Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Rochford resigns as Mayo manager

• 27-08-2018 6:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,769 ✭✭✭✭

Some surprising news just breaking. Thought he’d committed to another year even announced new selectors over weekend. Has he been pushed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Never saw that coming if it's true, especially after the appointments last week. Unless they weren't his.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭C__MC

Lack of support from the committee

God a book of Mayo GAA player a from 2018 would sell like hot cakes

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

paulie21 wrote: »
    Some surprising news just breaking. Thought he’d committed to another year even announced new selectors over weekend. Has he been pushed?

Very odd, although a few in the Mayo thread yday were saying they felt very uneasy about how things were going with the whole appointment.

stink from the board, shambolic handling of it and cowardice to leave it to him to resign after the mess of today

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭WanderlustIre

Very odd, although a few in the Mayo thread yday were saying they felt very uneasy about how things were going with the whole appointment.

Why the lads he brought in are management at breaffy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

He jumped before he was pushed.

Why the lads he brought in are management at breaffy

Isn't it the Breaffy players calling the shots in the intercounty setup for a long time now anyway?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,279 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Decent man by all accounts. Sad way to end it but hopefully mayo will go onwards and upwards

Statement from Stephen Rochford:

http://mayogaablog.com/?p=23528

So have the players McGuinness lined up then? They didn't need another reason for me to want them to disappear out of any contention, but that would go right to the top of the list :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Patww79 wrote: »
    Isn't it the Breaffy players calling the shots in the intercounty setup for a long time now anyway?

Oh for crying out loud,not this ****e again :rolleyes:

You don't agree, grand. No need to go all hissy fit about it, people disagree all the time.

Apparently but I'm a dub so Mayo's destruction is all the rage in these parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

If they get McGuinness then it could be a great move with them.

Say what you want about him but his transformation of Donegal was a seriously impressive achievement and they played great football in 2012 in spite of what some people want to think it wasn't all 100% defensive ****e from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Breaffy Mafia

O Shea Sr who bank rolls the setup calls the shots.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Peatys wrote: »
    Breaffy Mafia

What a load of nonsense,totally untrue.:rolleyes:

Peatys wrote: »
    Breaffy Mafia

I quite like the Breaffy set up, clubhouse reminds me of Kilmacuds in Glenalbyn same building type. I had pleasure of playing against them in a Challenger game before. Good lads, although I hate AOS.

seligehgit wrote: »
    What a load of nonsense,totally untrue.:rolleyes:

Well Jim is CB rep for Breaffy.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Anyone see Jim McGs 2 proposals for how Tyrone could beat Dublin this weekend in last week's Irish times?
    The days of Mayo going toe to toe and man to man with Dublin would be over by the start of the fbd league!

Its rubbish ffs but hey if you want to **** stir, off ya go :rolleyes:

**** stir? You're saying it like you know it isn't the case when you really don't. I believe it's true and you don't, big swinging mickeys.

Make sure to post another rolleyes though, they're very effective.

**** stir? You're saying it like you know it isn't the case when you really don't. I believe it's true and you don't, big swinging mickeys.

So what exactly do you believe is true then? And can you be specific? Im genuinely interested because ive never heard anyone actually outline how this Breaffy control works in practise

So what exactly do you believe is true then? And can you be specific?

That's there has been strong player power in the Mayo camp for a long time now and it's a certain group.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

So what exactly do you believe is true then? And can you be specific?

That's there has been strong player power in the Mayo camp for a long time now and it's a certain group.
    That's not very specific.

Needless to say you're very short on specifics about how Breaffy players call the shots. As i suspected. Not a shred of evidence. You think the other players are going to put u with that and Rochford himself? In fact he wanted to appoint the Breaffy management team to his back room team, so how would that work then? I wonder who calls the shots at Breaffy? The players eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,041 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Let them appoint McGuiness and then we can watch the greatest f..k up of all time.

No thanks and id say the vast majority of the Mayo support think the same

They got a pair of managers the road and forced a distastrous goalkeeper change for an all Ireland final for a start.
    Supporters better hope it's McGuiness because it's exactly what they need to get things back run properly, whether it forces retirements or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭bodyguard1

Did they not sign up some Argentinian lad called Francis something the other day at knock airport, he has a huge following apparently, he was a last minute signing just before he boarded a flight to have talks with Roma

gRo8Omxuk4A

They got a pair of managers the road and forced a distastrous goalkeeper change for an all Ireland final for a start.
    Supporters better hope it's McGuiness because it's exactly what they need to get things back run properly, whether it forces retirements or not.

This nonsense about Hennelly is just that, nonsense. I mean do you really think a manager is going to allow that? Yes there was a player revolt. That doesnt equate to Breaffy .calling the shots