Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,503 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think Karen ends up getting injured when Carol and Robbie have a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

I think Karen ends up getting injured when Carol and Robbie have a fight.

Imagine if
    Karen ended up in a wheelchair like her old man!

I've been really struggling for past few days with FC. Some really awful acting and Sunday's new storylines and returning characters have me disillusioned altogether.

Karen is a woeful actress.

Paaat Af Caafffeee storyline so stupid. Makes little to no sense. One second Kevin is embracing his new found self, next he's flat out denying he's gay.

Farrah - can hair and makeup dept not spare a tenner to dye the top of Farrah's head. Are we going to be introduced to a new foreign character in the form of Hugo?

Bob and Renee engaged at Christmas - only declare the news to everyone first week of February due to a shift change that took place that brought them back into the soap.

I predict that Kerri Ann, Melaine, Decco, Mondo, Ray, Armenian Wine Boy etc are still on their break and will be back in the next rotation to pick up the "Who's the Daddy" story.

Have also seen enough of Robbie, Cardle, Aoife and Nora. The sooner that story ends the better.

I really hope Renee gives Kevin advice there really turn her into that ditsy old woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Handy for Robbie that jewellers was open of a Sunday!!

was hoping to get a look at what jewellers on the front of the box, was hoping Thomas Gear lol but i think he's shut down now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Handy for Robbie that jewellers was open of a Sunday!!

You are assuming he went to an open jewellers. It is Robbie after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

bazermc wrote: »
    You are assuming he went to an open jewellers. It is Robbie after all

I’m thinking he just bought it in Debehnams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Did Farrah tell Kevin go to Brazil to see Heather as he is gay :P

Marcus Lamb(Dr Oakley) is on Today with Maura and Daithi in a minute!

Guess who's back tonight?
    Dr Oakley
    Guess his weapon?
    A Hammer
    Who's held hostage?
    Miriam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,872 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Guess who's back tonight?
    Dr Oakley
    Guess his weapon?
    A Hammer
    Who's held hostage?
    Miriam

Damn

Was sure it was Heather with a lesbian holding Bob hostage in Vino's.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Damn

Bob loves the lesbians he wouldn't be a hostage!

pjohnson wrote: »
    Damn

Fair City Cluedo coming soon to all major toy retailers.

Leaked image of the game 

440902.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Father Damo.

Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Farrahs hair is rotten.

We heard Ellie has a boyfriend. She might run away from Brazil and land back pregnant.

Renee to ask Kevin for fashion advice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I think we need some sort of code word / phrase for those occasions when we receive a phone call whilst being held captive by a maniac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Did I just see a pirate in the cafe /restaurant place?

(Somebody rewind for me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

Good ol Emmet. Lights out after 2 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Emmet needs to learn self defense or something. He wouldn't fight his way out of a wet paper bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

I think the writers are playing a game with each other to see how many times they can have Carol happen upon Robbie and Aoife somewhere around the town in the same episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Lol yes that Emmett collapse was hilariously bad!
    Oakley though 😍 massive crush here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sparko

Doc Oakley must be a Vulcan, the only time I've seen someone drop that quickly is when Mr Spock did a neck pinch..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭cumulonimbus

I think Dr Oakley might be part Vulcan, or at least had lessons from Mr.Spock. :D

Just beat me to it, Sparko!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

So is this another siege or just a hostage situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I must admit, when I first say Oakley in the hoodie I thought it was Ciaran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

Oh God Fair City ... why do you do this to me ! - I cant wait to tune in tomorrow! (i know I even hate myself for saying that!)

Reminds me of when my mum used to get angry years ago if I phoned her up when Crossroads was on she used to go "oh no, its just coming up to a good bit!" and i used to go "you and your soaps , your obsessed with them, Crossroads is crap!" (I dont think Ireland got Crossroads with wooden actors and wobbly sets but just think FC x 20 times worse) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Farrahs hair is rotten.

It's the fact that you can notice where the extensions are placed, which is why it looks so clunky in places; not the actress's fault, because she is a gorgeous girl, but the hairdresser's. :) The roots need a bit of a touch up too, but for someone whom was even blonder - much more platinum - than Farrah a couple of years ago, you have to give the hair a break from the bleach for a while and those pesky roots start showing - if your hair grows as fast as mine - as pinpricks of dark on the second day after bleaching, and as an extension wearer, I can always spot them in others, unless they're very well done. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

I wonder how long they'll drag the Oakley thing out for? I really was hoping that he wouldn't get so bad as to kill someone, so as that he could become a permanent baddie, but this thing is getting hilarious. If a doctor is on remand for a double murder and taking hostages, then who the hell puts him in the hospital where he used to work after his ''suicide attempt'' which was likely no genuine effort at all, as he probably knew exactly what he was doing.

On another, more serious note (I know people will ask, Jaysus, you're calling FC serious!!!) But I love how Hughie is handling Kevin's coming out/confused sexuality. I was afraid, FC being FC that they'd have Hughie go apes*** when he found out, but instead he's being supportive, which is lovely to see. I imagine it'll be the beginning of himself and Kevin forging a closer relationship. :)

Another thing which my mam picked up on, but maybe she's wrong, but are they going to go down the whole older woman/younger man relationship route with Emmet and Miriam when the Oakley craic is over - provided he doesn't kill one or both of them, that is....? My mam reckons that something, like that - especially with her being Eoghan's ex and Emmet being his stepson - would cause more of a stir than Kevin being outed (which really caused no stir at all, thankfully). I don't think - correct me if I'm wrong that they've ever done older woman/younger man relationship in FC before -apart from Jane's fling with Ciarian, but I mean in the permanent sense. My mam said there have been quite a few vice versas - i.e older men, younger women (according to her, Bela and someone called Linda was a prime example) They have been getting very close lately and one is rarely in a scene without the other.