Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Yep, that's what I meant - sorry if I didn't make it clear enough. I'd love to know a bit more about the calm, saintly Jackie's life before she came back, because she seems a bit too calm and full of sage advice to be true. :)

From what I can remember, Jackie has a history of mental illness and/or abused drugs or alcohol or something. She nearly killed Doug and his brother Neil when they were kids. It was brought up when she came into the soap - probably before you joined us here at FC Anonymous. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

tupenny wrote: »
    Love if karen and robbie hooked up!!

That would be sort of ironic - seeing as Carol believed that Karen was after Robbie in the first place, when she just thought he was her real father, and that would more or less bring the whole story full circle.

If it was EE or Corrie it might raise an eyebrow or two, but FC viewers (or at least the crowd who take it seriously) would go apes***! :D

It'd be also a bit comic in a way, the FC writers are that crazy and infantile that they'd have Aoife and Carol teaming up to have revenge on Robbie - Aoife out of mixed up jealousy and because he ''took advantage'' of her daughter (and chose her over herself) and Carol because....well... she's Carol and it's all about the revenge with her...

If I'm honest, I have to say it would be interesting, even though I'm for an Aoife/Robbie reunion, I wouldn't exactly be against Robbie and Karen, even though the fC neighbours, Orla et all, would be out in droves wanting to attack them with pitchforks whilst carrying torches or something similar! :D I think I'm just team Anyone But Carol for Robbie! :D

EIREDriver wrote: »
    From what I can remember, Jackie has a history of mental illness and/or abused drugs or alcohol or something. She nearly killed Doug and his brother Neil when they were kids. It was brought up when she came into the soap - probably before you joined us here at FC Anonymous. :)

I wonder if they'll go down the Emma Barton from Emmerdale route with her; she tried to kill Ross owing to mental illness when he was a baby too....

Then end up (Jackie that is) manipulating a person with dementia who finds out some dark secret about her (Rose, if they've still remembered that she's showing signs of the disease) then causes all sorts of havoc before going mad into the religion,quoting the bible, then meeting a grisly end in a whodunnit episode.....

But could FC really handle a storyline like that....

By the way, Oakley would have to have a part in the whole plot too :P That'd be more like it, more FairCityish! :D:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,500 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I wonder if they'll go down the Emma Barton from Emmerdale route with her; she tried to kill Ross owing to mental illness when he was a baby too....

Then end up (Jackie that is) manipulating a person with dementia who finds out some dark secret about her (Rose, if they've still remembered that she's showing signs of the disease) then causes all sorts of havoc before going mad into the religion,quoting the bible, then meeting a grisly end in a whodunnit episode.....

But could FC really handle a storyline like that....

By the way, Oakley would have to have a part in the whole plot too :P That'd be more like it, more FairCityish! :D:P

Who would she push of the bridge when all of Carrigstown residents are driving into town whilst fighting and not looking at the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Apologies if someone has already said this before, because I haven't read all the comments yet. :) (Had Wifi trouble yesterday, no internet :( )

But I have a prediction of sorts:

Prediction:

Robbie takes Karen to A&E for an x-ray on the foot/ankle/leg she damaged when she fell in McCoy's.

Turns out that some crucial ligament/tendon is frigged and she can no longer be a dancer/teach dance, thus causing Aoife to return from London and wreck revenge on Carol.

Robbie leaves (hopefully) Carol for good, but before too long (provided she's still in one piece aftr Aoife's revenge, Carol hooks up with Spliiane/some other dodgy sort for real, and gets back in touch with her gangster pals.... :)

Cathal Spillane would be Carol's type. Carol in the early days was attracted very much to men like him and worse than him. Think Billy and Sylvester and dodgy solicitor Anthony. When they changed her into a more posh character who was a mayor and had regular men like Louis and Christy as boyfriends, her character became less interesting. It is time to bring Carol back to her roots. Team her up with Cathal and bring her back into the world of gangland. Perhaps reintroduce the likes of Anthony, Sylvester and Mick too.

Why has Hayley gone all nice all of a sudden?

I think it's to counterbalance the Harmony/Eimear's terrible personality!

Maybe they'll bring more of Hayley's family in to it, because she rang a brother we've never heard of before called ''Lee'' the last night.

