Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

Bumped into Lazare a bit later on, he had a good PB morning too, aided by skyblue. There may have been reference to S's age (not by me :P) and I can only assume his hair has become more grey after working with this year's novices. Sorry S. :pac:

That's the last 'confidential' conversation I'll have with you. :)

Great running dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Bumped into Lazare a bit later on, he had a good PB morning too, aided by skyblue. There may have been reference to S's age (not by me :P) and I can only assume his hair has become more grey after working with this year's novices. Sorry S. :pac:

Total for the week: 15.87 miles.

Well that's lovely that is! With friends like this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

That's a fantastic result, well done. Lovely progression in the splits too, well managed. It's an awful lot to take off a 5K PB in a short space of time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,492 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Murph_D wrote: »
    That’s a very decent PB, not sure why you appear to be so underwhelmed. Well done.

Thanks, maybe could have given a touch more towards the end (to feel out of breath), and might be my writing.
    OOnegative wrote: »
    Bit more racing over 5k that mental battle at the start will disappear, 5k racing takes a bit of getting used to!! Great progress on times there year after year.

Thanks. Yeah, I'd imagine the regulars who give park runs a good bash are used it.
    Huzzah! wrote: »
    I was delighted to read that you'd the confidence to pick a nice stretch goal.

That's fantastic progress. Congratulations. The sub-22 isn't far off by any means.

Thank Huzzah, wanted to see what the body was capable of and not feel boxed in by the calculator.
    Baby75 wrote: »
    Well done nicely raced and sub 22 will be smashed this year :)

Thanks. :) Fair play on all the S&C you do!
    Lazare wrote: »

That's the last 'confidential' conversation I'll have with you. :)

Great running dude.

Cheers. :)
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    Well that's lovely that is! With friends like this....

I'll do some penance. :pac:
    eyrie wrote: »
    That's a fantastic result, well done. Lovely progression in the splits too, well managed. It's an awful lot to take off a 5K PB in a short space of time.

Thanks eyrie, good to hear your news today. Run. :D

Update

Didn’t run the day after Jingle Bells 5k. On the Monday I thought there was a little something after getting out of the car, right inner thigh or groin. I put the base plan back a week and decided to keep it all easy...just in case, no harm after a race anyway. All seems to have been fine, nothing persisted. I've been using the resistance band where possible, but fup all else of non-road stuff, tbh.

Post-DCM, Nov 19th-Dec 9th: 65.22 miles, easy pace - apart from JB5k. Kept the easy stuff about the same as pre-DCM as I didn't plug the Jingle Bells calculator stuff into my head. There's not a lot of difference with the easy/very easy stuff compared to before, it'll be more noticeable with other elements of the base and 5-10k plan. Speaking of calculators, some chat in the 2018 grads thread was a good reminder about those yolks, food for thought for next year. Calculator for the likes of marathons don't account for the shape of the course, etc. It's mad that DCM has sold out already. :confused: FinisherPix are still trying to flog pics.

Have done the usual thing, printed and photocopied the base plan. A few chilly evenings a while ago, but think that was more so November.

Base plan week 1

Dec 10th

Plan 45 minutes very easy
    Was stopped by people looking for directions, paused the watch and must have saved it somehow as it was went back to 0:00.
    Actual 40:23 at 10:48, 3.74 miles. Directions!! 7.51 at 10:36, 0.74 miles.

Dec 11th
    Plan 60 min progression (Easy to MP)
    Actual Easy 20:12, at 10:25, moderate 20:13 at 9:13, MP 20:18 at 8:15.
    6.60 miles

Garmin's been a bit funny lately re aerobic effect (it wasn't a 5.0 for Jingle Bells :confused:) and recommended recovery times, even on easy. Anyway, not taking much heed of that. Onwards with Christmas prep, job applications, etc. And running. ;)

Ah no need for penance. Being an auld, bald, white haired bloke whupping the asses of you two is pleasure enough for me! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

Good luck with the Job hunting :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,492 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Nothing much to report, really. I’ve not kept notes. A few nippy evenings, iirc. Days will start getting longer, the whole year has flown by. Below the knees have felt a little ropey at times. Hope it's just the weather.

Base plan week 1
    Dec 10th-16th: 31.16 miles.

Week 2

Dec 17th
    Rest

Dec 18th
    45 min very easy
    Actual 46:37. 4.38 miles at 10:38.

Dec 19th
    45 min moderate
    Actual 45:04. 4.83 miles at 9:20.
    0.12 miles back to base at 9:37.

Dec 20th
    Rest

Dec 21st
    45 min very easy
    Actual 48:41. 4.69 miles at 10:24.

Dec 22nd
    45 min easy (last 5 min @ Threshold)
    Actual 40:04 easy, 3.97 miles at 10:05, 5:03 threshold, 0.68 miles at 7:24.

Dec 23rd
    90 min easy
    1:30:04. 8.98 miles at 10:02.

Total: 27.67 miles. Will pass 1,700 miles for the year anyway.

Going to head over to Malahide for the Christmas Day parkrun, just to plod it. The vibe from Sat was almost that you have to go, or else. :pac: We still get a few UK visitors there alright, including ‘thank you, marshal’ (I was timekeeper) a few weeks ago which is a first.
    skyblue46 wrote: »
    Ah no need for penance. Being an auld, bald, white haired bloke whupping the asses of you two is pleasure enough for me! ;-)

One of Santa's doppelgangers, are ye?
    Baby75 wrote: »
    Good luck with the Job hunting :)

Thanks. :)

Happy Christmas. :cool: Food has been prepared.

Base plan week 3...winding down 2018.

Dec 24th

Rest

Dec 25th

Plan 60 min very easy
    Actual - part 1, parkrun Malahide. 31:02. 3.06 miles at 10:08.
    Part 2 - 30:02. 2.88 miles at 10:26.

