Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Warrior - US Pace - Cinemax (**Spoilers**)

• 23-08-2018 3:25pm
    Registered Users Posts: 60,274 ✭✭✭✭

From the guys who made Banshee.

Warrior is an American action television series created by Jonathan Tropper and Justin Lin set to air on Cinemax beginning in 2018 or early 2019. It is based on an original idea by Bruce Lee

Set at the times of the Tong Wars in the late 1800s in San Francisco, the series follows a martial arts prodigy originating in China who moves to San Francisco and ends up becoming a hatchet man for the most powerful tong in Chinatown.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭Unearthly

"From the guys who made Banshee"

I'm in

• Registered Users Posts: 28,786 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Unearthly wrote: »
    "From the guys who made Banshee"

Expect brutal violence, unnecessary profanity and copious nudity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Heckler

As Unearthly said.

Banshee was one of the most entertaining, kick ass, ridiculous shows I'd seen in years and I loved every minute of it. And while I'd love more it didn't outstay its welcome.

I'd have faith in this.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,786 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Exactly. Banshee, Martial Arts, Bruce Lee, Cinemax, Hoon Lee(Job from Banshee)

• Registered Users Posts: 55,446 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

This was great. Not sure the story makes a whole lot of sense yet - there are a lot of characters. But I'm enjoying it.

If there was one negative, I think the music doesn't suit the show 100% (in the fight scenes anyway).
    The way they got around the subtitles was very clever.

Loved the intro too. I never got tired of Banshee's intro and I think this one was just as good.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

ah crap, careful googling any laws they mention. gives an idea of what might happen if this goes on for a few seasons.

2: looks like this will develop into a city-wide story but that makes sense knowing banshee

3: F***ing hell, for a second I thought he was gonna
    burn the whole family!

Very enjoyable so far but it's not doing good in the ratings. Banshee used to average between 0.4 to 0.6, while this is just doing over 0.1. Quarry which was a great show on cinemax had similar ratings as Warrior and was cancelled after 1 season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I was thinking the same. The ratings are terrible but apparently it's already been renewed for a second season.

At least Quarry works fine as a once off, was a shame it was cancelled but it's still worth watching and there aren't loose ends really. Nothing worse than a cancelled show that ends with cliff hangers and/or no resolution to the story.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,909 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I'm enjoying it so far, I was a big fan of Banshee. Hopefully the ratings pic up, as it definitely has potential

• Registered Users Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

good show, surprised to see that most of the "irish" are actually british actors

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

Only watched the trailer. Have no watched Banshee. Am hoping for something 'Gangs of New York'-esque. Will I be disappointed?

• Registered Users Posts: 60,274 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

A great episode this week.

China meets Deadwood.

Just read it was inspired by the Hateful Eight.

That was freakin cool!

Can't say I remember a western being done like that before
    AND
    it felt like proper western!

Hateful Eight inspiration sounds about right!

That scene where he
    rips out yer mans throat!

6: That was gruesome!

7: Well.. next up:
    Bloodbath!

8: Right! I get the feeling the next episode is gonna be one episode lenght fight! Something like a cross between the lenght of one of Rockies fights crossed with van Dammes AWOL (which upon googling I learned is somehow mainstream know as .. Lionheart? wtf)

9: Next one is the finale!

Honestly thought
    Ah Sahm had it after he hit yer man in the chest. Looked like he broke through the ribs into something vital. So he's outta the business now from the looks of it. Unless.. is the long term plan for him to team-up with Ah Toy?

Not sure what the story with the
    cop is. Just cos he was askin questions? Feels like that'll bring unwanted attention.

What a beat down
    at the start all the same!

• Registered Users Posts: 60,274 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Really enjoyed the season and hopefully it gets renewed.

Already renewed for a S2.

I'm going to catch up on it when it comes to Sky at end of the month

Finished!

10: Awe Yis! :D

Honestly don't know how they got me to that point.. but they did. Fair play.

I was wondering who yer man
    who died was
    cos he seemed familiar but when I looked him up, this was the only part that jumped out as to where I might be remembering him from:

Gonna be a fair few fights to come.. but if it doesn't get renewed.. you know.. that ending kinda works better than most cancelled shows.

At the end, did
    Ah Toy and Ah Sahm seem familiar? Like Ah Sahm seemed a bit Keanu Reeves .. ish.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,753 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

could he not set up his own tong?

Just watched the first episode on Sky! Love it,echoes of Banshee there! Gotta love it,violence and porn!

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Just watched the first episode on Sky! Love it,echoes of Banshee there! Gotta love it,violence and porn!

The one episode to definitely not miss is episode 5!

• Registered Users Posts: 84,842 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

zorro2566 wrote: »

When did it start on Sky?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Slydice wrote: »

the one that's basically Assault on Precinct 13? brilliant episode

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Skerries wrote: »
    good show, surprised to see that most of the "irish" are actually british actors
    definitely. sure your man the main lad is japanese playing a chinese

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

Slydice wrote: »

Cool. Will be watching that tomorrow.
    TBH, it started off a bit corny to me, without anything much new in it (switching from Chinese to English is clever though), but it's really grown on me. I noticed though the fighting (the Jeet Kune Do) was good at the start, but started taking place progressively more in the dark- I literally couldn't see what what was happening.
    It's like long form 'Gangs of New York', except where the Irish were against African-Americans taking jobs after the civil war in that, it's the Chinese fleeing their home country in this. Always good to have a historical backdrop to the politics as well as the punch-ups!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭cdgalwegian

A very enjoyable series, even with some dodgy accents and acting, and a lot of fight scenes occurring in dimly lit/dark backgrounds.
    It is more than just a kung-fu-based series though. There's plenty of intrigue/double-crossing, and cultural/historical angles for the story-lines to zip along; so looking forward to season 2.