Maybe we'll discover that Hayley is the decent one who just puts on that b****y/hard as nails exterior in order to make something of herself, because she had to step up and more or less be the 'sensible'' money maker of the family as the rest of them were good for nothing dossers and she had a lot of responsibility placed on her when she was younger and expectations by the parents because the others always needed helping out/no money/pie in the sky ambitions leading nowhere, etc. :)

Who would she push of the bridge when all of Carrigstown residents are driving into town whilst fighting and not looking at the road!

Pete of course! :D Even though she's been showing no signs of it, she's desperate to get him back, God knows why though, but in FC nothing makes sense! :P (Hughie is just there to make auld grumpy drawers jealous! And she's just biding her time until Dolores gets sick of him and runs off with a miraculously cured Ronan so she can get her claws back in there! :P

I don't think anyone would miss Pete if Jackie chuked him off a bridge in a bloodied wedding dress with Oakley cheering on/encouraging her in the background!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

EIREDriver wrote: »

Knowing how fond Pete is of jumping the gun, I'd say a mountain was made outta a molehill in relation to her illness and he banished poor Jackie from the family home. Remember how defensive he was when she first arrived in Carrickstown.

He should have looked after Jackie not alienate her back then. The were a young married couple with two young boys, who needed their mother. She was having problems, he added to them by not looking out for her.

He mustn't have loved her very much if he let her loose to wander life on her own and cope with her illness on her own.

Cathal Spillane would be Carol's type. Carol in the early days was attracted very much to men like him and worse than him. Think Billy and Sylvester and dodgy solicitor Anthony. When they changed her into a more posh character who was a mayor and had regular men like Louis and Christy as boyfriends, her character became less interesting. It is time to bring Carol back to her roots. Team her up with Cathal and bring her back into the world of gangland. Perhaps reintroduce the likes of Anthony, Sylvester and Mick too.

If you scratch hard enough, the gangster's moll is not too far from the surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    If you scratch hard enough, the gangster's moll is not too far from the surface.

Its always there I agree but its simply not interesting anymore. Every character has a lifetime, they evolve and change but there comes a point where snarling at people with a fag in your hand, uttering threats you can never deliver on, just becomes wearisome.

Carols time is up, she adds nothing to the show these days. Plus I cannot believe she hasn't had her break yet, she has been on screen non stop for a year now.

Its always there I agree but its simply not interesting anymore. Every character has a lifetime, they evolve and change but there comes a point where snarling at people with a fag in your hand, uttering threats you can never deliver on, just becomes wearisome.

Carols time is up, she adds nothing to the show these days. Plus I cannot believe she hasn't had her break yet, she has been on screen non stop for a year now.

I agree with you where can she go from here. She was on a good thing with Robbie but couldn't keep that trap of hers shut. Wasn't/Isn't Robbie a bit dodgy also.

Knowing how fond Pete is of jumping the gun, I'd say a mountain was made outta a molehill in relation to her illness and he banished poor Jackie from the family home. Remember how defensive he was when she first arrived in Carrickstown.

He should have looked after Jackie not alienate her back then. The were a young married couple with two young boys, who needed their mother. She was having problems, he added to them by not looking out for her.

He mustn't have loved her very much if he let her loose to wander life on her own and cope with her illness on her own.

You're more than likely right. :) But still someone obsessing over Pete to the point where they'd commit murder would be pure black comedy! :D

Do you remember the time when he basically made Jake out to be this really abusive person when himself (Jake) and Ama were having a normal arugment - Jake just raised his voice and interfering Pete made out like he'd just attacked her or something.
    Then he took it to a whole new level and became borderline racist too!

And then there was the whole craic about his ''pride'' and wanting to get bank loans so he could start his own business, etc, and his constant falling out with Damo - I felt sorry for Damo at the time because Pete was taking offence left right and centre, God! But everyone was treading on eggshells around him at the time. Pete is another character I'd like to consign to the scrapheap (bring back Oakley! :P)

That is true. The gangster's moll is always there but she tries to hide it.

