Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Rage 2 (confirmed)

• 14-05-2018 4:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

This one will be developed by Avalanche Studios, the studio responsible for the 2015 open-world Mad Max game. The first Rage, developed by id Software and released in 2011, received mediocre reviews.

I liked the 1st one :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

dreamers75 wrote: »
    I liked the 1st one :(

So did I, but that announcement trailer is f*cking terrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Absolutely loved the first one.... there was a real Mad Max apocolyptic vibe. Hopefully this sequel delivers...

My jaysus,that promo video is truly awful :(

Uncharted wrote: »
    Absolutely loved the first one.... there was a real Mad Max apocolyptic vibe. Hopefully this sequel delivers...

New one is part made by the guys who did the latest Mad Max (Avalanche Studios).

As already mentioned here, I'm getting a Sunset Overdrive vibe from this. That is, moving away from the grittiness of the first. We'll see when the gameplay video drops tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Damn, talking about trying too hard... I love mad max world and this could be it, but it is just cringy terrible.
    Who the **** signed it off and said: Good job lads, we are going with this!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Here's hoping the gun-play is similar to the original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I think it looks like they're taking it in a far more cartoony direction. First game was good, sort of like a linear Fallout lite. I enjoyed it.

Will be interesting to see if this is more open world, I'm guessing it will be. Closer to Fallout meets Borderlands probably than the first game.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,778 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I'd be the opposite. The first game was fun but felt 5 years out of date. The game needs an overhaul so a new approach is welcome. If the developer can do a similar job to how ID did with Doom it could be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,731 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Uncharted wrote: »

My jaysus,that promo video is truly awful :(

1980's tv advert flashback seemed to be the theme of the day for bethesda there

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'd be the opposite. The first game was fun but felt 5 years out of date. The game needs an overhaul so a new approach is welcome. If the developer can do a similar job to how ID did with Doom it could be great.

The first game was a total mess with a mixture of game elements that just didn't gel together, ran like crap and on top of a story that just went nowhere and really left a bad taste in the player's mouth when it just randomly stopped.

Good summary here for those that don't recall how FUBARed Rage was back in the day.

I'm hoping that announcement trailer is just bad PR and not indicative what Rage2 will actually be like.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 2,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rob2D

Yeah I was dumbfounded at this announcement. Literally the thing nobody has ever asked for.

I remember Rage 1 being an utter waste of my time.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,964 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I loved the first game, city of the dead was epic!

Wasn't the first game in development hell for a long time?

Venom wrote: »

5 minutes in yer man goes "ahead of the curb". Oh dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Bethesda are 3 for 3 on id properties as far as I'm concerned, the 2 wolfenstein games and the Doom reboot were great, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt for the time being. I was hoping we'd see a new single player Quake game though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

The mechanics of Rage were fantastic. The AI was great.
    It was very pretty, but only when you stood still.

It seems like maybe they decided there wasn't enough game in the combat or someone got some notions about open-worldedness. It felt like a couple of bad games glued onto a good, solid, if somewhat short shooter, and also the story was crap.

Wolfenstein and Doom both turned their nose up at the increasing trend towards realism in games off the back of COD and MW.
    If they're going to continue in that vein and this is going to be a pure, focused, energetic shooter, I'd wonder what the point is and why they'd not make Doom 2 or get back into single player Quake. There's certainly more saturation of post-apocalyptic wasteland stuff than Lovecraftian horror, or even sci-fi body horror, particularly now that Dead Space is dead.

I'd be on board if they could pull off a proper, gritty, scavenging survival shooter, but this doesn't look like that from that awful trailer.

At worst it'll probably be grand so at least there's that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

I loved the first game, city of the dead was epic!

Wasn't the first game in development hell for a long time?
    A lot of that time was spent developing the engine used to power the game, id Tech 5, but the period also saw them working on Quake Live and at a higher level, going through different publishers and also an acquisition by Zenimax.

As for RAGE, it came across as a game that ultimately suffered from a company ramping up to multi-platform development, trying their hand at multiple new mechanics and gameplay systems they hadn't experienced before all with an engine that was in constant development. Also, as anyone who has witnessed the ending in the game will testify, it also looks like it was kicked out the door well before it was really done.

RAGE 2 is an entirely different proposition though. Regardless of what engine the game is developed in, id Tech 6 or Avalanche 3, it's going to be built on a far more stable base either directly or with the aid of a team who are experienced in large scale open world vehicle based games. Even if it's iD calling the overall design shots, it'll likely be a different team than led RAGE so I'd be loath to apprehensive of the sequel for fear of it being "more of the same".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Gameplay video, looks like a borefest to me:

Really pushing the Andrew WK aren't they?

