Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,032 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,809 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Mr Snow wrote: »

Isn't that stupid. Why do that, it's so obvious.
    Who owns that truck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

Who owns that truck?

A cowboy

neris wrote: »
    A cowboy

Everyone who owns a truck is a cowboy though. Seems you have to be in this country.
    I'm just wondering is it company owned and if magnet was left there unknown to the driver, if different drivers use truck that is.
    If it's an owner drive then it's a bit silly. But I hear a lot of stories about people who own trucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Everyone who owns a truck is a cowboy though. Seems you have to be in this country.
    I'm just wondering is it company owned and if magnet was left there unknown to the driver, if different drivers use truck that is.
    If it's an owner drive then it's a bit silly. But I hear a lot of stories about people who own trucks.

Race to the bottom in the haulage industry, nothing more.

I was offered work recently for 70e per day.

The risk and responsibility of driving a truck for that kind of money.

The industry is starved of drivers.

Last job i had i parked her up in the depot after my (contracted) 10 hours were up.

Needless to say i was issued with my P45.

Similar is happening in the Bus industry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Isn't that stupid. Why do that, it's so obvious.
    Who owns that truck?

Not obvious to me.

Edit..

A very quick Google later....

One word.. sounds like "Ham On "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭highdef

joujoujou wrote: »

I wonder if the novice racer was the same person who managed to roll his silver Alfa Romeo at the roundabout just west of Kilcock this afternoon. He did himself a nasty head injury as the roof caved in on his side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

highdef wrote: »
    I wonder if the novice racer was the same person who managed to roll his silver Alfa Romeo at the roundabout just west of Kilcock this afternoon. He did himself a nasty head injury as the roof caved in on his side

Are you graham geraghty?
    😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

14 Migrants discovered in truck trailer at Rosslare this evening
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0402/864620-refugees-rosslare-france/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

D Trent wrote: »
    14 Migrants discovered in truck trailer at Rosslare this evening
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0402/864620-refugees-rosslare-france/

Why the hell are they given stay???? If I done it anywhere I would be deported.

Time to get strict like new Zealand and Australia.

KC161 wrote: »
    Race to the bottom in the haulage industry, nothing more.

I was offered work recently for 70e per day.

The risk and responsibility of driving a truck for that kind of money.

The industry is starved of drivers.

Last job i had i parked her up in the depot after my (contracted) 10 hours were up.

Needless to say i was issued with my P45.

Similar is happening in the Bus industry.

Who is to blame when the trucking industry is made up of fools who are cutting each others throats in a race to the bottom.
    Look at timber haulage.. those guys will do loads for less and less just to be the one who does the loads.

Who is to blame when the trucking industry is made up of fools who are cutting each others throats in a race to the bottom.
    Look at timber haulage.. those guys will do loads for less and less just to be the one who does the loads.

Because the customer says they're not paying a large bill for haulage services so the haulier gets screwed over which in turn means the driver gets lower wages for driving a 100k truck & load worth who knows. The customer expects his goods delivered for feck all and then insists he won't be paying for 90 days coz if you don't do it he,ll get some other sucker. Unfortunately haulage is an industry dictated to by the customer and not the haulier doing business on his terms

They tried to force me into doing 15 hour days, half a shift with a digi card the other half with an paper sheet.

I kept saying no as they signed me to what the contract stated.

I lasted 4 weeks.

The company is Munster based, they aren't from the banner county but you'd think they are if you get my drift ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Lad I know gets paid 91.75 a day for haulage.

Couldn't believe it was that low given the hours he is up at, operating a forklift, doing admin on site etc, very labour intensive most days.

Not enough repect for these lads.

I was in Glennon brothers in Fermoy last year, the timber place.

Met the forklift driver there, very nice man.

He said to me 'young fella, have you a family?'

I do says i.

He says 'get out of that industry because the wages are only going to get worse'

I asked him has he personal experience of it.

He did he said.

We discussed our incomes openly.

