Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Another thing about Dr Oakley, inspector gadget said he stole a yacht from Howth harbour after he escaped? Where exactly in Carrigstown did he moor that yacht?

It would look pretty conspicuous outside Spar I'd imagine!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

Another thing about Dr Oakley, inspector gadget said he stole a yacht from Howth harbour after he escaped? Where exactly in Carrigstown did he moor that yacht?

It would look pretty conspicuous outside Spar I'd imagine!

Its in The Dolphin Pod. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

Love the way Oakley was caught. Cops swoop in, arrest bad guy and leave. No questions, no statements. .nada.

As for Kevin and his new found gayness..seriously, terrible portrayal of someone coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,504 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Renee might wear this!
    my-nephew-is-gay-ok-black-300x300.jpg

Kevin after a few episodes!
    2380542.jpg?489

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭threetrees

I thought Hughie's comment to Kevin the other night was the turning point. "Kevin, nobody cares if you're gay". It wasn't nasty, just Hughie telling Kevin to be honest with himself, I thought it was good.

I think Farrah should wear a hat till those roots get sorted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

threetrees wrote: »
    I thought Hughie's comment to Kevin the other night was the turning point. "Kevin, nobody cares if you're gay". It wasn't nasty, just Hughie telling Kevin to be honest with himself, I thought it was good.

I think Farrah should wear a hat till those roots get sorted!

It's like a cow sh!t on the top of her head. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Sparko wrote: »
    I think she lives with Sash in that apartment that Carol once lived in years ago, around the time of Lorcan and her gangster boyfriend. I seem to recall a few scenes set there around the time that Sash had stolen that baby, and Doug was fixing their shower or something.

I remember thinking at the time that I'd missed any reference to them living together prior to that.

Thanks! Re the whole where do who I consider the more''minor'' characters all live, I get a bit confused at times! And a lot of the flat sets do look an awful lot alike. I was sure that it was Hayley, Laura (even though she seems, like Nora tobe more attached to a family member's place than she does her own) and now that Harmony/Eimear annoyance lived in that flat, and I thought Sash lived with the rest of the Bishops!

Sash and Nora as flatmates is sort of like the odd couple! :D

EIREDriver wrote: »
    It's like a cow sh!t on the top of her head. :pac:

It doesn't look great, in fairness, but it's better for the health of the hair if it's left for six to eight weeks without a touch up. I destroyed my own hair with bleach by having the roots done too often.

Sorry! Anyone would think I was posting on a hair care/advice rather than a FC one! :P

Its in The Dolphin Pod. :cool:

I'm a bit confused re the whole yacht thing; didn't he state clearly to a female colleague from the hospital, during one of his earlier episodes in the aftermath of the Hannah reaction to the sedatives yoke (when I was sure he was the good guy and Miriam was the evil, manipulative one and that his sole purpose for being there was to expose her/turn the Phoenix Way back into a proper self-help group) that he had a yacht of his own and (presumably) that herself (his colleague) and her partner should come out for a sail with him someday?

Which begs the question - why the hell did he need to steal one? :D

fin12 wrote: »
    I get u hate Carol but how can you take Aoife side against Carol in this, she’s an absolute cn*t.

I can't speak for anyone else, but for me there are a couple of reasons.

1. Because she's the biggest hypocrite alive. Now, if it was a thing that she was this loving/faithful wife/girlfriend who was just unlucky with men all her life, then I would feel sorry for her. But no; she cheated on poor auld Christy with Louis Gleeson, she cheated on Robbie with Dan, she cheated on Dan with Robbie, and seems to make a habit of making a rough as a badger's a'''e show of herself in public, often due to pure paranoia and shames the hell out of Robbie.

2. Because Robbie and Aoife would most likely have settled down together had the whole Dan thing not happened and Aoife, out of shock and shame, disappeared from his life.

3. He's already had to deal with numerous attempts on his life by Carol's unrepentent, terrible father, a man who basically passed her around to his mates when she was still a kid, but she was okay - even though they rowed a bit - with allowing him to live with them when he was dying of cancer.

4. They (Carol and Robbie) are not suited - she'd be far better off with someone as rough and loud as herself. :)

5. Oh, almost forgot, was reminded just now; she's a former criminal, as was the dead son she';s always crying over who took over her abusive husband's - killed by aforementioned son - dodgy businesses when he died, then lost it all when CAB swooped in. She also tried to frame poor auld guitar playing, flexible handed Leo for his murder....

Would that be finches rock shandy? The Aldi rock shandy is lovely.

Club, I think. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Thanks! Re the whole where do who I consider the more''minor'' characters all live, I get a bit confused at times! And a lot of the flat sets do look an awful lot alike. I was sure that it was Hayley, Laura (even though she seems, like Nora tobe more attached to a family member's place than she does her own) and now that Harmony/Eimear annoyance lived in that flat, and I thought Sash lived with the rest of the Bishops!

