wibbs?
    Auctions, online and off can bring up some quite interesting stuff and for little money with it. That? 40 odd quid on ebay IIRC. Dunno what it would go for now. I've a few 1960's NASA bits and bobs. Saturn V launch/command module checklists, Apollo 1 plugs out checklist(that one is pretty special as it was in use on the day of the fire that killed the three astronauts), Saturn V computer chips, Apollo landmark photos for training landing approaches, that sorta thing. That stuff used to be pretty cheap. Never spent more than 60 odd quid. Has gone up since as interest has.

TBH it's surprising what you can find out there that is interesting and sometimes historically valuable and for how little money it can go for. Usually for less, even much less than manufactured memorabilia often goes for. EG here's an ebay listing for a Lego instruction manual, not even the bleedin lego kit going for more than I paid for actual manuals for actual human spaceflight that got us to the Moon. Kinda mad really.

"Value" as a concept has long fascinated me. I remember watching an Antiques roadshow many years back where someone brought in an original 15th century Albrecht Durer sketch and the oohs and ahhs that went up when a value of something like 15 grand was suggested. Yet most of the people there or watching had likely bought new Ford Escorts or whatever that cost more. The pretty cool little art collection you could accumulate for the price of an entry level Mercedes might surprise some.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Spocker

Me, I mainly collect coinage, specifically Irish decimal and Euro collector coins, along with sets of every country I've visited. These tend not to be produced very often (Ireland only releases about 3 new coins per year) so to fill the gap I collect Lego, mainly Technic and Creator sets.

https://brickset.com/sets/ownedby-Spocker

The ones I've tracked so far (there are more to be done) include 268 sets, 459 minifigs and it runs to a total of 161,494 pieces

For watches, I don't follow a specific pattern, I just buy when I see a nice watch

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

I’m pretty much the same as Sparrowcar above. Big into the outdoors. Camping, Hiking, Snowsports etc. Don’t get out much now due to family life.

I’m also friends with Mr & Mrs Sparrowcar and
    Mr & Mrs Homer. And yes... none of our wives truly know the associated costs with this silly watch obsession.

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Spocker wrote: »
    So to fill the gap I collect Lego, mainly Technic and Creator sets.

https://brickset.com/sets/ownedby-Spocker

The ones I've tracked so far (there are more to be done) include 268 sets, 459 minifigs and it runs to a total of 161,494 pieces

I had a look and your collection. One thing that interests me. Do you build and display the models when you get them, build / dismantle / put away or simply put away in storage ?

Have you a favourite piece that you have built ? Have you a grail piece that you would love to put together ?

I had a look and your collection. One thing that interests me. Do you build and display the models when you get them, build / dismantle / put away or simply put away in storage ?

Have you a favourite piece that you have built ? Have you a grail piece that you would love to put together ?

Ha, great question. I build and display, but both the 8 and 3 year olds have my full permission to use them anytime they want ("it's just Lego, we can rebuild it" is the phrase of the day). After about 6 months or so I'll dismantle and build a bunch of new ones - the rest go back in the attic.

My favourite (built) one has to the the Saturn V - it's a great set, doesn't take too long to build and has great playability in the way it separates. That said, I haven't gotten around the the Roller Coaster set, which looks great, but a bit laborious to assemble I think.

I don't really have a grail set as such, but if I ever came across either of the monorail space sets I'd definitely be prepared to drop money on them

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I never got into Lego as an adult. Mates of mine kep the faith but I reckon that was because they had kids and so had an excuse to buy the stuff. For their kids of course. :D The biggest Lego nerd I know is a mother to three kids. I'm not sure they get much of a chance to play with it. :D Though as a kid I bloody loved Lego and even back then(I was 9-10) I did decide "collect and preserve" the very first Lego Space range. Still have them. Kept them safe even when looking at lady's bottoms took over as it tends to. So the curator thing started young. Well I kept the bricks and the instructions anyway. Stuck them in the attic in bags.