Early Carol was my favourite character on FC back around 2001-2006. There was always something interesting going on with her and her dealings with gangland figures like Billy and Sylvester were among the best FC stories. Since then, Carol is more of a regular character who sometimes reverts to threats but she is not convincing. A lot of the baddies in recent FC such as Paddy Bishop, Dr Oakley and so on had nothing to do with Carol. A few years' earlier, she would be involved with Paddy for sure.
    I agree with you where can she go from here. She was on a good thing with Robbie but couldn't keep that trap of hers shut. Wasn't/Isn't Robbie a bit dodgy also.

Robbie was introduced as a dodgy character but it was explained he owed Thomas Flynn money and then he was portrayed as a basically decent guy ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Somebody is back next week!
    Jim
    and to the best of my knowledge
    they have a plan with Dr Oakley!
    Who is Jim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,500 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Who is Jim
    Bob's brother he is a Doctor. He was in it a very years ago. Kind of a grumpy guy. It turned out his son Shane was actually Bobs.

Who is Jim
    The Doctor who took over from Yoga Judy

Hope this is not too off topic, but I've been here for a few months now, and I have to say I'm enjoying this thread. :)

Everyone here (apart from the odd troll who might drop by from time to time) is dead sound and doesn't take the soap too seriously.

It's nice to be part of something where you can disagree about whether or not you like a storyline/character, but not take the difference of opinion seriously, or fall out with the other person.

I think it should be an example to all other foums and how they should be moderated/run.

I've been a member of some forums where, although there were some decent people, the majority were absolutely hateful if you didn't agree with them and really abusive with it, and the moderaters and admins were next to useless. But I love it here, everyone is nice and
    friendly - even if we do disagree over storylines or characters, it's like having a chat with a gang of mates. :)

So, thanks guys for cheering me up over the last few months, and before when I was only a lurker who just liked to read the posts. :) .

It's be great if Mick and Ali came back. And Sylvester Garrigan (the actor played a King Of The Travellers role in Glenroe)

The Doctor who took over from Yoga Judy

I tried responding to your post, but the spolier thing won't work for me :(

Is Jim also part of Phoenix Way

It's be great if Mick and Ali came back. And Sylvester Garrigan (the actor played a King Of The Travellers role in Glenroe)

I just asked my mam about Mick, she said as far as she can remember he's either dead or in jail..... It's the only thing she's not likea walking FC encyclopaedia about, because she hated the gangland stuff and didn't pay much heed to it.

From what I remember, he was a decent skin, I haven't mastered the spoiler thing, so I don't want to give anything away, but he was a no nonsense down to earth blunt speaking character, not the airy fairy/controlling sort. :) I liked him, if it's the same person I'm thinking about. :)

Then again, it is FC and he could have had a major personality overhall...... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

You can put a suit on a monkey but you can't hide his/her tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

No, Jim was the Dr who used to treat everyone on the street in the park and everywhere else except in his surgery.

From what I remember, he was a decent skin, I haven't mastered the spoiler thing, so I don't want to give anything away, but he was a no nonsense down to earth blunt speaking character, not the airy fairy/controlling sort. :) I liked him, if it's the same person I'm thinking about. :)

Then again, it is FC and he could have had a major personality overhall...... :pac:

Dan was made a rapist and Kevin gay so who knows

I just asked my mam about Mick, she said as far as she can remember he's either dead or in jail..... It's the only thing she's not likea walking FC encyclopaedia about, because she hated the gangland stuff and didn't pay much heed to it.

As far as I know, Mick either went to jail or went away. He did not get killed. Sylvester went to prison but am not sure if Mick was jailed too or not?

Mick was forced by Sylvester to chop his finger off. Mick was Ali's uncle. He was introduced first as a henchman of Billy and then worked for Flynn and Sylvester along with dodgy Anthony sometimes too. He was in it on and off between around 2001 to 2006 or so.

It would be great to see these 3 come back. Cathal needs some gangland company and Sylvester and Mick would be ideal. Ali could be caught in the middle of something Mick is involved in and Carol gets involved too. I think we need a good gangland storyline with these characters.

Would not think so. He could
    be part of the Phoenix Way story though as someone who knew Dr Oakley as an evil person

No, Jim was the Dr who used to treat everyone on the street in the park and everywhere else except in his surgery.

I liked him! :D