Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Pizza ovens

• Registered Users Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

When I ordered my Uuni 2S the guy at bbqco thats in the link in the video said that he has had lots of orders for Uunis and all of them had came as a result of watching that video by Donegal Overlanding in the last 10 days .

Its amazing how we just need to be demonstrated something and we all fight for the last sale stock!

How unhealthy is it to eat pizza every night? I say this because I think I have become obsessed as its so much fun. Its actually better than all of the pizza places around here and a fraction of the cost. My aim is to eat pizza which is costing me about €1.50 per pizza to make and I then deduct that from the €10 from my local pizza place and in a few weeks I will have paid back the £170 it cost me to buy!

I think I need to stay off youtube food channels, they're dangerous!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

How unhealthy is it to eat pizza every night?

How thick are you making the base and what toppings are you putting on?

Thick pizza with a bag of mozarella and half a pack of greasy pepperoni on it is vs a thinner pizza with sparser cheese and veg would be two very different propositions.

Remember to add the fuel costs to your 1.50 - will still be well below the takeout price.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,609 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Anything with cheese and bread is never going to be healthy. But compared to commercially prepared pizzas you can certainly make pizza that is healthier. At least you have control over the amount of salt and sugar that goes into the dough as well as the fat content of the cheese you use. iirc a medium Dominoes pepperoni pizza is around 1,800 calories so it shouldnt be hard to make decent pizza at home that is healthier than that.

So tonight, just for an experiment, we bought some normal frozen pizzas from the supermarket and cooked them in our normal household oven because we wanted to compare. Holy smoke I cannot believe how disgusting they were, and I previously really enjoyed them. Terrible bland crust and overly salty tomato sauce. I didn't think I would ever hear myself saying this, but I will never ever have a frozen pizza ever again. I actually feel like my life has been changed! Lets see in a year when I'm as fat as a whale if I've changed my tune! hahahaha

Lads this thread really needs some food porn, someone please take pics of these pizzas that the Unni is producing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭nihicib2

Newbie here and sorely tempted with the Uuni, we've rented a house on an Island off the Donegal coast for the summer and this would be brilliant, a few questions, can it do more than pizza? Steaks/burgers/bread/flatbreads, stupid question maybe but sure better to ask :D

Also what is the difference between the Uuni 3and Uuni 2s apart from £29 of a difference in price, we have gas available in the house for the cooker so would it be just as good to use gas rather than the pellets, or do the pellets give that smokey wood flavour to the pizza?

Thanks and sorry for all the questions :D

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭RonnieL

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Lads this thread really needs some food porn, someone please take pics of these pizzas that the Unni is producing :)

Planning to make pizza in mine for the first time tomorrow, so if nobody else has obliged by then, I'll help you out!

nihicib2 wrote: »
    Newbie here and sorely tempted with the Uuni, we've rented a house on an Island off the Donegal coast for the summer and this would be brilliant, a few questions, can it do more than pizza? Steaks/burgers/bread/flatbreads, stupid question maybe but sure better to ask :D

Also what is the difference between the Uuni 3and Uuni 2s apart from £29 of a difference in price, we have gas available in the house for the cooker so would it be just as good to use gas rather than the pellets, or do the pellets give that smokey wood flavour to the pizza?

Newbie myself, but I've read a good bit about the Unni's so I think I can answer your questions.

Regarding the difference between the 2s and the 3, the official spiel is added insulation (I can't see too much evidence of that), more sturdy on uneven surfaces because of the new 3 leg design, and improved burner/hopper design, for better pellet burning.

The general consensus seems to be that the pellets can be a pain because you need to be almost constantly monitoring/topping them up, where the gas just does it's thing. I have seen people say it can be hard to get the oven up to temperature with the gas though, particularly on a breezy day. People have also commented that gas really comes into its own if you want to make a good few pizzas. I'm gonna see how I go with the pellets, but I'm going to get the gas thing too - they swap out really easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭curiousb

I have done great steak in mine. I have a cast iron griddle pan which I heat up in the Uuni, then pop the steak on for a minute or two each side (I like rare/medium rare) and it's done with a great sear on the outside and juicy inside.

I use gas and found that having the gas on full bast for this is too much, so dial it back to about 50%.

RonnieL wrote: »
    Newbie myself, but I've read a good bit about the Unni's so I think I can answer your questions.