Image-03-LEGO-Catalog-1979-Space-German.png

At the time I got every set above(it started as a set I got from my grandmother one Christmas(the 918 according to the above), but the big ones, the Galaxy Explorer and the Space Transporter eluded me. The Galaxy Explorer I saved up for and when I had the pocket money it couldn't be found. The Da™ got roped in and searched high and low to no avail. I remember a few years later(mid 80's) when I was doing the Leaving Cert and was in town(Dublin) and saw a Space Transporter kit in a bollexed box for a fiver and thought feck it and took it home. Didn't even build it. Stuck it in the attic. The Galaxy Explorer took longer. One Christmas in 2000 I saw one on ebay for 40 quid and again thought feck it. This time I did build it and got the rest down from the attic and built the lot. Every few years since I build the set for Christmas. Really brings back memories of my mum and dad and grandparents and childhood mates.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Let me know when you're selling @Wibbs ;) I *think* I had an 891 as a kid, but its long gone unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

Wanted to revive this Thread to hear from any new people who joined this forum since and would like to share another interest.

Always have been a huge fan of Die Hard,while on holiday in Spain in July 2010 i had it on in the apartment.Have watched it many times but for some reason this time i took interest in the radios used and wondered what model was used.Made a note to look it up when i got home.Began looking it up and was surprised to see several other posts of people who were interested and had gotten the radio and other items relating to the movie.

The one used by John McClane wasn't easy to make out what exact model

20g7AOm.jpg

The one Hans Grubber uses was clearly shown to be a Kenwood TH-21BT.

5FD2VZH.png

I started looking through Ebay on the search for one. Finally in November 2011 one came up that even included the box and accessories. Was listed US Only,messaged the seller who agreed to ship it to Ireland.

7RaPrzr.jpg
    31cJcQQ.jpg
    hlMnV5r.jpg
    2VgD4CZ.jpg

It is fully functional and had new Ni-Cd batteries fitted.It came with the original antenna but the one in the film was changed using the one from a TH-41AT might be because it was smaller and looked better on screen.Looked for the small antenna after, but decided to keep it original.

I know its a strange thing to get but what makes it special to me is it was the first time using forums discovering other people who had the same crazy obsession:D,researching and hunting Ebay which eventually led me here to Boards.

Relating to watches,John McClane wears a Tag Heuer and there was supposed to be a bigger focus on watches in the film that was cut in a deleted scene, more info here [LINK]

8OSEilf.jpg

Actual watch from movie sold for £10.000:eek: [LINK]

• Registered Users Posts: 28,041 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Just read Wibbs last post and remembered I'd this set sitting in the attic...it's new the seals have just lifted with age so I can open the box..

IMG-20200130-001652.jpg

I'm loving the walkie. :) I always wanted the one they used in the TV show The Professionals, but when I looked they were mad money. For me anyway. :)
    Relating to watches,John McClane wears a Tag Heuer and there was supposed to be a bigger focus on watches in the film that was cut in a deleted scene, more info here [LINK]
    Pity. Though I rarely notice watches in films TBH. Unless they're historical and they get them wrong. My fave flic would probably be Lawrence of Arabia, but it always grates a bit when I see his watch in the film as it's a 40's style, rather than a Great War example. I do remember the episode of Antiques Roadshow where his Omega Chronograph showed up and how little the expert valued it. Though the watch collecting hobby was much less a thing then I was pretty sure it would go for mad money. IIRC Omega bought it in the end. It was a weird mismatch. The caseback wasn't original and had been hand fitted to the case and has a British military broadarrow stamp that would have me suspicious if it came up for sale and Omega's records show it was invoiced as a pocketwatch sold in France of all places.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭FlicFlak

For me, it whiskey. I dont necessarily collect, i just buy more than i drink, so it looks like a stockpile!
    That said, i havent bought any in over a month so the stockpile has taken a hit! :)

I started looking through Ebay on the search for one. Finally in November 2011 one came up that even included the box and accessories. Was listed US Only,messaged the seller who agreed to ship it to Ireland.

