If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The continuing story of a quack who's gone to the dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Tuesday 27/12 am

Lovely morning. Did a nice easy recovery 4 miles with Mrs.ss

Total 5.6k @ 6:12/k

pm

Decided to get prepared for tomorrow's duathlon. Took the bike down and dusted it off. On recollection it was July when I last sat on it. Oiled it and checked the brakes and gears. Pumped the tyres to 110 psi. After some consideration I put on the clip-on tri bars. They give you a bit more speed if you can get comfortable in the aero position. However you have no access to the brakes or gears and a little less control over the steering so a dodgy cyclist like me cant really use them climbing, descending or on a bad surface or a crosswind. Went on a 10 mile spin to try out. Didn't feel too bad, traffic was heavy and the shoulders a bit stiff but got on the bars for some of it and pace was ok in the circumstances. Training complete.

Total 16k in 32:25. Av 29.5 kph

Wednesday 28/9
    Land of Giants Duathlon, Claremorris.

Up early, bike carrier on the car and collected a friend. I finished 2 minutes ahead of him last year but his running has improved since and he's a much better cyclist than me so good bit of slagging on the way over who might prevail between us. Arrived in good time, registration went smoothly. Great atmosphere as there usually is at these events. Met a big crowd from home as usual. Went down and racked the bikes in transition area. Did a short jog to warm up. Gave a bit of thought about what to wear. Didn't want to overheat on the run or get cold on the bike but didn't want to put on a jacket in transition either. Went with cycling shorts, cycling top over base layer and no jacket. just before the off I put on full finger gloves.
    The first run is on narrow paths around Clare lake and it can be hard to pass. There's always a few slower runners who insist on starting up front so I lined up about two rows back so as not to get stuck.

5.3k run
    Began with a charge down the main street and into the park. Plan was to keep about 4 min/k and I more or less managed this though the effort seemed pretty hard. Maybe the effects of the 10k on Monday or the surface which was gravel mainly. Once the pace settled down I was passing people all the way. Ufortunately I spent about a kilometer behind a guy who's cycling shorts were so worn out and transparent that he might as well have wrapped his arse in cling film:eek:. Cyclists dont wear underwear in case ye didn't know. If you were behind this lad you'd know.:)
    I tried to keep picking them off as I expected to lose places on the bike. finished the run in 21:15 or so and into transition. Soon realised the gloves were a bad idea as it took me ages to get the helmet buckled. 45 seconds in transition and saw a few guys I'd passed on the run get on their bikes first. Thought I pressed lap on my garmin so start the cycle but must have pressed stop as I realised later.

17k cycle
    The cycle starts with a steep uphill and I was actually passing quite a few on the climb. A fair few were passing me too but that was expected. I soon realised that I'd messed up the garmin which I restarted but it was frustrating not to know my speed or how far was left to go from here on.
    The first part of the cycle is fairly undulating and on a poor surface but I still managed to use the tri bars most of the way. I was passed occasionally but mainly by guys on fancy tri bikes with pointy hats.
    The last 8 k back to town is on good road. As we turned on to the main road I chanced a look over my shoulder and saw a group of five or so within a few seconds. Not sure they were all observing the no drafting rule:mad:. I decided to dig in and see could I hold them off. I stayed on the bars for the rest of the cycle and even managed to reel in three guys who'd passed me earlier. I was overtaken by one or two others on the last descent where I was a bit cautious.
    Very happy with the cycle overall, into transition and much smoother this time. Ditched the bike and helmet in 15 seconds or so.
    Official split was 33:55, not certain of the distance due to the watch mess up, supposed to be 17k so about 30kph.

1.9k run
    The second run is supposed to be 2k but I think its a bit shorter. The legs felt like jelly after the bike but suprisingly the watch told me I was running about 3:55 pace on the first k. I thought I might gain a few places here but it was a net loss of position if anything. The last 500m is messy as you leave the park and run back up hill to the centre of town. The road is open so you have to dodge shoppers and traffic to get to the finish. I was trying to chase down a lad who'd passed me on the end of the cycle and nearly had him when we both had to check our runs for pedestrians. We went the opposite side of a car coming from a side street and he seemed to pick the shortest route so the chance was gone.
    Happy to cross the line in one piece.
    Result 1:04:15 , 37th of 300

Pretty satisfied with the outcome . Its over a minute improvement on last year and I'm actually 32nd if you don't count the relay teams. Sometime in the future I'd love to get back cycling and take these events a bit more seriously.

I hung around the finish a good while and saw a lot of my friends finishing.
    My travelling companion improved a minute on last year but I still had him by two minutes. Mayo 1, Fermanagh 0:D.

