Female student beaten up in Maynooth(NO SPECULATION)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

Well this thread has gone to sh1te.

No supervision. What can you expect.

mattser wrote: »
    No supervision. What can you expect.

Ah we don't need supervision just a bit of cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

Ah we don't need supervision just a bit of cop on.

In scant supply around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Most people who have some degree of empathy realise that she's only a child and someones baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

Ffs,legally an adult yes,but still a very young person.To her parents a child and in my eyes a child too only starting off on her adult life. Yes,lets change the thread to 'is she a woman or a child'? She's a teenager actually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Who cares she is? Child, teenager, woman or man on the moon. She's been seriously assaulted and is seriously injured while nobody has been caught in relation to it.

It is very off putting and disrespectful that a thread like this is not closely moderated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

The moderators are volunteers in fairness.

It's far more disrespectful of the actual poster to use a brutal assault to push an agenda (or, as they claim, "fight" an agenda - even though said agenda is not even apparent on this thread).

Flimpson wrote: »
    The moderators are volunteers in fairness.

It's far more disrespectful of the actual poster to use a brutal assault to push an agenda (or, as they claim, "fight" an agenda - even though said agenda is not even apparent on this thread).

What you said: I wasn't expressing my self very well.

There are some odd balls on boards someone sent my a peculiar video by private message them it was removed.

Why would you bother your fncking hole stating that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

mattser wrote: »
    So much for the attempted Moderationon this thread. It has rapidly descended into people liking their own voices.
    mariaalice wrote: »
    It is very offputting and disrespectful that a thread like this is not closely moderated.

a) Don't comment on moderation on-thread please. PM us.

b) We're not 24/7 robots, we have lives. We can't actively moderate everything.

c) Did either of you report any of these posts? Hint - it's no. Great help you are.

Mod note: No more talk about men vs women here, it's been done to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

FortySeven wrote: »
    I agree on feminism. It is however a perfect platform to highlight the double standards surrounding violent assaults in Ireland.

If this was just another violent assault we would not be discussing it. Clearly the gender of the victim has relevance?
    Brian Murphy kicked to death outside Annabels nightclub. Widely covered in the media, both the assault and the trial. The shooting of Shane Goeghan widely reported and talked about. Thats just off the top of my head. There was also a lad in fairview attacked and left with life altering injuries and a fund was set up to help the family. I know because I contributed to the fund.

These are not everyday bread and butter occurrences and it's why they make the news.

The woman in this story was found badly beaten on the roadside has suffered extensive injuries and is in a serious condition (last I heard on the news) in hospital. No one knows who did it or why. That is absolutely something news worthy, regardless of gender and is bound to be a source of discussion.

So give over with your inequality agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

a) Don't comment on moderation on-thread please. PM us.

b) We're not 24/7 robots, we have lives. We can't actively moderate everything.

c) Did either of you report any of these posts? Hint - it's no. Great help you are.

Mod note: No more talk about men vs women here, it's been done to death.

Oops sorry didn't see this :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

No worries :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭QuantumP

I'm not sure if this has already been posted but someone has set up a GoFundMe page to support her recovery:

https://www.gofundme.com/30ccuyo

HS3 wrote: »
    Brian Murphy kicked to death outside Annabels nightclub. Widely covered in the media, both the assault and the trial. The shooting of Shane Goeghan widely reported and talked about. Thats just off the top of my head.

If we're gonna be fair the Brian Murphy and Shane Geoghegan cases were in the media for ages for a few reasons. Firstly, they were murders and secondly they
    had "sensational" angles with the upper class so called Boot Boys in the Bryan Murphy case and the innocent Rugby player caught in a gangland case of mistaken identity.

I agree it's a lot more shocking that it's a girl it happened to. We're not conditioned to hear about that. Not saying "boys will be boys" is an excuse but violent assaults and violence in general are moreso associated with men. That, IMO, is why this case is quite prevalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Just on Ireland being safer than 20/30 years ago, yes the stats do say that but;

Lots of crimes aren't reported and
    When the last crime stats came out, there was a bit of a scandal about the recording of crimes by Gardai. Forgotten about after a couple of days of course!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

K-9 wrote: »
    Just on Ireland being safer than 20/30 years ago, yes the stats do say that but;

Lots of crimes aren't reported and
    When the last crime stats came out, there was a bit of a scandal about the recording of crimes by Gardai. Forgotten about after a couple of days of course!

