Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Should Dublin Football be split?

• 05-06-2018 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭

Should Dublin Football be Split? 379 votes

Yes, and I'm from Dublin
    0% 0 votes
    No, and I'm from Dublin
    15% 58 votes
    Yes, and I'm NOT from Dublin
    51% 195 votes
    No, and I'm NOT from Dublin
    33% 126 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 11,282 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Is it the summer already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Absolutely not its up to others to improve their own game not stifle the best team and no im not from Dublin in case you may be wondering.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭MattressRick

This has been discussed to death in the media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭munster87

No and I'm not from Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

No as it would undo all the good work done in Dublin football the past decade. A full championship restructure and proper investment in other counties is what is needed imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Already happened.
    We now have Dublin in Ireland and North American Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yes.

By all means split us up.

Then it will be Dublin A vs Dublin B in every single All Ireland final until the end of time.

The planet will be spared all the 'Mayo God help us' beal bochting, when they lose yet another final. We'll also be spared all the Kerry whinging that their human rights have been breached by their not being handed the Sam Maguire cup at the start of every year.

It's a win win for all concerned really. Dunno why no one thought of it sooner.

Where do I go to sign a petition to make this happen?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Yes.

By all means split us up.

Then it will be Dublin A vs Dublin B in every single All Ireland final until the end of time.

The planet will be spared all the 'Mayo God help us' beal bochting, when they lose yet another final. We'll also be spared all the Kerry whinging that their human rights have been breached by their not being handed the Sam Maguire cup at the start of every year.

It's a win win for all concerned really. Dunno why no one thought of it sooner.

Where do I go to sign a petition to make this happen?

Well then we'd just have to split both of them in half and keep doing so until there's an all Ireland final without a Dublin team in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Should Kerry be split too?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,792 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Kilkenny won 8 out of 10 All Irelands, some of them were over as contests after 15 minutes, and nobody talked about a split.

Dublin win a few All Irelands by small margins and the sore losers come up with this nonsense.
    It's pathetic, not one ounce of it is motivated by the love of the game or the best interests of the sport.

Any county which proposes it should be thrown out of the All Ireland.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

This ****e again!

Dublin having a good run as did Kilkenny, Kerry....etc in the past. Why the sudden call for a split?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Dublin haven’t always dominated so remember this. The population advantage has always been there. Dubs Leinster rivals Meath Kildare Laois Westmeath have all gone backwards in recent years at the same time Dubs hve progressed

• Registered Users Posts: 18,921 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Amprodude wrote: »
    Should Kerry be split too?

One is unbearable. Imagine two of ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭dobman88

One is unbearable. Imagine two of ye.

Here don't be lumping that langer in with us. He's a Cork man and they can keep him..

Splitting Dublin is absolute nonsense and this thread was created to just stir things up, the OP states he doesn't want Dublin split so why even bring it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

So it's the population that gives the advantage? So the Dublin hurlers are top dogs every year, yeah?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,921 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

dobman88 wrote: »
    Here don't be lumping that langer in with us. He's a Cork man and they can keep him..

Splitting Dublin is absolute nonsense and this thread was created to just stir things up, the OP states he doesn't want Dublin split so why even bring it up.

Is he really?

I always had him pegged as a long grass dweller. The more you know...

---

Patww is doing us service. Another thread was about to get derailed earlier with Dublin split nonsense so it was suggest a dedicated split cesspool be made to take the swill.

---

Shocked at how one-sided it is against the split tbh.

Stoner and Slattsy the 2 obvious traitors to the cause. Heffo is turning in his grave.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭TrueGael

Yawn the Kerry and KK thing brought upon again

Yawn it's Meath Kildare Westmeath fault

Yawn it's just a golden phase (for our mens and women's Footballers, our hurling and Camogie, clubs yada yada yada yada) and it'll soon change (we promise!!!!)

Peatys wrote: »
    So it's the population that gives the advantage? So the Dublin hurlers are top dogs every year, yeah?

Yeah well some people don't seem to realise there are other sports played here, sure in Southside Dublin rugby is the national sport! Seven of the Leinster starting fifteen were born in Dublin.

The last Kerryman to represent Republic of Ireland was back in the 1960s. Sean Maguire became the first Kilkenny man since the 1930s to don the green jersey!

https://www.balls.ie/football/the-last-irish-soccer-international-from-every-county-in-the-country-302925

• Registered Users Posts: 6,828 ✭✭✭doc_17

Of course they shouldn’t. But every county should be treated the same. That means that when Donegal/Mayo/Kerry/Tyrone play Dublin in the Championship they should have the same change of home advantage as Dublin have.

I couldn’t give a s**t about capacity. Some people can’t see it, is that worse than the removal of equity?

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Yeah well some people don't seem to realise there are other sports played here, sure in Southside Dublin rugby is the national sport! Seven of the Leinster starting fifteen were born in Dublin.

The last Kerryman to represent Republic of Ireland was back in the 1960s. Sean Maguire became the first Kilkenny man since the 1930s to don the green jersey!

https://www.balls.ie/football/the-last-irish-soccer-international-from-every-county-in-the-country-302925

Some people don't seem to realise there is a million and a half people in Dublin and growing to 2 million and loads of jobs and in other places a fraction of the jobs, population and infrastructure to play said sports on a wide scale

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

TrueGael wrote: »
    Yawn the Kerry and KK thing brought upon again

Yawn it's Meath Kildare Westmeath fault

Yawn it's just a golden phase (for our mens and women's Footballers, our hurling and Camogie, clubs yada yada yada yada) and it'll soon change (we promise!!!!)

yawn sore losers

Some people don't seem to realise there is a million and a half people in Dublin and growing to 2 million and loads of jobs and in other places a fraction of the jobs, population and infrastructure to play said sports on a wide scale

The population of Dublin is not even one third of the total population of the Republic of Ireland. So when you say a fraction, you're actually talking about the majority of the jobs, population and infrastructure of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

At the moment, no.

If at some point in the future someone produces a really well constructed study that shows beyond all reasonable doubt that Dublin being dominant in football is harming the game and that splitting the county will improve things for everyone then break out the cleavers.

With that said, I am considering running in the next general election with my sole piece of policy being a campaign to make the "so and so should be split in two" joke into a hangable offence. Or maybe death by log splitter, that's probably more appropriate. Either way, it's something that stopped being funny years ago, not that it was very funny to begin with.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,575 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Patww79 wrote: »
    The Gael is here at last. Now it'll become obvious why this was necessary.

Yawn, do you not get bored of this nonsense.

I mean it's just a waste of electricity making a thread with this crap in it.

Yawn thou shall not even hint at criticising the Almighty Juggernaut

Yawn we have absolutely no advantages over anybody else and if you even hint at an advantage you will be silenced Kim Jong Un style

Yawn how about we introduce a B championship so they won't get slaughtered by the Juggernaut and end up losing their best players to commiting to IC because of demoralizing humiliations in the Coliseum

Yawn from a weaker county but instead opt to support and worship the Big Beast instead and glory in their bought success

Yawn how about we merge weaker counties and to hell with their identities but silence if you dare split up our conglomerate behemoth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

When Kerry and Meath had decent teams the population of Dublin didn't seem to be much of an advantage.

1995 to 2011 what happend, Dubs couldn't even make the final, never mind win it..

Population all fecked off out on the lash?