Everybody seemed to be out last night celebrating, myself included. I had thought about going to a 1 mile charity race in Ballinrobe this morning but that plan never got off the ground.

Thursday 29/12

Just a bit fuzzy headed this morning so stuck with an everlasting painting and decorating job at home. Made it out in the evening for an easy 5k recovery.
    Total 5k @ 5:36/k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Fair play SS, great few days of racing. Training certainly paying off and the higher than normal Mileage doesn't seem to be affecting you at all. All bodes well for Rotterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

The bike bit doesn't count though :D What in the name of god is a Tri bar - no, don't answer that! As for the underwear comment!!!! #shocked :p

Well done P, considering you hand't been on the bike since July and you still got a PB and came 37th 32nd as Anne says, bodes well for next year.

Happy New Year!!

A tri bar is a magical device to make triathletes look cooler than cyclists. A bit like the way women wear high heels to male their calves look more shapely. Triathletes love their gear, aero helmets, disc wheels, skin suits etc. It's more of a fetish than a sport :D.

Rotterdam is a long, long way off yet. A lot of work to do between now and then.

Happy New Year all.

Friday 30/12

Lovely Day so I did a 10k loop on trail and road. Over Skelp which is kinda the shoulder of Croagh Patrick. Quite steep all the way, walked a bit and took a few photos.

Total 10.25K @ 5:43/k

Saturday 31/12

A good few locals have been doing a run every day challenge for december. A lot of us finished up with Westport parkrun today. I had planned to pace a couple for 22 minutes but only one showed up and he blew a gasket at 2k. I carried on anyway and ran 22:00.

Total 5k @ 4:26/k

Finished the year with about 1760 miles. New pbs at all distances. I'll be happy to continue that progress in 2017.

Sunday 1/1
    Streets of Westport Resolution Run, 5k

I had a few beers celebrating new year, also some port and some champagne and ate loads of junk. Luckily this didn't start until 2pm so I was coming round more or less. The course is 4.5 laps with a few tight turns and a stiff drag up the main street each time. My plan was to pace about 19 minutes (3:48/k) and see if I could finish fast to go a bit under. From lap 2 I was lapping people which involved a bit of weaving left and right. First 4 splits were 3:47, 3:50, 3:49, 3:47. Lap 5 I tried to pick it up a bit and according to Garmin I ran a 3:38 but I measured the course 5.1k so at the line I was19:02. The extra may be caused by not taking the race line but everybody seemed to have between 5.1 and 5.3. Very happy with the way i ran. Even pacing and at least close to the fastest i have run 5k.
    I haven't run a flat fast 5k course for at least 2 years so I might have a look around in the spring and see can I lower the pb.

Back for the cuppa afterwards and met up with everyone. I knew about half of the 177 participants. Most of my training buddies ran. The event was supposed to be chip timed but there was no timing mat at the start. The first set of results gave me 19:16. Everybody else was 14 seconds out as well and we pointed it out and the man from the timing company said he'd sort it. Later results went online and I had 18:49:mad:. Other times are off too but the discrepancy is no longer uniform. Just as bad.
    I don't know how they can call it chip timed if there isn't a mat at the start and finish. My problem isn't with the organisers, who did a great job, but with the chip timing company who take a cut of the entries and fail to deliver. They have form in this regard.

total 5.1k @ 3:46/k

Weekly total 40.9k (25.5miles)

Monday 2/1

Seeing as how it was a holiday I decided to get a few miles as neither myself or my regular partner can do much this wednesday. Headed to Newport for our now regular route, 2 other lads joined us as well. Ran 13 miles on a beautiful morning.

Total 21.2k @ 5:30/k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

That duathlon sounds like fun :D

If 2017 is half as good to you in terms of PBs as 2016 was, you'll be flying it. Nice one and all the best for 2017 :) Hopefully I'll get to run with you at some stage.

Neady83 wrote: »
    That duathlon sounds like fun :D

If 2017 is half as good to you in terms of PBs as 2016 was, you'll be flying it. Nice one and all the best for 2017 :) Hopefully I'll get to run with you at some stage.

Likewise, big year for you too.
    Look forward to running a mile or fifty with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

That's all we need, another geriatric on here, fighting advancing age, receding hair and expanding waist :)

I'll be keep a fast twitch eye on this escapade!

All the best

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

That's all we need, another geriatric on here, fighting advancing age, receding hair and expanding waist :)

All the best

TbL

To give the man credit he has a fantastic head of hair!!! Mind you I admire Homer Simpson's hairline.

