Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Banned from Betfair for life because of paddy power

• 17-06-2017 5:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭

So I excluded myself from paddy power a couple of years ago because I wasn't winning! Now I find that I have also a lifetime exclusion from Betfair because they merged! I like using the exchange from time to time but this is ridiculous! Any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Well tell them that. Politely and clearly.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭1gunsnroses

Well tell them that. Politely and clearly.

I did and they told me there is nothing they can do, I can't use betfair ever again! Some joke

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Seems the company have followed their terms and conditions, you lifetime excluded from PP.

Post-merger your closed account became part of the new PPB Umbrella; as such I would assume from some sort of regulatory position, they are under obligation to close any open accounts held within the heritage companies of PP and Betfair.

I suppose, you could try to open an account in a friend/sibling's name?

i just don't understand why recreational company like pp can omit you from working on the exchange! Really baffles me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

i just don't understand why recreational company like pp can omit you from working on the exchange! Really baffles me

Well they're NOT a recreational company. Long way from it.

Why not just say screw them and place your bets elsewhere?

Well they're NOT a recreational company. Long way from it.

Why not just say screw them and place your bets elsewhere?

I could not care less about the pp account kissed pissed about not being able to use the exchange! Not many other good exchanges out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

I could not care less about the pp account kissed pissed about not being able to use the exchange! Not many other good exchanges out there

Fair point. My bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

You should be able to withdraw any funds associated to the account. Also use betdaq fairer commission and overrounds

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

Betdaq are currently going 0% commision on all markets if you ring them up and ask for it.

You should get that offer for a month at least.
    That should be enough time to sort out a self-exclusion if it is more then two or three years old.

Betdaq are currently going 0% commision on all markets if you ring them up and ask for it.

You should get that offer for a month at least.
    That should be enough time to sort out a self-exclusion if it is more then two or three years old.

I excluded myself for life from pp because their markets are ****e! So as they merged I am excluded for life on betfair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Seems crazy that with the scribble of a pen the status of one account with a company can be consolidated with that of another company without apparent warning.

Especially when the reason you ban yourself from one was to go with the other

• Registered Users Posts: 18,381 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Especially when the reason you ban yourself from one was to go with the other

The logic here is crazy.......

Why would you ban yourself FOR LIFE from one, to go an join another?
    PP are right here if you ask me. Self exclusion is not meant as a tool for closing your account. It's purpose is to assist those that feel they have a problem and wish to do something about it.

As such, they have every right to make the assumptions they have based on your past actions.

It is up to you now to try convince them to reverse that logic......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

If you didn't like the markets you could have just not used them. Asking to be barred is an option made available for people who can't control their gambling, shouldn't be necessary for a person who merely doesn't like their prices.

Just done it out of instinct didn't in a million years think it would effect my betfair account mate

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Four years ago I placed €250 e/w on a horse and PP phoned me and asked me who I was placing bets for.... I laughed and asking them were they serious.... then said 'For myself, of course' and they said 'Okay, you're banned from ever using PP and that was that. Phoned head office and they said all decisions are irreversible.

Roll on to the merger and I had been with Betfair for 12 or 13 years at this stage but even so they emailed me and said that I was no longer allowed to take a price on the Sportsbook. I phoned them and asked why and after 20 minutes waiting someone came on and smarmily said that I knew well why I no longer able to take a price... repeated that I was with BF for 12 to 13 years and he just something like 'Well, under new management now.. you should be happy that we're letting you use the exchange and we're only doing that as we're interested in what bets you place'.

Lads, sure I make fcuk all money on BF... if anything at all. I get the impression that a lot of PP staff a bunch of Walter Mitty types who love thinking they've uncovered Patrick Veitch's latest runner. Never came across a bigger bunch of dopes than they have working for them. Funny thing is I tend to like their branch staff better than Boyles, but yet find Boyles staff far more decent on the phones.

Can't understand them not letting you use the Exchange though, OP, what skin is off their nose if you use it.

If I was you I'd write them an email and lay it on think how much you would really like to us it and how much you respect their decision but how much you would appreciate them reconsidering it and how grateful you would be...... sure they can only say no..... or maybe try their Twitter.

kippy wrote: »
    The logic here is crazy.......

Why would you ban yourself FOR LIFE from one, to go an join another?
    PP are right here if you ask me. Self exclusion is not meant as a tool for closing your account. It's purpose is to assist those that feel they have a problem and wish to do something about it.

As such, they have every right to make the assumptions they have based on your past actions.

It is up to you now to try convince them to reverse that logic......
    The only reason I banned myself from pp was because I don't use their markets anymore and don't want to ever again! Betfair trading was all I was using until they merged! Who would have thought two years ago pp and betfair would merge? Two total different entities! I'm sure I'm not the only one pisśed off

Four years ago I placed €250 e/w on a horse and PP phoned me and asked me who I was placing bets for.... I laughed and asking them were they serious.... then said 'For myself, of course' and they said 'Okay, you're banned from ever using PP and that was that. Phoned head office and they said all decisions are irreversible.

