Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

BE strike [Read 1st post before posting]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,506 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Epic post fail. You are seriously suggesting that the privatisation of Eircom was successful?

I made 11K at the time on the shares , it was successful for me :pac::pac:

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,896 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

magentis wrote: »
    Thats a bit of a wild accusation in fairness.

The last time I checked everyones opinion is equal regardless of post count or joining date.

Indeed your posting style could be construed as being capitalist with no regard for peoples working conditions.

I believe that providing good public transport services is the most important thing. Ultimately who provides the service doesn't bother me in the slightest as long as they provide value for money to the taxpayers and the business is operated in a way that is efficient.

According to some, the NTA should should simply tell passengers who avail of services operated by private operators who put licenses in to operate later, faster, and more frequent services that Bus Eireann they must be canceled because Bus Eireann don't like it, since the interests of Bus Eireann are far more important than someone who wants to travel to the airport, on holiday or to work.

BoatMad wrote: »
    I made 11K at the time on the shares , it was successful for me :pac::pac:

Careful now, you are going to be called some huge capitalist now after that revelation.

L1011 wrote: »
    TE were no different to every other fixed line operator in Europe at the time, with the exception that they had invested heavily in better backhaul and in ISDN. Its likely they'd have been quite early going with DSL also; had they not been sold off to people with no interest in investment. Was the wrong asset to sell, if they felt they had to sell something

ISDN proves a dead end in europe , ADSL and Internet delivered services rendered ISDN a waste of time, TE was right in hindsight but not because it knew what it was doing

The mentality of the company was still p&T and public sector

thank god it and many other of those sectors we're got rid of when we could ( and the price of enriching workers via share deals , when actually they were owned nothing and the tax payer was owned everything)

devnull wrote: »
    Careful now, you are going to be called some huge capitalist now after that revelation.

absolutely , 11K that went far I can tell you with a mortgage and two kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,421 ✭✭✭✭L1011

BoatMad wrote: »
    ISDN proves a dead end in europe , ADSL and Internet delivered services rendered ISDN a waste of time, TE was right in hindsight but not because it knew what it was doing

Kinda impossible to know that in 1994 when they started the rollout. Still let them provide leased DS1s to businesses at a time when you couldn't get anything other than dialup in similar areas in the UK.

It needed changing, but the way it was changed killed it and set us back a decade in terms of broadband.

if he ever shows his face at my depot or on my bus

in fairness, neither of which are yours nor do you get a decision as to who rides in them . as a taxpayer I might remind you of that , he's entitled to his opinions as are you

bobdasaw wrote: »
    There you go, the greedy bastards profiting at the expense of the workers, you should be ashamed of yourself.

jeepers the workers made a fortune in share options, arguably strong arming the company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

eeguy wrote: »
    Same copy paste answers as the other new regs

I love how every strike is paving the way for autonomous transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

Few interviews with members of the "public" to calm everybody down in here :) enjoy the "Dublin bus driver" at the end :)

https://www.facebook.com/RorysStoriesOfficial/videos/1113891578739442/

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pjohnson wrote: »
    Oh is it all manual deletions? Some software automatically deletes any content containing the removed quote. Thats good to know.

It is all manual :) it's a pita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭hytrogen

bobdasaw wrote:
    Was the vehicle looking in better condition or worse than privates?

Better because they bought in new assets instead of flying off to Singapore to get the Chinese second hand-me-downs and then spending an absolute fortune on retrograde the seats for our fatarses

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

bobdasaw Banned for trolling and making threats towards users and generally walking all over the rules. Don't have the time to do a full clean up at the moment but I will later.

As others have suggested please do not quote OTT posts -- making mixing harder on this already busy thread.

Please use the report post function and do not reply. I have not read the whole thread so action on some users may still be pending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Might've been answered already in this thread but how long could BE survive the strike before going bankrupt? Previously, it has been said that they could be bankrupt by May/June so I'd imagine it'd take about 5 days to go bankrupt if the drivers are still striking? Would that be somewhat correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

You knock yourself out tugging the forelock to the corporate tax dodgers if you wish. They’re parasites preying on Irish society and will continue to do so while there’s profit to be made and will be gone as soon as it suits them as the Dell case illustrates.

And nor would we need their tax revenue if we issued own floating currency had our political class not ceded monetary sovereignty to the EU and then we could properly fund our transport.

We would need some good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,143 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Astounding that nobody seems to care about jobs being yellow packed.

Low pay drivers, privatised gold plated routes, state subsidised loss making routes.

The agenda of the EU, FG, and the rest of the (economic) right wing nutjobs:

Privitisation profits, socialise losses.

The hypocrisy of all those well paid public workers. They'd privatise any jobs bar their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I get in on a Friday evening. I find 83 mails boards.ie related in my inbox. The vast majority of them are related to this thread.

