Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

How to improve 5k times

• 21-02-2018 8:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭

Hi folks,

Looking for a bit of advice please. My background is male mid 30's, weigh currently around 18 stone down from 20 stone in November and 6 foot 4 inches tall. Played football/ rugby and GAA up to my early 20's and just weight lifting since no or little cardio.

I have been running consistently since November and have reduced my 5k PB down from 37.xx mins to 27.57 mins. I want to reduce this further, if I'm honest I have set a goal to have it under 22 mins before the end of the year (realistic or not).

I run 3/4 times a week, 3 times midweek on my lunch break max distance is 3.15 just with the allowable time on my break. I run 2 at full and 1 at my lsr pace.

At the weekend I do one long run current longest run is 5.71 miles having built it from 3.5 miles over the last few months. I run this at 10.17 pace which felt comfortable. This is and will be for the foreseeable future done pushing a pram. If I'm honest I wouldn't do it without my little training partner, we both get a kick out of it and look forward to it.