Regarding the difference between the 2s and the 3, the official spiel is added insulation (I can't see too much evidence of that), more sturdy on uneven surfaces because of the new 3 leg design, and improved burner/hopper design, for better pellet burning.

The general consensus seems to be that the pellets can be a pain because you need to be almost constantly monitoring/topping them up, where the gas just does it's thing. I have seen people say it can be hard to get the oven up to temperature with the gas though, particularly on a breezy day. People have also commented that gas really comes into its own if you want to make a good few pizzas. I'm gonna see how I go with the pellets, but I'm going to get the gas thing too - they swap out really easily.
    Thanks for that Im really tempted now :pac:

curiousb wrote: »
    I have done great steak in mine. I have a cast iron griddle pan which I heat up in the Uuni, then pop the steak on for a minute or two each side (I like rare/medium rare) and it's done with a great sear on the outside and juicy inside.

I use gas and found that having the gas on full bast for this is too much, so dial it back to about 50%.

Ah feck it, off to buy one :D

Welcome to the Uuni club!

You wont ever look back at frozen garbage again or spend a fortune at takeaways.

Here is my first ever home made pizza made on the Uuni.

0OSrn9R.jpg

What one did you order? When is it due for delivery? Some awesome weather coming up to make pizza in the garden.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭platinums

The aldi tower pizza oven is down to 99€ instore, from 149

What one did you order? When is it due for delivery? Some awesome weather coming up to make pizza in the garden.

You can buy it locally:
    https://www.bbpl.ie/special-offers/

• Registered Users Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

You wont ever look back at frozen garbage again or spend a fortune at takeaways.

As someone who has spent years trying to perfect my pizza, that is a damn fine effort! :)

curiousb wrote: »

I did buy it locally, I consider the North as local as anywhere in Ireland and its only €226.82. That saving will buy a fair few bags of good quality hardwood pellets and pizza flour!

I'm a total miser though, I don't believe in paying more than I have to for anything, and if I can buy it anywhere on the island of Ireland for less then its a win win win.

https://gobbqco.com/shop/pizza-ovens/uuni-3/

I bought the 2S to save that extra because its on sale, but it seems wiser to buy the 3 instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

I have a bella pizza oven and it cooks pizzas in 3 to 4 minutes.
    Are pizzas from the wood fired ones really that much better?

They may not be any better in reality. A pizza in a 'real' pizza oven will cook in 60-90 secs due to the hugh temperature', but just because it takes longer in your doesn't mean it won't taste as good!

A lot of it is due to the very high temperatures that these ovens can get too, 500c. Watching the pizza rise and cook so fast is unbelievable at first.

Having said all this, Im just repeating all the stuff I have been reading on the Uuni facebook groups which make your mouth water.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 mpeter92

Any tips on how to get the temp up in the aldi pizza oven ? chimney open or closed?damper open or closed? I can only get 250 c after the flames see die down. I put one in at 350 with some flames licking the pizza stone. Started to blacken the base.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Carra23

mpeter92 wrote: »
    Any tips on how to get the temp up in the aldi pizza oven ? chimney open or closed?damper open or closed? I can only get 250 c after the flames see die down. I put one in at 350 with some flames licking the pizza stone. Started to blacken the base.

I'd just keep firing logs on to keep it hot and with regard to blackening of the bases, I took a tip from someone earlier in this thread who said that this happens with the Aldi oven and the way around it is to put the pizza onto a metal pizza dish type thing that you'd use in a conventional oven and place that on the stone so that the base isn't directly on the stone. It worked great for us.

We used our Aldi oven yesterday for a BBQ and same problem, cooked well for about 25 minutes and temps plummeted so I am going to see if I can insulate the outside of it somehow. Unfortunately this won't be possible without taking away from how it looks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭oleras

0OSrn9R.jpg

That crust looks amazing.

What dough recipe did you use ?

Treated myself to a stand mixer so will make a few on the Joe tomorrow.

That saving will buy a fair few bags of good quality hardwood pellets and pizza flour!

Speaking of hardwood pellets - anyone know of a more economical source than ordering online and paying for delivery? I bought a bag locally, but realised they are soft wood. I'm laying some of the blame for my disastrous first uuni outing on them.

