Dublin Marathon 2016 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

faithmc wrote: »
    Pomplamousse did I read you have the Garmin Forerunner 10?

My legs are almost better. Was minutely worried about the lower end of my hips yesterday...thought I'd never bean ambiturner again!!! But this morning I reckon i'm almost there. I swear by the omega oils with glucosamine and Chindriton.

Haha, I hope you can now turn left! :D
    It's the Forerunner 15 I have. Piece of junk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Oh, and last, for those of you tempted by the Clontarf Half - please don't disregard the advice from diego and others above. I have nothing against Clontarf, in fact I love that race (done it twice before), I had signed up in 2015 and was going to translate all these marathon training miles in a fab new HM PB, but Dubgal advised against it and I am glad I didn't do it.

Recovery from Sunday will take longer than you think. You have ran longer (distance and time wise) than ever before and "the tank" has been well and truly emptied. You probably also just need a mental break. "A day off for every mile raced" is not just some mantra that someone has come up with because it sounds good. Every year, former novices go back too soon and end up injuring themselves in the months after the marathon.

You're all graduates now so it's your call - a nice long easy run along the seafront is obviously splendid - so if you want to go for it, do so with restraint, but don't do yourself damage by returning to racing too soon. The marathon training will stand to you and I still guarantee that your PBs over the shorter distances will come down between now and Jan/Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Safrongirl

I actually had entered for Clontarf as it was my first half last year and it was a total disaster so sort of had it in my head to do it and do it better - classic mistake went out too fast in the first half and totally died the second - if I had know then what I know now and all that - anyway I messaged them this morning to give my place to someone else who really wants to do it - honestly when I woke up this morning I think it all hit me - maybe I have finally come down from my high and realise just how tired I am,
    I am still a bit sore so will take maybe 2 weeks of completely - I think I mentally and physically need a good rest now.
    Have the builders in all week and my extension is almost finished , top that with the kids of on mid term and working all nights this week I am done in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭budhistmonk

Legs have been very very tired since Sunday. Quads are starting to feel a bit normal but my right calf is still quite sore. Probably did a bit of tissue damage on it but nothing a week or two off running won't sort.

What went well with your training plan?
    I ended up following HHN2 but started off on boards plan and got injured (peroneal tendon strain) in week 2 that had me out for 2.5 weeks. For the benefit of future novices I'm just a couple of months shy of being 50 (male) and have been running about 4 times a week (3x~4 miles and weekend 8-10 miler) for last 6 years. I think the step up to 5 days a week was too much for me and triggered the injury so HHN2 worked out perfectly for me. It was really lucky, i feel, the injury happened so early as I had a chance to adjust.

What would you do differently with your training?
    I tried to force a 17 mile LSR in to fit real life and I don't think I had the attitude right regarding prep. Also for my 20 miler I think I got nutrition and hydration wrong. Maybe I was a bit complacent. You really need to respect these distances. I think thought I learned from both these mistakes. Regarding the HM I really struggled with the increased pace from the pace in the plan. Might have gotten nutrition wrong too. dying to try a HM in the new year to see how i get on.

What went well about the race?
    The first 20m were perfect. Enjoyed it so much. Kept a close enough eye on pace to ensure I was not going too fast. Gels and water sat well. The support received out of the course was just unbelievable so was thrilled to be able to enjoy all of it - well most if it. I came away wanting to do another one so this is a very positive sign I think.

What would you do differently if you could start the race again?
    I definitely missed the signs of dehydration (well salts/sodium loss) when I started to get the first signs of cramps at 17 miles. When I got some electrolytes into me at 22 miles I started to feel much better after about 10 mins. My one annoyance is that I had a couple of sachets of electrolytes with me. :( I'd be very wary of the signs of this now so lesson most definitely learned I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

Haha, I hope you can now turn left! :D
    It's the Forerunner 15 I have. Piece of junk!

I'm positively Kevin Bacon in Footloose this morning hahahaha!!!!!!!!

I have the FR10 and I'm thinking yours might be the same as mine. What I didn't know is that mine isn't capable of storing the info for anything over a half marathon. It tracks it on the run but once you hit save it can't process it so deletes it. Happened on both my 15 milers (even though I had deleted my history log to create as much space as I could) but had recorded each training HM I did prior to that.
    I was devastated when it happened after my 1st 15 miler as I had run PB's for 5miles and 10km plus furthest distance ever and there wasn't a dickiebird of it recorded anywhere. That's when my friend who has the same watch told me about the storage issues with them. I ordered a brand new Garmin 230 the week before the marathon. Paid €180 all in and to have it delivered priority the next working day which would've been last Monday. It arrived to parcel motel in Waterford at 8am the day of the marathon :mad::mad::mad::mad: I had borrowed my friends as I was so used to running with a watch that I had to have one. It worked a dream for me on the marathon but I fecked up saving it and lost everything so I feel your pain:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 doozerydoo

I apologise in advance, this is quite long and boring!!