I'm not happy that I have to, yet again, temporarily close a thread, trawl through all of this crud, sanction folks who should know better. Especially not on a Friday evening.

I'm pretty sure we've been through all of this before. I'm not feeling very tolerent of those who are bringing us back here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Honestly, I'm not impressed with much of what has happened on this thread.

My current thoughts:

*Re-reg trolls. Anyone who frequents this forum knows we have a regular, re-registering troll who posts the same tired crap over and over. Yes, they're a problem: but you are the solution. STOP FUELLING THEM WITH REPLIES AND ATTENTION. Report, ignore and do not engage. On the flip side, do not be surprised if you are sanctioned if you do. You power them with your attention, you facilitate them in dragging the thread off it's original focus: in short, you make a bad situation whole lot worse.

*The thread is about BE's current, imminent financial situation. It's not about not class struggles, bankers, 1916, my shoelaces or any other irrelevant twaddle.

*I repeat that being respectful and civil is not optional around here. We also DO NOT ALLOW CRASS GENERALISATIONS. Read this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057694633. Apparently, we can't say this enough.

*If you have nothing constructive to post - DON'T POST. I'm sure you think your pithy comment or sark will be appreciated by everyone...but they aren't. Go blog it, or tweet it. Take it anywhere but here.

*No speculating on other's careers or real life identities. Comments about other's accounts/status of other people's accounts are not welcome. They have nothing to do with discussing the actual topic.

*Anecdotes are not evidence. We all have bad experiences with organisations. Good and bad people exist everywhere, and a "I once had a cousin who rode a 304 bus who's driver told him to feck off" story. Well, that's awful. It's not, however, indicative of the universal user experience or remotely near proof of anything. A actual study, which perhaps backs up with statistics that BE is the most complained about/most sparkly wonderful bus service in Europe etc, is. That's what you should be posting.

So, to cut a long post short: heed the above. Behave better. I don't care if this is an ongoing dispute: if the folks discussing it cannot keep some basic, simple rules, we'll close the discussion on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

At least the BE strikes looks like they won't affect Iarnrod Eireann as much or at all tomorrow, so they can keep the ridiculousness to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Is the strike still on tomorrow?

It appears that the reason GoBE Services which have always been staffed by employees of a private company were cancelled was due to intimidation by unions, according to their facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/pg/GoBeCork/posts/?ref=page_internal
    We had intended to run services as scheduled however when our first service at 06:30am this morning was due to depart, the driver and passengers was met by NBRU members who had left their picket and threatened our driver and passengers. On health and safety grounds a decision was made to suspend all services from Cork. The safety of our passengers and staff is our priority at all times.

It appears to be a repeat or at least something similar to what happened in 2013:
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/05/13/meanwhile-in-cork-29/

Is the strike still on tomorrow?

The strike is an all out strike until further notice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

devnull wrote:
    It appears that the reason GoBE Services which have always been staffed by employees of a private company were cancelled was due to intimidation by unions, according to their facebook:

Disgusting carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

pilly wrote: »
    Disgusting carry on.

Hard to pickets from a cell. Hopefully charges are pressed that sort of intimidation isn't welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Hard to pickets from a cell. Hopefully charges are pressed that sort of intimidation isn't welcome.

You really wonder how it helps their cause its very bad publicity. The drivers are perfectly within their rights to strike for as long as they feel its worthwhile. But its a high stakes game. Grand if they win but if they lose they'll end up with a worse deal than currently offered. How publicity like this helps is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,427 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

https://www.facebook.com/pg/GoBeCork/posts/?ref=page_internal

It appears to be a repeat or at least something similar to what happened in 2013:
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/05/13/meanwhile-in-cork-29/
    This is hardly a suprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Stephen15

This is fairly accurate
    https://youtu.be/KK6trtnt9lg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

It appears that the reason GoBE Services which have always been staffed by employees of a private company were cancelled was due to intimidation by unions

I'd fully support a Garda presence to ensure any such bully-boy intimidation tactics are put to quick halt with any offenders taken away for at least a few hours to reconsider their approach to 'negotiation'.

I hope the GoBE staff and members of the public involved made a formal complaint. It can't be that difficult to identify the individuals involved.

Unreal. What gives them the right to disrupt a private business. Surely all it would take is a call to the Gardai as they are being prevented going about their lawful business not to mention blocking a public road? Mind you once the coppers arrive they'll stick their hands in the air and chant "peaceful protest"

If the Gardai don't come? reverse the bus so it blocks the road and they won't be long getting down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,874 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Placing a picket on the train station in Waterford was a brazen move by the unions when it's only a few office staff based there.

It was however sweet to see full private coaches pull up at the bus station this evening but BE staff fecked off home early, guess if the union offered overtime they would still be there. :rolleyes: