The official AH McGregor vs Mayweather thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

McGregor DQ
    Motivator wrote: »
    What has he done for Ireland exactly? McGregor is an absolute embarrassment. I've been to America a few times since he has become "big" and the Americans, once they hear an Irish accent, imitate that ape and start jeering the Irish accent. They don't do it on purpose, simply because Americans are thick, but it's an embarrassing thing to be confronted with people imitating a clearly mentally challenged chap who knees fellas in the face for a living.

He's making huge money out of it, and fair play to him, as there are fools the world over who buy into this circus stuff he's involved in. However, I don't want to be associated with his bollocks carry on every time I go abroad.

Americans have mocked the Irish for ages.

Begorrah, where's me lucky charms, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭Motivator

Necrominus wrote: »
    Realistically you could talk about any sportsperson in the same fashion if you want to be pedantic like that.

For instance I'm a big soccer fan, but the 'carry on' by the hordes of fans who went to the Euros last year was quite cringe worthy looking at it outside of this nationalist pride bubble we as Irish sometimes seem to have.

Truthfully though, it doesn't bother me that much. I won't lose any sleep over lads getting patriotic over McGregor, Ireland's soccer team, the rugby team, athletics.... The list is endless. It doesn't matter to me because it really doesn't affect me. People will spend their money on what they want to and who am I or you to tell them they're wrong?

Calling someone mentally challenged just because you don't like their sport of choice is pathetic by the way.

The mentally challenged comment was directed at his behaviour - you know, the racist insults, off the wall behaviour and general ape-ishness. I didn't direct that comment at his choice of sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Quote obviously McGregor is not the best ambassador for Ireland with his Floyd Mayweather 'Bitch talk'.

F*dis, F*dat, ya effing c***, f u, ya biatch, eff you bitches, etc etc ..... and he goes on.

Then again McGeegor is not trying to make Ireland or the Irish people all nice and cuddly, he is just simply bigging it up for the spectacle "Crumlin style' :-)

LordSutch wrote: »
    Quote obviously McGregor is not the best ambassador for Ireland with his Floyd Mayweather 'Bitch talk'.

F*dis, F*dat, ya effing c***, f u, ya biatch, eff you bitches, etc etc ..... and he goes on.

Then again McGeegor is not trying to make Ireland or the Irish people all nice and cuddly, he is just simply bigging it up for the spectacle "Crumlin style' :-)

Brilliant article in today's Irish Independent about his self proclaimed "working class hero" status. He couldn't be any further from that.

I would encourage anyone who thinks McGregor is great for Ireland to read it, although I'm not sure how many of his fans would be familiar with the Irish Independent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

We have less than 24 hours to start preparing for the rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,901 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Mayweather DQ
    Brilliant article in today's Irish Independent about his self proclaimed "working class hero" status. He couldn't be any further from that.

I would encourage anyone who thinks McGregor is great for Ireland to read it, although I'm not sure how many of his fans would be familiar with the Irish Independent.

Well if its in the Independent I will DEFINITELY read it... right before I wipe my **** with it

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

McGregor DQ
    The mentally challenged comment was directed at his behaviour - you know, the racist insults, off the wall behaviour and general ape-ishness. I didn't direct that comment at his choice of sport.

What racist insults?

Obviously I am being obtuse, I just want you to spell it out to make you embarrassed enough to think it was racist. Go on boy, spell it out.

What racist insults?

Obviously I am being obtuse, I just want you to spell it out to make you embarrassed enough to think it was racist. Go on boy, spell it out.

The racist insults McGregor and his team have apologised for.

Those ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

McGregor DQ

Those ones.

You too embarrassed to post what he said, boy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mayweather DQ

He's very like Poppa Doc in 8 Mile. Plays up to the "street" image. But he came from a nice, well to do family, who had enough money to look after him and move to a more saloubrious area once Crumlin started to get a bit rough. The "street kid" nonsense is completely untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

Those ones.

They haven't apologised for any racist insults. You're embarrassing yourself. It would be easy for you to "win" this debate and just post what he said that was racist, but you won't because you know you'd have to be a fool to think he's racist.

Yourself and Conor74 are having a nightmare.

He's very like Poppa Doc in 8 Mile. Plays up to the "street" image. But he came from a nice, well to do family, who had enough money to look after him and move to a more saloubrious area once Crumlin started to get a bit rough. The "street kid" nonsense is completely untrue.

