If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭valtra2

tanko wrote: »
    Have 12 cows in calf to XCD for next spring, did you use him again this year or try something else?

Ya have him on few heifers but used few others as well. He is easy calf. 4 on heifers this year and all no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭tanko

valtra2 wrote: »
    Ya have him on few heifers but used few others as well. He is easy calf. 4 on heifers this year and all no problem

Thanks, thats good to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Some weanling sold tonight.one set of twin bb. 2seconď was 2 first calfers. Calfed at 2 years. Tried si on 6 cows to get replacements. All bulls

Fine lump of a cheque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Some weanling sold tonight.one set of twin bb. 2seconď was 2 first calfers. Calfed at 2 years. Tried si on 6 cows to get replacements. All bulls

Fair play they made savage money. Going to try him in the spring too. His calves are supposed to flesh up very well. He's dead now so you might want to stock up on his straws. I think he is gone upto €30 straw now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭barryoc1

restive wrote: »
    How much a kilo are heavier Friesian steers going? About 500kg.

Group of 4 at Kilmallock mart yesterday 495kg made 795 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Were doing 1.45 before I started meal. All were xcd
    That Banwy T-Rex must be as good as his figures say he is. Really liked the look of XCD on paper anyway.

Your cows are all simmental, right? Would they have loads of milk and what weight would they be?

You cant beat milk to drive on weight, but you need a growthy type of weanling to take full advantage of it too.

That Banwy T-Rex must be as good as his figures say he is. Really liked the look of XCD on paper anyway.

Your cows are all simmental, right? Would they have loads of milk and what weight would they be?

You cant beat milk to drive on weight, but you need a growthy type of weanling to take full advantage of it too.

No the older ones are whitehead and lm out of dairy and then all crossed with lm. Just started ai last year to breed in a bit of cross because they were starting to get too much lm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

must have some milk.. re produce weighs of weanlings like that--how u graze them during summer-forward graze the calves, re they get best grass.. great weigh gain..they dosed regularly also?

wiggy123 wrote: »
    must have some milk.. re produce weighs of weanlings like that--how u graze them during summer-forward graze the calves, re they get best grass.. great weigh gain..they dosed regularly also?

Ya older cows have loads of milk. To much really because I have few missing quarters because of mastitis. Second generation whxlm are best cows and big easy to calf and mostly quite. Don't get me wrong out of 25 bulls not all will make that but over 20 hopefully will. Ya the are creep grazed about two months ago when I started feeding. Dosed twice for worms that's all they get. Heifers will be getting there 3rd shot for worms in two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

I've been trying to get to Ennis for one of the suckler clearance sales but too busy with work, report on facebook doesn't seem like they were too dear.

Suckler cows with calves at foot sold from €1,000 up to €1,500, in-calf cows and heifers sold from €1,000 up to €1,670

There was a bunch of serious si bulls sold in kanturk yesterday spring 17 430kg €930.... septic price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

barryoc1 wrote: »
    restive wrote: »
    How much a kilo are heavier Friesian steers going? About 500kg.

Group of 4 at Kilmallock mart yesterday 495kg made 795 euro.
    3 in enniscorthy 485@€840. 1 510 @ €860. Very good cattle. Middle of road 460@€670.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Willfarman wrote: »
    3 in enniscorthy 485@€840. 1 510 @ €860. Very good cattle. Middle of road 460@€670.

Brought 2 Frieslans Enniscorthy yesterday one 590 kilo good bullock 870 euro and other 580 kilo maybe not as good 850 euro brought both home couldn’t let them go for that they 26 months

Dozer1 wrote: »
    I've been trying to get to Ennis for one of the suckler clearance sales but too busy with work, report on facebook doesn't seem like they were too dear.

Suckler cows with calves at foot sold from €1,000 up to €1,500, in-calf cows and heifers sold from €1,000 up to €1,670

I saw about 20 in-calf heifers selling 2 weeks ago. I think that €1670 was an exceptionally quiet piedmontese. A lot of them had soem dairy breeding in them, black lims etc. I like those type of cows but In Ennis, any dairy breeding is a no no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,172 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Any of them will leave a twist. The middle of the road ones ones would leave the most if you are carrying to grass next year.
    marathon wrote: »
    Brought 2 Frieslans Enniscorthy yesterday one 590 kilo good bullock 870 euro and other 580 kilo maybe not as good 850 euro brought both home couldn’t let them go for that they 26 months

These cannot be far off finishing. If they were housed and fed (7-8kgs ration and silage) for 80 days until after Christmas they should kill 330kgs after that it depends on price bu ta base of 4/kg would leave you between 1250-1300 euro. Abouit 260 euro to finish. Lads buying them would have been at nothing if he went much farther. Allow 45 euro for mart fees, slaughter fees and transport and he have about 100 profit out of them on the above assumptions. There age is killing them as if carried to grass there is no QA on them so they be in the same margin as WF bullocks above.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Any of them will leave a twist. The middle of the road ones ones would leave the most if you are carrying to grass next year.

