Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,499 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'd say he's been bullied by those other lads.

Remember the mobile phone thing going back a while ago, wasn't one of those fellas who broke it?

Even the way the whole thing happened was strange. I've seen similar things happen the owner comes over and cleans up and that's about it. They'd never suggest giving everybody things for free.

Is it true that
    Jim is only back to finish the job as a favour from Dr Oakley? I'm sure I read that somewhere the last week. Could be interesting

That's correct no idea how long he's staying for tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

I want to slap that bloomin' Kerri-Ann for her attitude! Poor auld Decco did nothing wrong and she's behaving as though he was the one who cheated on her!

I hope he bins the c*** off once he finds out the truth, then finds someone with more than one brain cell and a decent personality...

And her personality has changed a bit since Christmas. She's still as thick as a short plank, but she's gone from would be unicorn jockey racing along the sandy beach racecourse to being a proper cruel, bad tempered b**** in the past month or so.

Love if Sash had a proper go at her, though!

Even the way the whole thing happened was strange. I've seen similar things happen the owner comes over and cleans up and that's about it. They'd never suggest giving everybody things for free.

I once accidently sent my nearly full drink flying off a pub table when I put my handbag on my shoulder the way to the loo, as it swung it hit the glass, drink went flying everywhere, glass smashed. I was mortified, because I'm teetotal but the man at the table next to me who got a splash said ''grand, don't worry about it'' and the barman couldn't have been nicer.

He even got me a fresh drink, even though it was my own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Another 6 months of Kerri Ann snapping at Decco whilst Mondo sips a coffee/pint sheepishly in the background at Spar/Vinos/Community Centre/Station/McCoys/The Park.

Great.

I wonder if Dr Jim knows how to play, ''who wants to die?'' If so, I think that Kerri-Ann would be the ideal playmate! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

That's correct no idea how long he's staying for tough.
    Finish what job though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I wonder if Dr Jim knows how to play, ''who wants to die?'' If so, I think that Kerri-Ann would be the ideal playmate! :D

Kerri-Ann is back and as annoying as ever. Used to like her at first and she came across as a lovely person. Now, she is just in bad form all the time over petty stupid issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Jim to Bob - "Stay out of my way", cue every subsequent scene with Jim having Bob appear immediately!

At least Bob said what the audience was thinking when he said staying out of each others way in Carrigstown would be impossible.

Kerri-Ann is back and as annoying as ever. Used to like her at first and she came across as a lovely person. Now, she is just in bad form all the time over petty stupid issues.

Personally, I never liked her. I didn't think she'd last all that long in it, to be honest.

She drove me mad with all her crystals and cleansing ''negative atmospheres'' in Leo's house, and I never looked on her as being a ''nice' character''; just one of those ditzy generic, overly sugery and brainless female characters they bring into every soap from time to time.

Eva in Corrie mighn't be as thick, but to me she's from the same class of characters too - i.e - thick female characters with nothing really going on between the ears, except shopping, makeup, cutsy stuff, and random ''what the hell did she just say'' irrelevant things that make no sense whatsoever, or are in some cases - naive on the character's part - offensive.. (By the way, in case anyone gets offended, I'm female myself)

I far prefer characters like Melanie, Farrah, or even scheming Heather before she had her fall (actually, I liked post accident Heather too ) :D

Eva in Corrie mighn't be as thick, but to me she's from the same class of characters too - i.e - thick female characters with nothing really going on between the ears, except shopping, makeup, cutsy stuff, and random ''what the hell did she just say'' irrelevant things that make no sense whatsoever, or are in some cases - naive on the character's part - offensive.. (By the way, in case anyone gets offended, I'm female myself)

What I don't like about Eva and Kerri-Anne is they can treat people terribly and get away with it. Other characters would be called loads of names.

Exactly, look at the heat Aoife is taking and she's apologised numerous times. Much as I loath her, in the spirit of fairness, when Carol cheated on Christy or if all had been going well between herself and Robbie and she cheated with the late Dan, or someone, the affair would be quickly discovered and the natives would be ready to lynch her.

But those girls/women who are not representative of real life women at all, Kerri-Ann, Eva, etc, get away with murder because they're ''cute'' - cartoonish and unrealistic is what I call them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Bob looked like he lost a lot of weight, he looked very gaunt... Hope he's OK.