From what I heard, they were expecting maybe 50 or so, well, 334 came through. People were very thankful too! Bumped into Makikomi from these parts. The lower part of my legs felt a bit funny starting out. And right leg/hip wasn't very happy that evening. Frustrating as it's familiar and I was only tipping away, not running the event, or even after. Also, my first parkrun in ~ 106 weeks. :o

Got a present of 'The Runner's Cookbook' by Anita Bean. No excuse not to be clued up now. I haven't read it all yet, but it looks pretty good. There's a good few pages to get through before the recipes.

Dec 26th

60 min progression (Easy to MP)
    1:04:49. 7.07 miles at 9:10.
    20:05 easy. 2.01 miles at 10:00.
    20:06 moderate. 2.14 miles at 9:25.
    20:02 MP. 2.47 miles at 8:06.
    Tail end 4:34, 0.45 miles at 10:11.

Right leg/hip still slightly off. Debated whether to run as per the plan, or to bring it all back to easy. Gave the resistance band a go and that seemed to help. Plan is a go.

Dec 27th

Plan 60 min very easy
    Actual 1:0:1:53. 5.91 miles at 10:28.
    Grand, dull day. Did a search for 'marathon' on Google Scholar, as ye do. Legs were fine.

Dec 28th

Rest

Dec 29th

50 min mix (9 min easy/1 min hard)
    51:56. 5.58 miles at 9:19.
    9:01 mins. 0.90 mi at 10:02.
    1:04 mins. 0.17 mi at 6:11.
    9:03 mins. 0.92 mi at 9:51.
    1:11 mins. 0.19 mi at 6:13.
    8:53 mins. 0.89 mi at 9:56.
    1:01 mins. 0.16 mi at 6:29.
    8:55 mins. 0.90 mi at 9:58.
    1.09 mins. 0.21 mi at 5:36.
    8:54 mins. 0.89 mi at 10:01.
    1:02 mins. 0.19 mi at 5:36.
    Tail end - 1:36 mins. 0.16 at 10:08.

Grand. A few midges out the back lanes. Drop in temperature after the sun departed. Couldn't remember what hard is supposed to be. Easier to get under 6 on the downhill bits, of course.

Dec 30th

1 hr 45 easy
    1:45:03. 10.52 miles at 9:59. Back into the double digits. Slight hmm from the right hand side in the final 10 minutes. Resistance band time at home.

Week 3: 35.02 miles.

2018: 1708.73 miles.

Slightly frustrated with the soreness earlier in the week. 2019 better not become the Year of the Hip. :( :mad:

This first part of winter has gone by fairly easily it's been so mild...I've run more miserable evenings after work. Maybe it's yet to come. Other than DCM, I've nothing else booked yet for 2019. Will take a look at the goals thread when I get a chance. Hope everyone got to have some sufficient down time over the holidays. Be well.

Base plan week 4 - welcome to 2019.

Again, not a lot to scribble. Sleep's been pretty poor. Back to additional volunteering duties, so emails are starting to get hectic again.

Dec 31st

Rest

Jan 1st

60 min very easy
    61:55. 5.93 miles at 10:27.

I heard a buzz sound passing a house on the back roads. I thought someone was cleaning their car only to look up and see it was a drone, not vacuum. First I've seen around here, tbf. I'm fairly certain I saw a hawk in a field down the road too. Pretty impressive sight. Got 'Strong Start' badge from Garmin because of running on NYD. Seemingly there's one for NY Eve too, will try to remember that for 31/12/19. :pac:

Jan 2nd
    55 min moderate
    1 mile warm up at 10:49.
    55:15 mins. 5.88 miles at 9:24.
    0.79 mile c/d at 10:23.

Bit chilly.

Jan 3rd

60 min very easy
    1:00:33. 5.78 miles at 10:29.

Jan 4th

Rest

Jan 5th

50 min easy (last 5 min @ Threshold)
    Slight muck of this.
    45 minutes easy. 4.51 miles at 10:00.
    4.03 mins. 0.57 miles at 7:07 and seven seconds, 0.01 mi at 11:32.
    To make up for the lost minute - 1:05. 0.15 mi at 7:10.
    c/d 2:45. 0.27 mi at 10:18.

Surge in numbers at Malahide with January. Got talking to someone who had just moved over from the UK. It's gas how quiet it is when you arrive at 9:05, then after things shut down. Tried turkey burgers from the cooking book, pretty good. On a more blasphemous note, I went back to earphones and podcasts for the first time in years.

Jan 6th

1 hr 45 easy
    1:45:13. 10.54 miles at 9:59.

Slight hip hangover from Saturday's toe dipping with threshold, perhaps. But, it didn't affect the run. Am not on the ball with S&C at all.

Total: 35.43 miles.

Hello, training nation. Been a while. Family stuff, work and a job interview - didn't get it, but feedback was useful. Need to sell myself more, etc.

Week 5: Jan 7th-13th.
    38.98 miles.

Paces on point.

Week 6: Jan 14th-20th.
    37.45 miles.

Paces on point, bar Sat. 50 min easy (last 5 min @ Tempo) ended up being 50 minutes, plus 5 @threshold.

Base plan total: 205.71 miles.

5-10k grads plan. The road to some a 10k, location TBC.

Week 1: Jan 21st-27th.
    35.2 miles.

Paces on point. Weds hills - tried to focus on form/effort and not blasting through. I still finding running exciting. :D That only occurred to me on an easy day, in the rain. Off to get my head examined so. :pac: Thinking about running 6 days, keeping Friday easy/very easy (hmm, junk miles?). We'll see. Lack of S&C on my part might put a stop to that. Haven't hit 40 miles p/w yet. Generally wearing an outer layer and hat this last while with the weather.

Parkrun. Busy enough at Malahide, with over 500 at one point, including a few dozen from the UK. Had to move to the second watch for that sort of number. We have a badly needed new megaphone too. At this point, I think I'll use parkrun for a warm up as I've only done 14 runs overall. Will get scanned and then into normal Saturday stuff. Looking at 3 weeks on, 2 weeks volunteering. Rinse and repeat. I've been getting a lot of 'are you injured/not running?' this last while.

Anyway, off to do some editing.

