If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

GK training log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

diego_b wrote: »
    Cool I will keep an eye out, was hoping to make one at some stage. Generally only up the way about once a month for work barring for a race. They seem very popular so will be there next year as well I guess.

They have Winter series on track in Alsa, usually Wednesday night, and you can register on the night if u where ever up mid week.

Tues 9th

5.4 miles cycle and walk morning
    5.4 run evening @ 7.58 avg

Cycle into work and puncture, so walk from Fairview to city ctn. run home
    Mostly up hill on way home, little faster than intended due to running a little late,was supposed to be easy pace.

Wed 10th May

Run into work 8.6 miles @ 8.20 avg endurance
    Cycle home 8.6 miles in evening.

Run into work early, slowing down endurance effort by about 30
    Sec. a mile, ran most of the previous plan at MP and slightly faster before HM, but for very little gains, so will see how this aproch works. Felt comfortable despite only about 5.30 hrs sleep. Must do better on early nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Cycle to work! Yipee I'm not alone anymore :D

Yes you're a bad influence, going to try get bit more on bike over Summer, can't hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

playing catchup on logs. Congrats on the sub 6 G. Great stuff!

RedRunner wrote: »
    playing catchup on logs. Congrats on the sub 6 G. Great stuff!

Thanks R, still working on 4 yr plan :D

Fri 12th May

7.9 miles with 3x9 mins LT 3 mins jog recovery (7.58 avg)
    Target 7.02 - 7.12

Late evening run on up and down route from Clarehall up malahide rd to Donecarney, down to Howth rd, and back up trough Harmonstow. Hit paced easy enough despite not been in piticular humour to do Lt Run. Messed up times slightly as was taking rough guess when to stop after mile chimed, could have held on longer and had to stop drifting into V02 range. Felt strongest in a long time on this run. Calf still little niggly, maybe time for run out.

10 mins @ 7.01
    8.48 mins @ 7.04

Sun 14th May

10.3 miles 7.51 avg endurance

Over the south side just beyond RDS had gear day had got away so ran home, left about 8.40 pm. Started this run to late was bit of a mess and started to fast. Ran into city centre, up north strand and turned from fairview up Howth road, trough harmonstown, to tonlegee rd and home via Donamede, fairly lumpy route but felt great for whole run, pulled back pace on last couple of miles just for cool down, but felt hard to slow down. Definitely have to keep longer runs under control. Every run has a purpose but this had none.

7.30,7.55,7.41,7.34,7.50,7.41,7.43,7.50,8.18,8.23, 8.23 for last bit

Tues 17th May

10 miles aprox (5.3 GA @ 8.35 & 5 inc 1x400 4x500 & 5 x 150 hill sprints)

Run home from work, then club session, decent workout, the session was 300s
    400s & 500s with decreasing recoveries from 90 - 60 sec, had intended running 400s but recovery was off 500 group so switched to get max benifit from session after first Rep as everyone started at same time.

400/500 at mile pace aprox no watch and wasn't keeping eye on splits but ran by effort. Hills at 80% effort, started at back and gradually sped up to catch slower
    Group who where anout 60m up the hill.

Wed 17th May

Easy recovery into work 5.3 @ 9.15 avg

Nice easy recovery into work, lovely morning, mostly down hill.

Fri 19th May

7.62 miles inc 17.30 mins & 14.45 LT off 4 mins
    Avg. 8.03

One mile w/u then into LT, wasn't in humour of this run again, few late nights and few glasses of wine night before. Got into rythem fairly ok, used park run route for LT. not to sure why I didn't just run on seafront as I have a picular hatered of our hill which for some reason throws me every time and managed to hit it 3 times during this session. First LT effort managed fairly well but finished 30 sec early due to guessing time after mile 2. Second effort after reread should have only been 12 mins, so hopefully next week is 18 & 15 so not to big a jump.

17.30mins Lt. mile 1. 6.58 mile 2. 7.11 (hill) mile 0.48 6.48 avg

14.45 min Lt mile 1. 7.26 (hill) mile 2. 7.15 (hill)

Sat 20th May

3.48 @ 8.45 avg easy

Easy run around park run, much handier than yesterday.

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    I have a picular hatered of our hill which for some reason throws me every time

I'm sorry, I have to call you on this, whatever it is it's not a hill :D:D

What's the focus of your training now G, is this Charlevillve / DCM training now?

I'm sorry, I have to call you on this, whatever it is it's not a hill :D:D

What's the focus of your training now G, is this Charlevillve / DCM training now?

