If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

Especially for cattle from that town 😜
    ya I was in macroom as well and the same story ,any thing under 400kg both male and female a mighty trade even the handy fr was selling well.in macroom on sat I saw 420kg ch blks 3 in bunch make 1095, me thinks too dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

ya I was in macroom as well and the same story ,any thing under 400kg both male and female a mighty trade even the handy fr was selling well.in macroom on sat I saw 420kg ch blks 3 in bunch make 1095, me thinks too dear.

Hard to say without knowing the quality of um.
    But 2.60 a kg for a decent Ch Bulluck doesn't seem that pricey to me.

Terrible continental cattle there.
    TITANIUM. wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

When a decent underage Charolais bullock is netting 1450?

It's not art We are dealing in here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Willfarman wrote: »

in fairness I don't know how ye finishing boys make money and stores coming in at that kind of price,and feck it the man that has reard the weanling wants every pound he is getting too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Economics make no sense at times a base of 3.8 is equivalent to an average price of 4/kg for Charley cattle. This is equivalent to a LW price at slaughter of 2.2/kg . If going to grass they would leave a margin into the shed for finishing you be a busy fool

Slava Ukrainii

Lad's there's probably the bones of a thousand euro already in those Bullocks.

Not everything can be judged from the point of view of how much a finisher can expect to be paid come slaughter day.
    Instead I work off how much any man or woman is willing to pay on sale day. If his highest figure doesn't overlap with my lowest figure then we won't be doing business.

Of course I'm looking at it from the suckler man's point of view. But it's my job to do that and make my margin. You can make your margin however you want. But you won't be doing it after buying cattle cheap off me.

A neighbour showed me one of his factory slips the other day. Good Ch and Lm bullocks they came into 1550 at the lowest and 1780 for the top lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭Who2

A neighbour showed me one of his factory slips the other day. Good Ch and Lm bullocks they came into 1550 at the lowest and 1780 for the top lad.

And like that I seen one for a batch of friesan bulls and everything from 1100-1380. From what I'm hearing finished cattle just aren't there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Were these sub two-year old cattle. The must have averaged over ,410 kgs DW so about 750 LW. It would not be possible to get them to that weight from a sub 500/kg store out of a shed. Giving a gain of 1.4 kgs/ day LW gain it would take 105 days to get 150 kgs on them. That would be 8-10 kgs of ration and good silage costing about 2.5/day including miscellaneous costs about 300 euro..

The 420 kg bullock above IMO is only suitable for going to grass and for slaughter next August/September

Slava Ukrainii

A descant r grade Charolais bullock 700kgs will hang up 380 kgs. 3.80 a kilo plus 12cent qa is 3.92 x 380 is €1492 gross minus factory deductions and transport €1472.
    Add 50 euro for an r+ or 100 euro for a U.

Make em bigger and you'll get a bigger Cheque yes but a finishing bullock here is costing 3 euro a day. 50 kilos live weight is costing 130 euro to put there.

I know suckler man needs every cent of that for those small bullocks,
    but 3.80 Kilo can't work unless the next man is both exercising his money his farm and himself for free.. (Or a bit less)

Were these sub two-year old cattle. The must have averaged over ,410 kgs DW so about 750 LW. It would not be possible to get them to that weight from a sub 500/kg store out of a shed. Giving a gain of 1.4 kgs/ day LW gain it would take 105 days to get 150 kgs on them. That would be 8-10 kgs of ration and good silage costing about 2.5/day including miscellaneous costs about 300 euro..

The 420 kg bullock above IMO is only suitable for going to grass and for slaughter next August/September

They'd need to be big hairy cattle weighing nothing for size and do fantasticly well to be fit by then. These kind of cattle are rare nowadays though. You'd have to budget for next Christmas kill after 2 or 3 months feeding really.

For the lads finishing friesains. I've a batch of Holstein friesain bulls 300 kg. would it be viable to finish these by the end of June or would I be throwing too much meal at them. I don't want to graze them as I don't really have ground for them and didn't want to throw them away either.