5-10k grads plan

Week 2: Jan 28th-Feb 3rd. AKA drop in temperature and another job application.
    39.84 miles

Paces - The CV yolks on the Weds could have been a little tighter, last one was on target. Got a 'frosty' badge from Garmin due to the evening that was in it. The app keeps asking for permission stuff re temperatures/whatever. Anyway, car windscreen was iced up when I got back, but we were not in negative figures according to the vehicle. Reminder to sign up email from Inishbofin waiting for me at home too. :pac:

Did the parkrun on Sat, as planned. Phew, what a spectacular morning it was shortly after 9 – sun, frost, smell of the forest - what a time to be out and about. Warm up before hand…wonder if this helped to avoid feeling cold whilst waiting for the briefing?

After parkrun it was 5x5 min @ Threshold w/ 2 min rec stuff. Sorta felt like I was battling a bit to get to threshold at times…put a few doubts in my head. App says paces were fine: 7:31, 7:14, 7:24, 7:27, 7:28...even a little quick. Good chunk of the HR was in the red which is overdue, really. Anyway, on the forest I noticed someone’s barcode in a plastic cover on the ground, went around again it was still there. Picked it up, turned out it had €20 in it too. Headed to the coffee shop and through knowing a few RDs I was able to reunite it with its owner. Running highlight of the year so far was not training, on tarmac, or racing. Couple of Malahide RDs are due to hit the 250 mark this year, hope to be there for those. One is quite soon.

Been busy with work, attending conferences and committee meetings, job hunting frustration, etc. I keep putting off updating here.

5-10k grads plan

Week 3: Feb 4th-10th
    40.07 miles.

Tuesday was damp. Got a badge from Garmin owing to it being the Year of the Pig. Body was a bit bleurgh on the Weds about half way through the hills - 6:48, 7:13, 7:18, 7:20, 7:27, 7:25, 7:12, 7:14. Thurs normal very easy. Sat - warm up before parkrun was just about on time as I arrived up - the RD was starting, phew. Course was a bit messy in parts, as advised. Good few branches and twigs, etc. Crowds were back over 400 again. 30 min tempo at afterwards was good, at 8:05. Sun easy was bright.

An old article if ye want some reading. https://digest.bps.org.uk/2017/04/19/10-ways-that-running-changes-your-mind-and-brain/

Week 4: Feb 11-17th
    35.27 miles.

Don't remember much of this. Bit of day swapping going on.

Monday had a great sunset, very easy. Weds AP craic 7:05, 6:56, 6:55, 6:47, 6:59, 7:03. Thurs, very easy. Sat 4x6 min @ Threshold (7:43, 7:41, 7:50, 7:43) w/ 2 min rec. Parkrun was busy, as usual. Seemed to be a bunch of kids planting trees with their families. Forgot to say there are signs up saying 'chainsaw training in progress'...haven't heard it during parkrun, though. Sunday was pretty nice on the temperature front. Garmin was down for maintenance.

Week 5: Feb 18th-24th
    37.28 miles.

More day swapping antics.

Mon. Got to work early, started running at 7:20am. A little cold at first, maybe an extra layer next time. Work shower was OK. That evening a I saw a poster for V02 max study in TCD... alas being over 35 I'm too old. Hills as usual midweek (7:07, 6:58, 7:09, 7:14, 7:13, 7:09, 7:36) and the feckin' pang of hunger was at me...bit of a Weds theme in general, tbh. Banana around 4:15pm, then running around 5:30/5:40. During the warm up I heard a young lad hanging out with his friends at the end of his estate being called for dinner. He didn't want to go in and told his dad to heat it up later. His attitude was a bit like Father Damo, I'll be in in a minute. Think we were all like that once. :pac: At parkrun (timekeeping), as per the post above, we had he first RD in Ireland to hit 250. There was cake. It was green. :D Later on I got talking to HelenAnne from around here, talked about boards and the non-technology side of running. After that it was w/u, followed by 15 min tempo (7:54), 4 min rec, 10 min Threshold (7:34). Not too bad. Finally saw someone hitting a tee shot on the pitch and putt course, it was not so good. Sun was foggy, and had it been worse, the football pitch may have been invisible, ended up heading more into Rush than I have done in a while - 10.82 miles for the morning.

Week 6: Feb 25th-Mar 3rd
    37.05 miles.

Boring commute and chance to rehearse interview mantras. Weds was 5x5 min CV (7:16, 7:23, 7:29, 7:20, 7:25) w/ 4 min rec. Jaysus the fog was something else that evening...I got petrol not far from home...where is the station...tada, practically on top of it all of a sudden. Parkrun was another timekeeping effort, all grand. Couple of additional parkrun walkers now that project has started. Sun 3rd. A fairly damp Sunday alright, 10.72 miles easy. Got soaked by a car to the extent it was over shoulder level and went into the gap between my neck and top. Shure, t’was grand, really. After food and a shower I dropped up to the 4 mile race later on to test out my old camera. My daily Sketchers did not fair too well with the weather! Mick Clohisey and Catherina McKiernan took first each, respectively. Said hello to Singer, saw a runner down later on, but she was OK after a few minutes, with some help. I see from Murph's report that spuds were in the goodie bag, hmm if they held it in the Autumn we have pumpkins out here too.

There hasn't been much change in mileage week-by-week. It's a little inflated because of w/u and c/d which I only use on Weds and Sat. When I run parkrun I do it easy then do the plan stuff - 3x8 min @ Threshold (7:32, 7:26, 7:31) w/ 3 min rec. Weds stuff is good and tiring at times...zonked once I get home. Right hand side of the body still feels a bit fooked now and then. Still haven't booked a 10k race...

Talk to yiz.

5-10k grads plan

Week 7: March 4th-10th
    39.64 miles.

