Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

I thought it from the beginning, but I've revised it somewhat, so here goes.

Karen, being as she was mentally unstable, threw away her phone in the hopes that it would be found along with Oisin's trolling, malicious texts, then, still having the key to Orla's, let herself in and wrote ''slut'' across the fridge with her own lipstick.

I actually think that at some stage she took the scissors she used to cut her gloves in The Station with her, in the hopes to frame Orla for attempted murder, then maybe, when she had inflicted the damage on herself (which she never intended to be life threatening) hidden the scissors (wiped clean of her prints) in Orla's kitchen drawer.

But someone - I'm guessing Carol - saw her making her way into Orla's, found her in the process of tring to inflict injury on herself, tried to reason with her, then had a tussle when she realised her intent. Unfortunately, Carol, or Karen herself, managed to drive the scissors deep into her stomach in the course of the altercation.

An accident - not intentional murder (even though Karen, whom had not intended on killing herself, just hoped to frame Orla, ended up dead anyway).

IMO, Carol left the scene in a panic, and took the scissors with her, thinking Karen was already dead at that point, because she knew - what with her prior criminal record and tendency towards violence - that no one would believe her if her prints were found on the scissors.

So, that's just my humble opinion, hence Carol asking Jane to provide her with an alibi.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

So where will Waynes blood soaked car end up...??...did he torch it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Can anyone remember where Karen dumped her phone? I thought she was in the park and threw it into a bush or something, but then Robbie said he found it outside the community centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Karen, being as she was mentally unstable, threw away her phone in the hopes that it would be found along with Oisin's trolling, malicious texts, then, still having the key to Orla's, let herself in and wrote ''slut'' across the fridge with her own lipstick.

I actually think that at some stage she took the scissors she used to cut her gloves in The Station with her, in the hopes to frame Orla for attempted murder, then maybe, when she had inflicted the damage on herself (which she never intended to be life threatening) hidden the scissors (wiped clean of her prints) in Orla's kitchen drawer.

But someone - I'm guessing Carol - saw her making her way into Orla's, found her in the process of tring to inflict injury on herself, tried to reason with her, then had a tussle when she realised her intent. Unfortunately, Carol, or Karen herself, managed to drive the scissors deep into her stomach in the course of the altercation.

An accident - not intentional murder (even though Karen, whom had not intended on killing herself, just hoped to frame Orla, ended up dead anyway).

IMO, Carol left the scene in a panic, and took the scissors with her, thinking Karen was already dead at that point, because she knew - what with her prior criminal record and tendency towards violence - that no one would believe her if her prints were found on the scissors.

So, that's just my humble opinion, hence Carol asking Jane to provide her with an alibi.... :)

Interesting hypothesis. ☺ I hope it was Carol and she gets thrown in jail so we won't have to look at anymore of her snarling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

the new detective is hot he was in cowboys and angels tears ago

Ahh, I forgot about that movie. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,767 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Interesting theory. It would leave the way open for everything to be revealed at some point in the future in the form of a "flashback".

I did think it very odd that Carol would lie to the police about a false alibi (or that Jane would go along with it - if someone asked me to give them an alibi, I would refuse point blank). This is a murder investigation after all, not the theft of someone's wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Sparko wrote: »
    Can anyone remember where Karen dumped her phone? I thought she was in the park and threw it into a bush or something, but then Robbie said he found it outside the community centre?

I was thinking about that too, I definitely remember her throwing it into a bush.

I don't get the theory of her throwing it into a bush so as it would be found and the txt's from Oisín would be spotted. It might never have been found, or, if it was, the finder could have wiped it.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Strazdas wrote: »
    Interesting theory. It would leave the way open for everything to be revealed at some point in the future in the form of a "flashback".

I did think it very odd that Carol would lie to the police about a false alibi (or that Jane would go along with it - if someone asked me to give them an alibi, I would refuse point blank). This is a murder investigation after all, not the theft of someone's wallet.

Judging by Jane's face when asked to lie, she isn't going to collaborate Caddle's story.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭trixiebust

coolhull wrote: »
    Once again, the pace of official action in Carrigstown is absolutely incredible.
    On Sunday, Karen found herself a nice, clean, comfortable spot in the park in which to lie down and kick the bucket.
    By Tuesday forenoon, the post-mortem has been conducted, the medical examiner's report has landed on the desk of the Murder Squad, the wake has been held , the funeral service over, and the burial been completed.
    Such efficency is a credit to the Department of Justice, the undertakers, and the grave diggers........

Aoife, to the after - funeral attendees : "Please, if any of you know anything at all about the murder of my daughter, please go and talk to Sergeant Deegan."
    Ah, Aoife, you're relatively new to Carrigstown, aren't you?
    The residents (and ourselves) know that if a crime has been committed, probably the last person to approach is Sgt Deegan.
    In the past three years, he has carved only three notches onto his belt regarding crimes solved in Carrigstown Garda District.

