Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

We're re-watching The Clinic before it's removed off the player. The actress that flays Aoife and Jane we best friends in The Clinic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

Wayne would be better off in jail having a nice break from Orla and her bullying attitude to him which has been a pattern for their whole marriage.

#mentoo

Does anybody else think that Will guy looks kind of creepy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Does anybody else think that Will guy looks kind of creepy?

Yes. When he first came into it I was sure he was trying to lure Christiano into an empty park so he could beat him up for being gay, there was a very odd vibe to him. Maybe he is also connected to Oakily Dokily in some way and wants to ruin Manson. More to him than meets the eye.

Jim told the Medical Council everything about his past....

....on a Sunday. :rolleyes:

The Hungry Pig is some goldmine- even on a Sunday Morning its open and customers are tucking into burgers chips and cokes.
    Now I don't live in a big city so its entirely possible that this is commonplace, to eat fast food early Sunday Morning in a small town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Ah yeah Carol just let yourself in there, you and Paul are great mates..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

The Hungry Pig is some goldmine- even on a Sunday Morning its open and customers are tucking into burgers chips and cokes.
    Now I don't live in a big city so its entirely possible that this is commonplace, to eat fast food early Sunday Morning in a small town?

Unfortunately it's commonplace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Anyone up for a poll for who you think done it?

Either way i'm going to do a pure outside guess....Bob! He just arrived into a scene this eve for no particular reason "Kieran with Katie style"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

Not at all, sure us city folk spend our weekend mornings tucking into the sourdough toast with avocado and poached eggs in fancy coffee shops.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

Has Damien left Carrigstown? Did he deliberately hit Laura?

It's strange that there's absolutely no mention of them or Mark these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Why would Aoife kill her own daughter?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭political analyst

At this rate of going, I suspect that Wayne will be joining Barry and Dermot behind bars. Either he'll be charged with murder or he'll be done for manslaughter for not calling an ambulance and also perverting the course of justice.

The damage was done before Orla became aware of what had happpened. If her part was found out, she'd probably get a suspended sentence.

It just seems too easy for Oisín to be the murderer.

Maybe Karen committed suicide in an elaborate ploy to made it look like murder to get revenge on Orla!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Forget about who murdered Karen, the guards need to search for Kerri-Ann's baby bump, ffs, she's getting thinner as the pregnancy progresses.

She had a bump last week, now it’s completely gone :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

She had to point it out to Deegan this evening.

Why would Aoife kill her own daughter?

Because Carol Wayne and Orla are never going to leave the soap so it aint going to be them. Its too obvious to be Oisin or Sean. Its always the person who is in the soap the least amount of time. Hence either Aoife or Karen did it herself.

Yeah but Eoin “killed” Michael and he hasn’t left? Likewise Oakley who killed Hannah & continues to make regular appearances from jail ! They don’t all disappear :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Maybe it was Saoirse Ronan's Dad?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭jenny wren 1950

I still think it was self inflicted :( and the new cop is fecking them around as he knows they are all lying and just wants them to suffer:)

If it wasn't self inflicted I think it might have being Kerri-Ann.
    It would make for a good story a pregnant woman going to jail and then Decco being landed with the baby. She also gets very flustered around the Gardai.
    I could also see the actress wanting to move on from the soap mainly because she's going out with the TD fella!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I still think it was self inflicted :( and the new cop is fecking them around as he knows they are all lying and just wants them to suffer:)

I'm for self inflicted too, the one thing that scuppers that for me though, is, where is the weapon?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

If it wasn't self inflicted I think it might have being Kerri-Ann.
    It would make for a good story a pregnant woman going to jail and then Decco being landed with the baby. She also gets very flustered around the Gardai.
    I could also see the actress wanting to move on from the soap mainly because she's going out with the TD fella!

I think it might be Kerrie Anne too. All she's concerned about is "being a family" with Decco, never mind what has happened with her affair or Karen's murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

It reminds me of Startrek years ago, when a newbie is beamed down by Scotty, you just knew he ain’t coming back!

