If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

rex-x wrote: »
    They 100% can seize the car on the spot for being dangerous/defective.

Under what legislation? S41 of the Road Traffic Act 1994 (as amended) covers seizure of vehicles and does not include dangerous/defective vehicles, the only power of seizure in relation to a vehicle which may be defective is in relation to having no valid NCT. Once there is a valid NCT they can't lift it.

S20 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 in relation to a vehicle which is potentially dangerous does not give a power of seizure, just the ability to prevent the driver from continuing further etc as I already outlined.

S54 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 (as amended) allows for your arrest for driving a defective vehicle, but not for the seizure of the vehicle.

And you will be surprised that drink driving offences are the same, a power of arrest, but no power of seizure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,743 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,138 ✭✭✭coolbeans

bazz26 wrote: »

More of this please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

coolbeans wrote: »
    More of this please

Yes sir!

Check out @GardaTraffic's Tweet: https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/785077840144437248?s=09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Some Micra if it can even get to that speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

If you had have asked me, I would have said I didn't think a k12 would be capable of 160km/h... that thing must have been flat out, building steam for miles!

Edit: snap!

Must have an SR20 fitted!

56830335.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

If you had have asked me, I would have said I didn't think a k12 would be capable of 160km/h... that thing must have been flat out, building steam for miles!

Edit: snap!

Must have an SR20 fitted!
    The motorway in question only started 2/3km behind where the driver was caught, so it had fierce acceleration in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Must have been drafting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I wouldn't have thought a micra would manage 160kph off the cliffs of moher!

MadYaker wrote: »

When I was a bit younger, I was pulled over on the N7 for doing 90mph in a 1989 Vauxhall Nova. Pity they didn't have twitter back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Some Micra if it can even get to that speed.

Yer man should put it on done deal with a copy of the ticket, bound to double the value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

When I was a bit younger, I was pulled over on the N7 for doing 90mph in a 1989 Vauxhall Nova. Pity they didn't have twitter back then.

Nova's are go karts with engine's. Big old lad had 1 in school little 1.2 went like clappers even with 3-4 on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,156 ✭✭✭afatbollix

If that car was involved in an accident after being stopped would the Gardai be open to problems? With the way the courts are here I'm sure the judge would have something to say.

The problem with this is the word IF. In the UK they wouldn't of let it set off and would of called the AA to change the tire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,675 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

can they not at the very least force you to put the spare on before leaving?

(assuming its present or even in better nick)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

So many of these incidents in Buncrana and other parts of donegal, and thats an area which supposedly has seriously stretched garda resources. Why is it that the standard of driving and maintenance is so poor up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

A micra doing 160...wonder if the guard who nailed him was questioning if his gun was accurate. 160 on the gun is about what 170 on the speedo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

A micra doing 160...wonder if the guard who nailed him was questioning if his gun was accurate. 160 on the gun is about what 170 on the speedo?

It will do it alright.
    Is it possible was 1.2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Vicxas wrote: »
    raw

On a similar and related "how to fail the attitude test Limerick style" note :
    Limerick Mother apologises for telling Garda to ‘stick car up his hole’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

On a similar and related "how to fail the attitude test Limerick style" note :
    Limerick Mother apologises for telling Garda to ‘stick car up his hole’

That is one article i shouldnt have read early monday morning after not enough sleep.
    No insurance, no valid drivers license and then getting 6 months to come up with €500 while driving a new bmw when she got caught?
    I am sure her apology was as sincere as this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

I suspect she pissed herself laughing while driving home through the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

inforfun wrote: »
    No insurance, no valid drivers license and then getting 6 months to come up with €500 while driving a new bmw when she got caught?
    I am sure her apology was as sincere as this one

Where does it say she was driving a new bmw? :pac:

Most likely she's a scrote who picked up some 15 year old clapped out 3 Series that never had any intention to insure it, the media like to put in BMW to make it seem like she was loaded.

Surprised he stopped, most bikes have their number plate hidden with the tax disc (on purpose) and no way a squad car would get anywhere near to him.
    MadYaker wrote: »

My mothers ford Ka was the first car I drove on the road, was 00 I think and I could hit a little over 90mph in it on N roads so I'm sure a newer micra could manage a bit more on a motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Unusual for a full driving ban to be lifted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

They got him at -218 which means they took the reading going away from them.They must have set up an operation further on or got him in traffic. It would be good going for a super car to catch him from a standing start.

Crazy speed at 9.30 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

tossy wrote: »

Crazy speed at 9.30 in the morning.

Must have been trying to reenact the Uppsala run !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

More like the 'up the creek' run now :D