But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Delighted to see you on the Round Numbers table firstly, then to read all about it here. Great report and a lovely back story. Congrats on the PB and the medal!

Ah thank you G. I did think of you on Sunday and knew that i'd have been chasing in your wake. Hope the injury is well improved and you are on the road to recovery!! Looking forward to meeting you on the start line some day soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hearty congrats, Anne, terrific running!

Very impressed with your speed training in too - some great numbers there.

Most importantly, the rhubarb wasn't burned. A good omen if ever there was one. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Well done that's a fantastic time. Big congratulations

Murph_D wrote: »
    Hearty congrats, Anne, terrific running!

Very impressed with your speed training in too - some great numbers there.

Most importantly, the rhubarb wasn't burned. A good omen if ever there was one. :D

Thanks D, amazing what our bodies can do when we ask them to. I never though i'd see a 5:XX for any pace ever in my training!!

Yes rhubarb was worth saving as it was delicious hot with custard when i got home!!!:D

Well done that's a fantastic time. Big congratulations

Thanks BinB, very happy with it. I was wondering Sunday if you were there and was looking out for your club but didn't see any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

That's just brilliant, Anne, I love how you responded to the challenge, fair play to you!

annapr wrote: »
    That's just brilliant, Anne, I love how you responded to the challenge, fair play to you!

thanks annapr, I'm just a stubborn person and wont give up with out fight!! Stubborn as a mule tends to fit here!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Super stuff Anne fair play for not letting her pass you and digging in well done :)

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Super stuff Anne fair play for not letting her pass you and digging in well done :)

Thanks Mrc Mc

Thank you all for the kind words, definitely more of you should be trying different thing as you never know whats lurking under all the road mileage:D

I appear to have left my Mojo on the track in Tullamore along with all my energy and the reserve tank too. The week after Tullamore I was just wrecked and not feeling 100%, ran the planned 4 miles on Tuesday but didn't get out again that week with lack of energy, not feeling very well and no childcare so working early shifts to get home for the school run.

Didn't get out again until the following Tuesday where 4m was a horrible slog. I can blame the heat, the fact i had bloods taken that day or just that i hadn't run in 6 days. Felt like a 20m run but wasn't too worried about it. Out again on Wednesday evening and a much better run was had and the lovely wind really helped to take the temperature down again.

No run Thur or Fri with stomach issues/bug of some sorts and then missed the 5m Irish runnner on Saturday. Had collected my number on Friday and had hoped to be feeling 100% but not so on Saturday morning and other half having to work to get a job finished before holidays made my final decision for me.
    Eldest was playing football U14 Meath V Louth in Louth, son had big soccer match, top of the table clash in the other direction and all starting at the same time. Just need to clone myself(God help us all!!!). So Louth won by 2 point but N had to come off again after 25 min as her knee went again on her, she'll just have to give it more time(curse of being tall). big soccer match ended up in a 1-1 draw so still all level at the top!!
    Spent the rest of the day relaxing and preparing for hols. Actually managed to sit out for an hour and for the first time ever drifted off in the sun(a few times) but could feel the energy returning and thankfully am feeling much better this morning. I've also started taking iron so that will help too.:D

Heading on hols in the morning so just plan some easy running and then 6 weeks to R&R half when i return.

Tuesday 6 June - 4.10m in 41.46 @ 10.11
    Tuesday 13th June - 4.12m in 43.52 @ 10.39
    Wednesday 14th June - 4.25m in 42.46 @ 10.04

MTD: 29.39m:eek:
    YTD: 728.10m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Have a lovely holiday Anne! You've been training hard all year, maybe a break in the sun will do you good with a few random jogs thrown in if you feel like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Enjoy the holidays Anne, well deserved after all your superb performances lately. Am sure you'll find time for the occasional run while your there!!!

Sounds like your body (plus kids schedules) telling you to take a rest, Anne... have a fantastic holiday and hope you're back to your energetic self soon.

So that's the holidays done for another while!!

Really enjoyed Italy until the Thunder storms arrived on Sunday :mad: and took away the beautiful heat of 37 degrees. For the next 4 days there was intermittent thunderstorms, so bad one evening we couldn't get outside at all!!! Anyway I'm back & well rested and surprisingly for me I got some good sleep while away (i'm a very light sleeper and never sleep well away from my own bed).

Anyway to running!! Well the plan was some easy running and although i got some easy running in, it didn't exactly go to plan.