On Friday I went to the expo after work and picked up my number, had a bit of a look around, nothing much to see really.
    I had an interview on Saturday so that was a nice distraction for a few hours, it took my mind off worrying about the next day. I had been a bit manic all week, my head was all over the place with nerves and thinking mad stuff, so many doubts and fears etc..
    I had an Epsom bath that night which was really nice, it calmed me down and I managed to get a decent nights sleep.
    Woke up at stupid o'clock but that's normal for me so I just lay there and read for a bit and tried not to think too much about what I was about to embark upon.
    Got up and had the usual breakfast of porridge, banana and seeds, paced the house for what felt like five hours then decided to head in to town.
    Hopped on my bike and made my way to Stephens green, parked the bike and walked to the bag drop then made my way to the start line.
    I started a little bit in front of the 3:50 pacers.
    I tried to be conscious of my pace for the first few miles as I knew that going out too fast would catch up with me later on. I panicked a little bit a few times when my watch was saying I was going at a much faster pace than I felt like I was going but by the time we hit the Phoenix park I started to find my stride and found a pace I was comfortable with. I stuck with this pace through the park as I knew it was a long and boring drag up Chesterfield avenue.
    Coming up to the Castleknock gate the crowds got louder and the support all the way through the village was unreal. Passed the 10k mark at 53m.
    Passed Eiffel Tower guy near mount Sackville, headed back in to the park and out again on through Chapleizod. I knew the hill at St Laurence's road was on the way so braced myself for that, slowed it down a bit and made it up gathered myself before the next little uphill stretch coming in to Inchicore.
    The crowds got louder coming up to Kilmainham gaol and on up to south circular road. The uileann pipers were a nice touch at this point.
    On through Rialto and in to Dolphins barn. Again, the crowds here were amazing, and it was a nice push towards the midway point. I saw my girlfriend and a few friends here, it was nice to see some familiar faces as I hadn't seen anyone I knew before this point.
    But only a couple of minutes later I started to feel like the energy was literally being zapped out of me. I got over the half way point at 1h50m.
    I knew that the Crumlin road was a long, slow, wide incline. I've ran it on a number of occasions, my hockey club is on this road so I'm very familiar with it, I thought it would've been much easier but it took a lot out of me. I saw a friend at the half way house and carried on up towards Walkinstown roundabout. I started to get a stitch just as I approached the roundabout but told myself to run through it.
    This stretch down to KCR was horrible for me, I felt like I was giving my all but getting nowhere and the stitch was just getting worse and the voices in my head weren't helping. The negatives were starting to outweigh the positives and eventually they won and I stopped to a walking pace. I walked for a minute or so and the pain in my side subsided somewhat and I started to run again. Not long after, I suddenly heard someone screaming my name and words of encouragement and I looked over to see a friend of mine on the path jumping up and down with such enthusiasm. Her enthusiasm and energy really rubbed off on me and it gave me the kick I needed at that point to push me on for the next few miles at least.
    Turning in to Terenure was a welcome bit of flat running, I was feeling a bit better until just before Orwell park where the dreaded stitch returned again. I'm actually holding my side in the video going over the 19 mile mark.
    For the next couple of miles I battle the stitch and the negativity going on in my head. It was around this point last year that my calves seized up on me so that was playing on my mind and as soon as I passed the 20 mile mark I felt I was capable of succeeding, my body wasn't going to let me down this time so that gave me a little confidence boost.
    I took a Jaffa cake from a lady coming down that hill towards Clonskeagh rd as I felt hungry, this wasn't the best idea as the chocolate/jelly/base combined just made my mouth so dry and tacky and the next water station felt like it was a million miles away.
    I passed my girlfriend and some more friends just at the corner turning in to Clonskeagh road and that was a nice boost and a mile or so up the road I saw my parents and also a sign for a water station!
    I walked through the water station, then worked my way up heartbreak hill which I got up no bother and it was from this point on that my positivity beat my negativity and I was determined to get to the finish line. It was only three miles away, no length!
    So with the look of sheer determination in my eye I kept my head held high, looked straight ahead and didn't look down or stop until I crossed that finish line. I saw a few familiar faces on the home stretch but didn't pay any heed to them, I just powered on to the end.
    I crossed the finish line in 3h 51m 45s and it took a while for that to register with me. I had knocked over 40 minutes off my previous DCM time.
    All the way round I wasn't focused on my finishing time just my pace so to see that time really was a surprise to me considering I had walked for a bit and felt like I was going backwards at some points as I was going so slow.
    I went through, got my medal, t-shirt and goody bag then got chatting to a friend on the other side of the fence who was waiting for her dad to finish.
    I ended up going in and getting a quick rub down on my legs as there wasn't much of a queue. It felt nice to sit down.
    I stretched for a bit then changed my t-shirt and went to meet my other half, friends and parents. There was a lot of Guinness drank that evening!
    I learned a lot on Sunday, all of which I will take on board and work on for my next attempt at that distance. I think maybe fuelling on the day could have been better, I took on gels and water but maybe the timing could've been better.
    I think I would probably benefit from going out with pacers. I also think that training with others or even just doing a few runs with others would benefit me which is why I'm looking in to joining a running club.
    Sorting the demons in my head out is a definite must but I'm working on that!
    Sorry, this report is quite long and boring but it's good to write it all down.
    As I said before, I'm not quite a novice, I ran DCM last year.
    This time last year I was in a very different place mentally than I am today. I was probably in the best physical shape I've ever been in but mentally I was in very bad shape.
    I had had a breakdown a few weeks before the marathon, it wasn't anything to do with the marathon at all. It was a long time coming and I had spent about the six months previous doing everything else but dealing with the depression and anxiety and stress that was staring me in the face. I took on too much in an attempt to either ignore it or thinking it would remedy it.
    I didn't follow a proper plan for the marathon, I was doing some form of physical activity at least six days a week and always did a long run every Saturday but those long runs weren't consistent. I might do ten miles one week then 18 the next.
    Even after the breakdown and the weeks I was forced to take off work I think I was still in denial and told myself I was fine and made it to the start line. I made it over the finish line too but when I finished I felt nothing. Absolutely nothing, even when people were congratulating me I felt like a fraud and that I didn't deserve the praise these people were giving me. If someone had told me then that I would be running it again this year I would've laughed in their face as I wouldn't have thought I would even be here to do it.
    A year on and I'm now in a better place, I'm not better but I'm managing my depression and anxiety and running is what helps me the most.
    When I finished this year, I got the high that I was chasing after and I'm still on that high and it feels amazing!
    This group has also helped me and I will be forever grateful to have found it and joined it. I haven't posted a whole lot on here throughout the course of the training but all the advice and encouragement from everyone has been fantastic.
    Thanks again to nop, fire dance and everybody else who has contributed over the last few months.
    Well done again to everyone on completing your first marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

Back to work today. I'm wearing my run every day t-shirt, my marathon beanie, and I've my finisher t-shirt packed to use as a jumper later since it's long-sleeved. My coworkers are going to loath me :D

Jesus lads, fair play to ya'll going back to work. I'm shattered at the thoughts of ye being back to work already. I work 24hr shifts twice a week generally on a Wednesday and Saturday and just knew I wouldn't be able so took this week off too.

That's a lovely report Doozerydoo...Not long or boring. Honest and brave to bear your soul like that. I'm thrilled for you. Depression is a tough motherf**ker to fight thru and you should be so very, very proud of yourself. I'm glad you're working on putting those demons to sleep. One day at a time eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

How are all the marathon legs doing today?

Back in work today , legs are good IB is still slightly tender but apart from that I feel I am ready to run again but will take the expert advice and leave it for now, Maybe Saturday for a few very easy miles .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The Muppet wrote: »
    Back in work today , legs are good IB is still slightly tender but apart from that I feel I am ready to run again but will take the expert advice and leave it for now, Maybe Saturday for a few very easy miles .

That's my plan too. All going well I'll be chomping at the bit for 3-5 gentle miles come Saturday, but I'm not counting my chickens yet. Very close to 1000 miles for the year, need to hit them targets. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Pomplamousse

faithmc wrote: »
    I'm positively Kevin Bacon in Footloose this morning hahahaha!!!!!!!!

I have the FR10 and I'm thinking yours might be the same as mine. What I didn't know is that mine isn't capable of storing the info for anything over a half marathon. It tracks it on the run but once you hit save it can't process it so deletes it. Happened on both my 15 milers (even though I had deleted my history log to create as much space as I could) but had recorded each training HM I did prior to that.
    I was devastated when it happened after my 1st 15 miler as I had run PB's for 5miles and 10km plus furthest distance ever and there wasn't a dickiebird of it recorded anywhere. That's when my friend who has the same watch told me about the storage issues with them. I ordered a brand new Garmin 230 the week before the marathon. Paid €180 all in and to have it delivered priority the next working day which would've been last Monday. It arrived to parcel motel in Waterford at 8am the day of the marathon :mad::mad::mad::mad: I had borrowed my friends as I was so used to running with a watch that I had to have one. It worked a dream for me on the marathon but I fecked up saving it and lost everything so I feel your pain:(:(

That's crazy about the FR10! I managed to save all my long training runs fine though, up to 20 miles, so it doesn't seem to be the case for the FR15.
    Someone in work is going to try one more thing later and if that doesn't work I'll give up for good.
    Sorry to hear you lost your marathon data too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

Here is my short report of my race,
    Drove up from cork on the Saturday morning to make it to the expo for lunch time. Collected my Number and had a walk around the expo. Headed off to stay with friends in DL.

Got up at 6.45 and had my usual porridge and banana. And was kindly dropped off at the start by our hosts for around 7.45, got sorted with bag drop and toilet. And headed to the Green starting area, I was probably a bit early.

Once the race started I ran with the 3.40 pacers as per my plan and was cruising along with them was feeling great and was enjoying the crowds around the course. I took a salt tab at about 15 miles as I have had issue before and this seems to work for me. And was taking gels every 40mins approx. and sipping water at water stations. Pushed on through to mile 20-21 where my wife was and she gave me another gel and I told her I was fine but starting to struggle. It was the hill at Roebuck road that really hit me and started getting cramps under my rib cage which forced me to have to walk until it went away and started running and then the 3.50 pacers passed me and this is how it continued for the remaining miles which suited me. When the 4.00 pacers caught me at the start of the Merrion road was push I needed and stayed with them until the finish. Finish time of 4.00.54.

So glad to have finished and was impressed with the whole set up they have and the Crowds were amazing and pushed me along when I had to walk. Bring on 2017 and my aim to get my sub 3.40.

Car trip home on Sunday afternoon was tough, but at least I did not have to drive. Body is feeling fine except for a sore quads and one calf. Back to work on Tuesday and actually looking forward to be ok to go for a short run soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Thanks everyone for sharing race reports - some inspirational stuff and I keep getting a tear in my eye!

Recovery is going well, haven't run yet but ability to stretch and foam roll without excessive cursing has returned and I went for a lovely bracing walk on Kiliney Beach yesterday. Plan to head out for 20 min super easy later.

There has been some talk of Jingle Bells (Sat 3 Dec) which I also want to target. Just wondering what kind of prep will best serve us all? If you take the 1 mile raced = 1 day recovery that brings us to the weekend before Jingle Bells. Is there anything to be gained from doing a session (fartlek; intervals; hills; tempo etc) early the week of the race or would I be better served by sticking with easy runs but including some strides at the end of Wednesday or Thursday's run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭aceygray

My legs feel so much better today! I can actually walk down the stairs frontways instead of sideways :) The physio did a great job on me yesterday. She was surprised by how lose my hamstrings and calves were, but my quads were fairly tight.

