If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jobstown 6 Not Guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Wombatman wrote: »
    I'd prefer state resources be directed to investigate Doherty's shady company dealings rather than a few mild tweets.

Oh yes let's pick crimes that are worth investigating. Murder over rape, robbery over intimidating neighbors. You can pass all the information you have on Doherty's shady dealings to Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,332 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

seamus wrote: »

Her account is incredibly vague, bordering on unverifiable.

This i completely agree with, i find it very hard to believe or comprehend why she did not note their badge numbers or take a picture of what she was signing.

The only thing going in her favour is the ministers offices confirming a complaint was made, however while that in itself is still a ridiculous it does not confirm 100% kelly's story about what went on in the airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the real shady thing about the bould Regina's episode is that the Gardai actually acted on a complaint of harassment. You wouldn't see two coppers showing up in a departure lounge because joe citizen complained that someone was at him on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

I thought early morning raids only happened to Trotskyists?

Early Morning Raids on Motor Insurers and Brokers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,692 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bambi wrote: »
    the real shady thing about the bould Regina's episode is that the Gardai actually acted on a complaint of harassment. You wouldn't see two coppers showing up in a departure lounge because joe citizen complained that someone was at him on twitter.

We don't know the complaint was about 'harrassment' per se in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

But you are satisfied that there is nothing to see here? Incredible.
    Satisfied that there is nothing to see, no. You can't prove a negative.

Satisfied that there is no evidence yet presented of collusion between Doherty and the Gardai in this case? Yes.

All I see is a prolific regurgitator and conspiracy theorist making claims about collusion with zero evidence.

Who said that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"A number of insurance companies and brokers in Ireland have been raided by EU competition authorities."

Little details, pay attention

Apparently the EU take a different view of the "best little country to do business *wink* *wink* " approach

"A number of insurance companies and brokers in Ireland have been raided by EU competition authorities."

Little details, pay attention

Apparently the EU take a different view of the "best little country to do business *wink* *wink* " approach

Thankfully. Too many cartels.

Who said that?

Lots of people. As an aside and in that context, this is worth reading.

Satisfied that there is nothing to see, no. You can't prove a negative.

Satisfied that there is no evidence yet presented of collusion between Doherty and the Gardai in this case? Yes.

All I see is a prolific regurgitator and conspiracy theorist making claims about collusion with zero evidence.

We know Doherty made a complaint. We know the investigation is ongoing.
    We also know that Kelly has not accused anybody of collusion with Gardai but has told a story about what happened to her in the context of what happened in Jobstown.

But again we see the rush to diminish what happened and claims of it is ordinary behaviour. Even though it has been shown that the issuance of a 'caution' at an airport during an 'outstanding' investigation is far from normal and needs further scrutiny.

Lots of people. As an aside and in that context, this is worth reading.

Could you show us 'many' posts where people claimed that morning raids only happened to Trotskyists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Wombatman wrote: »
    I'd prefer state resources be directed to investigate Doherty's shady company dealings rather than a few mild tweets.

The Garda commissioner knows what side her bread is buttered on. Good luck with getting anyone within FG investigated.

Could you show us 'many' posts where people claimed that morning raids only happened to Trotskyists?

It's an accepted fact amongst Murphy's defenders. Trawl through all of the posts and you'll see.

I see. So you cannot prove that many people have said 'morning raids only happen to Trotskyists'.

Well done on the emotive stuff...again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,205 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

There is a difference between a dawn raid on someone's home when they are not at risk of flight and turning up early in the morning at an office.

And LOL at those using the term "Trotskyists".

I see. So you cannot prove that many people have said 'morning raids only happen to Trotskyists'.

Well done on the emotive stuff...again.

You keep using that word but, again, I'm afraid your use of it means that you don't understand its meaning.

To be honest, of all the posters I engage with on Boards, you make the most snide comments. Not just to me, but to everyone who disagrees with you. Just an observation.

To the topic, much of the debate here has been outrage about the timing of Murphy's arrest as if it only happened because of who he is. I don't agree.

It took them two days to get out to my neighbours house last month after a break in. When they eventually arrived they hadn't got the equipment to even check for prints. Maybe my neighbour should have sent a mean tweet to someone in FG as he might have got a quicker response.

You keep using that word but, again, I'm afraid your use of it means that you don't understand its meaning.

To be honest, of all the posters I engage with on Boards, you make the most snide comments. Not just to me, but to everyone who disagrees with you. Just an observation.

To the topic, much of the debate here has been outrage about the timing of Murphy's arrest as if it only happened because of who he is. I don't agree.