Out of interest, does the Irish judiciary's aversion to jailing violent scrotes extend back very far historically or is it a more recent thing? When did the epidemic of suspended sentences for 18 year olds with already over 9,000 previous convictions begin, roughly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Out of interest, does the Irish judiciary's aversion to jailing violent scrotes extend back very far historically or is it a more recent thing? When did the epidemic of suspended sentences for 18 year olds with already over 9,000 previous convictions begin, roughly?

Its has been there since the 70,s at least. & reading Lugs branigan book recently in the 60,s to.

Also notice in that book the same areas mentioned then are the same areas now where a lot of the trouble occurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Good question, I wonder what imprisonment rates are like compared to say the 50's. I suppose you could even go back to British times but slightly different belief systems then at play then!

I'm no expert in it, wouldn't have a clue really. I do wonder how much the lenient sentences are in some way down to pressure in prison occupancy rates.

Must be a very complicated thing though, the re-offender rate is about 50%, could be a comment on prisons not being great at rehabilitation and training centres for criminals.

But then if sentencing is light, of course people will deem the risk worth it. Imagine burglary, fair chance people might not bother reporting some, Guards have limited resources to spend on minor crimes, get to court and you see a charge sheet with 30 or 40 crimes not taken seriously in my view, decent odds those!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Del.Monte wrote: »
    People in general are being attacked far more in recent years - that isn't a golden age fallacy. This sort of attack needs to cracked down on hard whatever it takes and the charge when brought to court should be attempted murder.

I have to disagree with you on that I think overall violent crime in Ireland is actually dropping, the fact this attack is such a big story speaks for that. At one time it would of just gotten a few lines in a paper then forgotten about...

Its a proven fact, when violent crime starts dropping the media start sensationalizing even more.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,020 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Some of the headlines in the red tops are a BS.

"maynooth in Lockdown"

"People in fear as Brute at large"

What a loda crap.

Students didn't seem to bothered last night at around 23:00 falling up and down the Moyglare road and main street.
    In fairness people are walking on their own after dark less and more people are getting taxis home rather then walking alone .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

tomofson wrote: »
    I have to disagree with you on that I think overall violent crime in Ireland is actually dropping, the fact this attack is such a big story speaks for that. At one time it would of just gotten a few lines in a paper then forgotten about...

Its a proven fact, when violent crime starts dropping the media start sensationalizing even more.
    What? I would assume anyone being violently assaulted is "sensational".
    Oh there goes Jack with his fractured skull, sure that's nothing, they'd put anything into the papers these days. :rolleyes:

I hope whoever attacked that girl are caught and never see the light of day again

Oh there goes Jack with his fractured skull, sure that's nothing, they'd put anything into the papers these days. :rolleyes:

I hope whoever attacked that girl are caught and never see the light of day again

Unless they're tried with attempted murder, that's not possible. I'd be suprised to see a double digit sentence to be honest, possibly with a suspended year or two so the young man (presumably) can have a chance to get his life back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Not going to happen.

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/argus/news/legislation-has-to-be-changed-30922489.html

Omackeral wrote: »
    Unless they're tried with attempted murder, that's not possible. I'd be suprised to see a double digit sentence to be honest, possibly with a suspended year or two so the young man (presumably) can have a chance to get his life back on track.

He's cleaned up his life your honour, he's off the drugs and in a fas scheme your honour. The 75 previous convictions were out of charachter your honour.
    Judge: grand stuff, 4 years with 2 suspended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

He's cleaned up his life your honour, he's off the drugs and in a fas scheme your honour. The 75 previous convictions were out of charachter your honour.
    Judge: grand stuff, 4 years with 2 suspended.

I am sorry to even think this way but if somebody did that to my daughter the court outcome would be the least of their worries.

Dont be sorry. I would also think a jury of your peers would side with you.

Is this girl ok in the end? Is the scum caught?