I was looking at the results on the tdl website - as well as your split times, it gives you your overall position at each timing mat. From the 30km mark to the finish I passed 1239 people. It just shows how many had to slow down & walk towards the end.

To the people mentioning the jingle bells run - I'm definitely up for it. It would be great to meet up again, and it's a nice distance. Maybe a few of us could run it together if you're not going for pbs?

I haven't been back running yet, but I have packed my runners & marathon finishers top to take on honeymoon. I always enjoy running in a new place. I am kind of regretting my choice of shoes for tomorrow though. Pointy toed high stilettos, what was I thinking? I'll change into my slippers as soon as the photos are done!

Anyway, I probably won't get much of a chance to check this thread over the next week or so, so I'd like to say again a massive thank you to Nop98, firedance and everyone who posted advice and encouragement. And especially to my fellow novices. It's been so inspiring reading your posts over the past months, seeing your determination, dedication and strength. I don't think I would have made it to the start line if not for this thread. It's completely changed how I train & think about running. I have some new goals for the next few months, and I feel very confident about achieving them, in a great part due to this thread. I hope everyone else feels the same.

BTW, I just saw on the marathon facebook page that registration is open for DCM next year. See you all in McGrattans on 29th October 2017?!

aceygray wrote: »
    My legs feel so much better today! I can actually walk down the stairs frontways instead of sideways :) The physio did a great job on me yesterday. She was surprised by how lose my hamstrings and calves were, but my quads were fairly tight.

I was looking at the results on the tdl website - as well as your split times, it gives you your overall position at each timing mat. From the 30km mark to the finish I passed 1239 people. It just shows how many had to slow down & walk towards the end.

To the people mentioning the jingle bells run - I'm definitely up for it. It would be great to meet up again, and it's a nice distance. Maybe a few of us could run it together if you're not going for pbs?

I haven't been back running yet, but I have packed my runners & marathon finishers top to take on honeymoon. I always enjoy running in a new place. I am kind of regretting my choice of shoes for tomorrow though. Pointy toed high stilettos, what was I thinking? I'll change into my slippers as soon as the photos are done!

Anyway, I probably won't get much of a chance to check this thread over the next week or so, so I'd like to say again a massive thank you to Nop98, firedance and everyone who posted advice and encouragement. And especially to my fellow novices. It's been so inspiring reading your posts over the past months, seeing your determination, dedication and strength. I don't think I would have made it to the start line if not for this thread. It's completely changed how I train & think about running. I have some new goals for the next few months, and I feel very confident about achieving them, in a great part due to this thread. I hope everyone else feels the same.

BTW, I just saw on the marathon facebook page that registration is open for DCM next year. See you all in McGrattans on 29th October 2017?!

Have an amazing time tomorrow and enjoy your honeymoon :D

Aceygray...wishing you all the best tomorrow and hope you have an amazingly relaxed honeymoon. I dread the thoughts of what my physio would have to do right now hahaha. I'm feeling good but know he'd find all the knots etc.

Can I ask what's the TDL website?

tipping
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101513626#post101513626
    What a super time on your first marathon, tipping! Well impressed with your ability to grind it out in the past few miles, that dead-march feeling is awful and it's great to see you managed to (a) switch focus from your initial target and (b) get home with a limited amount of time lost. Thank you also for the honest assessment in what could have gone better, valuable lessons there.

SafronGirl
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101513917#post101513917
    I am so glad you got a great debut, despite almost everything conspiring against you in the build-up of this marathon! What an excellent time, I think you were about 15 minutes faster than planned? Well done again! And of course you're allowed to wear your finisher-shirt for several weeks afterwards (non-stop) :)

bucketybuck
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101514421#post101514421
    What an awesome report, I hope you can shrug off your disapointment (272 vs 270 minutes, who cares :)) and feel hugely proud of your achievement. It is so hard to start at such a slow pace but it is the only way to get these things done. But you were on target for almost all of it and that's just very impressive. I hope you get to do one again.

GOOSEPAUL
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101515952#post101515952
    What a determination to get to the starting-line and then to the finish-line! You may not have hit A&B goals but top-marks for race-management. Listening to your body, stopping to stretch and get yourself going again are much harder than they sound, especially at the latter stages of a marathon.

I am glad to see you'll be back - but get yourself a good set of runners in a reputable shop, okay :)

budhistmonk
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101516683#post101516683
    Absolutely loved your report. That's how the experience of the first marathon should be - feel like a elite runner for the day with all the support and people cheering for you. It does sound like maybe your pace was slightly quick, but I am glad to read you managed to adjust your targets as the day went on.

I feel quite bad reading you cramped up after turning around to see me in Clonskeagh. I had initially missed you but recognized the t-shirt (which was a lovely tribute to your friend, b.t.w.) so did notice you coming through. Well done for pulling through from there.

kin9pin
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101517586#post101517586
    Great report and a well managed race. It takes courage to realize that despite a great first half, it won't last and adjust your goals before you hit the wall, and you seem to have done that perfectly. Nice talking to you afterwards. I think I have you to thank for the generous presents - much appreciated! Good luck in London 2017!

And +1 to this comment: "It's been said many times in this thread, but the time really doesn't matter on your first marathon. Hell, I'm not even sure it will matter to me on my second marathon." Novices of 2017, take note! :)

Wubble Wubble
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101514033#post101514033
    Well done for a massive PB and posting a very respectable time despite the trouble leading up to and during the marathon. I have had ITB trouble in the past (who hasn't, really :eek:) - it's no fun running through that. As with several reports above, I think you did an excellent job managing your race, not clinging to a goal-time but adjusting, adapting, and executing on new goals as the race evolves. Well done!

And isn't it amazing that there are so many people walking well before half-way, even around the 3h40 mark? I am happy to read that that isn't any of the class of 2016. #ProudMentor.

J o e
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101518057#post101518057
    Well done Joe, nice job on the 5x4, last year Singer managed 5x3. Just reward for a well executed race!

RasTa
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101518235#post101518235
    Very strong showing on the day, RasTa! Your pacing is very consistent despite the leg troubles so well done. If you put in another similar training block, there's no reason you can't come in under 4h the next time around - as it seems the only thing lacking is just that little bit of endurance at the sharper end. Consider picking a spring marathon and choose a good training plan to get you there! Well done again, great run and report!

Maximus Alexander
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101514781#post101514781
    I must admit reading your report with bated breath and got a fright when you reported sudden, sharp pain in your rib-area. I can't believe you have actually managed to recover from that, and finish, from almost halfway-in. One of the things that stood out to me in your reports was that your aunt (near Walkinstown) was beaming with pride only to see you take part - she doesn't care about the amount of minutes-per-mile, target times and other such nonsense. She cares about the fact that you had the courage to start in the first place.

So much has already said about your day, both by yourself in this brutally honest (and therefore spectacularly good) report and by the many responses from all on this thread, above and below. This should become mandatory reading for next year. a148pro summed up the generic feeling perfectly with the following post - I hope you don't mind me copying it verbatim, as it sums up what we're trying to achieve here on the Novices thread.
    a148pro wrote:
    The more I think about it, watch it and (now) having done it, the Marathon isn't about times. Yes its an amazing challenge for people to focus on and satisfying for them to tick it off, but it can very quickly turn into a dick swinging contest if you're not careful. Even in achievement terms times are only relative to how hard it was for that individual to do that time. Its much much harder for an 18 stone chap to do under 6 hours than for an average build chap to do 4.

Whats impressive about the marathon, and what had me on the verge of tears most of the way through yesterday is the human experience of ordinary people doing extraordinary things, and ordinary people doing things for other people. The people standing by the whole route handing out jellies for hours, strangers to running and to the people running but dedicating a few hours of their day to helping those strangers. The people running to raise money for charity, the people running as a mark of respect to loved ones who have passed.

In that context I have far far more respect for people who battle on through immense adversity to finish, like you did, than some chap who was born with a genetic advantage and has the time in their life to do a sub 3 hour run without any great stress.

Its not about the time, its about the effort. And its not about our egos its about thinking about others for a change and being with others when they need us. Please don't be hard on yourself. Its hard not to be disappointed but goals aren't as important as other things in life that we often don't notice until they're gone, and you can always have another shot at a goal.

