Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Bloggers / Influencers releasing products [Please read note in post #966]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 RMacCabe

How long was RMC's personal trainer course, like 5 or 6 weeks?
    And now she charges €45 a session. No wonder there's more PTs than you can shake a stick at.

She's even got the lingo down too, places are filling fast so hurry. Only 3 spaces left at this price!
    LOL
    Hi hi, Rosemary here – my course was 16 weeks' long and I was also doing an unpaid mentorship at the same time, trying to soak up as much knowledge as possible.

I know €45 is pricey for a lot of people, but the studio I'm working out of has a minimum for each PT session – aside from which, you also get nutritional advice, regular text / email support, body fat measurements and tailored programming as well as satellite programmes you can do in your own gym. Like I said, I know it's pricey – but I like to think it's worth it! Time will tell, I guess.

anna080 wrote: »
    On the topic of Rosemary I'd forgotten about her so wandered over to her blog there for a nosey. Her latest blog post "how do you know what to say when there's nothing to say", is the biggest paragraph of nothingness I've ever had the displeasure of reading.
    Hi Anna, I'm sorry that you didn't like my latest blog post – although I did say, in the post itself, that I had no great ideas to share. I was just writing down some thoughts. 
    I know you've pretty much hated every single thing I've written in the past few years, so I'm not sure why you were surprised! Old dogs an' all that – I'm unlikely to suddenly start writing stuff you love at this stage now am I. Still, thanks for the click – every little helps :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

RMacCabe wrote: »
    Hi Anna, I'm sorry that you didn't like my latest blog post – although I did say, in the post itself, that I had no great ideas to share. I was just writing down some thoughts. 
    I know you've pretty much hated every single thing I've written in the past few years, so I'm not sure why you were surprised! Old dogs an' all that – I'm unlikely to suddenly start writing stuff you love at this stage now am I. Still, thanks for the click – every little helps :)

Rosemary, I'm not sure why you felt the need to make a dig at Anna when others obviously agreed with her? She made no personal comments against you, just an opinion on your latest post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Rosemary you can only post here if you've been a member for 3 months. Sorry Hun. Nice plug for your business though.

Rosemary, I'm not sure why you felt the need to make a dig at Anna when others obviously agreed with her? She made no personal comments against you, just an opinion on your latest post.

Looks like some people can give it all they've got but can't take it. Gas.

I honestly wasn't trying to make a dig, merely making a point; Anna's posted on this forum – and several others – about how much I irritate her, so it's no surprise that she didn't enjoy my blog (as it's unlikely I'm going to suddenly become palatable to her).

So what? Why do you care so much? It's not as if I'm personally contacting you about how much I dislike what you write. Get a grip Rosemary. You've form for it yourself when it suits you.

Looks like some people can give it all they've got but can't take it. Gas.

Give what, Anna? I literally haven't "given" a thing, merely defended myself. I'm sorry if you were offended by anything I said (pretty much: you hate me, you've hated me for ages, you're unlikely to stop hating me now), I didn't mean to be "giving" a thing.

Please go away you're embarrassing yourself.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

mod

anna080, no backseat modding. If you have a problem with a post, please report it.

RMacCabe, you have to have over 50 posts and be a Boards member for 3 months to post here. Feel free to rejoin the discussion when you fulfil this criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

Missed all that. I really didn't think it was 16 weeks, even so that's only 4 months.
    Even the primary school teacher she's aiming the classes at don't make that, after two years of college so I don't know why they'd be saying shut up and take my money.
    Meh, maybe they are.

Missed all that. I really didn't think it was 16 weeks, even so that's only 4 months.
    Even the primary school teacher she's aiming the classes at don't make that, after two years of college so I don't know why they'd be saying shut up and take my money.
    Meh, maybe they are.

Primary teachers train for 4 years in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I've no experience of personal training so I can't comment on how much value €45 per hour represents. The closest reference point I have is my yoga class which costs €15/16 off the street. However if I pop on my business hat, and I think about placing a value on time, it doesn't seem way OTT.

What's the average "occupancy"? i.e. classes only 50% of the time, clients cancelling or not showing up?? Then I'm assuming Rosemary is self-employed and has to purchase professional insurance or indemnity of some kind, plus other run costs. It's probably not the money spinner it appears to be.

