Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you don't see in GAA anymore

• 25-03-2019 4:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Following a nostalgic conversation with a few mates over the weekend, what are things you don't see or rarely see in the modern games of hurling/football anymore

- Fog-horns/flags at matches
    - "AN other" on the match programme
    - The good old traditional tough ball winning full back in football. Packed defences have completely changed the position
    - The third midfielder. While still in operation it was all the rage for a while, in the days before short kickouts, when teams wanted to pack the middle with ball winners for kickouts.
    - There was much less accessibility to players. Nowadays people can nearly track their every move on social media.
    - Fans getting jerseys signed - mainly selfies now

• Registered Users Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭shmeee

- "Tubs of ices now folks" for sale on the terraces!
    - Running for a broken hurley to take off the grip and bring it home in the pocket.
    - "sure he's only going sitting on my lap, be grand" to the man on the stile with the younglad by your side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I remember a lot of the lads on the turnstiles in Cusack Park operating on a "one for them, one for me" basis. The place could be packed but the news reports would have it half full

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Guys jumping 40ft in the air to catch a ball...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Non-neutral umpires
    Lads being called “sissies” because they wore a helmet
    Fewer travellers seem to play hurling now

• Registered Users Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Also, lads getting togged out in the front seat of the car

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭shockframe

Puma Kings. Worn by about 2/3 of players from the late 80s to the late 00s.

Now rarely worn by anyone in a big match.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭sanjose1

Guys peeing on the packed terraces of Semple Stadium for Munster final day

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

jr86 wrote: »
    - The third midfielder. While still in operation it was all the rage for a while, in the days before short kickouts, when teams wanted to pack the middle with ball winners for kickouts.

Have to disagree with this a bit - Kerry definitely used what looked very much like a third midfielder in a number of games in the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Have to disagree with this a bit - Kerry definitely used what looked very much like a third midfielder in a number of games in the league.

Sure I said it's still in operation

But when I was playing club senior football in the early/mid 00s it was all the rage.

Generally a number 15 dropping back to the middle, while all the other numbers played exactly as selected.

As I said it was effective in the era of basically every kickout going long. Nowadays it's forwards dropping back to help out the defence and sweep up loose ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,034 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Flags,
    A real buzz before games
    Overweight players
    Ground Hurling
    Good Football

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭ Edgar Tinkling Jacuzzi

JOHN 3:7

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

Kilkenny throwing Liam Mc Cup into the boot of the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭shockframe

Flags,
    A real buzz before games
    Overweight players
    Ground Hurling
    Good Football

Miss Round 7 of the League yesterday?

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Walter.White

Mullets !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Mullets !

White or other alternative colored boots

Subs having a fag in the dug out

The ‘Un official’ program

Spectators roaring ‘put it up’ aimed at umpires as a guy has just struck the sliotar so confident are they that it is over the bar before it lands

Offaly at top table in hurling or football and people on about their ‘never give up/can never write them off’ etc

A fan in a row in front of you turning around tinyou and saying ‘where is your shouting now’ when his team gets a score to go ahead in last minute of a game

Pecker dunne in thurles

Packed stadiums other than all Ireland final days

Michael lyster

The ‘lock hard’ guys around Croke Park who promised to guard your car during a big match for €5

Cork’s cockiness....!

Pit Spillane’s attempts at humor/tot puns during his analysis at half/full time on Sunday game.

The tin foil wrapped sanguage and flask of tae brigade.....white bread ham sandwiches laden with butter and fatty ham......

Pitch invasions on all Ireland final days. Will only ever happen again if a norn iron team wins a final again.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Walter.White

Ham sandwiches and tea from the boot of the car !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Fans lining the side of the pitch in the last 5 minutes of a game ready to invade it at the final whistle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

The pre motorway days heading to cork for a Munster championship matches against Clare.those matches between Tipp and Clare in the late 90's early 00 were mighty.a packed pairc,backed alive in the sun on the Blackrock end.plus you would have to head down early on the Saturday to avoid the traffic.plus be in reardens by 7 to get in the door.any excuse to go the day before.now you would be at the tunnel in an hour or so from home.no craic

• Registered Users Posts: 51,113 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ham sandwiches and tea from the boot of the car !

I still do that.
    Love me tae and ham sammich.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Rob Thomas

shockframe wrote: »
    Puma Kings. Worn by about 2/3 of players from the late 80s to the late 00s.

Now rarely worn by anyone in a big match.

God yeah, it was all about Puma Kings - apart from the real poser who got Adidas World Cups.

A kid playing mascot in the photo is not something you see now either.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭corny

Plan B

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭50HX

Schemozzles

Legging it onto the croker pitch

Warm bottles of country spring/ to lemonade in the car.....yuck

Banter around grounds is a lot less.......Internet on phones has made people a lot less sociable

• Registered Users Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Chronic lack of atmosphere and pre match excitement B4 games
    The lack of a fat lad at FF
    The lack of daddy playing in goals + his 16 year old son at CF.
    Actually, now when I think about it,was Colin Cookery the last of the pot bellied footballer? I know that Fermanagh had a big fella FF but he wasn't that much out of shape

Listening to local radio to hear a team being named for a big match live from training. Now it's just on twitter

Going on massive long session after winning a club semi final. Nowadays drink bans in place for months and I'd doubt any team even goes for a few after a semi anymore

Stop off in Enfield/moate on way home west from a big match in Dublin. The place hopping. Similarly cans on bus home, and into a few fields on way home to take multiple toilet breaks :p

As mentioned above, schemozzles!

Lads smoking before/during/after game

Managers patrolling the whole pitch.

Full on rows in the crowd at club matches

Chronic lack of atmosphere and pre match excitement B4 games
    The lack of a fat lad at FF
    The lack of daddy playing in goals + his 16 year old son at CF.
    Actually, now when I think about it,was Colin Cookery the last of the pot bellied footballer? I know that Fermanagh had a big fella FF but he wasn't that much out of shape

Yup when I was playing in the early 00s it was either a big lummox or a fast dinger of a full forward.

Nowadays you can't even tell in many cases who's actually playing full back or full forward. They were such specialised positions up until a few years ago (meanness and toughness a major requirement for FB, and in the case of the big lummox at FF, the hands spread out in agitation when any ball wasn't directed straight into the bread basket :p )

• Registered Users Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

One in, ALL in. That's the thing I miss most now

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭beertons

A few lads sneaking up on the roof. Hasn't happened in Croker for a while anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

beertons wrote:
    A few lads sneaking up on the roof. Hasn't happened in Croker for a while anyway.

The old Nally stand was the king for that..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Banners with, sometimes, witty comments on them,.....as at Down 93 final,

"The man in front is Mickey Linden"

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

-Furry green and gold hats
    -Terriers on pitches
    -Players smiling while walking around in the parade, without a care in the world
    -Enough broken timber at the end of a match to start a bonfire
    -Swaying Terraces
    -Players with an entire missing row of front teeth
    -Lads pinning a paper rosette onto your jacket as you make your way up from the square in Thurles
    - Dual intercounty players
    - minor footballers with Osama Bin Laden beards (in fairness he was a one off!)