FBJM
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101518261#post101518261
    A giant well done to you, both a HM and full marathon personal best in one day. It's amazing that you can say "didn't hit any sort of wall" - I'm sure you've noticed how much that has happened all around you. Take great heart from this performance. If you want to go again, my advice would be to pick a spring or summer marathon carefully, find a good plan (maybe on the to be ignited graduates thread) and, wait for it, stick with the plan - as I have no doubt you'll hit your goals. :)

PauloMN
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101520688#post101520688
    Another fabuluous report (*swats away speck-of-dust in the corner of eye*), I loved reading it. Your kids (and other family) must just be so proud to see both their parents finishing a marathon. Your preparation seems to have been 100%, especially a point we hadn't covered here: "what to do when running with the other half". What a super report. No need to worry about target times or paces, 42 minutes faster (and a radically better experience) equates success. Well done again to both of you.

The Black Oil
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101515385#post101515385
    So funny that your "supple" t-shirt was spotted en-route by ToriV. Firedance and I looked out for ages but didn't see it. What a great report and it seems to have been a really well executed race, despite the rush-of-blood at mile 11! Then again, you did recognize it and managed to turn your day around. Well done. I agree that the sights over the finish-line (all the emergency crews, stretchers) is something else. What a great debut and nice to chat to you afterwards.

aceygray
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101520469#post101520469
    I am so glad you had a good day, I must admit to being a little worried about your interrupted preparation. You had gone so well up to the point of knee-trouble, but missed a lot of miles as a result. Very pleased to see you had taken a "laissez-faire" approach to the day - there'll always be other marathons. I am pretty sure this actually helped you on the day itself. When we saw you in Clonskeagh, you looked strong and in control, albeit maybe a little pale - well done for pulling through but I am not surprised you felt bad afterwards. That said, it was nice to talk to you afterwards and you seemed to have recovered well already at that point. The tip about shoe-sizes is good, I have had that recommended to me too, go half-a-size (or even a full size) bigger for marathon training. I hope you have a great day tomorrow and congratulations once again on a pretty amazing week :)

tony1980
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101521288#post101521288
    Well done on your fabuluous performance! I knew already from hillsiderunner's table you had hit your A-goal but I was still urging you on throughout the report. That's quite amazing to be able to finish despite the impending cramps and all the other minor niggles. Sorry we missed you in Clonskeagh, there was a lot of traffic around the 4h group - and also sorry to miss you in McG's. I did talk to FITZA and she mentioned you had met before the race, the story about the "day-pass" and she was absolutely deligthed to hear you had nailed you goal. Well done again - and great advice about buildig up core-strength before and as part of a balanced training program.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Have a great day tomorrow G, and congratulations. Hopefully the weather is as good as today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I'm back in work today too. My legs were sore yesterday but they're okay now. Did a little bit of celebrating the last couple of days - including last night so that's what has me a little tired now :) It's all good though, I've nothing but great memories from Sunday. Looking forward to getting out running again. I might do a few slow miles on Saturday and take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭tony1980

My quads finally don't feel like cement blocks today, getting up and down stairs ok again and am back to work today. I am still feeling tired but have a constant smile on my face. I will attempt a nice slow run on Sat and see how I get on but short term, my goal is to follow James Dunne's 30 day strength and conditioning challenge while keeping some miles ticking over.

I am all on for a Jingle Bells 5k meet up, going to book it soon if I can and can't wait to meet some of my fellow graduates at it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭All or nothing

Race Report

Preamble:
    From the start I had decided that I would try and aim for 4:20 but between the plantar fasciitis and getting a cold in the last week I decided on Saturday to go with 4:30 as my A goal as I knew I wasn’t fully right. That was the best decision I ever made.

Pre-Race:
    We arrived in Dublin around 3pm on Saturday. Went straight to the expo, didn’t stay long as advised, just picked up my number and some pace bands. My fiancée seemed to enjoy it and she told me afterwards that she might start back running after being there and soaking up the atmosphere. I was staying with the in laws in Clontarf so we headed out there then. I had had a good breakfast and also a bowl of pasta around 11am before I drove to Dublin as I wasn’t sure what we would be having for dinner on Saturday night. They were having steak and thought it would be good for me to have two steaks as I was running a marathon tomorrow. So I had a big feed of steaks and spuds, I passed on the chocolate cake for dessert. That would have to wait until tomorrow.
    Didn’t sleep great that night, like everyone else I presume. I had slept very well all week so wasn’t too worried. Got up at 6:45 and had my usual breakfast of Weetabix, banana and some toast with jam. My fiancée and her aunt and uncle had decided they would drop me in so I went upstairs to get ready. I had everything ready from the night before, all I had to do was put on my gear and put on some bodyglide and zinc oxide tape for my nipples. At this stage I was getting very nervous. When I put on the zinc oxide tape then it wouldn’t stick. It kept coming off, I started to panic, tearing big strips of it off but still it wouldn’t stick. I had to go down stairs where they were all waiting for me and try and explain I needed some kind of tape so that my nipples wouldn’t bleep during the race if it started raining. They looked at me bemused, but pointed me towards the first aid kit where I found some plasters which did the trick. Out we went to the car and we were off..no we weren’t I forgot my water. I better go back in for it. They dropped me very close to Merrion Square at around 8:10 so I had plenty of time before my wave start at 9:20. I realised then in my panic earlier I had grabbed a pace band for 4:20 when my new A goal was 4:30. At this stage I was very calm and just soaking up the atmosphere. I had bought a cheap tracksuit pants and hoodie in Penney’s as suggested here and I was lovely and cosy.

Mile 1-5 (10:20, 10:06, 10:22, 9:53, 10:04)
    I started right beside the 4:30 pacers. Got chatting to the girl (didn’t get her name). She told me we would be running a small bit quicker than planned 4:30 pace to allow for the extra bit we would end up running. In my case it was 0.3 of a mile. I had a look on strava earlier and saw four people who had run 27 miles at the end of the marathon. Did they forget to stop their watch? Felt very relaxed here, the pace was good and my breathing was very relaxed. I started to move ahead from the pacers here. Just to get some space as there was lots of open road then to run on. I took my first gel after 45 mins. The plan was to take a gel/shot block every 45 mins.

Mile 6-10 (9:55, 10:05, 9:49, 9:53, 10:03)
    Coming through Castleknock I got my first taste of that great Dublin support. Really glad I wrote my name under my race number as I got lots of shout outs as the day went on. I was smiling a lot throughout the day, really happy to just be there. On college road I started chatting to a fella from Kerry. He was mad for a chat; I was more interested in conserving energy so I let him do most of the talking. Once we came back into the park again I had to make a quick pit stop for the loo. When I came back on course the 4:30 pacers were just coming past me. I stuck with them then until 18 miles. I took another gel around the 9 mile mark.

Mile 11-15 (10:17, 10:07, 10; 21, 10:37, 10:23)
    As I’m not from Dublin I wasn’t too familiar with some of the areas we were travelling through but had studied the course map so I had some idea where I was. The first real hill on St Laurence’s road I found ok. It would be a tough one to tackle late in the race. The support as we passed Kilmainham Gaol was unbelievable; the hairs were standing on the back of my neck. You couldn’t but have a smile on your face. I came through half way in 2:14 which was probably bang on to allow for the extra 0.3 I was going to run. At this stage I started to get a wave of emotion, thought about all my love ones who have passed away. It was a bit surreal, ok back to the task at hand. Took what was to be my last gel around 14 miles. I did zone out a bit here and lose a bit of time. I might try the caffeine gels the next time to help me stay focused.

Mile 16-20 (10:00, 10:14, 10:22, 10:40, 10:45)
    I was still with the pacers and thought I was going along reasonably well. Upped the pace a small bit in mile 16 as I was thinking I could maybe push on a bit. Came through 30 km in 3:12 which again was on pace for a 4:30 finish. Then both my thighs started to cramp. Had I not been drinking enough water? It was only when I finished that I realised I had forgotten to take any of my electrolyte tablets that I had in my flip belt, I just completely forgot I even had then. I had been taking them on all my long runs and found them great. The cramping worried me as I had never experienced it before. Luckily enough it went away again but did appear again towards the end. At mile 18 I took two bottles of water from the water stop as I wanted to make sure I was drinking enough from now on.