Who cares? I've heard him say in plenty of interviews that he doesn't come from poverty, that both his parents worked and he had a normal, stable upbringing. Your obsession with him, going on for years now, is genuinely insane. You're completely oblivious to it though.

I think Conor gets embarrassed tonight, but I'd love for him to pull it off just for the likes of yourself and Conor74. The snobbery, arrogance and delusion is difficult to trawl through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Mayweather DQ
    seriously how can anyone actually expect mc gregor to win .

Mayweather
    • He is a five-division world champion

• won fifteen world titles and the lineal championship in four different weight classes (twice at welterweight), and is undefeated in his professional career

• As an amateur he won a bronze medal in the featherweight division at the 1996 Olympics

• three U.S. Golden Gloves championships (at light flyweight, flyweight, and featherweight)

• won the U.S. national championship at featherweight

• Mayweather is a two-time winner of The Ring magazine's Fighter of the Year award

• a three-time winner of the Boxing Writers Association of America Fighter of the Year award

• six-time winner of the Best Fighter ESPY Award

• In 2016, Mayweather was ranked by ESPN as the greatest boxer, pound for pound, of the last 25 years

• In the same year, he peaked as BoxRec's number one fighter of all time, pound for pound, as well as the greatest welterweight of all time

• The Ring, Sports Illustrated, ESPN, BoxRec, Fox Sports, and Yahoo! Sports, ranked Mayweather as the best pound for pound boxer in the world twice in a span of ten years

• He is often referred to as the best defensive boxer in history, as well as being the most accurate puncher since the existence of CompuBox

• Mayweather has a record of 26 wins without a loss or draw in world title fights (10 by KO), 23 wins (9 KOs) in lineal title fights, 24 wins (7 KOs) against former or current world titlists, 12 wins (3 KOs) against former or current lineal champions, and 2 wins (1 KO) against International Boxing Hall of Fame inductees.

Mc Gregor
    • Started Boxing at the age of 12 pinacle of his career was he was all ireland boxing champ at youth level

i mean seriously WTF people . this is a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Mayweather DQ

Says more about you than anything if you take the independent seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mayweather DQ
    seriously how can anyone actually expect mc gregor to win .

Mayweather
    • He is a five-division world champion

• won fifteen world titles and the lineal championship in four different weight classes (twice at welterweight), and is undefeated in his professional career

• As an amateur he won a bronze medal in the featherweight division at the 1996 Olympics

• three U.S. Golden Gloves championships (at light flyweight, flyweight, and featherweight)

• won the U.S. national championship at featherweight

• Mayweather is a two-time winner of The Ring magazine's Fighter of the Year award

• a three-time winner of the Boxing Writers Association of America Fighter of the Year award

• six-time winner of the Best Fighter ESPY Award

• In 2016, Mayweather was ranked by ESPN as the greatest boxer, pound for pound, of the last 25 years

• In the same year, he peaked as BoxRec's number one fighter of all time, pound for pound, as well as the greatest welterweight of all time

• The Ring, Sports Illustrated, ESPN, BoxRec, Fox Sports, and Yahoo! Sports, ranked Mayweather as the best pound for pound boxer in the world twice in a span of ten years

• He is often referred to as the best defensive boxer in history, as well as being the most accurate puncher since the existence of CompuBox

• Mayweather has a record of 26 wins without a loss or draw in world title fights (10 by KO), 23 wins (9 KOs) in lineal title fights, 24 wins (7 KOs) against former or current world titlists, 12 wins (3 KOs) against former or current lineal champions, and 2 wins (1 KO) against International Boxing Hall of Fame inductees.

Mc Gregor
    • Started Boxing at the age of 12 pinacle of his career was he was all ireland boxing champ at youth level

i mean seriously WTF people . this is a joke

I think McGregor only has a U16 or U17 Dublin novice championship, not an all-Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Mayweather DQ
    I think McGregor only has a U16 or U17 Dublin novice championship, not an all-Ireland.

ya id believe it , i was wondering when i saw that on wikipedia , i was surprised he even had that much :rolleyes:.

McGregor DQ
    McGregor is younger, stronger and has a longer reach.

Mayweather is 40 and hasn't fought in 2 years.