He was first on the scene when Charlotte, with unlawful intent and malice aforethought , kicked over a wheelbarrow, containing 2 turnips and a radish.
    To be fair, he used his discretion in that occasion to let her off, after a grim warning (and dark insinuations regarding the Women's Prison in the Joy).
    Then , there was the famous 'Case of the Missing Flower Pot', where, once again, Deegan, using his analytical mind, had the entire mystery solved before the first commercial break.
    His last case was known to crime afficianados as the 'Great Missing Tail-light Affair.'
    Once again, John Deegan, after a period of intense investigation, was able to bring the heinous, psychotic criminal to face a judge and jury and made to atone for his criminal ways.
    ( Sgt John has been on a well-deserved extended break, more or less, since then.)

It struck me tonight that the late, not- much - lamented Dan used to work in the hotel Gym, and ended up being murdered.
    The late lamented Karen worked in the very same Gym, and within a few weeks, ended up also being murdered.
    At this stage, poor Laura must be absolutely sh*tting herself!

You almost make laugh as much as I do watching an episode with these :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Good post but with one little flaw- if its Carol then that means eventually it will be found out which means her going to jail which means her leaving the soap.
    I know that aint happening, Aisling O Neil who plays her knows that aint happening so that leaves us with either Karen herself, Aoife or Manson.

It was definitely in the park. She was sitting on one of the park benches and threw it into the bushes behind her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Strazdas wrote: »
    It was definitely in the park. She was sitting on one of the park benches and threw it into the bushes behind her.

But isnt the park behind the community centre/spar/every house..??

Yes I think it's behind the side entrance to Vinos I think? It's supposed to be very near the shops anway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,791 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The interview room in the cop shop could do with a lick of paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Niall_76

Carol was in McCoys drinking with Decco. According to her story to the Gardaí was she supposed to have gone home to Jane and nipped back out for a vodka?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Oh jesus another plan

giphy.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

Sean.. what are they trying to do to the chap. Any brief appearances he has on the soap he's being the prime suspect in some crime..

Around 2013, roughly, he was accused of robbery in Spar and leaving Christy for dead.

It seems like he has hardly been in the show since then and low and behold he gets a bit of a run in 2018 and he's chief suspect in Karen's murder!

He's the one fella in Carrigstown i'd put the mortgage on not committing anysort of crime. The chap is harmless..he wouldn't identify his own niece bouncing outside a pub :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 755 ✭✭✭NAGDEFI

I know a lot of people appreciate the acting of Oisin, aka Patrick Ball.

However even if he was Leonardo Di Caprio, i can't stand him. Everytime i see him i want to strangle the little weasel.

At the start of the episode they mentioned the post mortem isn't completed? So did they have a funeral without the body so? Is that standard?

John jumping to the conclusion that Sean is guilty is a bit of a slap in the face for poor Sean, his neighbour of many years.

Also Jim needs a new receptionist, the amount of people who just barge into his office because the reception is unmanned. God forbid a GPs office might be considered a confidential area!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

They are doing a decent job in fairness of making the audience believe its anyone other than Aoife, Miriam or Karen herself.

Also Jim needs a new receptionist, the amount of people who just barge into his office because the reception is unmanned. God forbid a GPs office might be considered a confidential area!

Indeed. I think its Hailey's friend, the one Damo had the disastrous dates with. She should be sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Where was Carol when Karen was killed? I thought she was working in The Station at the time.. :confused:

Sorry to post again, it's like tonight's episode is slow releasing in my brain.

Kerri-Ann threatening to move to Deansgrange is as funny as the saga of Caoimhe threatening to move to Carrickmines. Just further enforcing the bubble world of Carrigstown.

Decco the latest example of why business meetings shouldn't be held in public in Carrigstown, guaranteed to be interrupted.

As if Aoife and Robbie would humour Oisin, every now and then people just seem to conveniently forget how devious he is.

Wayne and Orla having to tell Cass where the bathroom in their house is was a bit strange, surely he knows!

So as not to be completely negative, I'm continuing to enjoy the new detective.

Where was Carol when Karen was killed? I thought she was working in The Station at the time.. :confused:

I'm sure she had left early after Karen hit her in the bathroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Karen burst Carol's face open with her huge ring a few nights ago. She was bleeding in two different places. Tonight Carol's face was unblemished. She should have a big scar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Wayne and Orla having to tell Cass where the bathroom in their house is was a bit strange, surely he knows!

It was also Niamh's old house so he should have known!

The interview room in the cop shop could do with a lick of paint.

A nice bit of work for Damien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Dean and Kerri-Anne, when were they friends that he is pushing Decco to take her back yet he had no problem himself going off with Caoimhe behind mate Damo's back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I thought that too. Also what was he even doing there?

On Cass.

Earlier he said, "I've told the guards every thing I know."

That shouldn't have taken long. He hasn't been around since xmas.