Mile 21-26.5 (11:11,11:53,11:51,11:22,11:42,11:25, 10:26 pace for last half mile)
    I now knew that 4:30 was gone so a quick calculation tells me what I need to get home under 4:40. From here I was looking out for NOP and Firedance. Thinking what would I say if I saw them “it’s me all or nothing” “boards?”. It would have helped if it had remembered exactly where they were supposed to be. Ah well it helped get me through a few tough miles anyway. At this stage my pace was slowing a lot I was now taking one shot block jelly at each water station. looking back I should have taken two at each or maybe a gel. Up ahead was this heartbreak hill that I had heard so much about. I ran up it, while the DJ called my name which gave me a great boost. Once I came to the top of the hill I knew it was relatively flat all the way home. I tried to pick up the pace again but it just wasn’t there. A lot of people were walking at this stage. Then up the UCD flyover just 5km to go, come on. Even at my now slow pace I was passing a few people. I think it was coming past the RDS where music was playing and the song was “everyday I’m shuffling” what a cruel song to play, it gave me a laugh at a much needed time. I knew now that if I kept going I would be under 4:40 so I just soaked up the atmosphere. My fiancée and my sister were going to be near the finish line so on the run in I was looking left and right to see them. I never did see them and they never saw me. It turns out they thought I was wearing a blue t shirt when I fact I had decided to wear my red t shirt. They had been tracking me all the way around and couldn’t believe they had missed me. Crossed the line in 4:39.

The aftermath and what’s next:
    Once I crossed the line I knew I needed to keep moving or I might seize up. Having to walk to the baggage area wasn’t a bad thing as it forced you to keep moving. I got my bag and had a chat to a few people who were also getting changed close to the baggage collection. Rang the fiancée to tell her I was finished and where to meet me. I was fairly hungry so we went straight to Subway for a nice 12 inch sub. Had two lovely pints in O Neills, then back out to Clontarf.
    I really feel like I enjoyed my first marathon as much as I could. With my times at the shorter distances I should be capable of running quicker than I did but I’m really satisfied with how it went for me. I was smiling to myself most of the way around. I ran every step and did not stop once, which was my main aim.
    Recovered fairly well since, had a lovely walk on Dollymount strand on Monday and another walk yesterday, I think this has helped. I could actually run today but I won’t be doing any running for at least another week or two. Now that this is over my main aim is to improve my running form as I don’t think it is great. My cadence is still too low and this is partly why I am picking up certain injuries.

Thanks to NOP, Firedance and all the backroom team for all the advice and encouragement offered over the last few months. To the fellow novices..sorry graduates it was a pleasure sharing the experience with you.

That's my plan too. All going well I'll be chomping at the bit for 3-5 gentle miles come Saturday, but I'm not counting my chickens yet. Very close to 1000 miles for the year, need to hit them targets. :D

Love it max , we just have to have a goal.

Is anyone else a little sorry the marathon training has ended or is that just me. I've always ran to plans so missing the structure all ready. Not too sorry though plans are all ready brewing for my next goal,

HA HA , The best of luck to you both tomorrow and i wish you a long and happy future together. That's some week you're having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Have a great day tomorrow Ace....Facebook detective work also tells me at least one of us Graduates has commented on this Facebook status!!

crogerso
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101518598#post101518598
    Well done to such a perfectly executed race. Did you run with the OH all the way? Did you also have "the chat" beforehand like PaoloMN? The part from Castleknock to Chapelizod thorugh the Park has nice downhill stretches so no surprise you drifted ahead of PMP here. I appreciate your description of the emotional struggle (due to the worry of being able to keep the pace going) - as this is something, if you're not used to racing towards a target-time, that might be tough to deal with. Well done for toughening it out. So sorry to have missed you on Clonskeagh Road, it was very hard to spot anyone, we certainly didn't spot everybody we had hoped to see. I am so pleased you got to your A-goal, especially since you needed to keep going well to the end to keep close enough to the 4h pacers. Well done again! Just wondering, have you stopped dreaming about mileage?

sibeen99
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101518722#post101518722
    Well done on your finish. Sounds like you managed a negative split by a few seconds to get in on target. That's very impressive - what a nicely executed run. I think you're probably the closest to your target-time of anyone on the thread (last year we had a 3:59:58 :eek:). Glad you enjoyed the journey with us!

Extrasupervery
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101523478#post101523478
    What an absolutely epic report and what a performance. I can't even start to imagine your nerves if you had to do a double-take to get started. Well done on planning your race and controlling your pace, especially at the start. As hard as it was to toughen it out to the finish, you got yourself in a position to do so with a disciplined start so well done again. I am not sure if you noticed us on the corner of Clonskeagh Road, Firedance and I were tracking you and a few others and shouted and waved liked lunatics. You looked a whole lot better than most people around you. As for the last 10k, I am running out of superlatives to describe my admiration for keeping going even if you had the impression that you were going nowhere - and well done on rage-running it all the way in. I really hope you will be back some day. Pass the regards from all novices and mentors on to "mammy ESV" as she sounds pretty awesome, and tell her to sign up for the novices 2017 thread! :)

spaceylou
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101522412#post101522412
    Super honest report on what must have been a tough day.. I am actually blown away by the notion that you had such a serious injury a few years ago and that you now have had the courage to train for and complete a marathon. It's awe-inspiring, really. Thank you for your honest assessment and warnings about going out too fast, it is so so hard to control your speed when it feels so easy. Being able to finish it with near-cramping legs and getting all the way to the line is no mean feat, so well done and you can take great pride in your achievement. Nice to chat to you afterwards, too!

the_vick
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101520178#post101520178
    Superb time for what must have been quite a tough day! I can't believe you stole someone else's gel :p, thankfully there are many more supplies en route so I am sure that didn't banjax the other runner's race. You've probably given them a story to talk about for years. Your description of cramp on the Dodder bridge is pretty much the exact same as my experience from last year. Can't quite phantom how you've managed to keep running at just over 8 min pace with so many physical niggles but you managed it very well - super achievement. Really liked your report with the regatta / plane landing analogies. Well done again! It's a pity you didn't join our thread earlier!

jameshayes
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101522087#post101522087
    Well done on your marathon debut! I am somewhat puzzled by your ability to recognize that you're going too fast, but not being able to slow down... Maybe this is something to practice for next year's novices. Your technique of breaking down the race into manageable chunks, e.g. "next lamppost" is very sound. It's actually quite impressive that you managed to keep pretty close to PMP despite being overtaken again by the 4h pacers. It would have been so easy to just give up at this point. Liked your post-mortem observations too. Well done again!

boydkev
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=101533579&postcount=6047
    Sounds like a very tough run-in, cramping under your rib-cage sounds very, very painful. Well done for finishing at all - I hope you'll be back for 2017 and good luck with your goals for next year!

Apologies in advance for the length of the report , Its as much for me as for anyone that wishes to read it but we were instructed to take in the atmosphere as much as possible so I did. :D

Race Report

Saturday: I headed to the expo at 10 with one of my grandsons to collect my number, I though it was good, Watched a demo on Foam rolling and Plantar Faciatas prevention and treatment with a foot roller which was cool, I had to have one to add to my collection, I also got some Energy bars for the next. day . I had Spag Bol for dinner washed down with water and a zero tab, I intended to take a zero tab each day from Thursday to Sunday but forgot on Friday.

I got my kit ready on Saturday evening; My wife wrote my name on my number and put it on my shirt while I sorted my fuelling for the run. 7 isogels, 2 energy bars, and 4 packages of 3 fruit pastilles wrapped in tinfoil and 3 Zero tabs, a fella wouldn't want to be going hungry . I packed my gear into my bag leaving nothing to chance, hats, gloves , running jacket, gel belt , flip belt , compression top , Sunglasses, tracksuit for after , The bag was bursting at its seams and I was ready for all eventualities, If there was a blizzard , heat wave or monsoon in the morning I had the gear in the bag to cater for that eventuality, I know there was no mention of these conditions in the weather forecast in the days before but those guys have got it wrong in the past.

