Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Still missing Oakley here :(

Would love if the case against him fell apart and was quashed due to a bias in the press, or a corruption of the chain of evidence, or some other legal technicality, leaving him free to walk free and wreck a more muted, though still menacing and mad brand of mayhem! :D

In my opinion, he was the best character in years, and so good at playing the psycho who wore the mask of sanity well...

Whilst it wouldn't be credable in any other soap, anything goes in FC, so who knows? He was/is far too good a character to lose, and it just might give us a break from seeing everyone - even the Guards - discuss confidential matters in Spar the whole time! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Would love if the case against him fell apart and was quashed due to a bias in the press, or a corruption of the chain of evidence, or some other legal technicality, leaving him free to walk free and wreck a more muted, though still menacing and mad brand of mayhem! :D

In my opinion, he was the best character in years, and so good at playing the psycho who wore the mask of sanity well...

Whilst it wouldn't be credable in any other soap, anything goes in FC, so who knows? He was/is far too good a character to lose, and it just might give us a break from seeing everyone - even the Guards - discuss confidential matters in Spar the whole time! :P

Dr Oakley is a great character. I have a feeling we haven't seen the last of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Hope this is not too off topic, but I've been here for a few months now, and I have to say I'm enjoying this thread. :)

Everyone here (apart from the odd troll who might drop by from time to time) is dead sound and doesn't take the soap too seriously.

It's nice to be part of something where you can disagree about whether or not you like a storyline/character, but not take the difference of opinion seriously, or fall out with the other person.

I think it should be an example to all other foums and how they should be moderated/run.

I've been a member of some forums where, although there were some decent people, the majority were absolutely hateful if you didn't agree with them and really abusive with it, and the moderaters and admins were next to useless. But I love it here, everyone is nice and
    friendly - even if we do disagree over storylines or characters, it's like having a chat with a gang of mates. :)

So, thanks guys for cheering me up over the last few months, and before when I was only a lurker who just liked to read the posts. :) .
    Your post really makes a lot of sense. I recently left a forum I really enjoyed over the horrific bullying of a certain poster. It was relentless. I agree fair city forum is great. Loads of different view points. But everyone respects each other's opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'd say Renee will be a bridezilla poor Bob

Karen fell over a stool and was probably drunk, any excuse to bring Aoife back around Robbie

What about Jake and Farrah as a couple?

Is Hayley actress pregnant hence Indian poncho

Your post really makes a lot of sense. I recently left a forum I really enjoyed over the horrific bullying of a certain poster. It was relentless. I agree fair city forum is great. Loads of different view points. But everyone respects each other's opinions.

Same problem... I was told to hang myself, told I wasn't relevant, called a c**t, for no reason other than making a harmless, non-offensive, jokey comment on a particular topic. It was basically like playground bullying on an adult level...

It's nice here though, everyone is welcoming, easygoing and a laugh, but in that other place the admins joined in, as did the moderaters too when it came to bullying people....

Would not think so. He could
    be part of the Phoenix Way story though as someone who knew Dr Oakley as an evil person

That would actually be a good twist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

He uttered possibly the greatest line of all time, when he said
    "Let's play a game called who wants to die"

Still chuckling away at that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Sparko wrote: »
    He uttered possibly the greatest line of all time, when he said
    "Let's play a game called who wants to die"

Still chuckling away at that one.

loved those scenes LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 kiero111

just thinking about farrah in the mini skirt- wudnt hayley , farrah and jane look very nice dressed up as schoolgirls- yes baby yes

Mod: Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

Dr Oakley would make a great batman villain. He would fit right in with the penguin and the joker.

Or maybe a spin off soap with mostly villains in it - Dr Oakley from faircity, Emma Barton from Emmerdale, Pat Phelan from Corrie.
    I would watch that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,792 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Cathal Spillane would be Carol's type. Carol in the early days was attracted very much to men like him and worse than him. Think Billy and Sylvester and dodgy solicitor Anthony. When they changed her into a more posh character who was a mayor and had regular men like Louis and Christy as boyfriends, her character became less interesting. It is time to bring Carol back to her roots. Team her up with Cathal and bring her back into the world of gangland. Perhaps reintroduce the likes of Anthony, Sylvester and Mick too.