Well up to now Fair City has been very easy to predict. Ciaran kidnapped Katy, Niamh went back to Paul over and over again. Now with this, it absolutely isn't going to be the long termers who did it. Which points to the actor with the lowest hours clocked up, hence either Aoife did it for some twisted reason or Karen did it herself to frame everyone. Ill miss Aoife, she is a very good actress, sticks out a mile amongst amateurs like Carol who has played the same character her whole life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I feel exactly the same. There's no one among those who are murderers. We know full well it isn't Sean or Wayne. Orla is hardly a murderer either. Decco and Kerri Ann would not be murderers either and Decco has no motive. Carol did not kill the men she hated most, her father Trigger and Billy, so it ain't her either. Oisin is a prankster but while he sets out to annoy people and is overconfident, he ain't a murderer. That leaves Aoife, Karen's mother. Would FC go for such a dark story? Aoife does not appear to have any motive and does seem genuinely upset about her daughter's death. All this points to the most likely and seemingly ONLY conclusion: Karen was so depressed and disillusioned that she killed herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,792 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I know Aoife has been in it the least but she has no motive and why would a mother kill her own daughter. If they writers wrote that it would just make zero sense.

Im also wondering how the writers are going to reveal how Karen died. I was thinking they might use some sort of flashback scene but as this is Fair City the big reveal will probably be a one or two line scene in the Spar and then the show will quickly move on for the latest update on Charlies bunions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

I'm watching the Joy on RTÉ. No sign of Oakley, Dermot of Barry yet. Any other characters in jail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I know Aoife has been in it the least but she has no motive and why would a mother kill her own daughter. If they writers wrote that it would just make zero sense.

Im also wondering how the writers are going to reveal how Karen died. I was thinking they might use some sort of flashback scene but as this is Fair City the big reveal will probably be a one or two line scene in the Spar and then the show will quickly move on for the latest update on Charlies bunions.
    Where’s Charlie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Muahahaha wrote: »

I'm sure it is Karen who killed Karen but if it was not, I doubt if it is Aoife or any of the longterm cast. So, if not Karen killing herself, it would be some new character. Perhaps some online weirdo she arranged to meet or someone from her pre-FC past.

An outside possibility is if it a character already in FC, it may be that guy who was with Dolores' friend who died and who went out on the 'date' with Cristiano. He has an indirect link to Karen via Dolores who is mother of Wayne, in whose house Karen was living and was killed. If this seemingly dull character introduced as merely a facilitator to give Dolores her friend's money and businesses becomes FC's new baddie, it would not be the first time a soap introduced a seemingly dull character who was a nutcase. Remember when Alma died in Coronation St: her cousin, a seemingly ordinary and decent accountant introduced at her funeral and to be the love interest of her friend Gail, actually was a crazed murderer. Richard Hillman was his name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

At this stage, the makers of Fair City seem to have given up all pretense that the show bears any resemblance to reality.

Look at Kerri-Anne, for fcuk's sake. She's meant to be, what, five months pregnant, yet the producers haven't bothered to strap a pillow round her waist, or even give her a chunky jacket to wear.
    Right now, Decco looks more pregnant than Kerri-Anne does.And he seems to be more moody too, and subject to bouts of hysterics and crying. Oh, and he's starting to develop that 'new Mammy' glow. Isn't that sweet?

Carol : "The gaurds took Oisín to the barracks in the squad car."
    Orla : " What? Has he been arrested? "
    No, Orla, ya eegit. They're just bringing him to the barracks to ask his opinion on the new curtains.

I'm starting to lose interest in the question of "Who stabbed Karen?"
    Back in the eighties, we had car stickers that asked "Who shot JR?" You young 'uns wouldn't remember, but people actually held conversations in homes and pubs about the possible identity of the villian.
    Ahh, great times!
    Strangely, I was in two pubs last night, but the question of Karen's' murder never cropped up.
    Have we lost our humanity?