Mon - rest. The DCU RISC crew sent on an email with some of their preliminary findings, was interesting. Tues - very easy, usual. Weds was cold ish. 10x 90 seconds @ Vo2 w/2 min rec. 5:56 - oops, 6:25, 6:20, 6:37, 7:01, 6:44, 6:48, 6:31, 7:01, 6:28 i.e. 7.34 miles, incl w/u and c/d. Hitting ye old Vo2 was little tricky at times and a jot or two on fast side. I focused on moving my hips later on and that seemed to help with form. Falling back to easy for the rec is pretty straightforward, doesn't require much concentration as it tends to be near automatic. A toenail or two needed looking at later...along with many unread Greg McMillan emails, gah! Thurs, very easy. Fri – decision made, booked Wexford 10k for April 28th. Sat w/u, bumped into some parkrun regulars which meant the pace went up a bit. Did parkrun easy, followed by 30 mins tempo, 3.74 mi at 8:05. Weather was good, a little windy. Sun was grand, sunny with a decent chill in the air. 1hr 45 easy - 10.46 miles for that session.

Keep getting mixed up with the plan – thinking it’s 17 weeks long, it’s 14. Soon it’ll Wexford, then early Summer, then DCM starts again.

Week 8: Mar 11th-17th.
    37.04 miles.

Mon, rest, didn’t sleep well on Sun night. Tues – wind machine was on patrol somewhat. Weds w/u and 5x3 min AP w/ 3 min 6:47, 6:50, 7:00, 6:58, 7:11, plus c/d 6.94 mi for the evening. Did part of my normal route in reverse here. There were a good few dog walkers out, including excitable huskies. Right hand side felt a bit funny again. Fri, rest. Sent a text to the physical therapist bloke I went to after the FD10 last year. No response. Sat woke up to rain. Drove over to Malahide. w/u, met the same people as last week which picked up the pace. parkrun...thought I had pressed the watch - noticed it had gone to sleep after the golf course (not a comment on golf :pac:), just rolled with things after and came in 31:54 as normal. Finish chute was in a fair state alright. Based on past weeks I'm going with 3.07 mi for the distance. Plan stuff afterwards 2x12 min @ Threshold w/ 4 min (7:42 and 7:37 here). Right hand side felt OK during the threshold stuff, less so earlier. Did some light foam rolling at home and shoe cleaning too. Sundays starting to wind down now, the 1hr 45s are gone. 70 mins (actual 73:22), 7.33 miles easy.

Week 9: Mar 18th-24th.
    25.55 miles.

Bank hol – made some energy bars with dates, apricots, ground almonds, etc. Pretty good, and not too sweet. Got a text back from the PT, confirmed a time to meet. Tues very easy, you could say the evening was warm. Scarily close to having an accident on the drive home, someone almost drove into me on the M1. See here. Weds – weather decent again and a productive CV session. 8x2 min CV w/ 2 min rec. 6:56, 7:03, 6:42, 6:55, 7:05, 7:12, 7:18, 6:59 and with w/u and c/d it was 6.64 mi for the evening. Thurs easy, tried the energy bars which went well. Leg feeling hasn't gone away. A small part of the mesh has now worn on other other shoe. Fri – rest and ordered a parkrun barcode wristband. Physical therapist appt was productive and informative...discussed pros and cons of plans, questioned the merits of doing parkruns in advance of plan stuff and was wondering why I wasn't occasionally 'blowing out the cobwebs' with a parkrun. Sat – plan 30 mins tempo, actual Malahide parkrun with some oomph. Decided to give this a bit of a go based on i) the PT appt and ii) the see what the form was like and given that there were pacers. Position #53 and time 21:30, Garmin was the same, funnily enough. 3.03 mi at 7:05, HRM 151 avg, 167 max. Previous PB was 23:12 on 19/03/16, so just over three years, not that I’ve been doing parkrun much.
    Congratulations on completing your 20th parkrun and your 18th at Malahide parkrun today. You finished in 53rd place and were the 49th male out of a field of 492 parkrunners and you came 9th in your age category VM35-39. Take a look at this week's full set of results on our website. Congratulations on setting a new Personal Best at this event! Congratulations on your fastest time this year.

I sat a bit behind the 22 pacer for most of it and again, it was nice to ignore the watch. No warm up at all, so took a little getting used to initially as my pulse was going! Happy and it was a lovely morning. Have to update the PT some time next week. I’ll give Malahide another go with the pacers again some time in May/June. Caught up with the crew...behind the scenes there were issues with the watch, tokens and one of scanner devices. :o Not fussed about comparing this with Jingle Bells from last Dec, 22:08. Sun plan 90 mins easy, actual 36:31, 3.49 miles at 10:28. Beautiful morning for it, decided to take it handy after yesterday. A whole stream of cyclists out the Skerries road, St John's ambulance as back up too.

Other stuff.

I've a rash allergy thing going on my legs that's quite itchy at times, have some cream for it.

Things I need to read/watch.

2014 video on injury prevention from Boston Children's Hospital. Not sure if this is technical or data heavy, or useful to the casual viewer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiafD3xg2yU

There's some sort of circuit training/strengthening thing here from Sport Ireland. Not sure I'll get the time.

Time to say goodbye to some worn runners.

Have dropped a few podcast subscriptions, mostly political stuff for a break. Found one called Strength and Conditioning Journal podcast (link) which seems to be mostly about studies published in said journal and geared to S&C professionals, I know we have science nerds here. Might learn something and the episodes are short enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Nice to see this log up to date again. Well done on the Malahide PB. Close call on the road :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

Great read- thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,155 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Wow, those runners are fair worn! Well in comparison to what's end-of-life for me anyway. Never feel that I'm getting value for money, but I find the feet will tell you quickly enough when it's time to get rid.

Good to see you back around TBO. That motorway video is.... terrifying. :eek: A very close call.

Nice to see this log up to date again. Well done on the Malahide PB. Close call on the road :eek:
    eyrie wrote: »
    Good to see you back around TBO. That motorway video is.... terrifying. :eek: A very close call.

Thanks, yeah, near minor heart attack behind the wheel.
    Dealerz2.0 wrote: »
    Great read- thanks

Thanks. :)
    Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Wow, those runners are fair worn! Well in comparison to what's end-of-life for me anyway. Never feel that I'm getting value for money, but I find the feet will tell you quickly enough when it's time to get rid.