Happy that I was as prepared as I could be I headed to bed at 10.30 on Firedanxces instructions. I had a great nights sleep both Friday and Saturday night, no nerves, I knew I'd done everything I could training wise and I was confident that I would get around barring serious injury.

I woke Saturday morning at 5.30. 15 minutes before the alarm went, I had a shower and got into my gear and my sacrificial tracksuit bottoms and hoodie, the bottoms had been used as sacrificial bottoms in the Dublin Half but it was a nice morning and survived as I took them off at the bag drop.

I had my breakfast of Porridge and Brown bread and marmalade and mug of tea around 6 am, I usually have a banana with my porridge on race days but as it was still 3.5 hours to the off I decided to keep it to eat around an hour before the off .

I Went to the loo a few times, watched a bit of telly and chatted to the missus who got up early to see me off.

{TMI bit coming up but it might help someone in the future, My body clock was causing me a concern, I'm a regular guy , so regular that I could set my watch by it, 10.30 each morning I go to "my office" and catch up on the running forum while the magic happens but with the race starting at 9.30 that wasn’t really on today. I'd seen load of people mention Coffee as a solution and I'd seen UM1 of this parish advise that eating two or three Weetabix the night before would mean that things would be moving nicely first thing in the morning, I adopted Um1's Weetabix as Plan A and Coffee As Plan B, Plan A worked a treat, no need for plan B.}

I Left home at 6.35 to drive the 10 minutes to Malahide for the 7.05 Dart which was only going to Connelly due to some works on the line, Not sure if it was leaves on the track or what the problem was, it certainly wasn't the wrong type of snow as it was lovely moring. There were about 20 of us waiting , some travelling very light in just shorts and a top , ready to go, I felt a little odd with my Marathon Bag crammed full of what I deemed necessities for the task ahead. I got chatting to a fellow runner who had a fold up bicycle with him , I joked I wished I'd though of that, he was using it to go across town to his office to change etc.

The train journey in was good two ladies who were marshalling got on and sat beside me , they were all talk about their day, I learned they were going to be at the 2 mile marker and then the 20 mile mark, There were a few other guys chatting about the tracker , one of the guys obviously not very tech savvy was mesmerised about how it could track each runner.

All this kept me entertained on the journey in , we reached Connelly and the train driver wished us all luck which I though was a nice touch I said my good byes to the Stewards telling them I'd definite see them again at 2 miles but i couldn’t make any promises for the for the 20 Mile mark. We all laughed and went on our way.

I walked up from Connelly to Merrion Square, it was a nice warm up , taking in everything as I went along It was sometime after 8 when I got there and It was all ready pretty busy. I had a bottle of water from home and was taking regular sips.

My 2 daughters and 2 of my Grandsons texted me to say they were coming in to see me off, We had previously arranged to meet at the 14 mile marker so this was a lovely surprise. I really wanted to see them but they wouldn't be in town until 9, I hung around for a bit but then realising I couldn’t wait till then I went through the security check into the bag drop zone and text them to tell them they would not be able to come in where I was and I’d see them later as prearranged.

I walked down past all the bag drops to the information tent and saw they had pace bands, I got a 4.40 one and put it on my arm upside down which didn't really matter as I couldn't read it without my reading glasses anyway and I wasn’t wearing them on the run but at least it conveyed the impression that I knew what I was doing.

I asked where I was to line up I had a blue number for wave 3 having entered for 4.30 pace but I had re evaluated after The DCM half to a 4.40 strategy using my 2.12 half multiplied by 2 and adding 20 minutes , I know that's a 4.45 and perhaps I should have gone for the 4.50 pace, in fact I saw afterward on Strava that boards own Pacing Mule author of one of my must read training logs from my Couch 2 5 k days was pacing the 4.50 and I definitely would have selected that group if I'd known , not that I think it would have made much difference to my race if I'd known that but even though I’ve never met the man it would have been an honour to run with him.

I went to the loo and then headed back to the bag drop to get ready.
    It was a beautiful morning so I took off the sacrificial tracksuit bottom and squeezed them into the bulging bag, they survived again I think I'll have to keep them now. I put on my flip belt and put my phone in it and clipped in my car key , Dont ask me why I took the car key with me it was going to be feck all use without the car .

I clipped on my gel belt and loaded it up the loops with 6 orange iso gels bending them back over between the belt and my body so they wouldn’t fall out . I had one more gel the 2 energy bars and the tinfoil wrapped fruit pastilles in the pouch of the gel belt, I tightened it up as there was a bit of weight in it and I was good to go .

I ate my banana and handed in my bag, the lady there wished me luck and off I set for the holding area. I asked a steward where the 4.40 pacer were lining up, he looked at me in bewilderment, obviously not a runner, I asked him for wave 4 and this he knew and directed me on my way. On the walk down I asked a few people what pacer group they were in just to make sure I was in the right place the first few I asked were running just to finish , no pacer needed but then one person told me the 4.40 pacer had white balloons and one of them was just beside me, I introduced myself as a boards novice to the pacer and thanked him , I asked if he was a member here he wasn't . As we made our way to line up with the other pacers he asked me about my training etc wished me luck and we parted company.

I was now in position about 50 meters back from the 4.40 pacers in the coral and I took out my phone and posted that here on boards. I then got a message from my daughters that they were in past the start line and to run on the right side of the road as they wanted to see me and that they were all very proud of me and that I was to listen to my body, that was the nurse in her coming out.

You know the way you never see your own parents getting old , well I think my Children 2 boys 2 girls aged age 22 to 28 are like that with my health, They see I've shrunk in stature but dont really realise how fit I feel and worry about me pushing myself too much, which |I don’t but there’s no telling them that.

We hang around for a few minutes waiting to be moved forward to the starting line, I feel I want to go to the loo again but am afraid I will miss the off if I do so I hang on, why I don't know its not like it was going to go away on its own. That's probably a mistake tbh , I had plenty of time and it would have eliminated one of 3 pit stops I made during the race.

I take my first gel of the day here the one I had in the pouch and a last sip of water and discard the bottle in a bin. We then move forward to the start line, I start my Garmin Live tracking app on my phone which is linked to my facebook page and shows where I am in real time. Cool tech.

All my family, (I found out since many of my friends) were following this for the duration of the race. The MC cracks his usual jokes , we do the Mexican Wave and then the pacers are off only to be called back , False start , funny. Next time they go it's the real thing, I cross the line, I'm actually running a marathon.

Miles 1-4 10:34, 10:29, 10:40,10:37
    I take up my position at the very right hand side of the road as I run looking for my 2 6 year old grandsons and Daughters, after about 500 meters I see them with their "I Luf Grand he is d best" banner which
    one of them wrote himself, and a lump appears in my throat, I stop to hug them all as the girls push me back into the road and tell me to keep running, I gather myself and continue. I have that banner at home and will cherish it.

The pace is easy , no problem, before I know it I arrive at the first water station at the end of Aughrim street. It surprise me that we were here all ready, the person in from of me stopped dead to get a bottle and I tried to take evasive action but ran into her. I take my water and move on, we're 3 miles in now time for my second gel of the day as per my training runs. This gel is not received very well by the tummy, It didn’t sicken me or cramp me but it made me rethink my fuelling strategy. As we were heading into the park a lady taps me on the shoulder and asks if I’m a boards novice and introduces herself as Safron girl, I tell her I'm Tom AKA The Muppet , (I really should have changed that before starting to post on the running forum). It was really nice to meet her, an inspiring person for sure, read her introduction and posts on the Novices thread if you're not familiar with her back story, amazing commitment.

We talked of Training, real life and 20 mile runs on treadmills, nearly as mad as trying to do them on the deck of a ship at sea, :D , ah the madness of the marathon runner. Before I knew it we were on Chesterfield avenue, I were just off the pacers , the pace was lovely and I was loving life.

Miles 5-8 10:28, (half mile lap 10.30) 10:08. 10:02, 10:03
    Somewhere along Chestefield Avenue I came across row of toilets and I decided to take the pit stop I should have taken before the start, I said my goodbyes to Safrongirl and wished her luck.