There is nothing 'snide' (derogatory or mocking in an indirect way.) about what I said. I openly called you on your mistruth/lie.

Telling lies, mistruths to make a point is to be emotive (arousing or able to arouse intense feeling) You are appealing to the emotional side of people, as shown by your total inability to back up what you said. i.e. It was a mistruth/lie.

There is nothing 'snide' (derogatory or mocking in an indirect way.) about what I said. I openly called you on your mistruth/lie.

Telling lies, mistruths to make a point is to be emotive (arousing or able to arouse intense feeling) You are appealing to the emotional side of people, as shown by your total inability to back up what you said. i.e. It was a mistruth/lie.

Grand job. Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

We also know that Kelly has not accused anybody of collusion with Gardai
    Oh really?
    political power is being wielded through the instruments of the state to suppress dissent and protest and to cause widespread fear among the citizenry lest they raise their heads above the parapet.

In view of these matters raised by the Jobstown show trial, I had my own experience very recently with law enforcement and the political establishment.
    That's a clear claim that her own experience is because of "political power being wielded through the instruments of the state."
    But again we see the rush to diminish what happened and claims of it is ordinary behaviour. Even though it has been shown that the issuance of a 'caution' at an airport during an 'outstanding' investigation is far from normal and needs further scrutiny.
    We have no evidence that a caution was issued; not in the legal sense.

In fact, if it had, Kelly would be in possession of a document she could use to prove it.

Like I say, her account is too vague to be of use. Demanding "further scrutiny" first requires that Kelly be a little bit more specific than, "Two Gardai who I can't identify stopped me, warned me to stop communicating with someone and then told me to sign something I didn't read".

The onus would appear to be on Ms. Kelly now to go and speak to the Gardai. Maybe find out who spoke to her? What she was being cautioned for? What she signed? Without that information, there is practically nothing to be scrutinised.

Oh really?
    That's a clear claim that her own experience is because of "political power being wielded through the instruments of the state."
    Nice bit of judicious editing there, you left out this bit, which is important, because she is, like me, not making any accusations just raising questions.
    has raised various questions about how political power is being wielded through the instruments of the state to suppress dissent and protest and to cause widespread fear among the citizenry lest they raise their heads above the parapet.
    We have no evidence that a caution was issued; not in the legal sense.

In fact, if it had, Kelly would be in possession of a document she could use to prove it.

Like I say, her account is too vague to be of use. Demanding "further scrutiny" first requires that Kelly be a little bit more specific than, "Two Gardai who I can't identify stopped me, warned me to stop communicating with someone and then told me to sign something I didn't read".

The onus would appear to be on Ms. Kelly now to go and speak to the Gardai. Maybe find out who spoke to her? What she was being cautioned for? What she signed? Without that information, there is practically nothing to be scrutinised.
    The reason I reckon she mentions signing a notebook is because there will be a record of that if the garda was using an official notebook.

Grand job. Carry on.

And now you try to opt out with a trite remark.

Maybe if you treated the debate with a bit of respect and backed up what you are saying?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    There is a difference between a dawn raid on someone's home when they are not at risk of flight and turning up early in the morning at an office.

And LOL at those using the term "Trotskyists".

Murphy calls himself a Trotskyist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Nice bit of judicious editing there, you left out this bit, which is important, because she is, like me, not making any accusations just raising questions.

The reason I reckon she mentions signing a notebook is because there will be a record of that if the garda was using an official notebook.

This was brought up in the Dail today.

http://www.thejournal.ie/regina-doherty-garda-complaint-blogger-3482139-Jul2017/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Gardaí falsifying before a court. Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Interesting that for the first time in many years a Taoiseach actually comes out strong on a topic (garda corruption) and FF call it a "dangerous precedent". Well said Leo, thankfully that safe non entity Enda Kenny is gone and we can actually start to tackle corruption.

Gardaí falsifying before a court. Disgusting.

And this is only one time they got caught. One wonders how often it goes on. I know personally i have zero faith in rank and file Gardai after years of scandals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    And this is only one time they got caught. One wonders how often it goes on. I know personally i have zero faith in rank and file Gardai after years of scandals.

The Majority of Under 30's feel this way this years and it is only going to get worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

Why do Irish people pay so much deference to the Gardai? I can understand why there was so much deference to the Roman priests and some of the professions (especially Legal) but I don't see why the Gardai were held on a pedestal. Naturally they were going to become utterly corrupt when people were (and some still are) afraid to criticise them or investigate them.