Looks like Mad Max crossed with MadWorld. ... but sh!ttier.

This was posted on reddit earlier.

3p45etihrux01.png

I don't really know who the target audience is supposed to be? It's like the sequel nobody asked for.

Edit: And its reveal and content so far is just cringeworthy - that pic in your screenshot alone is like something from an ADD youtubers video thumbnail.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Woohoo!
    I don't really know who the target audience is supposed to be? It's like the sequel nobody asked for.

I'm this games target market.
    I wanted this sequel.
    Sorry if that goes against the hive mind ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

So much curmudgeonry and neckbearding in threads these days :pac:

hqdefault.jpg

I'll leave you all to hum and haw over how the world doesn't need another blah de blah with the cringey xyz.
    I'll just be here enjoying my mindless, silly fun vidya game.
    I.D. have been doing great stuff recently, no reason to expect them to drop the ball in terms of fun gameplay at this juncture.

I hope the game is just wall to wall Andrew W.K. from when you start and that muting it is disabled

4b86cdd9a66526c025daf6d6c98e82e1-0.gif

God I f**king love me some car combat

Woohoo!

I wanted this sequel.

I'll leave you all to hum and haw over how the world doesn't need another blah de blah with the cringey xyz.

I hope the game is just wall to wall Andrew W.K. from when you start and that muting it is disabled

...not sure if sarcasm... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

verycool wrote: »
    ...not sure if sarcasm... :pac:

It's is 100% not sarcasm.
    Is it really so unbelievable that someone could just enjoy a 14 hour shooty bang bang vroom game? (Before DOOM and Wolfenstein repopularised this when Open-World-itis hit critical mass)
    Not every person who enjoys games is gonna be creaming their pants at the next Elder Scrolls or Ubisoft the Game or whatever.
    We're all different and RAGE was easily one of the 20 games I've had the most FUN in in my 29 years of playing vidya games
    The ending and the game itself were rushed but I f**king loved the game for what it was

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Struggling to get on board with the negativity to be honest, it looks like a mash up of RAGE, Borderlands and Bulletstorm. I mean, yay?

It's is 100% not sarcasm.
    Is it really so unbelievable that someone could just enjoy a 14 hour shooty bang bang vroom game? (Before DOOM and Wolfenstein repopularised this when Open-World-itis hit critical mass)
    Not every person who enjoys games is gonna be creaming their pants at the next Elder Scrolls or Ubisoft the Game or whatever.
    We're all different and RAGE was easily one of the 20 games I've had the most FUN in in my 29 years of playing vidya games
    The ending and the game itself were rushed but I f**king loved the game for what it was

I mean their advertising isn't really doing it justice... so I'm changing my tune to "cautiously optimistic" (cos I do get Doom / Borderlands vibes from this and I loved those).

Woohoo!

I wanted this sequel.

hqdefault.jpg

I.D. have been doing great stuff recently, no reason to expect them to drop the ball in terms of fun gameplay at this juncture.

4b86cdd9a66526c025daf6d6c98e82e1-0.gif

God I f**king love me some car combat

Horses for courses man, if you are happy for this then I hope it lives up to your expectations. It looks like an absolute ball of ****e to me, and a ****ing tragic choice considering the IP Bethesda have and could have developed instead of this, but hey that's just my opinon.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭nix

Right on!

I liked both trailers above, looks like a fun game.

I'm surprised alot here are being so negative, but then again i never played the first rage so that could be it.. Or maybe its Andrew W.K's fault I'm liking it so much :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 27,583 ✭✭✭✭T. Hanks

Horses for courses man, if you are happy for this then I hope it lives up to your expectations. It looks like an absolute ball of ****e to me, and a ****ing tragic choice considering the IP Bethesda have and could have developed instead of this, but hey that's just my opinon.

Lol ah ffs lads

Tragic, really??

• Registered Users Posts: 27,583 ✭✭✭✭T. Hanks

gizmo wrote: »
    Struggling to get on board with the negativity to be honest, it looks like a mash up of RAGE, Borderlands and Bulletstorm. I mean, yay?

I've said this in another thread. People hating on this for the sake it. I think the gameplay looks great. Either iD looking after the FPS mechanics it actually looks Doom esk

Brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Shooty shooty bang bang.

I'm getting it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

I loved Rage, the scorchers DLC was pretty much the real ending to it. Cautiously optimistic ...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,964 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I enjoyed that trailer, hope we see some lengthy gameplay at e3.