The Arcade, WTF is happing there? They had the place cleared out last week for a makeover/new build but it just seems the same, just a bit Feng shui, still looks like an amateur theater set up.

I know this is really nothing to do with tonight's episode, so apologies if I'm slightly off topic. :)

But has anyone else noticed that apart from the short-lived friendship between Cass and Amanda, there are no cross-generational friendships at all in FC.

In Corrie, Gemma - even though she's by and large a comedy character - is great pals with Rita, despite the age gap and it's a genuine friendship.

In EE we had the gruesome twosome of Aunt Babe and the late Abii, and remember when Victoria and Betty shared the house in Emmerdale? Also, Sandy (Emerdale) was good friends with Rachel (the mother of Jai's first child Archie)

And in real life there are plenty of cross generational friendships too, but none since Cass and Amanda in FC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Bob : "No, Renee, we can't go off on a holiday right now. And look, this place is getting really busy."
    Eh, Bob, I hate to burst your bubble, but you have three customers, two of whom are drinking cappuccinos from empty coffee mugs, and the third reading last October's Irish Independent.
    So yeah, Bob, I think we can afford to give you a few days off...

Ah, Doctor GrumpyHole is back. Based on his last stay in Carrigstown when he did some of his finest consultancy work in the park, the supermarket, and the chip-shop, I half-expected him to ask "Is there a park bench or a half-full rubbish skip around here anywhere? I have a patient outside who needs a complete colonoscopy scan and a fully-gloved rectal examination. Now!"

Jake doesn't like teenagers hanging about , messing up his Tudor-themed, three-tabled, corporate dining hall
    "Someone is going to have to pay the dry-cleaning bill for the table-covering. It was a beautifully designed red-and-white check paper cloth, designed and specially sewn for us by Jean-Paul Geautier, using only the finest recycled paper"
    Melanie : "Here's 50 euro. Will that cover it?"
    "Yeah, that'll do nicely."

Dr. Grumpy : "Yes, Shane is off doing vital voluntary medical work for MSF out in Somalia."
    MSF? Aren't they the ones who keep putting adverts on ITV, telling us about their brilliant furniture sales?
    I didn't know they had a showroom out in Somalia.....

Bob looked like he lost a lot of weight, he looked very gaunt... Hope he's OK.

The Arcade, WTF is happing there? They had the place cleared out last week for a makeover/new build but it just seems the same, just a bit Feng shui, still looks like an amateur theater set up.

I noticed the weight loss too.... Hope he's just been eating healthier and exercising - not that he ever needed to lose weight in the first place - as opposed to anything else....

I totally agree about the Arcade, Jake and Cristiano's eatery (I can never remember if it's Brewsters or Breezers looks to be in the exact same place with no major changes at all, whereas Eoghan's mobile phone accessories booth seems to have been replaced with something else... Can't remember the name of the place, just that the sign was red and the writing white.

coolhull wrote: »
    Bob : "No, Renee, we can't go off on a holiday right now. And look, this place is getting really busy."
    Eh, Bob, I hate to burst your bubble, but you have three customers, two of whom are drinking cappuccinos from empty coffee mugs, and the third reading last October's Irish Independent.

Ah, Doctor GrumpyHole is back. Based on his last stay in Carrigstown when he did some of his finest consultancy work in the park, the supermarket, and the chip-shop, I half-expected him to ask "Is there a park bench or a half-full rubbish skip around here anywhere? I have a patient outside who needs a complete colonoscopy scan and a fully-gloved rectal examination. Now!"

Jake doesn't like teenagers hanging about , messing up his Tudor-themed, three-tabled, corporate dining hall
    "Someone is going to have to pay the dry-cleaning bill for the table-covering. It was a beautifully designed red-and-white check paper cloth, designed and specially sewn for us by Jean-Paul Geautier, using only the finest recycled paper"

Dr. Grumpy : "Yes, Shane is off doing vital voluntary medical work for MSF out in Somalia."
    MSF? Aren't they the ones who keep putting adverts on ITV, telling us about their brilliant furniture sales?

Your posts never fail to make me laugh. :D Have you ever considered observational stand up comedy as a way to make an additional few euro, because not only are your posts bang on, they're gas too! :D The ''Tudor themed corporate dining hall'' had me in bits! :D:D

I know this is really nothing to do with tonight's episode, so apologies if I'm slightly off topic. :)

But has anyone else noticed that apart from the short-lived friendship between Cass and Amanda, there are no cross-generational friendships at all in FC.

