If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Good stuff. How were lims selling?

Everything was going well. Lims maybe 100 back from the charolais on average but if you had good quality they were still going well, there wasn't that many there though, mostly charolais calves. Our county's leading farm supply store owner bought nearly all of the heavy dear ones, he's some buyer if he has someone to push him on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

That's mental. Neighbor told me that Gort was terrible last week. I was getting my hopes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Sold these two today. Paid by weight. what ye think they weigjed and went for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭valtra2

Sold these two today. Paid by weight. what ye think they weigjed and went for

550kg 1050

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

valtra2 wrote: »
    550kg 1050

420kg €800

645 x 1.90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

645 x 1.90

At 18 mts thats 33kg weight gain per month not bad for dairy buckos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

410kgs 760 euro

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭tanko

430kgs €820

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

645 x 1.90

What age were they?

Cavanjack wrote: »
    What age were they?

Mar16. I picked that picture because it was fairly decieving ;D

What were You feeding them. None of My continental's the same age aren't near that weight

Grass only. Paid 350 for them as calves. Were reared on a cow with 2 other calves . were fed a few nuts for first year and good silage and nuts aswell during winter. Nothing but grass for simmer. Big boney cattle tgat done well. Yhey werent standin around either before weighing them do that helped a lot
    imh]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

in macroom today I taught the weanlings were a sad trade ,nice black lm bulls around 400kgs only making 800 and less.there was not one farmer there to buy them.only for one shipping lad for the light ones and he had them at 220 to 230 akg for the best ones.same story with the heifers.it is no wonder that most of the dry cows through the ring today were lads getting out of sucklers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

in macroom today I taught the weanlings were a sad trade ,nice black lm bulls around 400kgs only making 800 and less.there was not one farmer there to buy them.only for one shipping lad for the light ones and he had them at 220 to 230 akg for the best ones.same story with the heifers.it is no wonder that most of the dry cows through the ring today were lads getting out of sucklers.

You would wonder if lads like that advertized the likes of them on DD for 850 would lads travel to buy them. I see lads from that kind of country putting up adds looking for midlands prices.

Slava Ukrainii

You would wonder if lads like that advertized the likes of them on DD for 850 would lads travel to buy them. I see lads from that kind of country putting up adds looking for midlands prices.

there is some amount of lads getting out of sucklers down here in west cork at the moment ,and it is no wonder taking 650 for a nice calf around 300kgs sure there at nothing ,what ever way they are up the country they are ****ed down here anyway.cork marts are no help either they ****ed up the shipping them selfs and now they don't want any body else doing it either.they are just after objecting to a lairage being put in bandon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭grange mac

there is some amount of lads getting out of sucklers down here in west cork at the moment ,and it is no wonder taking 650 for a nice calf around 300kgs sure there at nothing ,what ever way they are up the country they are ****ed down here anyway.cork marts are no help either they ****ed up the shipping them selfs and now they don't want any body else doing it either.they are just after objecting to a lairage being put in bandon.

Ive been trying to buy weanlings in skibb for 3-weeks prices much stronger....550+ weight min for any decent chx....offered guys 520 privately and all looking for 600+...some people dont realise trade is in different place to last year...

grange mac wrote: »
    Ive been trying to buy weanlings in skibb for 3-weeks prices much stronger....550+ weight min for any decent chx....offered guys 520 privately and all looking for 600+...some people dont realise trade is in different place to last year...

I was there too buying afew aa store heifers and the weanling prices were nothing to write home about.the same story as macroom and the same few lads buying them at there own money.at least Tom would put a floor under them before but after the big fall out in ccm they have no one at the ringside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Friend has 20 aax calves out of fr cows. They are nice types of aa. All heifers. Feb born. He was thinking of letting them off but I was saying that he would be better off keeping them until the next back end to get sum thing out of them. He has loads of room, silage and grass for them.

I'm no good at judging weight of calves but at a guess just shy of 200kg?
    What are they worth today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

Friend has 20 aax calves out of fr cows. They are nice types of aa. All heifers. Feb born. He was thinking of letting them off but I was saying that he would be better off keeping them until the next back end to get sum thing out of them. He has loads of room, silage and grass for them.

I'm no good at judging weight of calves but at a guess just shy of 200kg?
    What are they worth today?

At this day of the year how could they be only 200kg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

MIKEKC wrote: »

Id say it would be the run of it for dairy bred aa heifers mike. 7 months id say its the average most are getting if they weighed one with the other. as he said he wouldnt be great with weights and 10-20 kg heavier and id say hes probably about right. these are calves probably off heifers, easiest calving bulls going, i know ive a few suckler bred pb calves off heifers here and id be scared to weigh them they are that light.

MIKEKC wrote: »

He'd be doing well to have them averaging 200kg this time of year imo. Angus heifers have gotten smaller over the years and if they are heifers calves they'd be smaller.

Probably get €450 for them now

A frw years ago we had the calves at 260 kg at housing so hes about right id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

He'd be doing well to have them averaging 200kg this time of year imo. Angus heifers have gotten smaller over the years and if they are heifers calves they'd be smaller.

I agree that a lot of Angus cross calves are runty/narrow due to easy calving bulls or they are out of FRx/JEx cows. I think a lot of people have been caught buying both AA and HE calves without realising that they are out of cross bred cows carrying JE bloodlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

you wont know ttill there out but id be reckoning 350-400 would be about all theyd go around me. best time to buy those sort of calves, some other person has all the hard work done and about the best time to get them at value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭White Clover

Base price wrote: »
    I agree that a lot of Angus cross calves are runty/narrow due to easy calving bulls or they are out of FRx/JEx cows. I think a lot of people have been caught buying both AA and HE calves without realising that they are out of cross bred cows carrying JE bloodlines.

Spot on base price. Anyone buying calves now needs to know the type of cow they're from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Base price wrote: »

I'd say they are out of hols, they are tall but not horrendous. Not a bad type to be fair. I'd say they would be handy enough kept over winter and do a fair thrive on good grass next spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'd say they are out of hols, they are tall but not horrendous. Not a bad type to be fair. I'd say they would be handy enough kept over winter and do a fair thrive on good grass next spring.

Out of hols would be grand. Least they'd have a decent dlwg and come into a good weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I heard tell of a 19month old jersey cross heifer unexpectedly popping a little black bull calf.. thought to be fathered by a lim x fr bull weanling. It was left single suck for 3 months and registered.. (mother and son got lost in briars) Calf made 380 euro in the mart!

I be very slow to but AA bred cattle at the moment. Too many easy calving bulls throwing out calves with a very poor growth rate and these tend to grade poorly as well. Even as Bullocks some of these kill not much at or less than 30kgs Dw at 30 months.

It is not all down to being off heifer's or blaming JE breeding. After all 50% of the breeding is AA another 25% is usually Fr with 25% JE. It is the AA breeding is the issue not anything else

Slava Ukrainii