Live tracking is cool but when you stop it stops, I later learned that my son saw this stop and though I had pulled up , I have a text message from him at this time which I only saw after I’d finished " keep going your're doing great", I'm still laughing at that now , I was only 5 miles in running well within myself but I also realise its not funny for him. When I came out of the loos the pacer balloons were a good bit in the distance, In My DCM Half I let them away from me and never caught up, That wasn't happening so early today so I set off in pursuit. I have a half mile lap @10.30 on my garmin stats here, I dont know how that happened , I have no recollection of pressing the lap button but I must have done. Looking at the splits above I think I ran too fast up chesterfield, I felt fine I didn't feel I was running too fast but the splits don't lie.

As we exited the park I'd closed the gap considerably on the pacers and decided to sit off them a bit. What can I say about the support in Castleknock really it's indescribable , The hairs stood up on the back of my neck going through there, The screams of encouragement , unbelievable, I felt like one of the Beatles in their hey day, Honestly if I ever run DCM again, to experience that once more will be high up on my reasons for doing so. I could understand it for the Elites but no they were there the same for everyone even us 5 hour runners. I was and as I write still am totally amazed by the reception there. I was High fiving kids and thanking everyone who shouted my name , perhaps I should have conserved that energy but I don't regret it those people deserve a medal for the support they gave.
    Coming out of Castleknock was the next water station , I still had my bottle from the last station as I was just sipping so I discarded it and took a fresh one. A little further along the road I saw a runner being treated beside an ambulance It looked serious enough to me but there’s no mention of serious injury along there so hopefully my perception was wrong , It did remind me of previous incidents and how things can so easily go wrong when running. Seeing really fit looking people in trouble always strikes me hard.

We were now running down hill past Mount Sackville and into the park and I used the hill to my benefit to close right up on the pacers I should say here that even though I'm and born and bred Dub I am not really familiar with the route from here on until the Stillorgan road. I'm a north county Dub, I might as well be from Tralee to a city center Dub, there would be no difference. We are only allowed across the Southside for sporting occasions and the odd concert unless we are just passing through. and with the support lining the streets it all looked different anyway.

Miles 9-12 10:08, 10:24, 10:31, 10:30,
    We are back in the Pheonix Park now, down the Glen Road to the Chapelozid gate I've ran here a few times including the 14 mile novice meet up during training. Tipping along nicely still just off the pacers when I remember my last gel was at mile 3 and I should really take something now , I decided to try another gel with water , It went down fine no adverse reaction, cool.

Just after we exited the Chapelizod gate was the first Lucozade stop, I was sorry now I had just taken the gel , Lucozade Sport had worked well for me in the DCM Half , I took a bottle anyway and took a sip or two but it was just too much too soon after the gel, I knew I couldn’t stomach it so I chucked it away.

I was still on target here and actually moved right up beside the pacers to say Hello, The one I'd met at the start was far left of me so I shouted over asking if he remembered me from the start, he did, we had a few words and then I moved right in behind them, Just after here was the hill, dont know the name but to me it is the most challenging hill on the route suppose it coming earlier in the race makes it easier than Roebuck hill. I was watching the pacers feet going up the hill the rhythm was just so cool their feet hardly seemed to be moving at all. I was glad to get to the top of the hill , that was the first place I felt I had had to up my effort. I recovered really quickly from the extra effort and was felling grand. We hit the 10 mile marker along here and I though of the 10 10 10 rule Nop had told us about, only the same to go again and then a 10k run in to the finish. Shortly after that I felt a pain on the outside of my left knee, again I'd had the same pain in the half around the same time and ran through it so I just acknowledged the pain was there and never though any more of it It didn't cause me any difficulty. I start tinkling of meeting my daughters at the 14 mile marker hoping I don't miss them. I also think of a good friend and his two young daughters, he was taken by the darkness on Friday Morning. (R.I.P Mick)

Miles 13-16 10:40, 10:34, 10:41,11:22
    Mile 13 and we hit the halfway mark I look at the time and take of 30 minutes and know I'm still on target, I did have my watch but I wasn't really using it, the pacers were doing all that for me. Starva tells me I ran the first half in 2:17:16 with the loo break in that and I'm more than happy with that it's less than 5 mins off my pb. The second Lucozade station was here but I didn't chance it I took water and moved on. I'm still feeling good and looking forward to the 14 mile marker and seeing my girls , I'm running on the very right of the road as agreed with them and before long I see them , They took pictures of me as I approach and I'm beaming in them , I look so happy and I am, I stopped to give them another hug and they told me how proud they were and pushed me out to go again.

There was another girl with them I didn’t know then who she was but found out later she is a work colleague of my youngest daughter also a nurse and she had heard so much about me and my back story she decided she just had to come out to see and support me , How nice was that?

I stumbled a little as I started back and felt a little dizzy but got going again and felt fine but I was needing a loo break, the pacers had moved a little away from me but I wasn't bothered I felt I could stick with them . It was here I saw Mr Eiffle Tower, I looked at him as I went past and he looked to be in a world of pain then, Delighted to see he finished.

15 miles in and I am going grand. On mile 16 I see a bank of toilets and have to stop for my second loo break of the race, When I come out I can still see the pacers in the distance and I think here goes again I'll close them down, so I start to inject pace but as soon as I did I felt both hamstrings starting to cramp. I start to wonder what up and realise its a while since I fueled , I wasn’t keen on another gel so I decide to have an energy bar, I can't run and eat those so I walked and ate and drank, when finshed I set off again but as soon as I tried to up the pace both hamstrings complained again
    It really was that sudden, I felt grand going into the loo when I came out a minute or two later I couldn’t run at the pace I had been up to now .

Having read all of the reports posted at the time I’m writing this quite a few have mentioned cramping from 16 miles on. I dont know why but it's appears significant.

Miles 17-20 11:17, 11:58. 12,37, 14,46
    I try to close the gap on the pacers for the final time but its just not going to happen, The top of my right calf just under my knee has now joined my hamstrings in their complaints. I now have a class action on my hands, I’m really surprised by this as aerobically I’m feeling as good as I was starting out but the leg muscles are not at all ok.

Immediately what I learned in the frank Duffy 10 miler and what was drilled into us here about being prepared to alter goals kicks in, I decide to revert to plan c. In truth I was never attached to a time, I had followed this tread the last few years and knew just finishing was going to be tough enough for me.

So I am 8 miles from the finish line and in a bit of bother, I walked took out my phone and text my son “slowed a bit be in late, all good". I forgot about the live tracking on my face book which they were following, I had given all the family the supporter times from the novice mileage tracker telling them where I should be at any given time and knowing I was going to be late I didn’t want them worrying about me.
    I was feeling great in myself despite my non cooperating legs, I visualised an 8 mile route I used in training and felt confident I could run the remaining miles but just not at the pace I hoped.

Up to now I've taken everything in , high fived dozens of kids , thanked tens of people who called my name and just ran with a smile on my face but now it was time to put myself into autopilot focus on the miles ahead and make it to the finish line. The shift in focus means that I’m not as clear what happened where from here on in.

It was somewhere in this section that I saw a guy with a boards novices sign on the right of the road , I was just past him when the sign registered so I turned back to give him the thumbs up and he gave me the most almighty roar of encouragement “Go On Tom” as if he'd known me all my life, I later found out that that was Smashiner, those words were really welcome .

Miles 20-24 12.35, 13.05, 13:07, 12:45
    I remember coming to the 20 mile marker and thinking that’s the second of the 10 10 10 and the third 10 is just 10 k only 6 miles to go. I start to think of my wonderful supportive wife and then wonder if my son has relayed the message I sent him earlier , I know him so well, he hadn't despite the fact he was standing beside her. I took out the phone again and sent this message " I'm at 20 miles , feeling good but legs are sore so I'm taking it home easy "

I took another bottle of water along here and there was another hill, I took out one of my packs of Fruit Pastilles and chewed them and drank some water as I walked up the hill . At the top of the hill I set off running again.

I knew NOP and Firedance etc were along here somewhere too I was looking out for them but I didn't see them I was so focused on just moving forward . There were a group of 4 people sitting in armchairs on the right had side of the road roaring encouragement. The last guy on the right saw me and focused in on me , " Look at Tom, Go on Tom, You can tell Tom Is an old pro at this" and so on, perhaps I'm wrong but I though he was taking the piss rather that being supportive, I smiled and gave him a thumbs up while thinking ,f %$* you you dickhead I am a marathon runner, are you? I took my third loo break just after that.