Roll on to the merger and I had been with Betfair for 12 or 13 years at this stage but even so they emailed me and said that I was no longer allowed to take a price on the Sportsbook. I phoned them and asked why and after 20 minutes waiting someone came on and smarmily said that I knew well why I no longer able to take a price... repeated that I was with BF for 12 to 13 years and he just something like 'Well, under new management now.. you should be happy that we're letting you use the exchange and we're only doing that as we're interested in what bets you place'.

Lads, sure I make fcuk all money on BF... if anything at all. I get the impression that a lot of PP staff a bunch of Walter Mitty types who love thinking they've uncovered Patrick Veitch's latest runner. Never came across a bigger bunch of dopes than they have working for them. Funny thing is I tend to like their branch staff better than Boyles, but yet find Boyles staff far more decent on the phones.

Can't understand them not letting you use the Exchange though, OP, what skin is off their nose if you use it.

If I was you I'd write them an email and lay it on think how much you would really like to us it and how much you respect their decision but how much you would appreciate them reconsidering it and how grateful you would be...... sure they can only say no..... or maybe try their Twitter.

Tried it all mate, our decision is final! You cannot use betfair or any of their products ever again! Pack of wànkers

The only reason I banned myself from pp was because I don't use their markets anymore and don't want to ever again! Betfair trading was all I was using until they merged! Who would have thought two years ago pp and betfair would merge? Two total different entities! I'm sure I'm not the only one pisśed off

You couldn't just not use them again or close your account? As mentioned self exclusion is really only supposed to be used in one type of scenario and I'd suspect the bookies have fairly solid rules around how to treat self excluded clients.
    I doubt very much there are that many in your specific position and if they are it is them that have made the mistake of using a process that is not designed to be used by people merely wishing to close their account.
    A good lesson learned no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

Maybe I'm wrong but It says in the terms and conditions that only after  30/12/2016 if you self exclude from one, you are excluded from the other, before that you had to opt out of both separately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

OP sign up with your name in Irish if really concerned to use betfair. Also explain to them that you self excluded yourself from paddy power products not betfairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Division

OP sign up with your name in Irish if really concerned to use betfair. Also explain to them that you self excluded yourself from paddy power products not betfairs.

Ha. He needs official documents in his Irish name if he wants to withdraw some day.

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Division wrote: »
    Ha. He needs official documents in his Irish name if he wants to withdraw some day.

Yeah not a good idea to do this. Really what the OP needs to do is forget about it and move on, and remember that self exclusion is for people that have gambling problems.

And also that if he needed to self exclude from PP to stop using what he calls bad markets, he may have a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭The Reservoir Dubs Anchorman

It's a difficult situation if you were actually making money trading, but it's been mentioned already Betdaq are growing and their merger with Ladbrokes has helped the liquidity in most of their markets. It's not as good as Betfair yet, but definitely better than it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Paddy Power protect themselves by treating self-exclusion requests at face value, i.e. A self-exclusion request means "Please close my account and don't let me gamble again because I can't control my gambling". If you google it, there have been several cases where people ended up in court because they had stolen huge amounts of money from their employers and gambled it away on Paddy Power. PP don't need that kind of bad publicity. Some other bookies only pay lip service to the self-exclusion rules, or offer a watered down version.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,808 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

I you have a problem gambling then yes self exclude by all means

If you plan to keep on gambling and are reasonably disciplined then it's just plain daft to self exclude from any bookie, it's easier not to bother with them.

I hate ladbrokes and got limited there for arbing which didnt bother me as I think they are useless and I did close my account when I couldn't get a couple of euro on a 5/1 shot, maybe once a month they might have been best price on something and it really bothered me at the time but that's a different scenario.

I managed to open up a second account with them in the meantime so not all bad.
    It just bugs the hell out of me when I don't get the best price available as let's face it we gamblers need whatever advantage we can get :D

On another note if anyone out there is gambling a few years and losing heavily with no discipline then gambling is not for you, I'm saying that now in the hope that just one person
    listens and gets out of this game and I say this from experience and from working within the industry, if you don't have your head screwed on there'll only be one winner and it won't be you.
    It took me long enough to cop myself on ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Helpneeded86

I work very closely to the decision making in these kind of cases. If there are any questions I would be happy to give my input.

I would agree with the decision made with the original posters case.

It would be irresponsible of them to keep your betfair account open.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,615 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Not many other good exchanges out there

I use Smarkets, 2% commission, good liquidity but in play poor.
    Betdaq 0% commission but liquidity is terrible even now after Ladbrokes.
    Matchbook another one.

Just looking to back Chile, same prices, bug difference in liquidity.

Betfair €8,600
    Smarkets €18.014
    Betdaq £740
    Matchbook €114

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭kilkenny34

So I excluded myself from paddy power a couple of years ago because I wasn't winning! Now I find that I have also a lifetime exclusion from Betfair because they merged! I like using the exchange from time to time but this is ridiculous! Any thoughts?

Were you ever able to set up another account?happened me today,had betfair account in Oz,didnt use it for years and cant rropen it.

There's a reason ye gave it up in the first place. Might be no harm it's not easy reopen an account!
    Stick the money ye were going to fund it with into a hard to access savings account instead. See a few grand in there in a few years.
    Of if ye like the bit of a gambling angle open a DeGiro account and gamble on some shares!