Tuesday 20th June
    Determined to get plenty of running in, I ran on Tuesday morning before heading to the airport, just a short one but i felt great on it.
    3.13m @ 10.05.

Transferring from the Hotel in Verona city to Lake Garda on Wednesday so no run.

Thursday 22nd June
    I headed out for a short one but ended up going further that the 3m planned.
    It was very hot but I really enjoyed it. Ended up at 10k.
    6.22m @ 9.59

Saturday 24th June
    Just a short one on the loop from the camping grounds, down by the lake, in the road and finish up along the lake again. I turned off from the lake and I knew there was someone behind me but didn't want to turn around and then a voice says to me, I hope you know where you're going, as I'm following you!! :D
    A Kilkenny woman was leaving camping rounds just after me and seen that i turned left where she always turned right so she decided to follow me. We ended up running the last 2.5m together and made loose arrangement to meet for a longer run Sunday morning. If she wasn't at the gate @ 8 am, I was not to wait around, as she wasn't sure about an airport run. Turns out i didn't make the 8am start so dont know if she did as i didn't see her again!!

3.50m @ 10.11

I was having a few problems with my right hip, it had been niggly for the past couple of weeks and i put it down to not running as much. It was very stiff first thing in the morning and always when going from a sitting to a standing/walking position. Anyway it woke me and I had to take painkillers at 2am Sunday morning as it was so painful. Hence i gave the run Sunday morning run a miss. And luckily i did too because at 8.30 the Thunderstorm started and didn't end for 2 hours!!

Wasn't very mobile on Sunday, and Monday was spent walking alot with the youngest while the bigger two were at the waterpark.
    Tuesday was a bit better (but think the Nurofen plus was helping as it was taking the pain away so i could move a bit more freely) Also the swimming pool was equivalent to icepacks as it was so cold after all the heat had left. We were now down at 21/22 degrees and the water was freezing!!!

Wednesday 28th June - DCM Week 1 Run 1

Felt much better on Wednesday so decided to chance a run. When the thunder storm ended and the sun came out I went for a short run. Managed to do the 3.5m lap but then wanted to round it up to 4m but ended up rounding it up to 5m. A very light shower while running was very refreshing and the hip gave no problem at all when running. the thunder started again about 10mins after i got back home!!:eek: ( I hate thunder but am terrified of Lightening and there was plenty)

5.08m @ 9.56

Thursday 29th June - DCM Week 1 Run 2
    got out late afternoon even though i was tempted to open a bottle of Beer but knew Id be disappointed if i did.. young lad cam with me on his bike but headed in the front gates of the Camping park after 2 miles and i continued on, telling him i'd be home in 20 mins. Took a turn off to add a half mile more and ended up a bit lost in the maze of small streets. Finally found my way back to the Village of Peschiera del Garda and then onto the lake for my way home.

5.09m @ 9.48

And that was my last run. Even though I was having no problems while running, my mobility and the pain levels were rising after each run so decided to take it handy.

Sunday I was fine, got the shpping and all the washing done but by Monday morning I couldn't stand upright and had a Drs appointment for the young lad so used it to get some proper pain relief. She ended up giving me a Difene injection to help with my mobility and a prescription for a weeks supply.

Spent the day on the sofa and took a tablet yesterday evening and was completely different this morning. As the day went on it got tighter but didn't take any pain relief so that physio could do his best as thankfully I had contacted him last week and had an appointment for today Tuesday. He confirmed my suspicions that the Piriformis problem was back again from previously and he taped it up after working on it.

He also work on my legs as they were shot to pieces as a result. Feeling much better this evening and can do a few easy runs later in the week. Back next week for another rub out and to get the back rubbed out too, as my whole body is sore form "minding" myself!!!

So Dublin training off to a great start with 2 run!!!!:eek:

In other news, I got a GFA entry for London 2018, all confirmed & paid for!!! So that the Spring marathon sorted (Boston was a non runner due to Family commitments & financial reasons) and my BQ also qualifies me for London too!!!:D

Well you'll just have to get another BQ in London for Boston 2019 then :D

Glad to hear you're getting the hip sorted at the early stages of training. And welcome home :)

Well you'll just have to get another BQ in London for Boston 2019 then :D

Glad to hear you're getting the hip sorted at the early stages of training. And welcome home :)

Here's hoping but London is a long way away!! Thank you!!

We still need to sort that running date. I will be in contact next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Bummer Anne hope injury gets sorted. Congrats on London. Fair play to you running on holidays I found the heat very difficult to do any quality running.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Bummer Anne hope injury gets sorted. Congrats on London. Fair play to you running on holidays I found the heat very difficult to do any quality running.