Maybe more a mental thing for us flat landers, Training is for DCM ultimately, but will have Irish Runner 5 mile and Rock N Roll Half & Charlaville, intention is to start traing for DCM, already in good shape, trying to avoid any brake downs once I get going in July or so, I am in week 3 if a half Marathon program, which should hopefully have me ready for Rock N Roll HM and Marathon training feeling like a step back. That's the theory anyway.

Maybe more a mental thing for us flat landers,

If you and Mrs KG are around next Saturday or the Saturday after I'll roll out the red carpet in Cabinteely parkrun and teach you what hills really are :p

Everywhere I look there's mention of Charleville - might have to jump on that bandwagon myself!

If you and Mrs KG are around next Saturday or the Saturday after I'll roll out the red carpet in Cabinteely parkrun and teach you what hills really are :p

Everywhere I look there's mention of Charleville - might have to jump on that bandwagon myself!

Will ask the Boss, seems to be a big gang traveling alright.

21st May

11.34 miles @ 8.15 avg

From Clarehall trough Baldoyle, down into Howth around pier and back up coast to St Annes to help with Jnr PR, or hinder some might say, hate scanning at best of times, even worse when kids are building up and you can't get it working, but unlike adults they just keep queuing. Tired this week found this run tougher than it should have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

21st May

11.34 miles @ 8.15 avg

From Clarehall trough Baldoyle, down into Howth around pier and back up coast to St Annes to help with Jnr PR, or hinder some might say, hate scanning at best of times, even worse when kids are building up and you can't get it working, but unlike adults they just keep queuing. Tired this week found this run tougher than it should have been.

The worst thing about scanning the kids is they're so small, it's hard on the back... but they are amazingly good at queuing, think they're all wrecked after the run!

annapr wrote: »
    The worst thing about scanning the kids is they're so small, it's hard on the back... but they are amazingly good at queuing, think they're all wrecked after the run!

They are and Q, grew & grew, lots of them have bar codes pined to their chests which is a pain. Used the F word few times and was duly chastised by the boss, not meant for the high pressure world of barcode scanning kids :)

Tues 23rd May

5 miles aprox inc. club session pyramid 2x300 1x400 1x800 1x400 2x300
    Off 70 sec recovery.

Instructions where to float 300&400 and give 800 good effort, 3's & 4 felt really easy with long recovery. Ran first 370 or so of 800 at top of group and then gave last bit a good effort no watch but coach timed as 2.40, back down felt easy and 300,s where about 53 sec, Not to sure exactly how these type of session should be run but, instructed to float for first 3, give 800 good effort and should be able to complete last 3 without being banjaxed and that is how it went, felt like a good session.

Thurs 25th May

6 miles recovery in evening @ 9.57 avg

Easiest pace recovery in a long time, 12 hours at desk today so just wanted to get end of the sun, ran around Fr Collins nice run, under no pressure at all nice and relaxed. Achilles bit niggly this week but no reaction from this run.

Sun 28th May

10.9 miles progression run @ 8.44 avg

Run was 10 mile progression run with last two at LT, out last two nights only about 4 hrs sleep before this run as had to drop eldest to work for just after 7 this morning and only to bed about 2.30, but driving so no hangover. Out late on Friday and few pints and in work Saturday so long week in work and bad week on running front. But went better than expected LT pace wise on watch only hit
    For 1 mile and on lower end of scale, but effort was there and no Benifit to chasing time.

9.59,9.14,9.04,9.10,9.00,8.10,7.56,7.20,7.17,7.11 0.9 c/d

They are and Q, grew & grew, lots of them have bar codes pined to their chests which is a pain. Used the F word few times and was duly chastised by the boss, not meant for the high pressure world of barcode scanning kids :)

:eek: not in front of the kids I hope :pac:

Thurs 1st June

8.9 miles @ 8.00 avg

Was supposed to be GA with strides, but another really busy week in work, and just ran at steady pace to burn off bit of stress, worked good run.

Fri 2nd June

5.4 miles @ 8.55 avg

Easy run into work, mostly down hill, good just to add a few miles to a poor couple of weeks of running.

Sat 3rd June

8k including park run 21.21

St Anne's reverted to easier old course today, so decided to give it a lash, breathing bit crappy today despite no Alcohol and relatively good night sleep.
    Hasn't been great couple of weeks on work or running, early mornings and late nights in office. Managed first run Thursday maybe judging by today took bit more out of me than I thought. Hopping to run under 21 mins, started well
    and felt comfortable enough trough first 3k, but then runner after runner passed and I said to my self so will catch them on the Avenue, but felt drained and apart from about 10m from end couldn't muster anything, ran other course a few weeks ago after late night and good few beers and had better run, still on target time wise to start into Marathon training, but bit disappointing not to be able to dig a little as just before 3k when I let people go I was well on target.

