If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,622 ✭✭✭✭Water John

In fairness, seeing the winners in Macroom weanling in the Farming Examiner making just over €1100. Everybody knows how far back from that their own stock will be from that.
    I think Denis Lehane does a fair job in putting up variety of types in that paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭valtra2

Just from mart
    450 kg 1090
    505kg 1080
    530kg 1185
    540 kg 1135
    445kg 1145
    Jan Feb 16 calf's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Bulls?

Ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,530 ✭✭✭tanko

Serious weights, what breeds were them lads?

tanko wrote: »

Lim out of lim cows and white head cow. 540 kg out of white head cow. 1.56kg/ day to 1.89kg/day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

valtra2 wrote: »

Lim out of lim cows and white head cow. 540 kg out of white head cow.

Great type of cow to drive a calf.
    We're you surprised by the weights?
    Had they gone through much ration?

Most of those are beating the prize winners I mentioned. Serious cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

Muckit wrote: »
    Bulls?

Bull

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    valtra2 wrote: »

Lim out of lim cows and white head cow. 540 kg out of white head cow.

Them cows must have 50 stars minimum.

Were on 2 kg of the cheapest 16% ration I could get for last 6 weeks

Bull

Lim Stock bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Did they leave u a few quid bass?

They left very little washed there faces just about covered costs with what they came in a at last year. Was looking at the mart sheet the five heavy ones were bought in one day in a 3+2 . They averaged nearly 470 kgs and cost 808 in the mart before mart fees. The lighter younger bullock I bought one day by himself at the end of last autumn by himself he weighted 400kgs and cost 750 euro.

The real killer is that if I replace at present store prices they leave nothing either. Like I showed earlier you need 600 of a margin to leave 200 profit. Considering that they thrived fairly well I was on a hiding even if the price was 30c/kg better. Present store prices need to drop another 150 before I will consider replacing. Otherwise someone else can be a busy fool for a while.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Did they leave u a few quid bass?

They left very little washed there faces just about covered costs with what they came in a at last year. Was looking at the mart sheet the five heavy ones were bought in one day in a 3+2 . They averaged nearly 470 kgs and cost 808 in the mart before mart fees. The lighter younger bullock I bought one day by himself at the end of last autumn by himself he weighted 400kgs and cost 750 euro.

The real killer is that if I replace at present store prices they leave nothing either. Like I showed earlier you need 600 of a margin to leave 200 profit. Considering that they thrived fairly well I was on a hiding even if the price was 30c/kg better. Present store prices need to drop another 150 before I will consider replacing. Otherwise someone else can be a busy fool for a while.

Or beef price needs to rise by 150 a head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,164 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Or beef price needs to rise by 150 a head

Unfortunately they are not going to rise, maybe in the short term we will get a rise from present prices for winter beef. However with present outlook and with number cattle coming on stream next year I am unwilling to buy at present prices. I can only work off my returns. A 150 euro rise in those cattle is 42c/kg I cannot see a base of 4/kg next autunm

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Unfortunately they are not going to rise, maybe in the short term we will get a rise from present prices for winter beef. However with present outlook and with number cattle coming on stream next year I am unwilling to buy at present prices. I can only work off my returns. A 150 euro rise in those cattle is 42c/kg I cannot see a base of 4/kg next autunm
    On Autumn to Autumn system
    If base price is 3.50 a kg next fall. And assuming a humble margin of 200 squid for the finisher. Middle of the road Friesian bullocks would need to be bought now @ even money to maybe 1.20 a kg for good ones. goodish dairy cross aa her cont cross @ 1.60. R- o +grade cont 1.80. And good continental certain R,s no more than 2 euro a kg..
    Non of which is worth a ****e to the primary producers.

But luckily for primary producers most finishers in my part of the country don't worry about margins and thus are cushioning the worst of the collapse in factory price and what's to come .

Friesians making 1.30 to 1.80 Her aa making 1.80to 2.20. plainer continentals 1.90 to 2.30

and good continentals.... Well here you just pull the handle on the side of slot machine and watch the numbers spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Willfarman wrote: »
    If base price is 3.50 a kg next fall. And assuming a humble margin of 200 squid for the finisher. Middle of the road Friesian bullocks would need to be bought now @ even money to maybe 1.20 a kg for good ones. goodish dairy cross aa her cont cross @ 1.60. R- o +grade cont 1.80. And good continental certain R,s no more than 2 euro a kg..

But luckily for primary producers most finishers in my part of the country don't worry about margins and thus are cushioning the worst of the collapse in factory price and what's to come .

Friesians making 1.30 to 1.80 Her aa making 1.80to 2.20. plainer continentals 1.90 to 2.30

and good continentals.... Well here you just pull the handle on the side of slot machine and watch the numbers spin.
    What are 350kg u grade weanlings worth in Your opinion?

Cavanjack wrote: »

They'd bring 900 to 1100 in this part of the country so they must be worth it!

