Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Beast in The Southeast

123457»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

I would imagine trucks will start getting through the motorways so the shops could be stocked back up tomorrow, if the drivers are allowed work

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Waterford City and County Council - Roads Update 3rd March 2018 @ 2pm

The Council has crews deployed working on roads throughout the City and County and will continue to do so over the coming days. The roads below are currently passable with extreme caution and care and we will update further progress on roads as they become open and passable. We urge motorists not to take unnecessary journeys.

Dungarvan/Lismore District

Cars can access Villierstown, Aglish & Clashmore, and Ring with caution.
    Crews working on Regional roads to Ardmore and Sean Phobail R674.
    Crews working on R680 to clear road from Clonmel to Carrick.
    Youghal to Tallow Road is open and passable with care.
    Vee Road from Lismore to Clogheen not passable to be avoided until further notice.
    Comeragh District

The following roads passable, most one lane, slush on road remaining.
    R677 McGraths Cross to Kilmacthomas
    R677 Griffins Garage to Stradbally
    R671 Beehive near Ballymacarbry to Clonmel
    R677 Hickeys Fabrication to Ballylaneen/Kilmacthomas to Seafield
    R681 Kilmeaden to Ballyleen Cross Roads
    R680 Kilmeaden to Carrick-on-Suir
    R671/R672 Dungarvan to Clonmel
    R675 Coast Road crews working on clearing this - Section from Coast Road from Ballyvoile towards Kilmurrin is passable with caution.
    R676 Lemybrien to Carrick-on-Suir is passable with caution.
    L3029 from Griffins Garage towards Stradbally Village is passable.
    Metropolotan District

Metro East - Woodstown/Passage East/Dunmore
    Woodstown roads impassable at present
    Crews working on roads in and around Cheekpoint
    R683 Passage East- roads passable with caution
    R684 Dunmore East roads passable with caution
    Metro West - Tramore
    Salting ongoing in Tramore and most access roads into Tramore passable.
    R675 Waterford to Tramore Road passable
    Metro - City

The following main access roads in and out of the City are passable with caution
    Williamstown Road, Outer Ring Road, Tramore Road, Ballytruckle, The Folly, Kilbarry, Old Kilmeaden Road, Carrickphierish Road

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Fair play to all the services that have worked hard to get the city and county up and running after the snow. Lot of volunteers as well as local agencies whose work should not go un-noticed

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

Roads are driveable and walkable but there's snow built up everywhere so you have to take your time as pedestrians are walking on the road. Ardkeen stores car park is full of snow, they're doing their best to clear it but it's slow. Lidl car park alongside Ardkeen Stores is a bit cleared and open and they're still working on it. Tesco is open until 6pm and car park is relatively clear but still a lot of work to do, they're working away.

Lots of cars still abandoned everywhere, lots of idiots stopping on the road (which is barely even one car width wide in some places) to let passengers out and pick people up, lots of pedestrians out walking. So everyone just be careful and courteous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

How's the thaw going :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭south

How's the thaw going :D
    It's thawing..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,989 ✭✭✭iseegirls

Some parts of those roadbumps (ones which are material/plastic and not tarmac) seemed to have ripped up when they were ploughing the snow. A few patches taken up around the Ursuline School, and left dumped near the traffic lights by the inner ring road. Think there was one by Norris's corner as well.
    Hopefully can get them fixed soon, as there are some huge screws popping out of where they used to be.
    Unfortunately, our roads will have taken another pummelling after the snow and ice.

iseegirls wrote: »
    Some parts of those roadbumps (ones which are material/plastic and not tarmac) seemed to have ripped up when they were ploughing the snow. A few patches taken up around the Ursuline School, and left dumped near the traffic lights by the inner ring road. Think there was one by Norris's corner as well.
    Hopefully can get them fixed soon, as there are some huge screws popping out of where they used to be.
    Unfortunately, our roads will have taken another pummelling after the snow and ice.

I think they have all been fixed now there was one in cannon street and paddy browns road but of both them are fixed

Feels kinda strange driving around in the sunshine and big mounds of snow and ice piled up everywhere,last week feels like a dream or something

The beast is on its way back snowing heavy in Waterford now

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭cococoady

The beast is on its way back snowing heavy in Waterford now

Where in Waterford are you? No snow in Kilcohan

cococoady wrote: »
    Where in Waterford are you? No snow in Kilcohan

It was just a light shower nothing to heavy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Feck it there better be bread in the morning

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Feck it there better be bread in the morning

i bought every bit of bread i could get my hands on in waterford this evening! name your price:D

I just saw a few flakes of snow, Im off to the off license to buy 48 cans of harp and 10 loaves of bread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stokolan

The roads covered quick here in Ferrybank. I got to the off license grand but it was fairly slippy on the way back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Are the roads open?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Roads are perfect.