All the best

TbL

Thanks, grandad.
    Might I remind you I was still in short trousers when you started running marathons. And as tang points out I have a luscious barnet. As for the waistline...guilty as charged your honour.

Tuesday 3/1

Should have been an LT session but since I had done Wednesdays run on Monday this freed up Wednesday for Tuesdays run. Sooner or later i might do the sessions in the order prescribed. Anyway headed out with the tuesday group for our regular 8k.

Total 8k @ 5:21/k

Wednesday 4/1

Dentist appointment this morning so headed off for the run at 11:00. The plan was for 9 miles with 4 at lactate threshold pace. I wasn't sure of the wisdom of this since I'd done a fair bit of fast running the last week but decided to start anyway and see how I felt. I went out the coast road as this is as close to a flat route as we have around here. After about 100 metres I met with a friend and somehow agreed to pace her for sub 20 at this weeks parkrun:). I may have to review that plan. Off again and did the first three k nice and steady before setting into the fast bit. I've never had a LT test done so, based on P+D formula, I estimate my LT pace at 4:05 to 4:10 per k. Thats 6:32-6:40 per mile. The first k it was hard to find the correct effort level, second better but I was working hard. From three on I got in to a nice rhythym and got through it ok. Glad to relax after 6.4 k again. Splits for the fast bit 4:09, 4:07, 4:07, 4:08, 4:04, 4:06 and 4:08 for the 0.4k. Jogged back at 5:00/k or so. Felt fine after, very happy with the outcome.

Total 14.4k @ 4:38/k

I'm supposed to have a 20 miler this sunday but we've taken the opportunity to book a night away so this will have to happen on Saturday if at all. Which means I might be compromised for my friday 11 miler. And I'll look for a substitute for the pacing at parkrun. Its not easy...

And finally....

Shoe news:
    I have new shoes. I got gait analysis done about five years ago and on that basis have been wearing Asics GT 2000 ever since. I normally have two pairs on the go and replace them after about 1000 k. I've had no injury problems but they wear out around the big toe before I've finished with them. Also, they're expensive even when you shop around online. For a change I bought myself a set of Mizuno Wave Inspire about a month ago. I've been wearing them on my shorter runs and on my recent races. Impression so far....they feel a lot like the asics.

Belly news:
    I've been weighing myself on a weekly basis for the last few months. just before christmas I dipped under 73 kg for the first time in a long time. I think I could profitably go to 72 or a bit lower. Unfortunately, after the excesses of the festive period I'm back over 74. To compound the problem the missus arrived home with a sackful of cut price mince pies from Aldi yesterday and I'm the only one in the house who eats them. Thanks, darling.

74kg, feck sake!!!! The last time I weighed that was going into Secondary school, you have a clear ten kilos on me. Great hair & a skinny Fooker and he's complaining about a few mince pies!!

tang1 wrote: »
    74kg, feck sake!!!! The last time I weighed that was going into Secondary school, you have a clear ten kilos on me. Great hair & a skinny Fooker and he's complaining about a few mince pies!!

Ah yea but he lives in Mayo...

TbL

The yanks say every pound is 2 seconds per mile. So if I lose 4 kilos I'll have a sub 3 and don't even have to train. I don't know where you keep that 10kg, tang. Lose that and you're sub 3 as well.

Ah yea but he lives in Mayo...

TbL

There's no whingers down here, just winners.
    And jealous Galway fookers. :D

snailsong wrote: »
    The yanks say every pound is 2 seconds per mile. So if I lose 4 kilos I'll have a sub 3 and don't even have to train. I don't know where you keep that 10kg, tang. Lose that and you're sub 3 as well.

Have you not seen his calves?! :D:D:D

BTW, Lemon, when are you coming to our parkrun? The Operation Transformation group start on the 14th, might suit ya.;D

Obviously haven't been looking as closely as you.

Leave my calves out of it, very sensitive about my calves!!!!

Christ if that's the case and I can get down to a racing weight, forget the sub 3 I'll be hitting 2.30 :)

TbL

BTW, Lemon, when are you coming to our parkrun? The Operation Transformation group start on the 14th, might suit ya.;D

Still licking my wounds P, haven't even summoned up the courage to run with Tang, one step at a time...

TbL

Christ if that's the case and I can get down to a racing weight, forget the sub 3 I'll be hitting 2.30 :)

TbL

P is talking about sub 3 hour marathons not sub 3 minute 100metres..........

No update for a while, I'll try to be brief.

