DCM 2017 Graduates: Onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,805 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Baby75 wrote: »
    Next year at DCM Ariana :D and I agree with S you will smash your 5k PB :)

Skyblue, no way! mad they way we think sometimes that still a fantastic time :)

Looks like I am out of action for the week, The outside of my right knee was quite painful after the half on Saturday ( no issues while running) while it has improved I had a very busy morning walking around town and it was sore again I had to take some pain relief :mad: I am thinking it is my IT band so looking like a trip to physio next week

I had planned to start the graduate's plan today and was going to join in the club speed session and S&C tomorrow I am skipping spinning this week!

Saw a couple of good pics of you on the sse airtricity marathon page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Baby75

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Saw a couple of good pics of you on the sse airtricity marathon page.

Me ? :D I must look that up! did I have that silly smile on my face!! I had the same one on Saturday even though I was cursing the hilly route!

Smiling and waving!! Aw it's a nice smile, though himself isn't looking in any way as happy as you!! Haha

Why thank you :D ah poor Hubby was suffering heat really got to him for once I was pulling him along

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,492 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

ariana` wrote: »
    Just noticed the 'Marathon Improvers Thread' and the penny dropped that that's where we'd belong if we were to run another marathon!! I still can't f***ing believe i ran a marathon, mental really, a life long ambition completed just like that (well with a bit of training of course and a lot of blood, sweat and tears ... well ok not so much blood thankfully but it sounds good)!!

As it happens, I was looking at the official video yesterday. The summary one, not the 7 hour stream. Brought back memories alright! :cool::o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMElISPQOA8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Trying to create a pace band to keep me in check if I do the full in Clon on Saturday. In DCM I started out very conservatively - possibly too much seeing as I had a 7 minute negative split. Clon has major hills in the second half though so while i’m not overly worried about a time i’m going to aim for 4:30 but not quite sure how to pace it. I plan on really slow jogging if not walking up the hills so i’m hardly aiming for a negative split so do I go out faster than 4:30 pace in the 1st parts where it’s flat and downhill? Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

All going well I'm planning an early start tomorrow. Starting my 8 week plan for Raheny. Incorporating the McMillan 10k workouts into it. First one is 6x 1m at 10k pace with 3 to 4 mins recovery. As I'm a metric head I'm going to adjust it slightly to 6x 1.6k and 400m recovery. Will be easier to keep track of that way I think, always finishing on the .6.

Need to be on the road no later than 5:45am to make it work timewise.

Leabaland shortly so.

Lazare wrote: »
    All going well I'm planning an early start tomorrow. Starting my 8 week plan for Raheny. Incorporating the McMillan 10k workouts into it. First one is 6x 1m at 10k pace with 3 to 4 mins recovery. As I'm a metric head I'm going to adjust it slightly to 6x 1.6k and 400m recovery. Will be easier to keep track of that way I think, always finishing on the .6.

Leabaland shortly so.

Good luck with the new plan. I’m looking forward to choosing one in the new year.

Speaking of metrics - how did you find your paceband with mile markers and km paces for DCM?

Kellygirl wrote: »
    Trying to create a pace band to keep me in check if I do the full in Clon on Saturday. In DCM I started out very conservatively - possibly too much seeing as I had a 7 minute negative split. Clon has major hills in the second half though so while i’m not overly worried about a time i’m going to aim for 4:30 but not quite sure how to pace it. I plan on really slow jogging if not walking up the hills so i’m hardly aiming for a negative split so do I go out faster than 4:30 pace in the 1st parts where it’s flat and downhill? Any ideas?

After running the half on Saturday, if it were me I would hold back in the first half I would aim to take it very easy leaving loads in the tank to up the pace and run the second half faster, drop back the pace on the hills and enjoy the downhill making up time :) I love a hilly run for that reason do it right and you can still hit your target time. I would rather feel fresh and feel like I can push on in the last 10k than run the first half fast and then suffer the second half it's going to be harder anyway :) good luck though I would nearly be tempted to do it but not with this knee

edited to add, if you pace it right in the second half you can focus on runners ahead catching them settle in and then push on, this always gives me a mental boost to keep pushing

After running the half on Saturday, if it were me I would hold back in the first half I would aim to take it very easy leaving loads in the tank to up the pace and run the second half faster, drop back the pace on the hills and enjoy the downhill making up time :) I love a hilly run for that reason do it right and you can still hit your target time. I would rather feel fresh and feel like I can push on in the last 10k than run the first half fast and then suffer the second half it's going to be harder anyway :) good luck though I would nearly be tempted to do it but not with this knee

Thanks for that. Wondering whether to aim for 2:10 in the first half and 4:30 overall so that allows me plenty time to walk the hills if needs be. I def don’t want to suffer in the second half. I did the half two weeks ago in 2:03:54 and seriously comfortable so I think the 2:10 should be conservative enough considering mainly flat, couple of small climbs and some downhills.