Brilliant! I'm never failed to be amazed and entertained by what interests other people, and what they will do to satisfy their hobby!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,340 ✭✭✭✭banie01

For me it's Aviation and Military History with a big dollop of Comic and Superhero bits too.
    The comics cross over well with my Son's interests, he is very much a Marvel and DC fan with a grudging admiration for Alan Moore, my own interests would be 2000a.d and Marvel but a big Batman fan.

I am lucky enough to have a nice collection of 1:72 diecast aircraft built up over a long number of years, coupled with a whilst not huge...
    A fairly extensive library of aviation and military history books.

We have a big collection of comics, and some lovely signed bits framed up.
    My prize possession is my Dress 2012 helmet, that will one day be signed by Urban!

My son's is probably "our" Avi Arad signed Iron Man extremis No.1 or the Ultimate Spiderman signed set.

My long suffering wife let me build a Man-Cave a few years ago to get all the white out of the house.

A little gallery of the Cave here.
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/HsRiJinQyziS5FxL8
    Along with me being a sexy Judge :)
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/Gw8gfxtoBqeExkJt7

The cosplay is now sold on, apart from the helmet and badge but I do have a big Dredd and 2000ad comic collection.

On Die-hard, that radio is bloody brilliant!
    I do have a Die-hard Xmas tree :P
    501466.jpg
    Actually just received Al last week too.

And my favourite Xmas jumper is below too ;)
    I have lost a lot of weight since this pic was taken so I must get a new one in soon!

Outside of a brief dip into Marvel(remaindered for pennys from easons :D) never really got that into comics when I was a kid except for 2000AD. Loved that and especially Judge Dredd. Have a fair load of the early ones in the attic somewhere. Years back I also got an original artwork page from a 2000AD Dredd story. One where the future Mafia use psychic hitmen. :D Issue 30 or something. Biggest kick myself moment? Passing on a set of sketches by one Carlos Ezquerra(visual creator of Dredd*) where he was working out the look for Rogue Trooper. IIRC they were 200 quid. Wasn't a big fan of the character so didn't. DOH!

I've a few aviation bits and bobs. Stuka rear wheel, compass and altimeter, ammo crate from the Panzer knacker version, beer glass from the Graf Zeppelin, a few original photos from WW2, again mostly Stuka based, including one with a report on the back signed on the back by an Italian Stuka ace after the successful bombardment of a British convoy. That's the front of it.

501470.jpg

*who IIRC originally thought of and drew him as a Black guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭hitemfrank

Whiskey, fountain pens and straight razors.

I don't drink much, don't write much unless in work (and work notebooks **** quality paper) and now have a beard.

Something went wrong somewhere along the way.

Wibbs wrote: »

*who IIRC originally thought of and drew him as a Black guy.

He certainly did, which was an even more pointed poke in the eye to the British establishment at the time.

Jack booted faceless justice, dispensed by a Blackman.
    The political themes in Dredd are some of the best satire in the last 40yrs IMO.

As for your Stuka wheel and instruments....
    I'm not jealous ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Motorbikes, motorsport, aircraft, history, archaeology, all things Fortean, science fiction, writing.

Sorry folks - banie01 has put us all to shame, you gotta post some pictures please :)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Would love to see your 2000AD art wibbs, that's yet ANOTHER thing I collect :pac:

I'm specifically into work by the late John Hicklenton, have 8 of his Nemesis pages.

https://www.comicartfans.com/gallerypiece.asp?piece=1460709

Recently got an absolute cracker from The Two Torquemadas framed;

https://www.comicartfans.com/gallerypiece.asp?piece=1572886

Actually had this Cam Kennedy Dredd page framed along with it

https://www.comicartfans.com/gallerypiece.asp?piece=1014724

Other things I'm into, I think I've mentioned a billion times, but my Akira cel collection; (haven't updated that in an age actually)

https://akiracels.wordpress.com/

And if artwork wasn't costing me an arm and a leg, I'm also into vintage display technology, with 7 high end CRTs floating about my house, along with two original Japanese arcade machines (I've close to 100 arcade PCBs and games in the attic along with a videogame collection of about, jeez, 1000 games? hard to even know!)