In Corrie, Gemma - even though she's by and large a comedy character - is great pals with Rita, despite the age gap and it's a genuine friendship.

In EE we had the gruesome twosome of Aunt Babe and the late Abii, and remember when Victoria and Betty shared the house in Emmerdale? Also, Sandy (Emerdale) was good friends with Rachel (the mother of Jai's first child Archie)

And in real life there are plenty of cross generational friendships too, but none since Cass and Amanda in FC.

Cass and charolett also had a vegetable garden going on... I don't think in real life these Older /Younger friendships go on, unless you're a carer.

Renee you go on Honeymoon after your married

Your posts never fail to make me laugh. :D Have you ever considered observational stand up comedy as a way to make an additional few euro, because not only are your posts bang on, they're gas too! :D The ''Tudor themed corporate dining hall'' had me in bits! :D:D

Coolhull never let's you down, his/her posts are hilarious... I want to see Coolhull on Ireland's Got Talent... :)

Cass and charolett also had a vegetable garden going on... I don't think in real life these Older /Younger friendships go on, unless you're a carer.

I did work experience in a nursing home for a bit and got very fond of most of the residents, and I am proud to call an eighty two year old woman - a really sweet lady - my friend, even though I'm a few years off the big three - O. :)

Maybe it's because I was always so used to the older neighbours popping in for a visit, and my upbringing, but I've always had a deep respect and fondness for most of the older generation and enjoy hearing their stories, in particular their life experiences.

Then again - to quote Ryan Tubirdy (even though I can't stand him) I've always been a bit of a young fogey. :D

Coolhull never let's you down, his/her posts are hilarious... I want to see Coolhull on Ireland's Got Talent... :)

Me too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

fair city felt strange to me tonight (sunday) ... a bit dis-jointed . Renee kept getting up and down at the table and her arse kept blocking the camera ... and i saw a double decker bus drive past vino's - i mean I have often seen the Bus Stop there but I dont think I have ever sen a bus on that road!

Maybe it was just me where it felt strange tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

wasn't Dr Grumpy Self-Medicating last time we saw him on fairshítty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

fair city felt strange to me tonight (sunday) ... a bit dis-jointed . Renee kept getting up and down at the table and her arse kept blocking the camera ... and i saw a double decker bus drive past vino's - i mean I have often seen the Bus Stop there but I dont think I have ever sen a bus on that road!

Maybe it was just me where it felt strange tonight

If Kiero wasn't banned he'd surely be straight on here praising FCs camerawork. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

wasn't Dr Grumpy Self-Medicating last time we saw him on fairshítty?

Yes

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

:pac::pac::pac:

Seriously though, isn't MSF one of those charities that was mentioned recently in the news regarding inappropriate behaviour by some of its managers/employees? I thought maybe FC are going to incorporate that particular issue in its next storyline.

:pac::pac::pac:

Seriously though, isn't MSF one of those charities that was mentioned recently in the news regarding inappropriate behaviour by some of its managers/employees? I thought maybe FC are going to incorporate that particular issue in its next storyline.

I looked it up, MSF has its own website, Twitter and the whole shebang.

There's also a part dedicated to working overseas. Maybe I'll see if I'm eligible for the overseas gig, to check if Shane is really abroad in Somalia, and not buried under floorboards in a cult house somewhere, courtesy of Dr. Oakley.

And if he's grand, sure I might take a flight from there to Zambia to let Ama know he's all right and tell her how much we all miss her here, then beg her to come back, because Carrigstown just isn't the same without her constant (interfering) interest in the welfare of others..... :P :D

If I could give the thumbs up to this post more times than one I would. I actually woke up with a smirk on my face thinking of your remarks re ''the Tudor style dining hall' and pictured Jake and Cristiano running the place attired in cod pieces and Tudor era clothes, whilst Greensleeves, being played by a fella on a lute plays softly in the background, and you can't turn for lifesized portraits of Henry VIII :D

And the dress code wouldn't extend to the staff only, but to the customers too... I can magine Jake in full costume (who, for some reason has turned into a grumpy b****** all of a sudden, barking at customers whom unwittingly wander in dressed in modern garb, and forcing them to pay fifty euro or wash up in the kitchens as punishment for not sticking to the theme.... :P

That's why I love this thread so much, you guys always give me something to smile/laugh about! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Seriously you need to start posting here more often again, your posts are sorely missed....