Yeah, I find that too. Probably best to stick to some rough yardstick about knowing when they're gone and avoiding the cost of future physio appts by trying a new pair just in case that solves it.

5-10k grads plan

Week 10: Mar 25th-Mar 31st
    31.56 miles.

Mon rest. Job application submitted. Started some S&C stuff x 6 lateral squats, 10 leg lifts, 10 clams (not sure I did these right). 10 hip abductions, plus 5 side planks on each leg - without raising the uppermost leg. :o I don’t recommend those last ones on a hard surface. :pac: Still, felt somewhat invigorated afterwards. Tues 5.97 mi very easy at 10:29. Seemed to be a four car collision on the M50 as I was driving to work. Got in early, did x 10 lateral squats, 10 leg lifts and 10 hip abductions. Did the same after work, pre-run…lateral squats needed some video instructions as I don’t really get the paper one. Felt good, though, in that ‘this is a new exercise and long term it should help, body is tell me something’ type of way, hooray. 10 hip abductions before bed. Weds was in the city for a formal non-work thing. Listened to the S&C Journal podcast on the way home. Funnily enough, they had one on hurling because of a study on same (warning caps lock). https://journals.lww.com/nsca-scj/Abstract/2018/08000/Strength_and_Conditioning_Considerations_for.8.aspx Safe to say pronunciation of sliotar was atrocious. :p Hurling came out of it pretty well, tbf. Did some exercises before going out. 7x3 min CV & 2 min rec. 7:16, 7:14, 7:03, 7:11, 7:14, 7:14, 7:19 i.e. 6.05 mi for the night. After w/u I used some of the local track for this. They installed poles here for lights a while ago and now the light units too, not sure if it's just the AC that'll use them, they were on. There was a GAA team training and a bloke testing his drone, with some jet trails in the sky, bit chilly.

Thurs very easy, 65:57, 6.29 mi at 10:29. Fri rest. Sat was a workshop in the city centre, so another folder of stuff to read and an evening run. 4,3,2,1 min @ (Thres/CV/AP/Vo2) paces w/ equal recovery. Finally copped on that the second screen on the watch can be used to monitor lap time rather than overall, will prove useful re staying close to 2-4 min reps/recs. Started off a little quick, but pulled it back. 8:02, 7:22, 7:06 and 7:11, lost concentration on the last one so it's not on target. 39:37, 4.25 mi incl w/u and c/d. Sun 90 mins easy, this warranted sunglasses. Carried a bottle of water too as TMI - I wanted to check the colour of my pee afterwards due to the water intake just to see, but typically forgot. Bottle's one of those that has the grip moulded into it, parkrun freebie from a while ago. 91:15, 9.00 mi at 10:08.

I kept up the odds and ends on the S&C front during the week, not quite the lateral squats, though. Bookmarked one or two yolks I may not get to rewatch. Since falling back to the Brooks full time the bother on the right hand side seems to have passed...

For some reason Youtube recommended cyclists being chased by ostriches to me.

Week 11: Apr 1st-7th
    35.33 miles.

Mon – parkrun wristband arrived. Tues Finished the S&C podcast back catalogue. Very easy, 63:45, 6.13 mi at 10:24. Did some exercises pre-run…lateral squats figured out I think, new feeling in the legs. Chilly out. Weds Jumped into another podcast called Moving2Live whilst commuting, another with a sports/exercise focus. Damp evening. Pre-run leg lifts and squats, some squats at home too. M50 was a car park after 7pm, with the rain. Quads felt like some work had been done, whether that was the Vo2 or squats…not sure. You know that post-DCM sensation on stairs? A dab of that. Squats could become addictive. :pac: 6x2 min @ Vo2 w/2 min rec 6:53, 6:56, 6:53, 7:00, 6:48, 6:48. 45:34, 5.02 mi incl w/u and c/d.

Thurs very easy, 69:32, 6.62 mi at 10:30. Fairly soaked for the first 30 mins and took a while for the hands to warm up too. My skin was quite red in places before getting into the shower. Fri rest, made another batch of energy balls same recipe as before, plus a different lot again, this time with peanut butter and oats, about 16 iirc. Supermarket didn't have any decommissioned coconut otherwise I'd have tried a third variant. Rest of the week included turkey pilar and tomato and red lentil soup, all from the cooking/running book. Sat w/u, parkrun (easy) and 3x8 mins at threshold with 3 min rec, 7:43, 7:38, 7:38. On the drive home, I saw a bloke running and part way through he was doing something with skipping rope. Have never seen that before. Sun suitably sunny, solid. 80 mins easy, actual 83:22 8.3 miles at 10:02.

The Moving2Live podcast has an interview with Ian Dunican who is an Irish bloke working in Australia. He's an unapologetic sleep nerd, drawing on his own professional and movement experience, ultras, etc. He thinks stupid o' clock am exercise is eh, not great.

Busy few weeks ahead now with deadlines and meetings. Hello April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

For some reason Youtube recommended cyclists being chased by ostriches to me.

This sounds amazing :)

Have you a race for the end of the plan? Sorry if I've missed it above

ReeReeG wrote: »
    This sounds amazing :)

Have you a race for the end of the plan? Sorry if I've missed it above

They seem to have a lot of stamina! And yep, Wexford 10k on April 28th.

5-10k grads plan

Week 12: Apr 8th-14th
    31.01 miles.