But in terms of next man getting a small twist? But if beef price were to hit 3.50 next year and factories start acting the bollix on Bulls specs. Will a 620 kg u grade bullock be worth €1300 this time next year? Minus 500 for minimum margin and expenses.

First of all I am wondering if it will be even that. However taht is not the figure I work off. I work off what I get for cattle this autumn and then decide what I can afford to pass back down the food chain. At an average of 1200 to allow for a p[rofit of 200/head I consider that I can only pay 600/head for the same type of stores that these cattle were otherwisi I am at nothing. The way I look at it if someoneelse wants to winter them then let him at it. I bought stores last January for better value than if I had bought them in October and they had the weight difference as well

Slava Ukrainii

First of all I am wondering if it will be even that. However taht is not the figure I work off. I work off what I get for cattle this autumn and then decide what I can afford to pass back down the food chain. At an average of 1200 to allow for a p[rofit of 200/head I consider that I can only pay 600/head for the same type of stores that these cattle were otherwisi I am at nothing. The way I look at it if someoneelse wants to winter them then let him at it. I bought stores last January for better value than if I had bought them in October and they had the weight difference as well

My father and a lot of the older men work on that system of reasoning.. I think I may have to concede to it as I am slowly driving myself do lally this year looking back at buy in prices and seeing losses and then trying to foresee next year but seeing only losses! if a lad is working on his own money hasn't his nett worth of stock taken some awf hit in 2 years? Is there merit in using borrowed money for stock?

Stock go up and down in value. You have to hope that when you buy in first day you buy in at the bottom of the markets and you are never at a nett loss of capital. However you can just look at capital invested in cattle as just that capital and take you profit/margin off that. Where the issue happens is if you are willing to accept losses jst to stay in athe game. I work on athe assumption that if I think markets will rise I will buy in early if I think they will drop then I will sit on my money for a while. Let the lads that are driving the market drive it away there is loads of stores out there yet they will come in to the mart at some stage.

As you pointed out earlier processors will hit all out of spec stock really hard next year so no point in carrying anything that is out of spec unless they come in with that margin adjusted. They have done that already this year to over 36 month stock next year it might be over 30 months, Bulls over 400 and maybe as low as 380 will get hit next year maybe not during the winter but from June on I be keeping away from heavy cattle. It is not wrong to sit on you money or hold onto a profit by reducing exporsure to losses by carrying too many cattle in a falling market. I plan on a lazy winter with maybe only 50% of last winters stock....................maybe even less. Lots of lads with sheds and money that know better than me.

Slava Ukrainii

Cavanjack wrote: »

They'd bring 900 to 1100 in this part of the country so they must be worth it!

But in terms of next man getting a small twist? But if beef price were to hit 3.50 next year and factories start acting the bollix on Bulls specs. Will a 620 kg u grade bullock be worth 1300 this time next year? Minus 500 for minimum margin and expenses.

Plenty U grade 330kg to 350kg weanlings to be bought in Ennis at sub 900. I mean plenty of them. Told there's almost 600 bull weanlings for today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Plenty U grade 330kg to 350kg weanlings to be bought in Ennis at sub 900. I mean plenty of them. Told there's almost 600 bull weanlings for today.

Have been talking to a few disgruntled people over the last few days that have booked cattle in a few weeks on the trot and keep getting over pen 50. It's gone too big at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I've a few entered for Ennis for next week- light cattle- barely 7 months. 4 bulls and 3 heifers. Not looking forward to it but bills call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Have been talking to a few disgruntled people over the last few days that have booked cattle in a few weeks on the trot and keep getting over pen 50. It's gone too big at this stage.

I had cattle booked in last week (Thurs) and got Pen 65. Cancelled them and chanced them again this week..........got a Pen in the 70's!!!!!!!:eek: Gonna have to bring them in and see what happens. If I don't like what i am getting I'll bring them home. It's just a nuisance trying to organise time off work!

Macroom moved from Tues to Sat a good few years ago. It draws store cattle from all over as it suits a lot of people.

Some of them will see a sales ring again in the south east I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Robeman

barnaman wrote: »
    What I think you want

http://www.midtippmart.com/data/marts/latest_cattle_prices_october_10th_latest_cattle_prices_101016_1476119262.pdf

Tipp essentially when it comes to farming like hurling we are the Premier County.

This is a good start. It would be even better if it was issued in a useable database so that one could quickly work out averages for breeds \ weights \ sexes one wants to look at.

Robeman wrote: »
    barnaman wrote: »
    What I think you want

http://www.midtippmart.com/data/marts/latest_cattle_prices_october_10th_latest_cattle_prices_101016_1476119262.pdf

Tipp essentially when it comes to farming like hurling we are the Premier County.

This is a good start. It would be even better if it was issued in a useable database so that one could quickly work out averages for breeds \ weights \ sexes one wants to look at.

Would be a good idea for ICBF to capture the data from all marts and put it in the website.

Some of them will see a sales ring again in the south east I'm sure.

So you pay more for having them assembled, collected, deliverd to SE.

Now you know how we feel in the west when we have to pay 25 for a bale of middeling straw.