Sunday 4th June

8.5 miles @ 8.50 avg easy GA

Step back week so 10 miles easy GA on plan, arranged to do 7 of 10 with another runner he is just coming back from injury so someone to chat and keep it nice and casual, meet time was 7.30 so set off with enough time to run down easy but about 4 miles later his ankle was giving a bit of trouble, so walked back to his house about half a mile as we where on a tight loop so we where never going to be to far if any issues came up, had to get back to drive Mrs and youngest to Jnr parkrun as MrsG was at hens party and only got in at 2, so run cut short, but only ticking over before Marathon training and forth day running so probably just as well to cut short. Nice relaxed run and bit of a walk :)

Tues 6th June

11.5 k including 5x537m and 5x 150 hill sprints

7 miles with 20mins and 16mins tempo off 4 mins on plan, but got call from one of lads who has been doing club session and although it's on a brake for a couple of weeks, he wanted to do a session not to fall out of habit. It's 537m around the green so was easiest Rep without overthinking. Two of us start together and I'm little faster so we had 60sec recovery from him, so maybe 65 sec or so for me.

Kept pace nice and controlled, as breathing still a little off, but better at end than start.

5 x 537 2.07,2.08,2.08,2.06,2.08 pace from 3.58-4.01,
    Didn't time hills but kept controlled and walk back into slow jog back recovery.
    Good session fairly windy which maybe added little to effort for first 100m of each Rep and last 40m along avenue. Fairly windy tonight so wasn't looking forward to Tempo effort and time passes easier with company:)

Friday 9th June

5 miles approx easy no watch

Easy run round st Anne's in evening after work, had gear in for intended run on Thursday home from work, bit had slipped my mind it was our Wedding anaversiary, but remembered in time , with a little prompt, so quick run to Flower shop and a card and some plausible Deniability and out to Dinner. Wine and late dinner, early start made this a little tiring.

Sat 10th June

11.1 mile progression run last 3 at LT.

Parked up at St Anne's and ran into fairview and back to St Annes PR for LT part
    had to stop for a toilet brake as stomach started to give me trouble, and run was turning into a bit of regression run, so glad to have a few targets to chase down for LT part. Had nearly talked myself out of LT part before D said get up towards top before start. With about 4 mins or so of stop off between toilet and start I had recoverd well and finish off feeling strong. LT range from 7.05-7.15, so first mile little slow but not to worry, effort was there.
    8.57,9.04,8.37,8.20,8.04,7.59,7.45,8.45(stomach trouble) 7.18,7.13,7.01,5.47 for last bit.

At stag party, out till 4am, severely hung over and dehydrated so no running, another bad week milage wise, and the trend has not been my friend of late so have to try and stop the rot.

but had slipped my mind it was our Wedding anniversary, but remembered in time , with a little prompt, so quick run to Flower shop and a card and some plausible Deniability and out to Dinner. Wine and late dinner, early start made this a little tiring.

That's not remembering G :D:D. Plausible deniability?!! :D Luckily no one here knows your Mrs.... oh wait...!! Happy Anniversary :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sunday washout as you all but predicted, but excellent save on the anniversary front, G. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Nice work there G all the same, what with managing a stag, not soiling yourself and saving your marriage and all within 48 hrs :D

That wasn't a bad week at all in my books!

That's not remembering G :D:D. Plausible deniability?!! :D Luckily no one here knows your Mrs.... oh wait...!! Happy Anniversary :)
    Gill didn't believe me that I hadn't forgotten and had told a few people she was waiting to see if I'd remember, thank god for Mothers who ring to wish happy anniversary.
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Sunday washout as you all but predicted, but excellent save on the anniversary front, G. ;)
    Kind of knew today would be a write off. It's not the first time so I have form:)
    denis b wrote: »
    Nice work there G all the same, what with managing a stag, not soiling yourself and saving your marriage and all within 48 hrs :D

That wasn't a bad week at all in my books!
    Thanks D, when you it it like that not such a bad week:)

Gill didn't believe me that I hadn't forgotten and had told a few people she was waiting to see if I'd remember, thank god for Mothers who ring to wish happy anniversary.

You mother had to remind you!!!???!!! :pac: Sure Gill was reminding the whole of St Anne's last Saturday.... obviously not loud enough :pac:

... although knowing your OH, I'm surprised she hadn't organised the flowers herself :D