Mon – rest, buses to work rather than car, for a break.
    Tues - 60 mins very easy, actual 63:41. 6.23 mi at 10:14. Passed 400 miles on the plan with this one. Lovely evening out there.
    Weds - 6x4 min CV w/ 2 min rec. 7:16, 7:26, 7:27, 7:14, 7:18, 7:13. 48:51 and 5:84 miles for the evening. Had an email from Connemarathon with race day info, even though it wasn't on the cards...and also one from FinisherPix that shower who are still pushing 2018 pics, or whatever. Little bit of mental doubt in there with some of the reps. My phone had been hopping earlier and also emails were flying too. Squeezed in some squats before hand, but admittedly was a little choppy on S&C this week. Was in a school before this and they had some artwork re 1916. One kid had done it as a comic and forget the politics, etc, it was quite impressive, must be said.
    Thurs - GP visit in the morning. 60 mins very easy, actual 60:49, 5.96 mi at 10:13. Grand weather, few squats before hand.
    Fri -
    Sat - 5,4,3,2,1 min @ (Thres/CV/AP/Vo2/110%) paces w/ equal recovery. 7:27, 7:21, 7:05, 6:54, 6:19. Thres a touch fast and Vo2 should have been 6:49 or under. Anyway, 41:10, 4.75 miles. Slept very poorly here, so after the w/u it started to catch up with me fairly quickly. Body was just quite drained. After AP I thought about leaving the track on something that's a little more flat - the bypass. Decided to stick it out. Did a few squats on the grass after. I was listening to a non-running podcast at the time and there was an long intro blurb before some music so used that as backing for the squats. Later on Youtube was throwing me Boston videos, for some reason.
    Sun - 80 mins easy…final one of those yolks. 82:51, 8.23 mi at 9:56. Slept better, thankfully. Went on a slight route reversal for the variety and down towards Blakes Cross. Passed about 4 houses all with dogs, yappy heads. Squashed a sachet of mayo/tartar sauce with my shoe, splat.

Week 13: Apr 15th-21st
    21.97 miles.

Mon - 60 mins very easy, actual 62:20, 6.08 mi at 10:15 min/mi. Bad sleep again. Into work where some trees have probably gone to the wood chipper. Thought from the BBC weather for Dublin it would be a washout, was grand. Wexford 10k instructions came by email.
    Tues - 5x5 min CV w/ 2.30 min rec. 7:23, 7:20, 7:11, 7:15, 7:20. After w/u and decided to use a touch of downhill for the first one. 60:48 mins and 7.02 mi for the whole thing. iirc, the watch said something about fastest 10k, heh.
    Weds - rest, long meeting editing, writing, etc.
    Thurs - rest. GP again, all fine.
    Fri – 60 mins very easy, actual 63:11, 6.23 mi at 10:09. Two dead hedgehogs about 40 metres apart out the Skerries road which is unusual.
    Sat - off, as per plan. Parkrun timekeeping…threw on some sun cream before leaving the house. Was thirsty ish then given all I was doing was standing around for an hour or so. Saw Singer was up there. Got talking to a guy who had done 3:10 at Boston (and 2:57 DCM). Heard on the grapevine that a woman who recently did des Sables was around too, didn't get speaking to her this time. She's also done Antartica...
    Sun - 2k Time Trial. Heh, this thing. Couldn't remember what it entailed. Chat about it in the 2018 grads thread helped. Calculator said 8:19 at 6:41…actual 1.24 mi, 8:21 at 6:43. Pretty happy with that. 2.64 mi (22:15) for the morning. Watch mentioned fastest mile. Caught my reflection in some glass - sweat glistening. :pac: Not much traffic after 8am on a Sunday, except for stuff coming from Skerries. I felt a bit sick later in the morning. Was OK around lunch.

Sleep kinda crappy during week 13 too. Forgot to say with last few weeks I've noticed the HR on the watch a little more now, usually a heart symbol in orange, with 'threshold' on the screen. I rarely hit zone 5, tbh. Well, the 2k time trial helped on that as the heart was red and said max. No running/sports podcasts this week. Was thinking there’s bound be a niche for something as Gaeilge. If only we knew someone who could host a running episode or two…

Week 14: The final push

Easter Mon – 45 mins very easy, actual 47:08, 4.68 miles at 10:05. Another fine morning, sunny, but nice and cool. Good for face sweat too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Poor hedgehogs :(

Good luck for next weekend.

5-10k grads plan - conclusion and race

Week 14 continued: Apr 22nd-28th

23.7 miles.
    470.51 miles for the plan, including the race.

Tues – 6x1 min @ Vo2 w/ 2 min recovery at 6:20, 6:55, 6:27, 6:33, 6:56, 6:46. 37:53 incl w/u, etc. 4.08 miles overall. An evening that required shades, back to a short sleeve shirt. A few of the Vo2s were a little quick. Happy overall. Nothing in the red on the HR end. There was an abandoned shopping trolley far from its home and a decaying fox around too.
    Weds - rest, work conference thing. Went to the Dublin collection place the Wexford organisers had mentioned in their instructions.
    Thurs - 45 mins very easy. 46:46. 4.57 miles at 10:09.
    Fri - rest. I watched one of those fly on the wall paramedic shows in the evening, they got to a football pitch where a guy had turned badly or something. Er, they were unable find his kneecap and this can only be solved by an operation. They showed his leg - it just looked weird! :eek: :(
    Sat - plan 20 mins recovery, actual Tramore parkrun - 30:51, 3.09 miles at 9:59. Lovely morning for this. My last visit here was June 2016. Got talking to some of the volunteers who mentioned the Waterford-Tramore race (7.5 miles) that was on that evening. The SAR chopper was hovering over one spot over the sea for a good 10-15 minutes or so. Moved on - it's an impressive piece of hardware.

Sun, April 28th - Wexford 10k

Woke up and heard talk about the London marathon on BBC 5 Live. Stirling was mentioned too. Breakfast was porridge, toast and peanut butter. Drove to Wexford and arrived around 9:10. Not much traffic on the way from Waterford. Note to self, if wearing a belt for keys, money, etc, don’t have the plastic buckle at your back, not comfortable for driving. First indication of being close a Wexford failte/welcome sign, followed by New Ross which had a bridge covered in yellow and purple flags. About 35km more after that.