Thursday 5/1
    Easy 5 miles with two friends.
    8.2k @ 5:24/k

Friday 6/1
    The plan had 12 miles but I settled for 11. Thought I was going ok but it felt hard towards the end and the pace dropped a bit.
    17.7k@ 5:10/k

Saturday 7/1
    Westport parkrun. The woman I had planned to pace for 20min was struck down with illness so I was off the hook. Another woman was trying for sub 22 so I aggreed to come along. It was touch and go all the way and I thought we might just miss out. Happily, we blasted the last downhill 600m and finished in 21:58. Good day.
    5k @ 4:25/k

Sunday 8/1
    Myself and the missus availed of the opportunity for a night away in Sligo. Not TBL you're dealing with here, this is as exotic as it gets. This put paid to the plan for 18 miles. Another sunday without a long run. Mrs ss had 7 miles planned for sunday morning so we both headed out towards Rosses Point. After a mile or two I accelerated away and did a few miles at MP or close to. Caught up with her on the way back and jogged the last bit.
    Dissapointingly, all the data disappeared when I tried to upload.
    14k @ 5:30/k
    Weekly total 88.5k (55 miles)
    Not as much as I'd hoped but not a disaster either and a few speedy miles in there too.

Monday 9/1
    Could have taken a rest day but decided to keep the run streak going another while. Out in the cold and dark for an easy 5k. Day 42 of the streak.
    In the evening I returned to pilates for the first time in two years or so. Didn't find the class too hard. Afterwards I had half an hour of hanging around before collecting my daughter from swimming. Next week I'll use this to run a few k so I wont need to go in the morning.
    5k @ 5:25/k

Tuesday 10/1
    Felt weary and a bit sore in the evening, maybe the result of the pilates class. Met the group and went for a nice easy 5 miles. For some reason I enjoyed this even more than usual, everyone seemed to be in great form.
    8k @ 5:31/k

Wednesday 11/1
    Met up with my Wednesday friend in Newport. We're considering making Wednesday a long run day and today's plan was for 17 miles. The wind was pretty serious, met Eireann issued a warning. It was cold enough too, especially in the squally showers. I wore a fairly heavy windproof jacket with a hood and I wasn't sorry. Our plan was to do a loop of the mountain track and return by the greenway. When we saw the conditions we decided to reverse the loop so as to have a tailwind on the high road. The first 7 miles were hard work into the teeth of the wind, this was followed by a steep climb where we even walked a little bit. After that we had the promised tailwind all the way back. The pace improved a lot but it was very cold and I was glad of the hood. The total came in half a mile short but fairly wrecked and happy with the effort.
    26.4k @ 5:33/k.

Full head of silver locks and ya still needed a hood?? Ah come on!! Fair play on today's run, it was wild in Co Meath can only imagine what your part of the world was like.

I'm starting to feel like the legendary statts with all this talk of my hair.

He's just jealous....you'll get used to it :D

Good idea to get your long run in with the multi colored weather warnings :eek:.

He's just jealous....you'll get used to it :D

Good idea to get your long run in with the multi colored weather warnings :eek:.

He's talking about wearing tights over on his log, only a matter of time before he had a wig to go with them :O.

Weather warning my ar$e , I didn't see any yellow weather.

He's talking about wearing tights over on his log, only a matter of time before he had a wig to go with them :O.

Weather warning my ar$e , I didn't see any yellow weather.

I have the stilettos already!!!

Thursday 12/1

It was really cold and sleety and when I packed my running gear in the morning I forgot the jacket and gloves. Now, I'm not stupid so I took opportunity to call to the house during the day. Grabbed the gloves and a light jacket, how cold could it be?
    About 7pm and I'm heading up a steep hill with my friend. The sleet is horizontal and I'm already soaked through my inadequate jacket. I've lost all feeling in my hands, I left the gloves behind in the car..When the situation becomes life threatening we make an emergency detour back to the car. It took about 20 minutes to get the blood flow back to my hands.
    5.1k @ 5:43/k

Friday 13/1
    Its few degrees warmer, calm and dry. I have three layers, a heavy jacket, gloves, hat and a buff:). Not cold now. I had planned 11 miles but late from work again so just had time for 8 with a good buddy.
    Total 12.7k @ 5:28/k

Saturday 14/1
    I was on RD duty at parkrun in the morning, not straightforward with lots of OT newbies. Didn't get out for a run until 5, did a 7 miler close to home.
    Total 11.5k @ 5:23/k

Sunday 15/1
    This is supposed to be a stepback week and having done 16.5 miles on Wednesday I decided 14 would be adequate today. Set off with 3 other lads and did a very pleasant 11 mile loop. lots to talk about, mild weather, and it flew by. Did three more by myself to get to 14.
    Total 22.5k @ 5:19/k

Weekly Total 91.4k (57 miles)
    Happy enough with the total. I notice I was very one paced this week. There was no speed work, a few good hills though. I should be doing recovery a bit slower, there's always a compromise on pace when you run with others.