Thanks Mrs Mc. I love running in the heat and was disappointed i couldn't get out more. Not saying it was quality running but it was running.

So the physio made a big difference to me last week and I'm still quite immobile in the mornings so doing the stretches and feeling better.

Thursday 6th July
    I waited until Thur to try the first run. 4m easy was lovely and i would have loved to keep going but didn't want to chance it. Busy road an had to stop a few time for the tractors travelling on the road. It must be Silage season!!!

10.12, 9.46, 9.36, 9.39
    Total 4.01m in 38.42 @ 9.48.

Followed this up with a drive to Carrickmacross and stood at the sidelines of a brilliant Girls football match. Had to ice it went i got home, ouch.

Friday 7th July

Left this til evening time again and the legs were a little heavy during it, but hip was fine. Beautiful sunny evening. Loved it. Road not as busy this evening
    10.02, 9.51, 9.41, 9.43, 9.36 (.10)
    total 4.10m in 40.14 @ 9.49.

Saturday - Rest
    Family funeral followed by a football match meant i was pretty sore by evening time so had a rest day.

Sunday 9th July
    still feeling it this morning so decided id go later, then got stuck into the Sunday game, cleaned the house, had my dinner and then the heavy rain started so though id rest it. just after 8 the rain eased and the program i was watching was over so decided I'd go do a short one as i knew I'd be sorry if i didn't.
    Headed off just before 8.30 and said i'd be between 30 mins & 1.5 hours. Decided on 10k but then couldn't turn near the junction so went to the T junction so that was 6.6 so had to round it up to 7m to give me 15 for the week. :eek:
    Delighted with this, lovely misting rain keep it cool and i really enjoyed it. delighted i went out in the end. I stood taking to a neighbour near the end and ended up getting home at 9.50!!!

Longest run since 31st May so a lot of work to do before R & R half in 5 weeks. Another Physio session today and plan in hand for the week so here's hoping to a great week.

9.56, 9.38, 9.36, 9.42, 9.44, 9.34, 9.38,
    Total 7.04 in 1.08 @ 9.42

WTD: 15.15m
    MTD: 15.15m
    YTD: 766.27m

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Did they give you any diagnosis for the hip Anne? Having problems with mine on the bike last couple of weeks - self assessment, self-rehab has me nearly sorted...but feel your pain. I was fine running and swimming...not letting my past qualifications go to waste here anyway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Rockyman7

Younganne wrote: »

Longest run since 31st May so a lot of work to do before pacin dublin 15 weeks.

Dfiu #Doinit4theburds

Rockyman7 wrote: »
    Dfiu #Doinit4theburds

Completely missed that part of your update! whoop whoop!!! Go Anne :D I can testify to the brilliance of your pacing skills :D

You didn't miss it AGYR, as i only found out this afternoon on my way to Physio!!! you mean my ability to chat & run at the same time!!:D

This shi1s getting real now!!!:eek: :eek:

Rockyman7 wrote: »
    Dfiu #Doinit4theburds

someone has to.....15 weeks, surely you mean more???!!:D

#5hrs

Did they give you any diagnosis for the hip Anne? Having problems with mine on the bike last couple of weeks - self assessment, self-rehab has me nearly sorted...but feel your pain. I was fine running and swimming...not letting my past qualifications go to waste here anyway :D

Piriformis issue, had it last year. Hips were a bit tight and i was ignoring it but it just got worse. Probably no harm getting a rub out from someone to finish off your self rehab..

Hope the hip continues to improve Anne... and fair play for pacing DCM... what time are you down to pace?

annapr wrote: »
    Hope the hip continues to improve Anne... and fair play for pacing DCM... what time are you down to pace?

5 hrs Anna, God love them all, i'll have plenty of time for chat!!

Might make a few of them run faster just to get away from me!!!:D:D

Piriformis issue, had it last year. Hips were a bit tight and i was ignoring it but it just got worse. Probably no harm getting a rub out from someone to finish off your self rehab..

Feck that...that's not free! ;)

I do need a couple of sessions pre-Ironman...but money...and time...and money aren't overly on my side. :)

Feck that...that's not free! ;)

I do need a couple of sessions pre-Ironman...but money...and time...and money aren't overly on my side. :)

one session would sort you out and be well worth it.....I go without other things to get my sports rubs!!;)

Like food? and beer? Ah here.