I came up to a young guy who looked really fit but was walking and limping badly along here, I stopped to walk and asked if he was ok, he said both his calf’s were shot, he was from the north and this was his second marathon , I offered him a zero tab but strangely enough never though of taking one myself, he declined and we parted company. He went by me soon after and I didn’t see him any more , he must have made to the line,

I then focus my attention on getting to Roebuck hill, The DJ there Phil is a very good friend of mine and a former moderator of the radio forum here, I had been talking to him Friday night and given him usernames and numbers of all the novices and asked him to give them a big shout out to help them up the hill if he saw any of them, a tough ask I know picking out individually runners on the day but the
    Intention was good. I came to the dj box and stopped and gave him 2 big thumbs up, he saw me and gave me a great send off as I ran up the hill smiling.

I saw some people along here with a banner with Maximus Alexanders first name on it, I'd seen his name on his gear pic and its not a common Christian name so I assumed they were his family and I gave them a big thumbs up as I went by, I considered stopping to say hello but thought that would be too strange.

I got a great keep at it Tom from a female Garda along here too. Hadn't a clue really where I was but I remembered the mentors say that once we get over Roebuck its down hill to the finish or at least that’s what I wanted to remember.

I took a slice of orange from someone along her too and a slice of banana from someone else, fresh fruit so nice after gels sweets and lucozade.. I think the 4.50 pacers went by me in this section, I tried to up the pace to stick with them but it wasn't to be.

There’s carnage all around me , people stretching, walking limping, sitting on the pavement and I'm still running all be it at a slow pace, I can still feel the hamstrings but I'm not in any great pain and I’m just over two miles from the finish .

I walk to text my wife again, "2.5 miles out seizing up be in within half an hour or so" and immediately I got the reply "keep going babes , you can do this, we are all here , take your time"

I'm happy now I know my family know the score ., I'm back on familiar ground on the Merion road, I start running again with the intention of running right to the line which I did.

Miles 25-26.2 13.37, 15:25 forgot to stop watch

The 5.00 Hour pacers went by me on the run in, again I tried to stick with them , Same result , no go from the legs, coming in by the RDS I saw the EXPO sign and smiled , Support was thin on the ground here , people were passing me but I was also passing people too. As I got nearer to finish the crowds just got bigger I started to scan each side of the road for my family but I didn’t see them, the roars from the crowd was magnificent, I'm happy to see the finish line and the blue carpet feels like velvet under my feet . I didn't even look at the clock going over the line I knew i was somewhere over the 5 hour mark as I'd been passed by the 5 .00 pacers but that didn’t matter today, it might the next time but for now I’ve ran my first Marathon, taken it all and really enjoyed every step and stride, and while not that long ago I was a couch potato I am now a Marathon Runner.

Post-Race
    I'm actually feeling surprisingly good when I stop, legs are sore obviously but I'm far from shot, I collect my medal and bag and start looking for my family through the fence I spot my eldest son and he tells me the rest are up further. As I walk up to towards them I’m met by 2 of my grandsons running towards me on my side of the fence I give them a big hug and a kiss and meet up with the rest of the family. We Walk around to the bag drop to collect my bag and sit on the steps opposite to get out of the gear and into my post race gear, I have a banana and and the water from the goodie bag. My "Kids" tell me how proud they are of me which means a lot. My eldest 2 head off with the children while my wife and youngest 2 head for Mc Grattans, I had a cup of coffee and another loo break on the way and remembered to turn off my watch.

Got there and went looking for the pool table, it was jammed, I met the BlackOil and chatted, I know Annapr and Murph D to see and spotted them in a crowd so knew i was in the right area , said my hellos and introduced my family to them and had a chat, My daughter made me drink full sugar Coke as she though I needed it she may have been right , I forgot how good that stuff tastes or perhaps the fact I’d just run a marathon was a factor there but I met PaddyDriver who was also enjoying a Coke,

I enquired how the other novices had done . I met KennyG71 sorry G you name just wouldn't come to me, I enquired about Singer and he told me he was out front and very kindly took me out to where he had been, Singer wasn't around but Nop, Clearlier, Dubgal and Denis B were there along with a load of my fellow GRADUATES . Had a great chat with everyone , TFGR arrived with flapjacks which were lovely and very much appreciated.,

I thanked Nop for his help , I enquired about Firdance as I wanted to thank her personally , I admired the firm but humorous way she handled us novices right up to Saturday evening when she appeared on thread to send us all to bed . Conscious that I had family with me I said my goodbyes after a while and headed for home with my Marathon Shirt and big shiny medal proudly on display.

That’s my Marathon Memories, Sorry its so long but I'm sure I've left stuff out that will come to me in the days ahead.

I will answer Nops questions fully in another post later , I really enjoyed the training. It is tough but so worth it, I wouldn't change anything, even my horrific day at the Frank Duffy, I seriously considered pulling out after that but I’m not a quitter and the lessons I learned that day stood to me Sunday, as soon as I knew I had a problem I took the steps which allowed me to get to the finish line.

I assume texting fanily during races is not the norm and I had no intention to do so setting out but I needed to do that when I did to allow me run as I wanted/needed to.

I don’t know why I couldn’t pick up the pace after mile 16, I had zero tabs with me and never thought to stick one in a bottle of water , Guess I was too caught up in the atmosphere around me to think of doing that . While I didn’t stick to my fuelling plan I think I did take on enough, I had 4 gels , an energy bar and 3 fruit pastiles, a few swigs of lucozade sport a piece of banana and orange. Whether I let myself run low and it was too little to late, I don’t think so but perhaps. Was chsing the pacers after my first pitstop a factor?.

Training wise It all went well, I missed a handful of easy runs but did all the sessions at 10.18 or quicker and covered the prescribed milage. I don’t believe I bonked in that I could keep running even at the end, it wasn’t like the Frank Duffy where I was totally shot during the run. I felt great after the run, legs were sore but I wasn’t tired out.

My feeling is that I just didn’t have the strength and stamina I needed and the cramping was caused by that but I’m not sure of that either, its something I tend to address over the winter.. I am a diabetic so perhaps that’s a factor again I don’t know and all that stuff is for another day anyway.

My goal was to run the marathon, enjoy the experience soak it all in and want to continue with my running after it. That last bit comes for a friend who did it a few years ago and hasn’t ran since, because he sufferd so much,

Well I certainly did run it , I really enjoyed it and I think you’ll agree I took a fair chunk of it in and I cant wait to run again . On Sunday Night when I arrived home I went onto the Great North Run Website and put my name on the list to be notified when they are taking entries, I have always watched that on TV and would love to run it, so as I write that’s the plan for now.

I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the Mentors and background crew here, Nop, Firedance, FBOT01, Aquinn, Murph_D, Bungy Girl and their supporting cast and those thst came befores them as It's all a learning process and I assume lesson are learned and the plan improved every year.

I dont know how you guys know the things you know but I'm sure glad you do , a 100% success rate in geting a bunch of runners of varying levels of fitness and abilityy around a marathon course in one piece is no mean feat, Thank You.

My 6 year old Grandson Dean saw all the people leaving with their medals while waiting for me to finish , He turned to his Mam and said “AH MAM GRANDAD LOST”

I have since explained to him that Grandad didn’t lose , that there are no losers when it comes to running a marathon , everyone that puts in the work and toes the line at the start of a Marathon are out and out Winners.

The Muppet wrote: »
    My 6 year old Grandson Dean saw all the people leaving with their medals while waiting for me to finish , He turned to his Mam and said “AH MAM GRANDAD LOST”

I have since explained to him that Grandad didn’t lose , that there are no losers when it comes to running a marathon , everyone that puts in the work and toes the line at the start of a Marathon are out and out Winners.

What a lovely read Muppet...I really enjoyed it. Loved your thoughts on the 4 boyos in the armchairs. You were probably right too :D:D

As for your explanation to your grandson...I love it cos that's exactly what we tell our 3 sons.

Congrats on your 1st marathon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭FITZA

nop98 wrote: »
    DCM Reports - Part 3

I hope I'm in part 4 :(:D

Ah geez Tom, you set off the tears again! I thought I was finished the emotional rollercoaster. Amazing report.