Next week is complicated. Theres about 70 miles to do overall. The long run should be 21 miles, my training partner is keen to go long on Wednesday but maybe not that long. I should be doing an LT session on Tuesday and it's not a good idea to do both. One option would be to do regular 5 miles on Tuesday, maybe 14 on Wednesday with some LT included and long on Sunday. Suggestions welcome.
    Also, Tuesday will be the 50th day of my running streak, not too pushed about keeping it going after that, we'll see.

Monday 16/1
    An hour of pilates followed by 5k recovery.
    Total 5.3k @ 5:45/k

Tuesday 17/1
    The plan had 10 miles with 5 @ LT pace. I was a bit wrecked after work so decided to leave the speed work for tomorrow and just do the regular 5 miles. It was a lovely evening and 9 people showed up for our informal little running group. A new record! Good craic as usual.
    Total 8k @ 5:11/k

Wednesday 18/1
    I had been hoping to do my long run on Wednesday but it would probably be a bit much if I wanted to do the LT session as well. Off to Newport again and met up with two women, both very strong trail and ultra runners. We headed out the Achill spur, a track on the mountain side running more or less parallel to the Great Western Greenway. Its hilly and rough underfoot with fantastic views and near total isolation, lovely to run on. After 8 miles we came down on to the greenway for the return and this is where I headed on for my 5 miles at LT pace. The target was 4:05-4:10/k and it felt reasonably ok to hold this pace, though I might have been slightly assisted by a breeze. Splits 4:02, 4:09, 4:04, 4:12, 4:04, 4:09, 4:06, 4:07. Variations accounted for by the gradient. Jogged back to meet my friends and finished out with about 14 miles. Happy with the session.
    Total 23.3k @ 5:09/k

Thursday 19/1
    Met two friends and ran 8k. I had hoped to do this really slowly but it was difficult to slow the others.
    Total 8.4k @ 5:33/k

Friday 20/1
    Run 1, Inishturk.
    I was visiting Inish Turk with work and had an hour to kill. Theres a 5k loop walk so I set off to run it. This is probably the most scenic 5k route I have ever done. I took lots of pictures ,some were on Strava, but they dont really do it justice. The rugged beauty, the isolation, the power of the ocean are staggering. Would recommend to anyone who gets the chance.
    5k @ 5:56/k

Run 2, 7 miles.
    Back to reality and once again did as much as I could fit in before collecting the young lad from swimming. Found it tough, could hardly manage recovery pace by times. not surprised after the hard session on wednesday and the milage.
    Total 11.1k @ 5:39/k

Saturday 21/1
    Saturday night was scheduled for the birthday party of one of my running buddies, hence there was no point planning a long run for Sunday morning :), it had to be today. Set off in the afternoon with a friend. He was supposed to do 11 miles but in the last mile he came to a standstill. Being a good friend I carried on and left him on the trail for the vultures and the mountain lions. OK, he walked. I might have settled for 18-20 miles but I got stubborn and ran far enough away from the car that the only option was to complete the 21 in the plan. The energy levels were fairly good but the old bod is starting to complain. There's aches, strains, creaks and occasional rattles. My strategy is to ignore them all and hope they'll go away, its worked well up to now. 21 miles done and off to the party. i was very well behaved, just had a few drinks and home in bed by 4:). There were very few long runs attempted today.
    Total 33.8k @ 5:26/k

Sunday 22/1
    Got up about noon and began the rehabilitation. Late afternoon I went to Castlebar hoping that a change of scenery might take my mind off the slog.
    Worked a treat. Ran on the Castlebar greenway to the museum in Turlough and back. The head cleared after a mile or two and I quite enjoyed the run. In theory there should have been a few strides but today was not the day for strides. I was delighted to see the amount of people out walking, running and cycling on the greenway. Build it and they will come.
    The legs felt much better today, I knew ignoring the niggles was the way to go:).
    Today was the 55th and final day of my running streak. I'm taking a rest day tomorrow.
    Total 16.1k @ 5:23/k

Weekly total 111 km (69 miles)
    Highest milage week ever. I thought I'd come up a few miles short and only after my run today did I realise I'd actually done the prescribed weekly miles. Very happy. As usual I didn't follow the plan very closely but somehow got the volume, the speed work and the long run. Not bad.