It sort of levels the playing field somewhat, no?

Also I believe sport is partly psychological, and I think McGregor is so extremely confident in the way Ali was before the Rumble in the Jungle.

I don't pretend to know boxing very well but all these little things could add up to a major upset.

moneyman wrote: »
    I think Conor gets embarrassed tonight, but I'd love for him to pull it off just for the likes of yourself and Conor74. The snobbery, arrogance and delusion is difficult to trawl through.

If I had to call it, I hope he wins. He may be an utter skanger in a Mickey Mouse sport, whose wit amounts to jeering racist and misogynist abuse. But he's not a wife beater.

Poor attempt.

moneyman wrote: »
    They haven't apologised for any racist insults. You're embarrassing yourself. It would be easy for you to "win" this debate and just post what he said that was racist, but you won't because you know you'd have to be a fool to think he's racist.

Yourself and Conor74 are having a nightmare.

What debate am I trying to "win"?

There is no debate, McGregor is an idiot plain and simple. He's a very rich and successful idiot, but an idiot all the same.

I admire him and his rise has fascinated me. However, the fact he's making so much money out of basically acting and codding his "fans" (which obviously includes you) is utterly hilarious. Himself and Mayweather are basically circus acts and guys like you are making them even richer than they were before this farce was even dreamt up.

Good day.

Hermy wrote: »
    Will this be a real fight or has the winner already been decided before they step in the ring?

All a set up, they're probably good pals. How can they not be at this stage? It's a very, very elaborate publicity stunt and apes all over the world singing "there's only one Conor McGregor" songs are falling over themselves to hand over their cash for this pantomime rubbish.

More power to the two lads fighting, they're literally laughing at anyone and everyone who has paid attention this rubbish over the past few months. I'd say the rematch is already agreed and their purse already thrashed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Just watched the video of mcgregor at the weigh in. What an absolute clown, made mayweather look classy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Mayweather DQ
    Whatever. Life is too short. Friends around later, game of cards, take out food, few cans and then watch the fight. It's the entertainment business and although iv'e no real interest in boxing or MMA this entertainment show for me is interesting and i'll be watching it. Maybe for others sitting back on a Sunday morning reading the papers before they go to the national concert hall is entertaining, fair play to them.

What debate am I trying to "win"?

There is no debate, McGregor is an idiot plain and simple. He's a very rich and successful idiot, but an idiot all the same.

I admire him and his rise has fascinated me. However, the fact he's making so much money out of basically acting and codding his "fans" (which obviously includes you) is utterly hilarious. Himself and Mayweather are basically circus acts and guys like you are making them even richer than they were before this farce was even dreamt up.

Good day.

Claiming he's racist but won't back it up. You know it's a weak argument.

I'm a fan of Conor but not of everything he does, and I think he has pretty much 0 chance tonight. I just can't stand people who don't know anything about the sport making stupid claims. It's funny you claim others are buying into his spiel - most of his fans recognise it's self promotion. You're the one that's bought it hook, line and sinker. You think it's his real personality. You'll watch the fight tonight, thus contributing to his rise to even greater fame. You're here talking about him, giving him even more credence. No doubt you'll pretend you have no intention of watching it, but we all know you will.

Look at you - stuck in a thread, post after non-sensical post, about a topic that you claim to be so against. You're a bigger fool than any of his fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

If Mayweather doesn't win by stoppage he should be embarrassed, biggest mismatch in boxing and possibly sports history. McGregor wouldn't win an Irish title let alone beat one of the ATG's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭rtron

McGregor DQ
    My prediction is this Conor wins, hands may weather the loss.Then there is a rematch next year.
    Profit not boxing will be the winner here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Not sure why you're calling McGregor out on his racism when you've already admitted to being a racist yourself. I'm going to have to call you a hypocrite now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭rtron

McGregor DQ
    ziggy wrote: »
    Mayweather to win, but in a controversial fashion which allows for a rematch $$$$

For me it makes no sense for a rematch if may weather wins as he'll have nothing to prove.But if Conor wins convincenly then yes a rematch would be on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,870 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Mayweather DQ
    Just saw weigh on news. What an national embarssment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mayweather DQ
    Won't get to watch it and can't see him winning it, but I hope he does :)

Why is everyone rising to the obvious trolling?