Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Chat

• Registered Users Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭Liamalone

A bit of a shambles that craic, I'm sure I could muster a 0-6 defeat lol, hope it's a knockout tournament :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

i thought it started tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

i thought it started tonight?

7 hours ahead in Shanghai so was night time there.

Aw crap no point tuning in to it so

Close one between MvG and Taylor but a runaway winner in the final.
    Chizzy does what he does best and gives MvG an easy victory.

shanghai_final.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭bassy

Van gerwen is miles ahead of the pack,needs a bazooka to catch him.even when hes not playing hes A game he still wins.i think and he knows darts is in hes hands for the fore seeable future.

He's also handling the pressure of being the top dog very very well

bassy wrote: »
    Van gerwen is miles ahead of the pack,needs a bazooka to catch him.even when hes not playing hes A game he still wins.i think and he knows darts is in hes hands for the fore seeable future.
    He's also handling the pressure of being the top dog very very well

He averaged about 104 in the final. Routine for him now.
    Chizzy averaged just under 84 and he's number 5 in the world!
    He can do a lot better of course but the point is that a lot of the players are beaten before they take the stage similar to how it was when Taylor was no1.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

World Matchplay final field and seedings.

Seeds.
    1 Michael van Gerwen
    2 Gary Anderson
    3 Peter Wright
    4 Adrian Lewis
    5 Dave Chisnall
    6 James Wade
    7 Mensur Suljovic
    8 Phil Taylor
    9 Raymond van Barneveld
    10 Jelle Klaasen
    11 Michael Smith
    12 Kim Huybrechts
    13 Ian White
    14 Robert Thornton
    15 Benito van de Pas
    16 Simon Whitlock

Nonseeds.
    Daryl Gurney
    Alan Norris
    Joe Cullen
    Rob Cross
    Mervyn King
    Gerwyn Price
    Cristo Reyes
    Stephen Bunting
    Darren Webster
    Steve Beaton
    James Wilson
    Steve West
    Kyle Anderson
    John Henderson
    Christian Kist
    Justin Pipe

Which leaves a draw bracket of
    1 Michael van Gerwen v
    16 Simon Whitlock v
    8 Phil Taylor v
    9 Raymond van Barneveld v

5 Dave Chisnall v
    12 Kim Huybrechts v
    4 Adrian Lewis v
    13 Ian White v
    2 Gary Anderson v
    15 Benito van de Pas v
    7 Mensur Suljovic v
    10 Jelle Klaasen v

6 James Wade v
    11 Michael Smith v
    3 Peter Wright v
    14 Robert Thornton v

Taylor withdraws from the US leg of the World Series yoke due to sickness.
    His place taken by James Wade, or as the PDC website puts it '7-times PDC Premier Event winner James Wade'. I wonder is 'Premier Event' going to be something we hear used going forward, seeing as 'major' has become so watered down as to be meaningless.

The World Matchplay draw will be on Sky Sport News around 7 tonight.

Matchplay draw.

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Stephen Bunting
    Simon Whitlock (16) v Kyle Anderson
    Phil Taylor (8) v Gerwyn Price
    Raymond van Barneveld (9) v Joe Cullen

Dave Chisnall (5) v Mervyn King
    Kim Huybrechts (12) v Alan Norris
    Adrian Lewis (4) v Steve Beaton
    Ian White (13) v Rob Cross
    ==============
    Gary Anderson (2) v Christian Kist
    Benito van de Pas (15) v Daryl Gurney
    Mensur Suljovic (7) v John Henderson
    Jelle Klaasen (10) v Justin Pipe

James Wade (6) v Darren Webster
    Michael Smith (11) v Steve West
    Peter Wright (3) v James Wilson
    Robert Thornton (14) v Cristo Reyes

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭FineAle

Some right crackers lined up for that, very much looking forward to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Can definitely see a few seeds going out first round. Price, Cullen and Reyes treble would probably give nice odds

Looks like Phil might have a few questions to answer...

Untitled.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭crasy dash

I'm enjoying the us darts masters so far hearing barry hearn in commentary is a first for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭crasy dash

That was awesome by Dawson!!James had his chance and didn't take it

Wright did the bare miniumum to get through...86 avg and 6-3. As he got into the game Brenneman stopped scoring
    and though he played well below his usual standards it was still easy.
    MvG steamrolled his way to a 6-0 win.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭Liamalone

Exhibition tournaments really though

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Liamalone wrote: »
    Exhibition tournaments really though

Yeah they are. Completely meaningless.

With that said though, Gurney is starting to make a name for himself. I've seen a good few people calling for him to be in the next Premier League.

They are meaningless but there was no short of effort between Wright and Gurney in the 1/4 final and MvG took
    great pleasure in whitewashing Gerwyn Price. Gurney is a good player and the fact that he has a bit of attitude
    helps to spice things up and the PDC need that. At 5-3 up the other day though he fell apart hardly hitting a treble
    in the next 3 legs as MvG turned it around without having to do much.

I would have to disagree,they are not in any way meaningless, those guys who qualified got to play the big boys on a big stage, fulfill a dream, encourage others to stick at it,gurney will get huge confidence from it I imagine, ask him if its meaningless .. darts needs to look after the whole circut,not just the top 32 . I love these comps tbh.. now I know of 'awesome dawson' ,he can play.. it's great

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,236 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I would have to disagree,they are not in any way meaningless,

They are non-ranked events, therefore completely meaningless in the grand scheme of things. One of the new players could win the event and we may never hear from them again because it would not get them into any other tournaments.

We can differ on opinions

Kingp35 wrote: »
    They are non-ranked events, therefore completely meaningless in the grand scheme of things. One of the new players could win the event and we may never hear from them again because it would not get them into any other tournaments.

If a new player wins one and beats the top players then in sure we will see him again cause you need to be very talented to beat the top players and a huge stepping stone in there career and also the purse prize helps a new playsr massively.

bassy wrote: »
    If a new player wins one and beats the top players then in sure we will see him again cause you need to be very talented to beat the top players and a huge stepping stone in there career and also the purse prize helps a new playsr massively.

Prize money was surprisingly terrible for the US leg.
    £20K for winner, so basically the same as winning a tour event without the ranking boost.

Prize money was surprisingly terrible for the US leg.
    £20K for winner, so basically the same as winning a tour event without the ranking boost.

...and a fairly snazzy new Ford Mustang which could be another 30/35k!
    Perfect prize for Bunting but he wasn't even there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Look at VanGerwens face lifting the trophy and tell me these mean nothing. Non ranking a small money but every player still wants to win and plays their best to win

There was definitely plenty of effort from the players in the matches I saw.
    It mightn't have the prestiege of established ranking tournaments but they all
    wanted to win it. Players like Price and Gurney are trying to put themselves on
    the map, Wright is trying to compete with MvG and and MvG gives everything
    against whoever he's playing.

Mvg is unreal,even playing a non top player he cruises along and if hes put under any pressure he can easily average over 100 just to eradicate hes lesser opponent.some talent that boy is hot hot hot property.