Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Riva10

No but if they have an address linked to the vehicle it would be easy enough to collect it from there if summons are ignored.
    Can they legally do that if the vehicle is on private property. And even if they can, is'nt it just as easy to do as they are now doing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Riva10 wrote: »
    Can they legally do that if the vehicle is on private property. And even if they can, is'nt it just as easy to do as they are now doing ?

if the Vehicle has been captured on ANPR I'm sure they can do it.

I'm suggesting freeing up Garda resources. As I have mentioned they seem to have the numbers to mount checkpoints and do lads for tax etc but they don't seem to be able to stop the anti social behaviour on main streets up and down the county during the week. Maynooth is a warzone on a Monday night and never any sign of a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I was talking to a taxi driver today who told me he was out of tax 6 months and passed through several checkpoints unmolested.

True...its unverified but Ive no reason to disbelieve him..he was paying his tax :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

I was talking to a taxi driver today who told me he was out of tax 6 months and passed through several checkpoints unmolested.

True...its unverified but Ive no reason to disbelieve him..he was paying his tax :)

I'd say now if you believe that you'll believe anything :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Isn't taxi tax €95?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Mightn't have been a real taxi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Mightn't have been a real taxi...

You mean..... a faketaxi?

(Dont google that if at work.....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

inforfun wrote: »
    You mean..... a faketaxi?

(Dont google that if at work.....)

father-dougal-presses-the-button.GIF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I see them do this all the time and all the times I've seen they duck into an estate or side road go in turn and come back out no issue at all. Quite obvious something ain't right on the car that does it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

When the fook are people going to learn about drink driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,495 ✭✭✭Damien360

bear1 wrote: »
    When the fook are people going to learn about drink driving

They won't, especially when you have TD's standing in the Dail telling everyone it is ok to drink and drive so you can visit their pub.

Damien360 wrote: »
    They won't, especially when you have TD's standing in the Dail telling everyone it is ok to drink and drive so you can visit their pub.
    Do you think i'll get a drink driving permit :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

KC161 wrote: »

Meh, does it really though?

Granted the unaccompanied L should be on the bus for the next five years but how many of the other drivers pulled where dead or had killed anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,272 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Meh, does it really though?

Granted the unaccompanied L should be on the bus for the next five years but how many of the other drivers pulled where dead or had killed anyone?

So because they weren't dead (:confused:) or hadn't killed anyone it's ok to do what they like? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,014 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

fullstop wrote: »
    So because they weren't dead (:confused:) or hadn't killed anyone it's ok to do what they like? :rolleyes:
    No, it's not.

But it clearly proves speed does NOT kill. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Terrontress

fullstop wrote: »

No, it's not ok for them to do as they like as it is against the law. But the poster describing the licenced drivers doing 150km/h as utter madness is ott.

if they collided with you at that speed you'd turn the air blue if you weren't seriously injured or dead!

Speed limits are the maximum permissible, not a minimum target!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Terrontress

KC161 wrote: »
    if they collided with you at that speed you'd turn the air blue if you weren't seriously injured or dead!

Speed limits are the maximum permissible, not a minimum target!

Collisions are mercifully rare on the motorway. Plus the chances are that I'd be doing 130 so there'd be a differential of 20km/h.

Someone doing 60km/h through a town is so much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Really think it's time for no chat / debate in this thread, i.e. twitter posts only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

Just thank feck links stand out in blue text/pics, so can just quickly scroll past all the expert opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,764 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Can afford what looks like an F30 BMW but thinks driving while disqualified and uninsurance are optional:

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/828153906538696704

Would be interesting to know what is handed out in court as obviously a longer disqualification won't be a deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,583 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Did the chicken curry story come from the Twitter a/c?

http://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/gardai-issue-warning-after-woman-12556831