Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ghost Recon Breakpoint (wildlands 2)

• 09-05-2019 7:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

About 3 minutes in I paused it and started looking for ways to buy it now.

More of the same with more, really liked the 1st one in Coop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

dreamers75 wrote: »

Wow that is extremely underwhelming....what exactly has changed from wildands because that looks 100% identical with some new interiors????

• Registered Users Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Wow that is extremely underwhelming....what exactly has changed from wildands because that looks 100% identical with some new interiors????

Sounds okay to me loved the first one.

I enjoyed the first one too but do I want to play the exact same thing again? Nope

Bring back Splinter cell and park Ghost Recon for a few years, it’s exhausted now

• Registered Users Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

We have to crash more helo's :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I enjoyed the first one too but do I want to play the exact same thing again? Nope

I do and expect many others do too.

The new features are really needed, body hiding being the most important. Hopefully the bipods in the game work.

Few features taken from others games Tomb Raiders Camp Fires, Division Cover lock. But most importantly shoot someone in the head and they dead is still there.
    We have to crash more helo's :D

Finishing one of the other idiotslads games the last week and he literally does not comprehend stealth, everything ends in a firefight....everything. Driving from A to B....firefight. Checking the map....firefight. Collecting a weapon....firefight.

Excellent game but really needs to be played in Coop to appreciate its awesomeness and downright stupidity.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,681 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

So GR Wildlands , that game that i regretted buying after a few hours playing.
    It was just a generic point and click with no challenge at max difficulty because enemies were lit up like christmas trees.
    It really felt like a hold you hand dumbed down console snoozefest until i turned off the hud,the map,the spotting and all of a sudden we had the best tactical game in many years in an a huge open world.
    I spend hundreds of hours playing like this and i firmly believe its the only way to play unless you want a generic no skill run and gun shooter that feels like you playing whack a mole.

Checkout this gameplay for an example.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Ha ha,thread about wildlands?

Only a matter of time till cully came in and start talking about the HUD being turned off,we get it,your hardcore to the max:P

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,073 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Any chance of a BR mode I wonder. Was never arsed with the co-op but really liked the PvP they added.

EoinHef wrote: »

Only a matter of time till cully came in and start talking about the HUD being turned off,we get it,your hardcore to the max:P

Well its **** otherwise as per the reviews, shame to see anyone miss out.
    You must be afraid to play like that no? :P

Dcully wrote: »
    Well its **** otherwise as per the reviews, shame to see anyone miss out.
    You must be afraid to play like that no :P

Ha ha,thats it ye:D

I wasnt a huge fan of the original,it was definitely fun in coop but i felt the objectives were a bit repetitive. Might go back and give it another go at some point before this comes out.

I admit i do go on about it a bit though lol :o

tbh was waiting :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭Polar101

I really enjoyed the campaign in Wildlands, the open world was absolutely amazing. I did make the mistake of playing it on 'normal' setting, but it was still fun in co-op even if it was fairly repetitive. After finishing the campaign I stopped playing, didn't have interest in pvp or the (whatever the prestige point mode was called).

So if this not a reskin like Farcry New Dawn, then I'm very excited.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,435 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I remember playing the beta for Wildlands and thought it had some cool mechanics, I don't play many tactical shooters but this new one looks really interesting. Is Wildlands payable solo? Scheduling to be online at certain times is impossible for me and I don't fancy teaming up with randomers. I see it's currently 15 euro on PSN so wondering if worth a go.

Fwiw, Cully that no hud, no map gameplay looks class and has me interested in buying it just to try that.

tbh was waiting :D

Never again i promise lads.

lol you are kind spot on tho. For a challenging tactical shooter you have to turn off all the HUD stuff.

But for utter stupidity and craic leave it on and play with idiots.

"someone" tried to land a chopper on the Predator this week. In their brain they actually thought it would work.

it didnt.
    Zero-Cool wrote: »
    I remember playing the beta for Wildlands and thought it had some cool mechanics, I don't play many tactical shooters but this new one looks really interesting. Is Wildlands payable solo? Scheduling to be online at certain times is impossible for me and I don't fancy teaming up with randomers. I see it's currently 15 euro on PSN so wondering if worth a go.

Fwiw, Cully that no hud, no map gameplay looks class and has me interested in buying it just to try that.

Yeah its fine for SP and playing coop doenst affect anyones game progress.

as above turn off everything and this gets very very hard, I think playing SP in ghost mode with hud off would be extremely difficult.

I admit i do go on about it a bit though lol :o

Was just a friendly jest:P

Didnt even know you could turn off the hud till you posted it about the original!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

I saw the reveal for it and whilst I'm mostly onboard, I'm a little bit apprehensive about having fiddly little flying things zipping around that I have to shoot in the form of the swarms of drones. A very minor bugbear I concede and it won't stop me keeping a close eye on how this looks closer to release. The best fun I had with Wildlands was crashing helicopters into things with the lads here on Boards and I think I might just have to reinstall it cause I'm not sure if I ever finished off the campaign.

Was just a friendly jest:P

Didnt even know you could turn off the hud till you posted it about the original!

Ah i know lol but i have gone on about it a bit too often , does transform the game though :)

So, fun fact, I just reinstalled Wildlands and got notice that there was a side mission awaiting me and without spoiling anything, it seems to be feeding into the story for the new game. I really like that they've done that and that they're tying both games together like that with a content update :)

A few "new" missions added, Rainbow 6 Siege crossover, Splinter Cell, Future Soldier, Predator and the last one with Jon Berental.

Forgot I had the season pass, just finished fallen ghosts, didnt like the Narco wars one at the time. Too much driving in a game with ****ty driving controls.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭Polar101

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Is Wildlands payable solo? Scheduling to be online at certain times is impossible for me and I don't fancy teaming up with randomers. I see it's currently 15 euro on PSN so wondering if worth a go.

It's fine solo, the other teammates will be AI so you still have your 'squad'. The enemies don't seem to detect the AI teammates, so stealthy stuff works too. But they're only good for reviving you and doing the 'sync' shot, you will be doing all the work.

Yea, the AI soldiers are a bit pants. If you get into an open firefight, they don't do much to help beyond reviving, but if you use the order wheel, they can sometimes be a bit more responsive. It's worth remembering that order wheel too for calling in Rebel assistance - I used to forget all about it, but now I'll use it to spot all enemies in an area and to mortar something I'm about to attack and so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭penev10

Is this like metal gear solid 5? As in you can approach missions in a manner of your choosing. Really miss mgs5

I have spare invites for the technical test this weekend if anyone wants one.

add me on uplay, have to send it via that.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 8,864 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

• Registered Users Posts: 7,577 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Beta starting September 5th.

Beta online test this weekend, I have spare invites*

Check your email if you were on the last one.

You can invite up to 3 friends for the Online Technical Test. Once the invite is sent, your friend(s) will need to login on this page to accept the invitation. Please note, the OTT is not available outside North America and Western Europe. Please also note that you won't be able to invite friends who have already participated in the first Online Technical Test.