If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jobstown 6 Not Guilty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

buried wrote: »
    People against the privatised 'Irish water' company isn't the homogeneous group of 'not paying nothing for anything' crew that some try to portray. I've been paying for water service's out here in the country all my life. And was happy to do so, while the resource was in the hands of my local authority. But I'll be f**ked if I'll pay it to some privatised corporation who may one day give it away to the likes of Shell or some other crew who will take OUR money for OUR resource and then takes that money and profit OUT of our country. Anyone who thinks that sort of move would be a good one for this country is either (A) A peasant like IDIOT or (B) Connected to making sure that grim corporate resource rape scenario comes about

There were a lot of people in camp A who owe the water protesters a huge debt of gratitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,692 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Yeah. Obviously it was Burton's own fault and she deliberately orchestrated everything. No doubt you would have no problem if the same thing happened to your mother. If it was my mother I would have cleared the way with a shotgun.

My mother, if alive, would not know how to use social media.

And doesn't your last sentence not make you worse than the few thugs who were at this protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Jayop wrote: »
    None of that was illegal though so regardless of whether you think it was in poor taste or the acts of scumbags they didn't 'get away' with anything.
    Most of the behaviour you commented on is illegal under the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

My mother, if alive, would not know how to use social media.

And doesn't your last sentence not make you worse than the few thugs who were at this protest?

My mother, when she was alive, couldn't use social media either. Ability to use social media doesn't mean that you aren't able to be terrified. Burton testified that she was terrified by those thugs and I believe her.

If the police couldn't protect her from being terrified then I would have to. A shotgun would ensure that nobody got hurt if they stopped terrifying the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,092 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Why should she ?

She appeared as a witness,as did her P.A.

Those who see it as Joan Burton vs the People,could not be more incorrect.

The decision to prosecute,the handling of the case,the performance in court,of the State's Counsel and particularly,the manner in which Garda planning,tactics and command structure were,very clearly,shown to be deficient had nothing whatever to do with Joan Burton.

The Jury's decision,unnanimous as it was,has very definitely highlighted a MAJOR set of problems within the Gardai,which now require immediate and wide-ranging action to address.

The removal of the current Commissioner would be a good starting point,with an interim replacement sourced from OUTSIDE the Garda Siochana.

Any decent Labour politician would of refused to support the charges. had she of done this the trial wouldn't of happened.

Discodog wrote: »
    Any decent Labour politician would of refused to support the charges. had she of done this the trial wouldn't of happened.

She was asked to appear as a witness by the state. As a law-abiding citizen in a democracy, she did the right thing.

My mother, when she was alive, couldn't use social media either. Ability to use social media doesn't mean that you aren't able to be terrified. Burton testified that she was terrified by those thugs and I believe her.

If the police couldn't protect her from being terrified then I would have to. A shotgun would ensure that nobody got hurt if they stopped terrifying the person.

So you would terrify innocent people there by brandishing a shotgun to ensure that innocent people didn't get terrified?

Keep going. :rolleyes:

She was asked to appear as a witness by the state. As a law-abiding citizen in a democracy, she did the right thing.

Did you feel imprisoned or threatened ? No. Case dismissed.
    The Guards wouldn't of proceeded if she was going to be a hostile witness.

So you would terrify innocent people there by brandishing a shotgun to ensure that innocent people didn't get terrified?

Keep going. :rolleyes:

If the police couldn't stop it then absolutely. I suppose you would be applauding the brave 'protesters' as they screamed at your mother and banged on her car?

My mother would of stuck to her principles & supported the protesters instead of claiming to support working people & then trying to prosecute them.

Did you feel imprisoned or threatened ? No. Case dismissed.
    The Guards wouldn't of proceeded if she was going to be a hostile witness.
    Of course. It was all her own fault and the people shaking and banging the car were only trying to help her. The screaming and missiles were just encouragement.

My mother would of stuck to her principles & supported the protesters instead of claiming to support working people & then trying to prosecute them.

I see. So one is entitled to feel safe only if one has the right political beliefs. OK got that.

Of course. It was all her own fault and the people shaking and banging the car were only trying to help her. The screaming and missiles were just encouragement.

Getting elected as a Labour politician & then going totally against their core beliefs was her fault. No wonder people felt angry.

Why don't you put my children in the car and my new kitten. Such emotional rubbish.
    Cars have been banged many times during protests, and crowds have jeered and cheered. Yes there were a few thugs but to stretch this out and waste taxpayers money with a stupid trial that would and did achieve nothing was scandalous.
    As soon as it happened FG and others politicised it and sought to gain from it. And it hasn't worked out for them.

I see. So one is entitled to feel safe only if one has the right political beliefs. OK got that.

All they had to do was reverse. She reversed her beliefs so why not reverse the car ?

Getting elected as a Labour politician & then going totally against their core beliefs was her fault. No wonder people felt angry.
    So vote her out. Oh wait, how would Murphy get on TV? Nah, better to terrify her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,783 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

They were not found innocent, only "not guilty", their innocence was not established.

Their innocence is assumed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

All they had to do was reverse. She reversed her beliefs so why not reverse the car ?

She wasn't driving it.

She was too busy organising the Facebook posts. Je Suis Joan.

She wasn't driving it.

She was a Minister. I am sure that she could of said "Let's reverse & sort this out properly". Rather than let's push people out of the way because I am a Minister & they should part like the Red Sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

She was in the back seat wasn't she? Can you drive your vehicle from there?

Why don't you put my children in the car and my new kitten. Such emotional rubbish.
    Cars have been banged many times during protests, and crowds have jeered and cheered. Yes there were a few thugs but to stretch this out and waste taxpayers money with a stupid trial that would and did achieve nothing was scandalous.
    As soon as it happened FG and others politicised it and sought to gain from it. And it hasn't worked out for them.

Yeah. So you've no problem with what happened to Burton. Grand.

She was in the back seat wasn't she? Can you drive your vehicle from there?

No, that's why I said, she was too busy... etc

Yeah. So you've no problem with what happened to Burton. Grand.

I have and I also think it was blown out of all proportion for political reasons, hence, 'get on FB and' etc etc.

I see. So you think what happened to her was wrong but it's ok because it's Joan Burton. Ok.

Imagine if they reversed over a totally peaceful protester? The outrage would keep Joe Duffy happy for weeks.

Surely Joan as Police Woman :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,734 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I don't like Burton but that is just awful Francie.
    She was blocked-in, intimidated, and put in fear by an unruly mob.
    It was a cowardly and vicious act.
    There is no playing it down.

I don't like Burton but that is just awful Francie.
    She was blocked-in, intimidated, and put in fear by an unruly mob.
    It was a cowardly and vicious act.
    There is no playing it down.

There was plenty of playing it up & the jury didn't buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,734 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There was plenty of playing it up & the jury didn't buy it.
    We saw it with our own eyes on the t.v. Thuggery.