Sash and Nora as flatmates is sort of like the odd couple! :D

As far as I know Hayley and Laura live in the flat that Yvonne used to live in, possibly over Vinos? I think that's a different flat to the one I'm thinking of anyway!

Sash moved out of the Bishop house after Kerri Ann had a mickey fit about too many people living there so Decco threw Sash and Charlotte out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Cathal back yay, get Nikki and her kids back now, a match for Damo :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭squarecircles

The frequency of cast members loitering in Spar has got to a ridiculous level.Picking up products and leaving them back down,walking out and not buying anything,standing facing the shelves just staring at products,the same character entering Spar three times in one day,having full blown intense personal conversations while holding a pint of milk and a loaf of bread. etc

That Aoife one was in the station last nite having a tea/coffee,2 scenes later she's in McCoy's demanding a coffee,who orders a coffee in the evening in a bar.

Meanwhile yer wan from striking out,is just sitting in McCoy's looking from her in the background,in the pub in the middle of the day,when we see her again,she's still in the pub come evening time,just doing nothing,hanging around a pub,not drinking,no reason to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

The frequency of cast members loitering in Spar has got to a ridiculous level.Picking up products and leaving them back down,walking out and not buying anything,standing facing the shelves just staring at products,the same character entering Spar three times in one day,having full blown intense personal conversations while holding a pint of milk and a loaf of bread. etc

That Aoife one was in the station last nite having a tea/coffee,2 scenes later she's in McCoy's demanding a coffee,who orders a coffee in the evening in a bar.

Meanwhile yer wan from striking out,is just sitting in McCoy's looking from her in the background,in the pub in the middle of the day,when we see her again,she's still in the pub come evening time,just doing nothing,hanging around a pub,not drinking,no reason to be there.

I always have to laugh at these posts, you know for the soap to work the cast have to interact somewhere. Maybe they should just film them sitting quietly in front of the telly or at a desk

The way in which it's executed and protrayed is the problem,i.e not In a believable and convincing fashion with some type of continuity that reflects normal life to some degree.

Obviously in fair city's time zone 10 hours can pass in 2 minutes,which manifests itself on screen very badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,862 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I had a local spar for ten years in dublin and took me 2 years to get on chatting terms with the staff and bar occasionally meeting someone I knew I never chatted to anyone.... People think you're weird if you start talking to them by the dairy or butternut squash etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I get u hate Carol but how can you take Aoife side against Carol in this, she’s an absolute cn*t.

Because Carol is the one who has had afairs before (on Christy and even Dan) and now the shoe is on the other foot, she cant take it. Hypocritical two faced character, such double standards. Robbie took on her and her son, even her scumbag father until his dying day. She lashed out at him every day filled with drink. I don't know how he didn't batter her.
    Whatever you think about Aoifes morals, at least shes more interesting than Carol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm Team Carol also, hope she soon knocks Aoife out, Carol is suppose to be street smart

Does Nora live in Robbie's house too?

I still think FC missed out not bringing Yvonne Doyle back with Rob Jnr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭LushiousLips

Team Aoife here. I'm sick sh!t of Carol. This hard woman image is just gone on too long now. I'm still waiting for her to knock someone out, she's threatened it so many times. Even the way she sniffs her nose when shes angry irritates me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Team Carol..

Love her and Robbie together . That Aoife one looks too straight to be with Robbie.
    He needs a bit of a bad girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭jos28

Team Aoife here ! Carol's character is so stale at this stage. Bear in mind what other posters have pointed out - her cheating past, her juvenile behaviour, her hypocrisy, her smoking/drinking/shouting repetition is so boring to watch.
    I'd love to see Aoife and Robbie rekindle their old relationship. Aoife could be a very interesting character and Robbie deserves someone better than Caddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Team Aoife here. I'm sick sh!t of Carol. This hard woman image is just gone on too long now. I'm still waiting for her to knock someone out, she's threatened it so many times. Even the way she sniffs her nose when shes angry irritates me.

She has some wrinkles on her lower face, its like her face is melting at times.

Her character has reached the end of the road. How many bloody times do we have to see her light up and snarl at everyone who looks at her, And hear over and over again about her tough nut past. But I never saw her fight anyone? Shes all bark no bite, a big empty vessel.

Don't forget Carol had affairs too in her time, she is nobody to judge!

Maybe Carroll will get The Galley back off CAB and go into competition against The Station!
    What ever happened to it? It used be very popular with locals.
    011_955239f1b073225510ad32f1c3e7aa1f5460b202.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,770 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Oakley was fantastic last night. He'd make a great Bond villain :D

Linda Martin must be the crankiest cop ever though, she's rude to the good guys, never mind the criminals.

All into Spar straight away,lol,Robby buying teabags on his way to work ,as you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,792 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Bear to wolf, that's some name for a dating site!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Team Carol and Team Aoife?

I'd rather if Carol stabs Aoife who manages to fall towards Carol and stab her back so we get them both dead and gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I can't stand Aoife.