Well after consulting with my bank balance we have both decided that Im skint until payday, Thursday :D

And a huge coincidence today, bumped into the guys who made the review video on the Uuni pizza oven, the one by Donegal Overlanding that was pasted a few pages back. Saw the logo on their jeep outside the local shop and had a chat with them (Richard and Leigh) about the oven, they suggested going for the Uuni 3, they had the 2s and thought the 3 just had a few better features for the sake of a few pound more, they also suggested using Brites pellets, which I think you can get from Enniskillen, that they were cheaper and the same quality as the ones available from Uuni. Ive sent them a link o the thread so they hopefully can give more advice if needed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=_3iTZIgL-HE

So I guess Ill go for the 3 if the bank balance allows me

oleras wrote: »
    That crust looks amazing.

What dough recipe did you use ?

Treated myself to a stand mixer so will make a few on the Joe tomorrow.

Just the standard recipe from the Uuni site. Not used 00 flour as not seen any for sale.

http://recipes.uuni.net/classic-pizza-dough-recipe/

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Donegal Overlanding

Well after consulting with my bank balance we have both decided that Im skint until payday, Thursday :D

And a huge coincidence today, bumped into the guys who made the review video on the Uuni pizza oven, the one by Donegal Overlanding that was pasted a few pages back. Saw the logo on their jeep outside the local shop and had a chat with them (Richard and Leigh) about the oven, they suggested going for the Uuni 3, they had the 2s and thought the 3 just had a few better features for the sake of a few pound more, they also suggested using Brites pellets, which I think you can get from Enniskillen, that they were cheaper and the same quality as the ones available from Uuni. Ive sent them a link o the thread so they hopefully can give more advice if needed.

You can imagine the scene. We were camping in Donegal with our boat on a trailer behind us, we were making a review of a Coleman stove and were looking in the local shop for some food to cook on it. Outside getting into the Land Rover a woman drives up and says "Hi I recognise you from the Pizza review!" and we are stood staring for a moment as I comprehend what was going on. Not going to lie, we were giggling as we drove away feeling like minor celebrities after being "spotted" for the very first time ever!

So the Uuni, absolutely love it, as you could tell from the video we posted. Have used it countless times since making the review and we are improving each time.

I was saying to nihicib2 that if we were buying it again we may have considered buying the Uuni 3, rather than the 2S. I do not believe there is any extra insulation in the 3, but its slightly redesigned and its "approved" to use with the Uuni gas burner. I emailed Uuni about being able to
    use the gas burner on the 2S and they never said it couldn't be used, just that it had not been approved for the 2S. My feelings are that they would be wanting to sell the 3 as its the new model, but looking at how the ovens work, I cannot see what the difference would be. The main thing is if using gas keep the front door off and the chimney cap closed. The danger with the door on is if somehow the gas blows out, it could build up in there and when you relight it it could go boooooooom!

Just to clarify what I was saying about Brites pellets, they may not be as good as the hardwood ones from Uuni, but I have read a lot about them and apart from having a higher burn rate and a little bit more ash, they seem to be able to do the job. We are going to try a bag of brites and see how we get on because the cost savings are fantastic. Having said all that, even at the £18.50 for 10KG of Uuni pellets from gobbq in Craigavon, its still a ridiculous saving over takeaway pizza and you can create the perfect pizza with great quality and healthy ingredients.

I hope many of you enjoyed the review as much as we had making it. Here comes the shameless plug part. We would really appreciate if any of you would care to subscribe to the youtube channel. We have worked really hard to build it and have tried to make sure we keep the content original and promoting outdoor living all over Ireland. We are in the process of editing some events we had in the last few weeks, a trip to Arranmore Island in Donegal, a weekender in County Kerry and in a couple of weeks we are hosting another camping weekend in County Wicklow. All of this is totally free and its purely for the love of the outdoors and aiming to meet new friends into the same kind of thing.

That crust looks amazing and has my tongue hanging out :D

Have one of those ovens myself and its performance isnt what it used to be out of the box. It claims 390 degrees and I think it was achieving around that at the beginning but now definitely not getting that high in temps. Not sure if other owners have found the same thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Donegal Overlanding

So its Friday now and we are all awaiting the news, did you order the Uuni 2S or the Uuni 3 and where are you first pizza photos? Excited to see the result!

Ha Im sure ye are all sitting there waiting on word alright :D

Unfortunately one of my horses took ill last night and the vet is coming after 1 so the pizza will just have to wait until I see the vets bill :eek:

But it shall be bought, oh yes it shall be bought, I have dough proving outside at the mo and will be using the Giles and Posner electric pizza oven for now, not a patch on the real thing I know but for now it'll do rightly :D