These cannot be far off finishing. If they were housed and fed (7-8kgs ration and silage) for 80 days until after Christmas they should kill 330kgs after that it depends on price bu ta base of 4/kg would leave you between 1250-1300 euro. Abouit 260 euro to finish. Lads buying them would have been at nothing if he went much farther. Allow 45 euro for mart fees, slaughter fees and transport and he have about 100 profit out of them on the above assumptions. There age is killing them as if carried to grass there is no QA on them so they be in the same margin as WF bullocks above.
    Cheers for that very informative. I think what was killing me was sold their comrades last April for 1020 and I let a good angusbullock 570kilos go for 910 yesterday should brought him home with others he was 19 months

marathon wrote: »

They were too old for the farmer buyers like me so no one to push them. You were right to bring em home.

Saw a few Friesian bullocks selling today in Ennis;

2 Friesian, March 16, 512Kg, €770

2 Friesian, Feb 16, 525Kg, €925, well fed types

3 Friesian, Feb 16, 443Kg, €645

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭White Clover

2 Friesian, March 06, 512Kg, €770

2 Friesian, Feb 06, 525Kg, €925, well fed types

3 Friesian, Feb 06, 443Kg, €645

They were a good age Patsy!

:D The years just seem to fly by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

2 Friesian, March 16, 512Kg, €770

2 Friesian, Feb 16, 525Kg, €925, well fed types

3 Friesian, Feb 16, 443Kg, €645

All jokin aside there was value in first two and last 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Lads/lassies how many cattle a year would You want to be buying to justify hauling them all home Yourself? Buy in a good few here and pay men to draw them all home. Between time, diesel wear and tear and the purchase of jeep and trailer is it worth having the shiny ifor Williams and landcruiser or am I better stick to the €10 a head.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Lads/lassies how many cattle a year would You want to be buying to justify hauling them all home Yourself? Buy in a good few here and pay men to draw them all home. Between time, diesel wear and tear and the purchase of jeep and trailer is it worth having the shiny ifor Williams and landcruiser or am I better stick to the €10 a head.

It doesn’t pay but it’s the convenience also you can do your own business without nosey feckers finding out.

A lot of guys have fragmented farms too, so your own transport is a necessity.

Oh the caaavaan man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,172 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Any good self respecting farmer should be able to buy one of those new Range Rovers and as you say a shiny IW 14X6 box and then be able to crib that farming is a loss making enterprise. It is really hard to justify a jeep and box especially when go up to the larger option. Most are illegal weight wise when towed. For lots it is a status symbol.

At 10/head the transport of 100 cattle collected from the mart and either sold again in the mart or going to slaughter is 2K. That would not pay the diesel bill on the outfit. In 2016 my transport bill came to about 800 euro. If I come across a cheap trailer for behind the tractor I might buy it but I will stay from a landcruiser and even a not so shiny IW box

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭kk.man

Any good self respecting farmer should be able to buy one of those new Range Rovers and as you say a shiny IW 14X6 box and then be able to crib that farming is a loss making enterprise. It is really hard to justify a jeep and box especially when go up to the larger option. Most are illegal weight wise when towed. For lots it is a status symbol.

At 10/head the transport of 100 cattle collected from the mart and either sold again in the mart or going to slaughter is 2K. That would not pay the diesel bill on the outfit. In 2016 my transport bill came to about 800 euro. If I come across a cheap trailer for behind the tractor I might buy it but I will stay from a landcruiser and even a not so shiny IW box

All very true. Here's another option...you are driving to the marts to purchase your cattle ?.... I claim mileage at Civil Service Rates off my tax bill...that takes the edge off the haulier charge

See a lot of larger cattle trailers now at teh marts with big JD tractots pulling them. Would these guys be haulage for hire or just their own cattle?

Every farmer aroud here has an ifor williams trailer. If they are minded they will last years. I paid 700e for mine over 10 years ago. I dont consider it a bad investment. It's how you look after machinery that's the real cost, not the initial investment.

kk.man wrote: »
    All very true. Here's another option...you are driving to the marts to purchase your cattle ?.... I claim mileage at Civil Service Rates off my tax bill...that takes the edge off the haulier charge

Not an option if you are already writing off the motor expenses of 2012 Avensis outside the door and the Berlingo you are going to the mart in. Mind you the transport is a straight write off as well

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Oh the caaavaan man!

It's a serious question, transport accounted to just shy of 3k last year including haulage to the factory. Its no joke even for a cavan man!! If i cut back half the mart haulage fees i still dont think a new outfit would pay. There is a grant up the nort for trailers i think. Maybe that might make it pay.