Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cycling's popularity affecting golfing numbers?

• 02-10-2019 9:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭

MOD EDIT : MOVED THESE OT POSTS FROM HOLLYSTOWN DISCUSSION TO A NEW THREAD, I cut from this post so PhilOssophy was not the thread starter but the most convenient post to start this thread off

• Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Is this another sign that people are turning off golf as a pastime? I can see more of this unfortunately as cycling, running, etc are taking over for the time and money precious 30-50 year olds?
    Or is there just too many options in the area?

Cycling is very time and cash consuming, more so than Golf.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Cycling is way more "family friendly" than golf. You determine start time and duration/endtime immediately before setting out as it doesn't need to be booked.

Is significantly cheaper than golf, has a better image, is less frustrating and healthier. These are significant variables that all work in the favour of 30-50 age range of which I'm smack bang in the middle of. Not to mention cycling doesn't take away the car for 5-6 hours during the prime of the day. I prefer golf, but life gets easier when I switch out the clubs for the bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

How? I bought a bike on the bike to work scheme, 500 quid net. Cheaper than my golf clubs!

The roads are free. I can start at the crack of dawn and be back by 9-10 o'clock, having stopped for coffee, after socialising on a bike and getting great exercise.

And I don't have an annual fee.

I don't see how golf is cheaper?

Don't get me wrong, I lament the decline in golf's popularity. But I think the time poor are finding other ways to amuse themselves!

How? I bought a bike on the bike to work scheme, 500 quid net. Cheaper than my golf clubs!

The roads are free. I can start at the crack of dawn and be back by 9-10 o'clock, having stopped for coffee, after socialising on a bike and getting great exercise.

And I don't have an annual fee.

I don't see how golf is cheaper?

Don't get me wrong, I lament the decline in golf's popularity. But I think the time poor are finding other ways to amuse themselves!

I can get a set of clubs for €50 and go play around a field.

Fact is, if you're serious about either sport then cycling is far more expensive. You wouldn't see 5k on a decent bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,820 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I can get a set of clubs for €50 and go play around a field.

Fact is, if you're serious about either sport then cycling is far more expensive. You wouldn't see 5k on a decent bike.

that is just daft.
    play golf in a field..... daft, that is not golf and basically nobody does it.

i can get a bike for 20 bucks and cycle around the same field

as for expense, if you are serious about golf a half decent set of clubs, drivers bags, buggy etc will have you close to the 5k mark. now a half decent club you will be looking at another 1500 per year.

5k on a bike, yes that is a serious bike and you can spend a hell of a lot more. but way more than the average joe would be spending.

so if your 5k bike is more than the average, maybe you should compare that with a golf course that is more than average. tip along to the kclub and tell me cycling is more expensive than golf

Seve OB wrote: »
    that is just daft.
    play golf in a field..... daft, that is not golf and basically nobody does it.

i can get a bike for 20 bucks and cycle around the same field

as for expense, if you are serious about golf a half decent set of clubs, drivers bags, buggy etc will have you close to the 5k mark. now a half decent club you will be looking at another 1500 per year.

5k on a bike, yes that is a serious bike and you can spend a hell of a lot more. but way more than the average joe would be spending.

so if your 5k bike is more than the average, maybe you should compare that with a golf course that is more than average. tip along to the kclub and tell me cycling is more expensive than golf

That's where I started golfing lol.

I was using that as a counter arguement to his €50 bike and stating cycling was cheaper than golf, I disagree.. Nobody who gets into cycling uses a bike worth €50.

My point is if you get into either sport seriously, cycling is more expensive. With a quick google search there's bikes for over 10k. Cheaper than golf me bollix.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭Ah_go_on

I was using that as a counter arguement to his €50 bike and stating cycling was cheaper than golf, I disagree.. Nobody who gets into cycling uses a bike worth €50.

My point is if you get into either sport seriously, cycling is more expensive. With a quick google search there's bikes for over 10k. Cheaper than golf me bollix.

I’m new to golf and was/am a serious cyclist. I can confirm that golf is much much cheaper in comparison. For what I’ve spent to get very well kitted out in golf is a fraction of what it would cost as a biker for similarly spec (mid range) equipment. Doesn’t break as regularly either :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,430 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Ah_go_on wrote: »
    I’m new to golf and was/am a serious cyclist. I can confirm that golf is much much cheaper in comparison. For what I’ve spent to get very well kitted out in golf is a fraction of what it would cost as a biker for similarly spec (mid range) equipment. Doesn’t break as regularly either :)

I would have said that once off equipment expense is comparable, but ongoing costs are surely cheaper for cycling?

If you join a club you'll likely be spending 1000+ a year (or potentially a lot more). If you don't join a club, you're probably spending around €30 every time you play. Once you have the gear, other than some ongoing maintenance, it doesn't actually cost you anything to go cycling

Can you please point out where I said about €50 bike? I never said anything of the sort.....

I would have said that once off equipment expense is comparable, but ongoing costs are surely cheaper for cycling?