So yes, I rarely have cash to actually spend on watches! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Spocker wrote: »
    Sorry folks - banie01 has put us all to shame, you gotta post some pictures please :)

Former steed...
    Ol5R1S.jpg

Current charger...
    5LwFrr.jpg

Niche topics and writing...
    9781479418787_FC__90566.1532530484.500.700.jpg?c=2

Wibbs wrote: »
    Though I rarely notice watches in films TBH
    The best watch i noticed in a film was watching The Terminal with Tom Hanks,the watch looked very familiar.Quick search found it to be an Omega Memomatic:D

ug59GtO.jpg

Might even be from his own collection as he is a fan of Omega:cool:[More Info]
    banie01 wrote: »
    And my favourite Xmas jumper is below too ;)
    That jumper is really cool:eek:,never knew they existed,must look out for one.Really like Die Hard,even brought back Twinkies from the US back before you could get them in Tesco:rolleyes:
    I am lucky enough to have a nice collection of 1:72 diecast aircraft built up over a long number of years, coupled with a whilst not huge...
    A fairly extensive library of aviation and military history books.
    The Man-Cave and the collection are really cool:) Huge fan of aviation and have a model of the Boeing 367-80 prototype which became the Boeing 707.

ezAX08k.jpg

Also lucky enough in July 2011,while on holiday in Washington D.C,went to the Air and Space Museum and Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center and touched the number 1 engine of the Boeing 367-80.During a flight demonstration to help get orders for the plane,the test pilot Tex Johnston performed a barrel roll in it.After he landed the head of Boeing was like'What the hell was that?!',he basically replied 'Just trying to sell an airplane':cool: [More on it here]

jw2vCGU.jpg

Really wanted to go on a Boeing 707,Saha Air were the last to operate them for passengers but are now retired.Highly recommend Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center to any aviation fans,really cool place.

7wl3bM1.jpg

Also big into World War 2 history,enjoy watching Mark Felton videos on youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfCKvREB11-fxyotS1ONgww/videos.Going to be travelling to Prague in March,hoping to find the spot were operation anthropoid took place against Reinhard Heydrich.

qIDylzb.jpg

http://robdavistelford.co.uk/webspace/prague/index.html

My last real obsession i had was ,being a huge Knight Rider fan i looked into getting a PMD seat and making it into an office chair:o

QWq86XH.jpg

Unfortunately they are very had to come by as they were only used on the 1982/83 Trans Am and with the rise of K.I.T.T replicas ,they go for stupid money and in very poor condition.

+1000 on Mark Felton's youtube channel.

Unfortunately they are very had to come by as they were only used on the 1982/83 Trans Am and with the rise of K.I.T.T replicas ,they go for stupid money and in very poor condition.

Some lovely bits there Irish player!
    I didn't quite make the National Air and Space museum on my honeymoon, but I did convince the Mrs that whilst we were in NY to pay a visit to the USS Intrepid.

Absolutely unbelievable trip.
    Concorde, a shuttle and an SR-71 surrounded by a slew of other legendary airframes including an F8.
    All on an Essex class carrier with a sub next door!

A future purchase of mine, when I'm kid free and bitcoin moons will be either a deactivated MB or Aces ejection seat.

So I'd bought this on a whim at the start of lockdown, found it whilst searching for some 2000ad/Judge Dredd prints (a search that was unsuccessful :( )

Got round to getting it framed and on the wall today...
    I'm finished now, unless I can find a signed Dredd bit at a reasonable price.

A signed Brian Bolland Killing Joke print, that at £27 I could not pass!
    510965.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Don't have much time for other hobbies but something I found myself enjoying is a mechanical keyboard - currently typing away on a Unicomp Model M (based on 80s IBM Model M keyboard). So much of my day is spent typing on a keyboard I thought I might as well get one that I enjoy typing on (buckling springs vs rubber domes). Have 3 mechanical keyboards so that might count as a hobby I think - and considering I've spent maybe €200 in total for 3 keyboards that would be much more than what the average person would ever spend on one I think.

