Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Chiefs v Lions match thread

• 20-06-2017 8:41am

CJ offering a potent threat off the base of the scrum there.....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Nice period of possession there but you get no sense they're going to score at any point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Some good and hard tackling by the Chiefs.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,174 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Very bright start by a number of guys. Best really getting involved. Haskell, Daly and Nowell all starting brightly.

The MWM is looking hungry.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭F34

Laidlaw is truly awful at 9 slow and ponderous at every ruck really awful to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Gareth Davies will improve this team when he comes on

Marler possibly in the bin for that

• Registered Users Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Idiotic from Marler. It hurts my head how stupid that was.

Looks like he's injured the guy to boot, good going Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Henderson is everywhere this morning

Marler is gonna take a card for that

Venjur wrote: »
    Marler possibly in the bin for that

Possibly?!

Should be a yellow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

Stupid tackle deserved yellow

Marler could get cited for that as well as the yellow card. That looked completely deliberate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

At least Marler has made an easy decision for Gatland there with regard to his test place
    Henderson having a stormer so far

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Buer wrote: »
    Marler could get cited for that as well as the yellow card. That looked completely deliberate.
    And the rugby world weeps.....

The discipline of the midweek side has been a huge issue in this tour. Multiple brain dead penalties conceded repeatedly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭crisco10

F34 wrote: »
    Laidlaw is truly awful at 9 slow and ponderous at every ruck really awful to watch.

He never seems to run either!! just walks from one ruck to the next. There was a few phases in the 22 where the ball was presented really aggressively for quick ball. And Laidlaw just was watching the ball and walking to the ruck, no urgency whhatsever. so frustrating to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

CJ you feckin nuisance :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Lovely stuff from CJ there

The discipline of the midweek side has been a huge issue in this tour. Multiple brain dead penalties conceded repeatedly.

Has there been any citings yet?

Possibly?!

hadn't seen the replay

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Seriously lads, who the f--- is Allan Dell!?

Allan Dell, B&I Lion.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Seriously lads, who the f--- is Allan Dell!?

In fairness, he has been pretty much an ever present in the Scottish 23 over the past season.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Great scrum

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

That was poor from Daly

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,063 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I barely know any of the Chiefs side today.

Stander having his best carrying game of the tour but probably too little too late at this point.

Could bode well for the later tests, though.

Stander having his best carrying game of the tour but probably too little too late at this point.

Could bode well for the later tests, though.

You'd have to this he's 5th choice at least and it'd be very surprising if only 4 back rows get capped.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Can't watch as I'm in work, but just caught a clip of Marlers late hit. I mean there's stupid and then there's that. He didn't even set himself for the "tackle" until after the ball was gone.

Looks like Haskell is giving Marler a bit of a hard time over that tackle. Judging by my test quality lip reading abilities.

Just to remind everyone. Joe Marler is a Lion ahead of Cian Healy. This is planet earth in 2017.