If you join a club you'll likely be spending 1000+ a year (or potentially a lot more). If you don't join a club, you're probably spending around €30 every time you play. Once you have the gear, other than some ongoing maintenance, it doesn't actually cost you anything to go cycling

That was exactly my point. I absolutely love playing golf but am time poor and have enough other bills at the moment.

Yes that one-off cost with cycling is considerable (although I got a good enough bike for €1k on the BTW scheme, which is comparable to a fairly decent set of clubs), but there isn't a 1k a year membership and 4-5 euro every time you play, and then there's the family needs (kids play sport etc on Saturdays so its easy to be back from a cycle for 10am).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,846 ✭✭✭Russman

You would think that, but you'd be amazed, its the weirdest thing, no sooner has a cyclist bought an expensive bike, than he's looking to upgrade parts, often at great expense. Some parts of a high end groupset would cost you the price of a decent set of irons.

But anyway, in many ways cycling is the new golf and its sad to see golf clubs closing, albeit there are still probably 10 too many in Dublin.

Russman wrote: »
    You would think that, but you'd be amazed, its the weirdest thing, no sooner has a cyclist bought an expensive bike, than he's looking to upgrade parts, often at great expense. Some parts of a high end groupset would cost you the price of a decent set of irons.

But anyway, in many ways cycling is the new golf and its sad to see golf clubs closing, albeit there are still probably 10 too many in Dublin.

But they don't have to. A bit like golf, you can spend as much as you want on it really. But you can stick to the middle of the road stuff (excuse the pun) if you want as well.
    But you can still spend €500 on a bike, and only have to spend some money on some basic maintenance.

Mods - that's a bad choice of name to discuss why a golf club might be closing down! I didn't start this thread at all as it looks above.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Feel free to suggest a new thread title and I can amend, I will also amend the first post

How's about "Cycling's popularity affecting golfing numbers"? or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,650 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

I don't see how cycling can be seen as any sort of substitute for golf.

Totally different games.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I don't see how cycling can be seen as any sort of substitute for golf.

Totally different games.

Mods need to edit the original post. I read somewhere that cycling and running's popularity is having a massive impact on golf clubs and numbers joining golf clubs. This thread morphed out of the discussion of Hollystown closing.

The point of the article was, that people can get 2-3 hrs exercise, socially, for 500 quid of an initial cost and no on-going.

I added it as a discussion point, rather than 1 I have feel strongly about!!! I really don't care!

You can't golf weekly without

- taking the car from the family,
    - long periods of absence,
    - purchase of driver,
    - fairway woods,
    - set of irons,
    - wedges,
    - putter,
    - fitting of clubs (some would say requirement),
    - cart,
    - rain gear,
    - shoes,
    - brolly,
    - golf glove,
    - Lessons (some would say requirement),
    - golf balls,
    - annual membership costs,
    - competition entry,
    - frustration.

I'd argue the first two are the hardest for a family.

With cycling you can buy a very high end carbon fibre bike for <1k (I've done this twice).
    You need cleats, a few sets of cycle gear if you cycle regularly, helmet gloves. Bike maintenance is not a significant expense.
    Event days have a cost of €50ish, and generally require travel, but are the exception rather than the norm.

Regarding top of the range in cycling, yes, it's possible to get a bike for €15k but just as is also possible to be spending in excess of $250k annually on golf gear (bob parsons pre-pxg). Neither of these are an entry requirement for either sport.

Biking is generally considered more social & healthier. We are in a great country for golf, but we are also in a great country for cycling. The dublin/wicklow mountains are stunning and have been the training ground for Stephen Roche, Shay Elliott, Nicolas Roche and others.

There's good reason why the 30-50 age group are taking up cycling.

It's the 0-20 year old age group that going to be the bigger problem moving forwards though! These guys are completely different animals to us. (The idea of not being on snapchat for 5hours at a time will be a shocker!)

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

Genuinely don’t understand cyclings popularity ,Tried it a bit , found it insanely boring and lost so much weight that I looked ill.
    Also while golf not renowned for its fashion sense there’s nothing that makes you look like more of a gimp than cycling gear

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭blue note

I don't see what relevance the top of the range stuff is. If you want to spend money on a hobby someone will take it. But I imagine someone with a serious interest in either sport would generally be spending a couple of hundred quid either side of a grand on equipment. The fact that some lads will spend 20 grand on a bike doesn't really matter.

Golf has more unavoidable costs than cycling for sure. If you're serious about it you'll have to pay a membership. This will be a minimum of about 700 per year. But I imagine most serious cyclists will want to do a few weekends away and the like.

I don't think cycling is taking people away from golf really. Golf takes up too much time for men with families now. When I was a child my father used to play every Sunday, have a pint after, go home for dinner and then have a nap on the couch. This would have been fairly typical for men of that time. Meanwhile my mother would cook the Sunday roast while minding 4 kids (6 in summer). Good luck getting the wife to agree to that weekly Sunday these days! Golf just doesn't suit most people's lives now. They need something else to do and cycling is a nice pastime. But I'm not convinced they'd be playing much golf if they weren't cycling.