Lets just say that he is laughing all the way to the bank.

Aircoach on the other hand pay a very decent wage.

One of very few private bus companies still doing so.

Remember the guy fired for using his laptop on the motorway while driving the aircoach?

Sorry man he is now.

Not sure did that story appear on this thread.

They tried to force me into doing 15 hour days, half a shift with a digi card the other half with an paper sheet.

I lasted 4 weeks.

The company is Munster based, they aren't from the banner county but you'd think they are if you get my drift ;);)

Chilled multi drop in a purple n white rig?

neris wrote: »
    Chilled multi drop in a purple n white rig?

Ah no no not the Tipperary based company at all.

The ones who have a name after a well known town.

Clare GAA colours also but are based in the neighbouring county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

^ ^ I know somone who was on the M7 a good few years ago, Went into overtaking Lane to see a truck coming AGAINST him in the distance!

DakarVert wrote: »
    ^ ^ I know somone who was on the M7 a good few years ago, Went into overtaking Lane to see a truck coming AGAINST him in the distance!

Was it Jim McDaid :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

Ah no no not the Tipperary based company at all.

The ones who have a name after a well known town.

Clare GAA colours also but are based in the neighbouring county.

County colours and the name of a big river :D , I'm working for a company near to them , I did 19 hours OVERTIME last week along with the 8 to 6 I'm paid to do , and that's most weeks , there's nothing thought of sending a driver off to Kerry at 3 in the evening for a load after starting work at 5 or 6 that morning , and don't mention breaks , put the tacho on break while loading or unloading even though the warehouse workers and office staff take their hour break every day , it's a race to the bottom and they're trying to get young lads into trucks because they think it's an easy life driving an artic around the roads and are eager to prove themselves

Jasus tis a long oul river that one :D

They can't hold down many drivers for the local work.

You did 19 hours of voluntary work was it?

I was fired because i refused to break the tachograph on my truck that was fitted with a digi unit.

As i told them, my licence,my livelihood.

They didn't care.

Even the supervisor in the depot didn't know what he was doing.

Hired to drive an artic and fcuked into a rigid,

Oh i was sent out in a rigid one day that had no tax or insurance on it.

i wasn't long grounding it and got grief because "you'll be late for all your deliveries and will have to stay on late once we get you a truck"

Fat chance says i :cool:

No job is worth losing your licence and getting a criminal conviction for.

Chalk it down. That was the day before they fired me.

They faxed through photocopies of the tax and insurance and told me drive on, this at 3.30 in the afternoon.

I unloaded my truck and went home at 4pm, end of my shift.

The phone was hopping after it with stores wanting their goods.

Lad I know gets paid 91.75 a day for haulage.

Couldn't believe it was that low given the hours he is up at, operating a forklift, doing admin on site etc, very labour intensive most days.

Not enough repect for these lads.

Are expenses provided on top of it?

Best I was ever on in trucks was €120 a day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 161 ✭✭Allah snackbar

Jasus tis a long oul river that one :D

They can't hold down many drivers for the local work.

You did 19 hours of voluntary work was it?

l:

No, all hours are paid for so at the end of the week if you 60 to 70 hours for 5 days you get a decent wage but you're encouraged to work on specifically because if you only do the basic hours you wouldn't have the money to feed yourself , so the longer you work the more loads you do the more you make but it's a vicious never ending circle , if I was paid a decent wage for 40 hours I'd be happy but I have to do a heap of hours to make it pay

Ah that is a killer.

Do you do overnights?

I was getting €600 a week for 40 hours. Overtime extra. Loved the job, I was surplus to requirements 1 week before I was made permanent.

Haulage will only get worse, the hours will get longer and the money will drop again.

The driver being the easiest corner to cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭tom85

I lasted 4 weeks.

It legal to do 15 hour day 3 day a week taco wise

tom85 wrote: »
    It legal to do 15 hour day 3 day a week taco wise

They wanted everyday for €88.75 before tax no extras if you worked on.