I wish you could do it. Would just love to run this one with somebody. Normally i’m quite happy on my own stocking to my own pace but just doing this for a laugh more than anything.

Good luck with the new plan. I’m looking forward to choosing one in the new year.

Speaking of metrics - how did you find your paceband with mile markers and km paces for DCM?

Thanks K.

Paceband with the mix of both worked a dream for me, it was invaluable. I had a couple of minor issues early on, in and around mile 4 where I got a little confused with it but soon got it sorted in my head.

It is strange that we had to invent it ourselves, and no such band was available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,501 ✭✭✭positron

Ah so this is where all the cool kids are..!! :D

Thanks for this thread and the training plans in page 1. I was starting to feel a bit aimless since DCM and the half I did two weeks after DCM. Odd run here or there without anything to look forward to. I will read thru the thread once again and pick a decent plan to get on board with. My goals for next year is to stay fit enough to run a marathon and improve PBs. Fairly generic so. Definitely want to run Boyne 10k (May) and DCM 2018 (fingers crossed).

For motivation, I have signed up to the Drogheda & District AC's Christmas 5k on 17th Dec. My 5k PB from GT5K is around 24m20s or there abouts. No chance of bettering that as I err.. forgot to stop carbo-loading after DCM. Anyway, good to have one chipped run before the year is out.

Thanks for that. Wondering whether to aim for 2:10 in the first half and 4:30 overall so that allows me plenty time to walk the hills if needs be. I def don’t want to suffer in the second half. I did the half two weeks ago in 2:03:54 and seriously comfortable so I think the 2:10 should be conservative enough considering mainly flat, couple of small climbs and some downhills.

I wish you could do it. Would just love to run this one with somebody. Normally i’m quite happy on my own stocking to my own pace but just doing this for a laugh more than anything.

Whatever you do, go by feel keeping in mind what you have to face in the latter half, I find if I count down to say in a HM to the 15km or 10mile maker I can then push on with plenty in the tank and I am itching to go LOL well it worked for the Dublin and Gingerbread HM

I hope you slot in with some other runners on the day :) will they have pacers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭clickerquicklic

Leabaland shortly so.

Good luck lazare , I've done this session before its really really tough (well was for me) I hate mile repeats they are relentless , 6 x 1mile at 10k pace ouch.
    My advice would be to start with shorter intervals if your new to speed work even 6 x 1km is a tough session.

One of the more experienced lads will probably tell me I'm wrong though , so take my advice with a pinch of salt , but don't get too down if your dead after 2 reps. it's a very hard workout.

Thanks K.

Paceband with the mix of both worked a dream for me, it was invaluable. I had a couple of minor issues early on, in and around mile 4 where I got a little confused with it but soon got it sorted in my head.

It is strange that we had to invent it ourselves, and no such band was available.

Perfect. Going to aim for that so as no km markers this Saturday. I was tempted to change my watch to miles but that might be way too confusing. Wish that program we used last time would work again and save me having to do it myself :-)

Welcome to this thread Positron. I’ve been carb (and sugar) loading non stop since DCM too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Leabaland shortly so.

Good to see u back Lazare, best of luck with the new plan.

Back running this week myself, foot is finally sorted so easy run tomorrow, run thursday, race Sat and hopefully a recovery on Sun :)

Whatever you do, go by feel keeping in mind what you have to face in the latter half, I find if I count down to say in a HM to the 15km or 10mile maker I can then push on with plenty in the tank and I am itching to go LOL well it worked for the Dublin and Gingerbread HM

I hope you slot in with some other runners on the day :) will they have pacers

No pacers. Also i’m going to start at 8am I think. They have two start times - official time is 9am. Slower runners and walkers go out at 8am but apparently some of the faster runners catch up too and some end up slowing down. I was afraid i’d be on my own.

Will def go by feel and start off slower. Plenty downhills too to make up for that and usually take me 2-3km to warm up anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Lazare wrote:

Is your plan to stretch out that 400m to 3 or 4mins? Don't make the mistake of shortening that 4mins! I've tried it. I learned the hard way!