There is also the health benefit of cycling though. Cycling provides exercise for you. If golf is your sport you really should be doing some exercise as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,430 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

For me, I just find cycling boring. Have done a few greenways & there are some nice views, but you don't need to cycle to get some of those views. I'd rather take in the views in Killarney walking the golf course than cycling through the hills.

Yes there is a social element & a competitive element, but that's there in golf for me, but with a different & more interesting challenge. For me cycling is just a challenge in terms of fitness & stamina

The cost of golf doesn't break the bank for me, I don't have kids, and have no plans to ever do so, so it's a no-brainer from my perspective

LastLagoon wrote: »
    there’s nothing that makes you look like more of a gimp than cycling gear

What do you mean?
    232.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

LastLagoon wrote: »
    there’s nothing that makes you look like more of a gimp than cycling gear

Take that back! I look great in my cycling gear:

e54f7261010bb388879bcd06145a0d37.png

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Mr Mister

I do think there is a significant cross-over of males who have moved from golf into cycling (and maybe a lesser extent running). Having lived in Australia, there was a huge cohort of corporate males who have migrated from the golf course to the roads and the same is happening (has happened) in Ireland. While they are chalk and cheese in terms of the type of activity – a lot of males need a sporting social activity in their lives and both golf and cycling are vying for their precious time and money.

With regards to the cost of each – as mentioned, they can each be relatively affordable to downright obscene, depending on how much money you are willing to spend. It’s the same with any walk of life – restaurants, holidays, cars etc. Some people go to Spain on a holiday and spend a couple of grand, others go to Dubai and spend a fortune.

I’m actually on of the few moving from running into golf – it’s definitely a harder sell at home in terms of cost and time commitment!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,713 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

I know in my dad's day, most of the men in his office would have been golfers. In my office there are a good few cyclists but I can think of only one regular golfer.

I think a lot of people consider golf expensive and time consuming, even if that's not 100% true. Also the Bike2Work scheme has resulted in a lot of people buying road bikes who have subsequently gone on to get into the sport. You can spend 5K on a bike if you want but you can get a perfectly serviceable road bike for 1K on the B2W, which will only cost you €500 after tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭Ah_go_on

Majority of cyclists won’t just have a single bike - road bike, mountain bike, cross bike, winter hack etc. Add licence fees, race entries, gear, various helmets gloves glasses, roof rack, van, shoes, parts upgrades, servicing, turbo trainer: you can see where this ends up 😮 I know mountain bikers who have 3 different types of mountain bikes alone! Makes those fancy Pings seem cheap now doesn’t it haha

• Registered Users Posts: 14,713 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Majority of cyclists won’t just have a single bike - road bike, mountain bike, cross bike, winter hack etc. Add licence fees, race entries, gear, various helmets gloves glasses, roof rack, van, shoes, parts upgrades, servicing, turbo trainer: you can see where this ends up &#55357;&#56878; I know mountain bikers who have 3 different types of mountain bikes alone! Makes those fancy Pings seem cheap now doesn’t it haha

that may be true but they mostly started with one B2W-funded bike, which probably cost them ~€40 a month to buy. Golf's problem is attracting people in the first place when it's no longer the default sport for 30+ men.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭AlanG

I tried getting into golf in my 30s and there were 2 major problems. Firstly as we are a 1 car household my wife and kids had no car each time I played golf, as the kids got into more activities it was a non runner. This made it difficult to play regular enough to become a reasonable golfer, thus leading to the second problem, its very intimidating being a learner golfer. There are very few sports where poor players play alongside very good players. I can see how this has a lot of positives it is still pretty intimidating to be a beginner in front of, or being put into a group of regular players. With cycling there are a lot more avenues for beginners.
    I don't think money is an issue for golfers but time certainly is.

I'm sure I'll get a smack the next time he sees me but the question has to be asked!!! Is that Macker or just his doppleganger :D
    ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Take that back! I look great in my cycling gear:

e54f7261010bb388879bcd06145a0d37.png

Majority of cyclists won’t just have a single bike - road bike, mountain bike, cross bike, winter hack etc. Add licence fees, race entries, gear, various helmets gloves glasses, roof rack, van, shoes, parts upgrades, servicing, turbo trainer: you can see where this ends up &#55357;&#56878; I know mountain bikers who have 3 different types of mountain bikes alone! Makes those fancy Pings seem cheap now doesn’t it haha

I'm not going to argue with you but that doesn't mean cycling is more expensive than golf.

So lets flip it. Majority of golfers will have multiple sets of clubs, balls get lost regularily are €50 a dozen, need a bigger car for the clubs to fit in and not just a roof rack for them to hang off, new clubs every year when the new Taylor Made M7 comes out at nearly a grand for driver and fairway woods. Membership fees, GUI Fees, insurance, competition fees, gloves, tees, towels, rain gear, golf shoes, lessons, range credits, new golf bags, travel bags, annual golf trip (maybe a few of them) green fees to play other courses, you too can see where this ends up! makes your fancy carbon frame seem cheap now doesn't it haha