Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭madfcuker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Zatoichi

Went through another tax/insurance checkpoint today. The good weather brings them out in droves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Great to see. I pay my way so should everyone else. Tax of course I feel is debatable but no insurance, licence and nct is one that definitely should be in forced.

1 issue with nct is you should be able to bring it to a test and if it fails on something small you should be OK and not have car lifted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

1 issue with nct is you should be able to bring it to a test and if it fails on something small you should be OK and not have car lifted.

No, just get your car tested when it is due. Why complicate things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

RayCun wrote: »

Or 3 months before the due date, then if there's a problem you have 3 months to sort it. No excuses for cars with no nct unless you've just bought it...and who'd do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

RayCun wrote: »

It's such a perfect world on high moral road... Did you read the posters actual point ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

tossy wrote: »
    It's such a perfect world on high moral road... Did you read the posters actual point ?
    Or 3 months before the due date, then if there's a problem you have 3 months to sort it. No excuses for cars with no nct unless you've just bought it...and who'd do that.

If ya get her tested before the due date, it won't get lifted even if the failure is massive. (Unless it's not road worthy ofc)

Great view uop here, on the moral high ground, on my high horse with my 20/20 hindsight.

tossy wrote: »

Yes.

He wants to make a simple system complicated for no good reason.

The whole point of the NCT is that you have to be tested at regular intervals, not just when you are pulled over at a checkpoint

My issue and it does happen is say car runs out or has been parked up.
    I get it fixed up and booked the test.
    Now if I'm stopped that's an issue as the test is out but I am being decent and on the way to get it done thats the problem
    I fully understand and do get done earlier if a date allows but you all know well circumstances change and things happen.
    I can't see why one can't get car to test centre for test once licensed and insured.

Sure people drive on slicks are allowed continue on but if my car is 100% even though test out that's worse? I mean once booked in and going test only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭ianob7

You can bring your vehicle to and from the N.C.T centre and for repairs if needs be without tax. Only time you can legally be on the road without tax afaiw..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

Not really I had the missus car NCT'd in December with no tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Not really I had the missus car NCT'd in December with no tax.

You say the guards NCT'd your car?

I'm confused. Why would the NCT care if you had tax?

We're talking about exemptions to drive to/from centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

You say the guards NCT'd your car?

I'm confused. Why would the NCT care if you had tax?

We're talking about exemptions to drive to/from centre.

Ahh sorry, just read the last page, thought it was about not being able to NCT a car with no tax, will read previous page in future:o

My issue and it does happen is say car runs out or has been parked up.
    I get it fixed up and booked the test.
    Now if I'm stopped that's an issue as the test is out but I am being decent and on the way to get it done thats the problem.

If you are on the way to the test centre, with your confirmation details, and stopped on that journey, then sure, I would cut you some slack.

But that is not the scenario you suggested earlier.

And it is not the same as the car being parked up, you've done some work on it, and you fully intend to book a test sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

The only slack will be in the straps holding down the car on the transporter.

Really if you were to go full belts and braces spirit of the law you trailer a car that failed due to parking lights even if it had some of the existing cert left.

Bangs coconut shell halves together :-)

Its the ones that do nothing and have no notion of getting car right is the issue not the hard working middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Zatoichi wrote: »
    Went through another tax/insurance checkpoint today. The good weather brings them out in droves.

Incorrect. It's no secret that since they got their pay rise they have been out trying to raise money for it.

I'd Frances was onto Noirin fairly lively after that and told her to get them out as much as possible to justify it.

I've said it here before. You'll see 5 or 6 guards at a checkpoint in Blanch but how many will you see in the village on a Saturday night sorting out the anti social crap going on. 0.

Traffic Corp do village fight patrol?

Where the .. do I sign up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Traffic Corp do village fight patrol?

Well if they are in the area and come across it they should.

But no, patrols should be doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,765 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Incorrect. It's no secret that since they got their pay rise they have been out trying to raise money for it.

I'd Frances was onto Noirin fairly lively after that and told her to get them out as much as possible to justify it.

I've said it here before. You'll see 5 or 6 guards at a checkpoint in Blanch but how many will you see in the village on a Saturday night sorting out the anti social crap going on. 0.

The Traffic Corp division don't deal with general anti social behavior unless it takes place on the roads.

Would a small village with a few lads having cans be the best place for a traffic division to be?

Sorry couldn't resist being a twonk, please do flame accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

"Was going to Tax it when I got the pay cheque Friday, honest" :D

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/829731209395703808

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

"Was going to Tax it when I got the pay cheque Friday, honest" :D

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/829731209395703808

Roughly 3500 in arrears....hope it a fat paycheck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

In those cases are they required to pay back the tax owed or is the car taken as collateral?
    Even though you wouldn't get anywhere near 3500 for that.

Does anyone know what happens to the cars? Are most reclaimed, are they crushed, can they be sold on by the State?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Does anyone know what happens to the cars? Are most reclaimed, are they crushed, can they be sold on by the State?

Think they can take them back once all fines and proof of insurance.
    Apart from that I think they auction them.