No pacers. Also i’m going to start at 8am I think. They have two start times - official time is 9am. Slower runners and walkers go out at 8am but apparently some of the faster runners catch up too and some end up slowing down. I was afraid i’d be on my own.

Will def go by feel and start off slower. Plenty downhills too to make up for that and usually take me 2-3km to warm up anyway.

Do not get too caught up on a time, just in case the legs get tired quicker than you expect and you feel the lactate earlier than you expect which may make those hills feel harder than you like and the recovery of a downhill does not give you the speed you would like! I am just thinking of how I felt on Saturday which caught me by surprise as I was feeling great at the start and early on :) Hopefully, that will not be the case though :)

Yeah. That was tough.
    Got it done though. Posting about it in here helps lol.

Is your plan to stretch out that 400m to 3 or 4mins? Don't make the mistake of shortening that 4mins! I've tried it. I learned the hard way!

Yeah, I slowed to a shuffle for 400m, was about 3min 20 on average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Lazare wrote:
    Yeah. That was tough. Got it done though. Posting about it in here helps lol.

Wait til you have to do the 3x2mile. Thats one to dread

Do not get too caught up on a time, just in case the legs get tired quicker than you expect and you feel the lactate earlier than you expect which may make those hills feel harder than you like and the recovery of a downhill does not give you the speed you would like! I am just thinking of how I felt on Saturday which caught me by surprise as I was feeling great at the start and early on :) Hopefully, that will not be the case though :)

Good advice, thanks.
    Yeah. That was tough.

Well done. About to go for a slow 8km once I’ve the kids dropped off here. Rain and wind are horrible.

Yeah. That was tough.

Well done !

Got my hills done this morning, a good workout. Ended up doing them in Marlay Park using the hill up to the coffee shop. It may have been a little steeper than required but I really don't know. Maybe El C or Tertosterscone could answer that.

As for pace I'm also a bit confused. Based on the advice to do them at 3-5k pace with an emphasis on form I set my watch for a workout with the pace range of 4:00- 4:15 per km. All seemed OK as I wasn't getting many beeps for exceeding or not reaching the paces. When I checked on Garmin afterwards it seems that not all of each minute on the hill was recorded as moving. As a result my average paces had 4 of the 8 hills too slow while the average moving pace was pretty spot on for the target paces. There was 23 secs difference on one repeat. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Got my hills done this morning, a good workout. Ended up doing them in Marlay Park using the hill up to the coffee shop. It may have been a little steeper than required but I really don't know. Maybe El C or Tertosterscone could answer that.

As for pace I'm also a bit confused. Based on the advice to do them at 3-5k pace with an emphasis on form I set my watch for a workout with the pace range of 4:00- 4:15 per km. All seemed OK as I wasn't getting many beeps for exceeding or not reaching the paces. When I checked on Garmin afterwards it seems that not all of each minute on the hill was recorded as moving. As a result my average paces had 4 of the 8 hills too slow while the average moving pace was pretty spot on for the target paces. There was 23 secs difference on one repeat. :confused:

Sorry SB but I wouldn't know Dublin too well or Garmins tbh. If you're on strava, you can check the gradient and anything around 5-6% would be ideal for these sessions.

El Caballo wrote: »
    Sorry SB but I wouldn't know Dublin too well or Garmins tbh. If you're on strava, you can check the gradient and anything around 5-6% would be ideal for these sessions.

Great! Using rudimentary maths and allowing for GPS inaccuracies over short distances I have worked the gradient out to be approximately 5.69537% :D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭RolandDeschain

I also did the hill session yesterday but I don't think the gradient was 5%.

Does anyone know anywhere good near Raheny for these sessions? Is howth my best bet?

I also did the hill session yesterday but I don't think the gradient was 5%.

Does anyone know anywhere good near Raheny for these sessions? Is howth my best bet?

Just checked your run. 10ft of elevation is probably about 1.5% gradient. That's based on you running about 220/230 metres in the minute. I'd say you would probably need to get a suitable section up Howth Head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭RolandDeschain

Just checked your run. 10ft of elevation is probably about 1.5% gradient. That's based on you running about 220/230 metres in the minute. I'd say you would probably need to get a suitable section up Howth Head.

Ya I had worked it out around 1,5% last night after I did it. Ah well treat it as 200 meter repeats! Ya live, ya learn.