Most of the decent rain had been on the spin over so Wexford itself was only damp under foot. Typical Irish Sunday morning, really. I found the Talbot hotel and start area without resorting to technology before heading back to my car. I went out shortly after 10am for a w/u (1.08 mi). Down at the seafront the water was relatively calm. The Half folks were off at 10:30 and the announcer said they represented two thirds of the event. Atmosphere seemed good, took a while for the numbers to get through after starting, some shuffling forward, etc. Spotted a regular parkrunner from Malahide in there. During the wait until the 10k, some of the traffic resumed and a tanker truck went through just where the Half people had been. 10k people started to line up. There was a guy next to me in a Wexford top, he looked quite athletic. 35-40 minute runners were asked to come to the front, I stayed put. I see from the official pictures he hit 38:XX alright.

And we're off, sharp turn left. There's a something in the car park here, I think a post (barrier?) or something, a bit like that first turn in DCM. I didn't see any point it trying to squeeze into the left hand side. Over the train tracks, through the traffic lights. Car traffic was coming against us. Tried to get on pace promptly and aware I was already tipping into 7:10-7:15 a little. Not worried. Through the streets and past the petrol station on the left...first climb. Mentally no bother - training has been done. Second thing to focus on - don't get stuck hanging on to people - run your own race. Passed the woman in the grey top/pink base layer. Out past the Glanbia plant and to the outskirts of the town. Passed some others and the woman in white with the earphones. I start to try and take mental notes to remember for the write up. As we got further out we crossed over the road, I don't remember seeing or hearing instructions for this, it was just the flow of the runners. Brow sweat started to kick in. We now hang a right, Garda/marshal are holding the traffic. Onto the back roads here we are, time to climb again and I was determined to try and keep a solid pace ish. There was a bit of effort needed here as I was seeing 7:40-7:50 sometimes. I was trying to find a balance between taking on the tarmac and not getting banjaxed. It was nice and quiet, though again the odd car from the other side. Did enjoy the patter of others' feet working away and that countryside feel, slightly damp climate. For these few km I very much was aware I had a tail, any move I made was copied by someone behind with his noticeable breathing. I decided to say hello. In hindsight, I wouldn't particularly do this again in a short event as I think it's more applicable to something where you've more time to feel like you're in it together. We passed a house with a mother and child outside. As we got through this stint, the lead bike (?) had turned back and gave some encouragement, not long now - sure enough we reached the signpost offering the choice of Half - straight on or 10k, left. We turn and I decide to let gravity do the talking, still being tailed. I was happy with progress on the back roads and I had overtaken without having been overtaken (stay tuned, that's about to change). If memory serves, shortly after here there was a sign for a humpback bridge, well, my apologies to said piece of infrastructure as I remember nothing humpy or bridgey about you. I think somewhere after was the first block of industrial park type stuff before hanging left and heading back to Wexford. With some soft rain from the back roads my glasses were drizzled as feck.

Undoubtedly, the stretch of 6-8km was the toughest (for me) even though they were not on the elevation front. I was overtaken by the chap from earlier, but more so, tiredness kicked in and it was like a wave of energy zapping sensation had washed over me. There was another spell in an industrial park, with an around a cone type affair. I thought I heard a marshal mention something about 1.5k, but I think it may have only been 0.5k as it wasn't 1.5. Certainly here I found quite frustrating and started to hate running. Not the race, just as an activity that exists. :o I'd have happily been scooped up and thrown into the backseat of my car if it contained a mattress or Star Trek transported out of there to lie on a hammock. Or option B, transport me to a marathon with a slower pace instead. To be clear, it's upper half of body where the tiredness starts to bite and I thought I was skirting into nausea territory in the industrial area. I'm wondering if sleep plays a role here. Last time I felt like this was during the Saturday stuff in week 12. I was awake fairly early before driving to Wexford on the Sun morning. Or maybe it’s something to do with aerobic capacity, I haven’t Googled. There was no HTFU/JFDI in the latter stages of the race, honestly hadn't thought about it all week, so didn't remember to do it. On a positive note, things improved and I felt in better shape in the final 2k (pace doesn't necessarily reflect this?) and the mental game had calmed a bit. The Glanbia plant popped up again. As I we got near home I was not really near anyone within arm's reach to target them. I had tried not to check the watch for time (auto lap did the 1 mile beeps throughout) - I was primarily interested in pace until close to the end. Became optimistic once I saw the gantry I did then take a gawk at the watch - ah, we'll make it home OK. Not too bad considering the earlier happenings. And the bloke who overtook me earlier seems to have finished about 17 seconds or so ahead which isn't too bad, really. The finish felt more busy with supporters than runners, thanks to the scouts for volunteering there. Dropped half the banana...

Garmin - stopped on 46:00:09 - on sync to the app it was 46:01. It recommended 72 hours of rest. 6.20 miles at 7:25. Splits 7:27, 7:26, 7:22, 7:22, 7:29, 7:33 (and 6:47 for the 0.20). HRM 177 avg and 197 max, training effect 5.0 and 72% red/zone 5.
    Chip 46:01
    WTAF - I came 31st (was 30/547 initially, now 31/548). This I did not expect and just can't believe it. :confused: 500 odd were behind me? :confused: Small field, I guess. OK, just reading again and it has two people listed as 32 and 33 and they finished 45:XX - must be something off with the system. One of the official photos of me...seems to have both feet in the air which is a first, I'll take that too. :D :pac:
    Previous 10k – 53:30, Manchester 2018

Calculator. Based on Jingle Bells 5k (22:08) the prediction was 46:06 for 10k at 7:25, whilst taking all things calculator related with a grain of salt. Was hoping to hit or 44 or 45 ideally, but decided before even driving to Wexford that pace was the name of the game. Now with 46:01 completed it’s saying 3:32:40 for a marathon - lmao, as the kids say. On the learning front, I was trying to reflect on this because of the tiredness that came into play. On the other hand, I did try something and if you don't you'll never know. Wexford, thanks for the company.

Legs were OK on Sun evening. More noticeable on Mon morning - mostly in the middle back section. Sore would be an incorrect description, but let's just say they've done more than a dress rehearsal. Won't have much on the log front as I'll take some time off then get into the base plan, thanks for reading. All aboard the meno train part II come July 1st...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Well done. That’s some pb.

So Meno again for DCM? Just starting to think about plans myself. I’d be interested in your thoughts of why Meno over Grads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

Well done that is a fantastic time :D

Fantastic TBO, what a result. You're a different runner lately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Great racing, well done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Brilliant racing B, congratulations! The consistent training is really paying off.

Great racing! I'll echo what Eyrie said in that there has been a marked improvement in your running over the past 12 months. Well done.

Hey Alexa/Siri/Google Log

Thanks for the kind comments. :)

Post-Wexford 10k paces based on 46:01 and the calculator machine. http://www.runfastcoach.com/calc2/index.php

Very Easy 10:27-11:13
    Easy 10:03-10:24
    Moderate 8:51-9:07
    Tempo 7:57-8:09
    Threshold 7:35-7:45
    CV 7:15-7:24
    Aerobic Power 6:57-7:05
    VO2 Max 6:41-6:48

I'll update the list closer to July in line the meno plan as it involves HMP, steady, iirc.
    Kellygirl wrote: »
    So Meno again for DCM? Just starting to think about plans myself. I’d be interested in your thoughts of why Meno over Grads?

Meno again because I enjoyed it and it helped to produce the goods last year. Shouldn't be a reflection that the Grads is lesser, after all its 5-10k component helped immensely with Wexford. Grads intermediate marathon plan's definitely on the cards for an April/May 2020 marathon, and it worked for Conn 2018.

May 5th - 2 miles (10:09) to see how things were after Wexford. All good. Job application sent in that eve.

May 6th-12th, grads base plan week 1. 33.57 miles. Mon colleague said I looked a bit pale. Other highlights included Tues very easy 47:47, 4.55 mi at 10:28 was quite warm. 3 ducks flew down onto a road, and briefly stopped traffic, well OK, two cars. Weds was colder and more dull, plan stuff 60 min progression (Easy to MP). 20:03, 1.96 mi at 10:14/20:13, 2.28 at 8:53/20:00, 2.51 mi at 7:58 and 0.28 at the end. 7.02 mi for the eve. Thurs very easy, 47:35, 4.62 mi at 10:19. Things were pretty busy at parkrun on Sat, good numbers and a few visitors. 2.06 mi at 9:41 for w/u. Stopped and saved on my watch rather than pausing 30:53, 3.04 mi at 10:10, so 10 minutes easy and plan stuff was a separate recording (10:06 mins, 1.0 mile). Plan was meant to be 40 min easy + 10x100m strides (AP with full recovery). Forgot to look up what 100m is in miles, so bit of a mish mash 6:06: 6:00, 7:05, 6:42, 6:15, 6:38, 6:15, 7:28, 6:33, 6:17. Sun was 90:06 at 9:59, 9.02 miles with suncream, yo. Good to see the 2019 novices thread kick off.

May 13th-19th base plan week 2. 31.53 miles. Mon…forgot to bring fruit into work for snacks. 47:53 very easy, 4.63 mi at 10:21 - another fine day. Got back to my car and almost started taking off my shorts, in the work car park. Don't worry, only touched the cloth of them before copping on and didn't remove anything. Brain. :pac: Slight niggle in the right hand knee for a brief spell. Tues rest, afternoon meeting thing. A little knee note again in the morning walking through the city centre and later on. Weds w/u (1.06 mi at 10:28) and 45 mins moderate 45:11, 5.10 mi at 8:51 and brief easy back to the to the car (0.78 mi). I do enjoy moderate, it's quite pleasant. The right knee still a had a very slight hmm now and then during the day. Considered keeping it easy, or just not going out at all. Hope it's nothing more than simply from all of the trucking back and forth that's been part of work lately, but...ya never know when it's the same leg that's given trouble before. Thurs very easy 45:06, 4.36 mi at 10:20. Fri was 90 mins easy 90:31, 8.71 mi at 10:24. Sat w/u 191 mi at 10:10. Right knee a little funny again during w/u, but was fine during the main event. Malahide parkrun with the plan stuff built in, 45 min easy (last 5 min @ Threshold) - 40:08, 4.07 mi at 9:52, plus 5:07, 0.70 mi at 7:21 and 0.22 tail end. I followed the 30 min pacer for most of this, could have slowed down a bit myself at the start tbh, as I was ahead of her. Saw Singer was on pacer duty when the announcements were on. There was a crowd of 30 or so over over from the UK. One of the regular RDs was doing his 250 too. A bloke passed me at one stage in his socks...I did a double take as I wasn't sure if they were very thin shoes at first. Had some sun cream on for the morning, was a little dull overcast after I got scanned. Afterwards I felt that a certain part of my chest was a little raw and some vaseline might be needed on future efforts*. Sun rest/family thing, 225 km round trip by car.

*same again today (May 20th), same shirt

Gathering my times here as it's handier to have them in one post, and I'm starting to get mixed up on the shorter and older ones.

Marathon
    DCM 2016 - 4:17:23
    DCM 2017 - 4:11:31
    Connemara 2018 - 4:30:46
    DCM 2018 - 3:57:25

10 mile
    Frank Duffy 2016 - 1:32:11
    FD2017 - 1:34:37
    FD2018 - 1:21:50

Darkness/Night run/Mark Pollack thing 2014 - 56:20 (Garmin, don't recall the official other than it being 56:XX and don't think it's online).
    Inishbofin 2017 - 54:30
    Manchester 2018 - 53:39
    Wexford 2019 - 46:01

Jingle Bells 2016 - 26:02
    Jingle Bells 2017 - 25:43
    Docklands 2018 - 23:06
    Jingle Bells 2018 - 22:08

Malahide parkrun
    March 19th 2016 - 23:12
    March 23rd 2019 - 21:30

Lacking in S&C these days. :rolleyes:

Sounds like the Inishbofin visitors got on very well. :D

Later in the year will be Docklands 5k, probably FD10 and DCM is a go. Holidays to come. Haven't watched or read any Game of Thrones. :cool: