Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

10 Round Numbers - How many can you run in 2019?

• 03-10-2019 2:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,417 ✭✭✭✭

Went looking for this thread a while back and realised it had never been created. So, again, better late than never... copied from last year's thread.

The times are:
    400m - 1 minute
    800m- 150 seconds
    1 mile - 5 mins
    3k - 10 mins
    5k - 20 mins
    5miles - 30 mins
    10k - 40 mins
    10miles - 1 hour
    Half Marathon - 90 mins
    Marathon - 3 hours

Name|400m<60 secs|800m<150 seconds|1 mile<5 min|3k<10min|5k<20min|5mile<30min|10k<40m|10miles<1hr|Half Marathon<90mins|Marathon<3hrs
    ||||||||

PLEASE give some info on the race, how you trained, how you felt, your next target, and any other interesting bits and bobs when posting your times, so we don't end up with a boring thread of tables. Maybe this will inspire a few landmark marathons in the current season, and still plenty of time to get on the table for a few of the other distances too.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,417 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I'll start the ball rolling myself. :D

Name|400m<60 secs|800m<150 seconds|1 mile<5 min|3k<10min|5k<20min|5mile<30min|10k<40m|10miles<1hr|Half Marathon<90mins|Marathon<3hrs
    Murph_D|||||19:40|||

This will almost certainly be my only opportunity to get on the table this year - a PB during the Bob Heffernan in May. Achieved off the back of a dedicated 12 weeks of 5k training using a Matt Fitzgerald 80/20 plan (level 3, although I alternated with level 2 for a few of the harder sessions towards the end). The race itself was a dream.

Apart from that, a 2:30.62 during the first Graded Meet of the year at Morton was the nearest I got to getting an 800 round number. Close but no cigar!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

Healy1835|||||17:34|28:22|35:11||1:19:40||

.62 of a second :o Ouch Murph!

5k was the MSB 5k on St Patricks weekend, 5 Mile Raheny, 10k K Club......all in first part of the year when i was concentrating on 10k type stuff before heading into an HM training block for Limerick that ended in me DNF'ing when I shouldn't have taken to the start line due to a virus I'd picked up. HM from the race series half which I was very happy with. Hope to add a decent Marathon time to the board in 3 weeks time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Dudda

Murph_D|||||19:40|||||
    Dudda|||||17:45||39:38|||

I haven't ran many races besides a few 5k's and the one 10k. One of the 5k's was a good AC race this summer but have gone sub 20 in a lot of parkruns. The one 10k I did I should have done a lot better. I had one 5 mile early in the year that was 30:01 in March before speed training started so just missed that. Haven't done any other distances so can't fill out our more and don't intend to do any other fast runs this year beside the odd Parkrun.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

dna_leri||2:17|4:55||16:33||39:12|||

Only managed a few of these this year, most not at full throttle
    800m was indoors in March, sat on the leader's shoulder and kicked the last lap.
    The mile was on Griffith Avenue recently, should have gone few secs faster.
    There was no holding back for the 5K, on a net downhill course in Ballyshannon in May, just 4s off my 6 year old PB.
    Ran 10K yesterday, paced 8K at 4 min /km and then pushed the last 2K.
    Unlikely to get any more done this year but would like to try the 3K if possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Itziger

Murph_D wrote: »
    I'll start the ball rolling myself. :D

This will almost certainly be my only opportunity to get on the table this year - a PB during the Bob Heffernan in May. Achieved off the back of a dedicated 12 weeks of 5k training using a Matt Fitzgerald 80/20 plan (level 3, although I alternated with level 2 for a few of the harder sessions towards the end). The race itself was a dream.

Apart from that, a 2:30.62 during the first Graded Meet of the year at Morton was the nearest I got to getting an 800 round number. Close but no cigar!

So more a case of 1 Round Number then? :):)

Seriously, though; this thread should really be for people having a crack off most of the distances, if not all. Otherwise it makes little or no sense. I mean I could put in a couple of times but if I have no intention of even attempting half of them. Since the demise of the Clown himself the thread has regressed and lost its mojo. If people who are in with a chance of getting say 8 of these and may be thinking of having a crack at the last two do not post........... Anyone out there who's close this year to all of em?

Itziger wrote: »

Seriously, though; this thread should really be for people having a crack off most of the distances, if not all. Otherwise it makes little or no sense. I mean I could put in a couple of times but if I have no intention of even attempting half of them. Since the demise of the Clown himself the thread has regressed and lost its mojo. If people who are in with a chance of getting say 8 of these and may be thinking of having a crack at the last two do not post........... Anyone out there who's close this year to all of em?

Tbf even when this thread had reached it's zenith, there would have been maybe 2 or 3 posters in with any sort of shout of hitting them all. Everyone else was just seeing how many of the 10 they could knock off in a year. I don't think completing the 10 was ever really the main emphasis for most.
    I always, and still do :), looked at it as a challenge to see which ones, if any, I could hit in a year. Like a lot of posters the sub 20 5k was the first to be ticked off, and I remember being delighted to be able to post a time amongst some far quicker atheletes than myself :)
    A couple of years since my first foray into the thread, I'm happy to say that ,outside of the 400m and maybe the 3k mark, I reckon I could hit the other 8 marks. Of course I'd have to run 800m & mile races first, but with the NIA Live events that has become more of a possibility......but, like the Best of 20xx threads, there's not much posting going on :( So in conclusion, I expect to see your Valencia time popping up on this thread at the end of the year!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,417 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Itziger wrote: »

Huh?

Just stick in your times and enough of the Krusty fetish. :rolleyes: :) :pac:

There are no rules, apart from the individual times.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

66_Lad|||4:53|9:40|16:06||34:10|56:20|1:14:30|2:37:27

I missed the chance to run an 800m at the Wexford T&F evening as I was late arriving, and think I would struggle to break 60s for 400m as I have been more focussed on longer distances the past 2 years. If there is a 5 mile race on before the end of the year, I'll tick that off the list also.

1m : Timed race on the Enniscorthy Sports Hub track organised by DMP club in July, slow first 2 laps, then good battle but lost a sprint finish.

3k : Wexford T&F Day 2 - Masters 3k in July. Tired legs and solo run for last 1500m

5k : Streets of Kilkenny 5k in April. Great race and went all out from the gun.

10k : Dunshaughlin 10k in June. Stitch in last mile cost me the sub 34.

10m : Blayney Rockets 10m in July. Came third after good battle with couple local lads, lovely course and weather.

Half : Waterford Greenway Half Marathon in September. Very fast course, ended up straining my quad though.

Marathon : London Marathon in April

66_Lad wrote: »

Half : Waterford Greenway Half Marathon in September. Very fast course, ended up straining my quad though.

Saw the elevation profile of that course on Strava....looked like it was ripe for a fast run. How did you find it?

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

healy1835 wrote: »
    Saw the elevation profile of that course on Strava....looked like it was ripe for a fast run. How did you find it?

There is a little drag for first 4m or so, then really fast until near the last mile. Surface is perfect, no problem with walkers, and sheltered in parts also. Brilliant organisation by West Waterford AC, my second time running it and will be back. If you got more top runners there, it could be fastest course in Ireland.

Healy1835|||||17:34|28:22|35:11||1:19:40|2:53:55|

66_Lad|||4:53|9:40|16:06||34:10|56:20|1:14:30|2:37:27

DCM 2019 :) My last addition to the table this year I imagine....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

66_Lad|||4:53|9:40|16:06||34:10|56:20|1:14:30|2:37:27|

Dubh G|||||18:47||39:50|||

Ran 10k today for my weekly long run to see if I could do it (my normal route is usually 9 kms). Squeaked in! Just the one 5 k race this year at the Trim Braveheart run.

A sub 5 mile is my raison d'etre this year so I'm jealous of those mile entries I see.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Sacksian

66_Lad|||4:53|9:40|16:06||34:10|56:20|1:14:30|2:37:27|

Dubh G|||||18:47||39:50|||

Sacksian||2:05.9|4:48.5||16:48|27:12|||1:18:29||

This year has been a bit of a disaster for me.

Good start in Raheny - 27:12 for 5 miles (would have liked to been under 27mins but it was only my second 5 miler so I'm claiming inexperience!).

Followed by a good outing at the National Masters XC (just missed a team bronze by a couple of places I think).

Then a really flat Bohermeen HM. This was a big target race and I really thought I'd be closer to 76. Didn't look at my watch at any stage until mile 10 (the habit of track running) and then realised I was way off target. Don't think it would have made a difference. I was very fit going into it, so a bit gutted with everything about this race, especially as I'm unlikely to be going again at the half-marathon for a few years.

Solo parkrun at St. Annes in April in 16:48 to tick the 5k box - this was not an all-out effort but it was a good run, despite the wind blowing the wrong way down the avenue.

Track season never got going - I did a 1500m (4:17 - ok) and two 800ms (both really flat and slow) and then called it quits. At which point my achilles started niggling again and I started getting colds. The last 2 months have just been 20m-30m weeks. August and September had a couple of zero mile weeks.

Thankfully, club sessions on Saturday and the club long runs on Sunday in the last few months have been great to bring a bit of structure back into my weeks. XC is always a good time to enjoy races and training without worrying about times.

Indoor mile last night - solo run for the win in the old man race! Happy with the time and I'm hoping to do a lot of indoor racing over the winter to get back down to the low 2s for 800m and possibly into 4:3* for the mile.