Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Champions Cup 2019/20 Round 6 - All to play for

• 12-01-2020 6:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11,119 ✭✭✭✭

Saturday

Lyon v Saints
    Benetton v Leinster

Quins v Clermont
    Ulster v Bath

Exeter v La Rochelle
    Sale v Glasgow

Sunday
    Munster v Ospreys
    Sarries v R92

Monty v Connacht
    Toulouse v Glaws

Any sort of win for Leinster means top seed

Exeter, Toulouse and Racing in 3 way fight for 2nd seed.

The runners up spots are up for grabs. Ulster should be 6th seed.

If Saints beat Lyon they are likely to be 8th seed. A lot depends on how Lyon approach the game.

Leinster could be facing Saints/Glasgow/Munster

Sarries will beat R92 IMO and finish 7th

• Registered Users Posts: 10,885 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

The IT says Munster
    need Racing 92 to beat Saracens at the weekend in order to finish as runners-up. A bonus-point win over the Ospreys at Thomond Park would move them up to 16 points overall – enough for them to qualify providing Glasgow, Northampton and Gloucester all fail to win.

I think that may be inaccurate

They need sarries to lose alright but if Sarries do lose and Munster get a BP win then they would have 16pts

I think they can afford for one of Glasgow, Northampton and Gloucester to win and then Munster would qualify along with whichever of those 3 won

Is this correct?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,119 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Riskymove wrote: »
    The IT says Munster

I think that may be inaccurate

They need sarries to lose alright but if Sarries do lose and Munster get a BP win then they would have 16pts

I think they can afford for one of Glasgow, Northampton and Gloucester to win and then Munster would qualify along with whichever of those 3 won

Is this correct?

If it's high scoring and Sarries get 4 tries BP plus a LBP they are on 16. Head to head then says Sarries. Very possible on plastic pitch.

A draw also gets Sarries 2 points.

Is it head to head record if teams are level in the same group? I think Munster have to get more points then Sarries to advance

Sarries getting the BP at TP is huge

• Registered Users Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Is Munster getting through contingent on Sarries losing at home now?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,885 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Sarries must lose or else Munster are third in pool and are out regardless of points

My point is that IT says all 3 other teams must also lose for Munster to progress but in fact it is 2 of 3

Possibly only 1 of 3 if Glasgow don't get a BP win

Not as hopeless as I first thought but still unlikely as I think Sarries will win

• Registered Users Posts: 11,119 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Riskymove wrote: »
    Sarries must lose or else Munster are third in pool and are out regardless of points

My point is that IT says all 3 other teams must also lose for Munster to progress but in fact it is 2 of 3

Possibly only 1 of 3 if Glasgow don't get a BP win

Not as hopeless as I first thought but still unlikely as I think Sarries will win

Sarries must lose and collect no more then 1 point. R92 can score for fun and also concede for fun too. So Sarries getting 2 BPs is possible

• Registered Users Posts: 11,632 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

As it stands:

Leinster finish 1st so home qf and likely home semi.

Win for Ulster guarantees them 6th.

Munster need Glasgow to not get a tbp (and have better PD) or draw or lose to have chance going into tomorrow's matches.

1) Leinster 28 (123) Q1st
    2) Racing 22 (71) Q
    3) Exeter 22 (62) Q
    4) Toulouse 22 (56) Q
    5) Clermont 20 (86) q
    6) Northampton 19 (-17)
    7) Ulster 17 (15)
    8) Saracens 14 (30)

9) Gloucester 14 (21)
    10) Glasgow 12 (-12)
    11) Munster 11 (0)

• Administrators Posts: 53,342 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Eod100 wrote: »
    As it stands:

Leinster finish 1st so home qf and likely home semi.

Win for Ulster guarantees them 6th.

Munster need Glasgow to not get a tbp (and have better PD) or draw or lose to have chance going into tomorrow's matches.

2) Racing 22 (71) Q
    3) Exeter 22 (62) Q
    4) Toulouse 22 (56) Q
    5) Clermont 20 (86) q
    6) Northampton 19 (-17)
    7) Ulster 17 (15)
    8) Saracens 14 (30)

9) Gloucester 14 (21)
    10) Glasgow 12 (-12)
    11) Munster 11 (0)

At least 6th. Could finish higher depending on Clermont result.

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BOHSBOHS

Harlequins vs clermont is live on channel4 if anyone interested :-p

awec wrote: »
    At least 6th. Could finish higher depending on Clermont result.

Yeah was just assuming Clermont and Ulster will both win but you're right

As it stands:

Leinster and Ulster can't be dislodged in 1st and 6th.

All to play for with other rankings

2) Clermont 24 (93) Q
    3) Racing 22 (71) Q
    4) Exeter 22 (62) Q
    5) Toulouse 22 (56) Q
    6) Ulster 21 (22) q
    7) Northampton 19 (-17) q
    8) Saracens 14 (30)

9) Gloucester 14 (21)
    10) Glasgow 12 (-12)
    11) Munster 11 (0)

• Subscribers Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Saints aren't there yet

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Sale putting out a weakened team, not great for Munster :/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Nakarawa is back
    & has scored a try already!

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Saints aren't there yet

Yup, only Leinster and Ulster certain of their places now. Both in bold above. Bar a Gloucester tbp win they look to be fairly nailed on for 7th or 8th though. Glasgow can only get to 17 max.

Nakawara looks in the mood!
    Bad news for Munster

Great to have in back in the top14

Nakawara looks in the mood!
    Bad news for Munster

Great to have in back in the top14

You on the beer?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

What's the point of Heineken Cup weekends if not to be on the beer?

You on the beer?

Pro 14!
    & I would give my right hand to be out on the beer!!

Pro 14!
    & I would give my right hand to be out on the beer!!

Another hour or so and I'm cutting loose :D

Great fun in the Exeter game

Hogg yellowed for deliberate knock on, and penalty try given.

Frank murphy not warming himself with the Exeter fans

What's the point of Heineken Cup weekends if not to be on the beer?

Fixed your post :P That said Dry January is no craic!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

I'm really liking the look of La Rochelle. They're really playing with some skill and intent. For a French team away in a game that isn't going to mean anything, they are putting in a performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,329 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Great fun in the Exeter game

Hogg yellowed for deliberate knock on, and penalty try given.

Frank murphy not warming himself with the Exeter fans

Right decision, in fairness.

Glasgow with 3rd try, 21-0, bar a miracle from Sale that's surely the door closed for Munster

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Sale have been brutal so far, haven't threatened Glasgow at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Not sure if the ref mic is slightly off but looks to me like Exeter scrum is driving slightly before the set call

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Sale are absolutely dense. Win a penalty in your own half from a scrum, then get it reversed by getting into handbags

Might as well be cardboard cutouts on the pitch instead of some of those players. They really look like they don't care. Thats it for Munster

• Registered Users Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭ongarite

BP for Glasgow

• Registered Users Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

If Saracens win tomorrow is it Leinster v Saracens then?

Some reward.