Who2 wrote: »
    For the lads finishing friesains. I've a batch of Holstein friesain bulls 300 kg. would it be viable to finish these by the end of June or would I be throwing too much meal at them. I don't want to graze them as I don't really have ground for them and didn't want to throw them away either.

Not a hope in hell. If you want to do them as bulls then maybe next Christmas is an option if still under 24 months. To be fineished by next June they want to be hitting of 450 kgs now and would be lightish at that. TBH the sub 24 months is killing the Friesian bull finishing market as unless they hit grass as yearlings at 350 kgs it a struggle to kill them at decent weights ore and post the following Christmas's. These bulls are being priced around 3.6 at present from what I hear. A good 350 kg O grade bull will only net a bit with 1250 euro.

Slava Ukrainii

Not a hope in hell. If you want to do them as bulls then maybe next Christmas is an option if still under 24 months. To be fineished by next June they want to be hitting of 450 kgs now and would be lightish at that. TBH the sub 24 months is killing the Friesian bull finishing market as unless they hit grass as yearlings at 350 kgs it a struggle to kill them at decent weights ore and post the following Christmas's. These bulls are being priced around 3.6 at present from what I hear. A good 350 kg O grade bull will only net a bit with 1250 euro.

Would I be better squeezing them and sell them off as grass cattle or leave them whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Would I be better squeezing them and sell them off as grass cattle or leave them whole.

Leave them whole, it leaves an option for the next man to either squeeze or leave whole. Saw similar make €550 last week. Crazy if you ask me but somebody was willing to pay it.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Leave them whole, it leaves an option for the next man to either squeeze or leave whole. Saw similar make €550 last week. Crazy if you ask me but somebody was willing to pay it.

If I got 550 each I might even give a luck penny.

If they are extreme HO I would leave them whole. If they are good middle of the road I think I would squeeze them. However if selling fairly soon I be slow to squeeze now. Freshly squeezed cattle tend not to sell well IMO lads buying bullocks that pay silly prices for cattle like to see there b@lls well shrunk.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 blockie

hi ,don't post that often but was looking for yere opinion,have a bunch of limousine bulls half black half red about 250 kilo average was wondering should I squeeze them or not .tha nks in advance ,my mart would be macroom

blockie wrote: »
    hi ,don't post that often but was looking for yere opinion,have a bunch of limousine bulls half black half red about 250 kilo average was wondering should I squeeze them or not .tha nks in advance ,my mart would be macroom

What age?

Suckler or dairy bred

Slava Ukrainii

Sorry.yes they are suckler bred april /may calved

Could be anything from 650-800 depending on the calf

When are you thinking of selling them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 sirbobby

Could be anything from 650-800 depending on the calf

800 for a 250kg calf?

Dealer offered me 550 each for the lot 12 bulls and eight heifers about a month ago thought theyd make more thinkinh of castrating tjem and holding for month?

The boats to Turkey are supposed to be on the go again soon. The demand is for bulls. You would be in the ballpark weight range for them. Not sure what they are paying. If you squeeze them is a month long enough for the b@lks to shrink lads that buy bullocks and pay a premium want tbemwell shrunk so that there are no rigs in the bunch

Slava Ukrainii

Ok just thought farmer wouldnt go neat bulls and might be more demand for bullock how long would you have to hold em after squezze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

The boats to Turkey are supposed to be on the go again soon. The demand is for bulls. You would be in the ballpark weight range for them. Not sure what they are paying. If you squeeze them is a month long enough for the b@lks to shrink lads that buy bullocks and pay a premium want tbemwell shrunk so that there are no rigs in the bunch

pat Kelleher in macroom is buying for turkey at the moment,

Sorry.yes they are suckler bred april /may calved

Jesus leave them whole. Put as much weight on them as you can. If there decent suckler stock then you'll probably be looking at close to 500 with there weight.
    From what I'm hearing here though Macroom might not be the best spot to shift um. There's other marts not a million miles from you that would have more of a demand for this type of stock with special weanling sales coming up!