Yeah had actually been thinking myself that a hook up between Spillane and Carol could be good. They should show Spillane as the Mr.Big of drugs in Carrigstown and he then recruits Carol to transport drugs all over Dublin using the taxis in her company. Of course by this stage Wayne will finally have rebuilt the garage and he is servicing the taxis and Wayne of course finds a kilo of cocaine and decides to recruit Emmet to start selling it to the school children of Carrigstown.....by which time Benjimim comes back and Emmet quickly gets him addicted to cocaine. Jane is not impressed but likes a sniff herself as does Robbie. In fact the whole of the Station turn into coke heads whereas everyone over in McCoys in setting up a vigilante group to take down Splianne. Batty Nora and Charlie Kelly are leading the vigilante group. Thng is nothing will happen because Spillane has dirt on Deegan that will end his career. So Deegan gets outed as a corrupt cop who is in the pay of Spillane. And on it goes...

None of the above will happen of course, but it would be nice=)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,500 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I remember watching this and thinking the guy was lucky! Unfortunately I didn't have the same look at secondary school!
    011_814ff737131325628cfd4e005b847b66897ca0eb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I tried responding to your post, but the spolier thing won't work for me :(
    Ms, I used to have the same trouble, then someone on here told me -
    If using your phone, simply tap or double tap the spoiler. If on a computer / tablet, put the cursor at the beginning of the spoiler and swipe right .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Two new families set to join Fair City
    The Henaghan and Butch families arrive much to Carols delight.

She is torn between getting involved with the Butch family who own and run a Hummer limousine hire company and the Henaghan’s who seem to love the nice things in life but nobody really knows what they do or where their wealth has come from.

There appears to be some tension between these two families and Dr. Oakley has a huge smile on his face ever since they arrived.

Cathal has warned Carol to stay clear of both families but she’s having none of it!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Hope this is not too off topic, but I've been here for a few months now, and I have to say I'm enjoying this thread. :)

Everyone here (apart from the odd troll who might drop by from time to time) is dead sound and doesn't take the soap too seriously.

It's nice to be part of something where you can disagree about whether or not you like a storyline/character, but not take the difference of opinion seriously, or fall out with the other person.

I think it should be an example to all other foums and how they should be moderated/run.

I've been a member of some forums where, although there were some decent people, the majority were absolutely hateful if you didn't agree with them and really abusive with it, and the moderaters and admins were next to useless. But I love it here, everyone is nice and
    friendly - even if we do disagree over storylines or characters, it's like having a chat with a gang of mates. :)

So, thanks guys for cheering me up over the last few months, and before when I was only a lurker who just liked to read the posts. :) .

Well said! I echo what you feel about 99% of the members here, there really is a good vibe here, its banter and playful but people can have interesting debates without getting sore or go into a childish huff. The mods are very friendly here, massive difference across threads.

As I said, 99% of people here are good fun. That MsWesterosi is a complete blinkered fool but you cant win them all. ;)

Delighted about the
    new families
    !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Yeah had actually been thinking myself that a hook up between Spillane and Carol could be good. They should show Spillane as the Mr.Big of drugs in Carrigstown and he then recruits Carol to transport drugs all over Dublin using the taxis in her company. Of course by this stage Wayne will finally have rebuilt the garage and he is servicing the taxis and Wayne of course finds a kilo of cocaine and decides to recruit Emmet to start selling it to the school children of Carrigstown.....by which time Benjimim comes back and Emmet quickly gets him addicted to cocaine. Jane is not impressed but likes a sniff herself as does Robbie. In fact the whole of the Station turn into coke heads whereas everyone over in McCoys in setting up a vigilante group to take down Splianne. Batty Nora and Charlie Kelly are leading the vigilante group. Thng is nothing will happen because Spillane has dirt on Deegan that will end his career. So Deegan gets outed as a corrupt cop who is in the pay of Spillane. And on it goes...

None of the above will happen of course, but it would be nice=)

I Agee, Batty Nora, Bunions & Bella, “senile delinquents”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is Carol and Paul still business partners?

Councillor of the year is back!

Ah Jesus that Damien counseling help, run Damien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

This bltch is clearly the worst therapist in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

Is that kerriannes councelor? Tough love!

Ah Jesus that Damien counseling help, run Damien

Hopefully he'll hit her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Cormdogg wrote: »
    Is that kerriannes councelor? Tough love!

Yep this counselor is taking the tough love approach abit too far...can’t imagine she has too much repeat business:rolleyes:

The Pod doesn't have enough room for the stag party let alone other guests!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭georgina toadbum

Robbie turns his back on the child for 2 seconds and Carol goes mad.

Has she forgotten there was about 2 years where we didn't see him at all and she probably had no idea where he was either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

Kevin is hateful. Hope Hughie tells him where to go... ungrateful little runt !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,792 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wow that's some "stag party" all right, 6 lads dressed like the teletubbies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Stag party?? Good god I've seen wakes that are more fun. Hughie thought stag had enough to drink 😂
    straight down to the seats and no one buy in at the bar