End of the day, it's a service and people can choose either or not they want to buy it.

For me it's more to do with her flaky nature, and personally I wouldn't want to give money to begin a programme with someone who could change her mind next week and decide she wants to become a pilot or something.
    Just my personal opinion.
    Each to their own though, and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

It'scompletely not amoney spinner. My friend is a PT and has to pay €700 a month to "rent" the gym she's in, which ishuge. She works part-time in Aldi too.
    It's just expensive for a potential client because the trainer has high overheads.

Still, everyone is a PT now it seems. Also, what anna080 said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I think that's a really mean spirited comment Anna. It's not easy for anyone to move into a new career. As long as I've been following Rosemary, she's been weight training and hasn't flaked out on it. She clearly enjoys it so why shouldn't she want to help others get into it?

Best of luck Rosemary, hope it works out for you!

LizT wrote: »
    I think that's a really mean spirited comment Anna. It's not easy for anyone to move into a new career. As long as I've been following Rosemary, she's been weight training and hasn't flaked out on it. She clearly enjoys it so why shouldn't she want to help others get into it?

Not intended to be mean spirited. It's just my opinion.
    Of all the comments here lately I get called out for being mean spirited for saying she seems flaky?
    Okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭theoldbreed

LizT wrote: »

Must say I agree. I am no fan of Rosemary at all at all but the way this thread has gone has made me uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Must say I agree. I am no fan of Rosemary at all at all but the way this thread has gone has made me uncomfortable.

Agree I don't know why Rmac is even getting mentioned in this thread she hasn't released any products, just changed career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

I don't think Anna is being mean spirited. To me rosemary seems to jump from one fad to the next, then completely back track and this seems like another one to me. This is just an observation I've had with following her in the past...I've no issue with rosemary herself and fair play to her if she proves me wrong. I like some of her writing and find her funny in general but I didn't like her article today at all. Again this is just my personal opinion no offence meant to rosemary or anyone else on the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭blairbear

Rosemary is certainly selling a product. Personal trainer sessions are akin to gym memberships. They are services that you pay for.

Any diligent follower of Rosemary would recognise that Anna makes a pertinent point; she is quite changeable. Hopefully this is the right career choice for her, but I would also prefer someone more established. 45e a session is no joke financially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Rmc does have a tendency to jump from project to project and while she may have been weight training for a short while that and a few months course isn't what I'd look for in a pt.

My own cousin is a pt, she has been into fitness all her life - running marathons, doing weights, swimming, you name it she's done it! She spent over a year doing courses in nutrition and personal training before she considered herself qualified and still does mini courses to keep up to speed.
    That's the type of pt I'd want if I ever joined a gym... Not that it would happen :D

Didn't rmc give up being a vegetarian because she wasn't getting enough protein or something? Hopefully she learned how to deal with that if she's advising others on nutrition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

blairbear wrote: »
    Rosemary is certainly selling a product. Personal trainer sessions are akin to gym memberships. They are services that you pay for.

Any diligent follower of Rosemary would recognise that Anna makes a pertinent point; she is quite changeable. Hopefully this is the right career choice for her, but I would also prefer someone more established. 45e a session is no joke financially.

I pay 150 per session for a PT. If you head over to the fitness forum you'll see that's the average. Commerical gyms can offer PT sessions for cheaper (around 20-30 per session).

blairbear wrote: »

Plus she's using the following she gained from blogging to market her business.
    It would be mean spirited if I wished her any badness or said I think she'll fail. I didn't. I simply said I think she's flaky and so I wouldn't recommend her. For what it's worth I do hope she succeeds. People are giving her their hard earned money so they deserve her commitment.
    Certain bias in here towards some people, methinks.

Just because people don't agree with you doesn't mean they ae biased.

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    Just because people don't agree with you doesn't mean they ae biased.

Duh.
    I mean there's bias when it comes to calling out "mean spirited" comments.

Duh.

Duh? Ok Anna.:pac:

SB_Part2 wrote: »
    Duh? Ok Anna.:pac:

Grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Duh.

How is it bias? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Gal44

Wonder what pippas new products are, she released a new pippa logo pic this evening