I then got some customised keycaps for the keyboard...hmm maybe it is another hobby/obsession of mine (I justify it as a working tool :D ).

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭2shea

Thirdfox wrote: »
    Don't have much time for other hobbies but something I found myself enjoying is a mechanical keyboard - currently typing away on a Unicomp Model M (based on 80s IBM Model M keyboard). So much of my day is spent typing on a keyboard I thought I might as well get one that I enjoy typing on (buckling springs vs rubber domes). Have 3 mechanical keyboards so that might count as a hobby I think - and considering I've spent maybe €200 in total for 3 keyboards that would be much more than what the average person would ever spend on one I think.

I then got some customised keycaps for the keyboard...hmm maybe it is another hobby/obsession of mine (I justify it as a working tool :D ).

Wow I never knew such things existed

Thirdfox wrote: »

Wait until you buy a 3D printer and start trying, failing and trying again to print custom keys ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

2shea wrote: »
    Wow I never knew such things existed

It's a rabbit hole... if you check out some of Chyrosran22's videos on youtube you'll see the plethora of old keyboards available and reviewed (not so many modern ones but there are some too):
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCD0y51PJfvkZNe3y3FR5riw

His love of the IBM Model M (grandfather to all modern keyboard layouts) is what prompted me to get a Unicomp:
    IBM Model M: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5H58uudo1Y
    Unicomp Model M: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-A-vRZth7SI&t=7s

I think it's an easy switch from liking mechanical parts in a watch to liking mechanical/study/built to last mechanical keyboards too :D

Then you start learning the difference between laser ablated ABS, doubleshot ABS, dye-sublimated PBT...keycaps.
    Wait until you buy a 3D printer and start trying, failing and trying again to print custom keys ;)

Unicomp actually still prints custom keycaps for the Model M - I've got some cat ones for my keyboard ha.

Just on these Model Ms - these used to cost $100...back in 1980 (when a PC cost maybe $5,000 for your monochrome display, 20mhz 386 processor, 2mb ram) - so you can imagine the build quality of the materials used - these keyboards were built to last. Just like the quartz crisis - the rubber dome $10 keyboards almost killed off mechanicals until "GAMERS (tm)" got interested in the mechanical keyboards again and the market is growing again I think. Some people pay crazy amounts for custom keyboards/custom keycaps - like Tag/Longines money (but people say the same thing about watches so no finger pointing from us). They still cost around $100 nowadays so it's comparatively great value considering inflation.

And it's something that MsThirdfox can appreciate too - I've got her typing on a mechanical keyboard and going back to the standard office Dell keyboard she now definitely prefers the mechanical feel.

After the chat about pens recently might as well share some from a small collection i started mainly of cheap plastic pens with different advertising.Here is some of the more interesting ones

NJEzMFA.jpg

Some related to aviation,Spanair and Futura no longer in operation

GsytVi5.jpg

Got this pen from a trip to Áras an Uachtaráin,Mary McAleese was President

1YKUtQC.jpg

Another pen that means a lot is a Dublin Bus pen i received from my neighbor along with a bag ,shirt and tie.Was really into buses and he took me to Dublin Bus Conyngham Road.Got the full tour,showed me how to set the route number display on the front.Came home with a big smile and a load of rolls of bus tickets. Unfortunately not long after that trip he became ill and passed away. Sadly i lost the shirt and tie,but still have the bag and pen to remember that trip.

4PJedaQ.jpg

Also have this model

qJlIUYV.jpg

National Transport Museum Howth,one of my favorite places to look around,back in 2001 i was there when they had some of the vehicles out,couldn't resist jumping in the drivers seat

Ud8v6W6.jpg

Continuing on with pens,also have my Grandfathers schoolbag from when he left school back in 1955

caT4QLQ.jpg

O43C8GD.jpg

F0UPm7u.jpg

After leaving school i did the same with my schoolbag and books.

7g0g6CS.jpg