If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

As soon as this nonsense is over and done with i will be re-follwoing this thread :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

the N25 east of cork is of very high quality as far as Midleton almost, evidenced by it's 120km/h speed limit.

The N22 Macroom road is very high quality (and partly 120km/h limited) bypassing Ballincollig to the Ballincollig roundabout where it's joins what used to be the N22 through Balincollig and links to the N40 South Ring .

The N20 approach is high quality from North of Blarney

The N27 is not too bad from Halfway into it's junction with the N40

All in all, I don't really know what you are talking about.
    The N25 east of Cork is high quality dual carraigeway for 9.7km and low quality dual carraigeway for 6km. East of there it's not fit for purpose evidenced by the daily issues around Castlemartyr and Killeagh

The N22 is decent quality for about 5km around the Ballincollig bypass. West of the Ballincollig bypass it's below Type 1 single carraigeway, very busy and not good enough for the volume of traffic. A dual carraigeway was planned along here, and was mentioned in the National Road Needs Study 1998, which proposed parts of the N6 and N9 be upgraded to a wide single carraigeway standard and a dual carriageway built along here.

The N20 approach is dual carraigeway for around 5km and single carraigeway before that. The fact that 3 people have died on the N20 between Blarney and Mallow this year and there is several accidents a week along this stretch proves it's not fit for purpose.

The N71 from Halfway to Cork is good in stretches around Ballinahassig, but has a dangerous and short dual carrigeway section and overall isn't good enough for the level of traffic it carries.

In comparison in Dublin, the M1 is motorway for 90km before turning into HQDC, the N2 is 19km of DC, the N3 has over 60km of DC, the M4/M6 is motorway for well over 70km along its length, the N7/N8/N9 is motorway/HQDC from Dublin as far as the destinations of each of the routes, and the N11 is DC as far as Wexford, much of it motorway and a stretch between Coyne's Cross and Fassaroe which is being upgraded in the near future (in planning).

All schemes around Cork bar the M28, Macroom BP and Dunkettle are suspended. There is more active in planning schemes in Dublin (N3, N4, N7 and N11 upgrades)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

Ahhh lads would ye give it a rest for Jaysus sake. Bald tyres and no tax discs is all I want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

jca wrote: »
    Ahhh lads would ye give it a rest for Jaysus sake. Bald tyres and no tax discs is all I want to see.

You need to take a walk around the garda club down Harcourt street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jca

RustyNut wrote: »
    You need to take a walk around the garda club down Harcourt street.

She pulled the cork out of the Blue Nun and I got sick all over the Rothweiler:) One of my favourite Christy tunes..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Surely a test once every 8 years or so is a good idea.
    mrsoundie wrote: »
    Re-tests are a great idea.

The Turkeys are voting for Christmas again.

Give us a feckin' break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

She pulled the cork out of the Blue Nun and I got sick all over the Rothweiler:) One of my favourite Christy tunes..

Pure poetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Here you go!

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/779037854349529088

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Cúnts like that should be made make reparations to the good folks and bad insurance companies that they are profiting from, that, or else shot with a ball of their own shíte, whichever works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,684 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

No insurance... check
    No tax... check
    No NCT... check
    Learner driver with no L-plates displayed... check

**ding-ding-ding**

Congratulations, you're a winner idiot!

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/779993905857228801

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

You'd wonder why they bothered getting the learner permit at all at that rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Did they even have a license

GDY151

Car seized for no NCT and Tax, owner never claimed the car, it was then crushed...

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/783369252967362560

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

And we all picked up the tab for the storage and processing of the car. Says a lot about the country that, and I'm assuming in this instance, there is really no follow up to recover these costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

ironclaw wrote: »
    And we all picked up the tab for the storage and processing of the car. Says a lot about the country that, and I'm assuming in this instance, there is really no follow up to recover these costs.
    I know that crushing a car makes a statement, but could that car not be sold for a small amount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

endagibson wrote: »
    I know that crushing a car makes a statement, but could that car not be sold for a small amount?

Then it'd just become a runabout to be lifted again.

Should be crushed after 30 days. Save the taxpayer a fortune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭endagibson

ED E wrote: »
    Then it'd just become a runabout to be lifted again.
    True.
    ED E wrote: »
    Should be crushed after 30 days. Save the taxpayer a fortune.
    The cost isn't being driven by whether the car is crushed or not, it's the length of time between the seizure and the action, be that crushing, selling or whatever. So the answer is to shorten that as much as is practical. In that case, I would think that 30 days is too high. 10 days should be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,742 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

GDY151

bazz26 wrote: »

Imagine going in to the winter months with tyres like that, the driver should be charged with attempted murder of their fellow motorists.

And here's another one...

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/783585662977077248

^^^^
    In that tweet it states that a FCPN was issued. Does that mean that the driver was allowed to continue driving the car? Scary if that is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭rex-x

My experience from a stint working in a tyre center in my younger days is that if you are sound with them they give you 24 hours to present new tyres to the garda station, if they are in a bad mood, you kick up etc then they lift the car :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,968 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

if politicians (aka, the legislators of the land) would spend more time and attention creating proper laws than attending funerals or writing letters to get criminals out of jail early as their ma is missing them, then you'd have laws to deal with situations like this.

The have that power, they lift it as dangerous/defective but it must then be inspected top to bottom by a psv inspector etc so they tend to try give people a chance to avoid the aggro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

rex-x wrote: »
    The have that power, they lift it as dangerous/defective but it must then be inspected top to bottom by a psv inspector etc so they tend to try give people a chance to avoid the aggro!

No they have the power to prevent you driving any further or driving a certain distance or to submit the car for testing etc, but not to actually seize the vehicle.

GDY151

Surely allowing someone to drive off with completely bald tyres is the next worst offence to letting them drive off in the car drunk?

GM228 wrote: »
    No they have the power to prevent you driving any further or driving a certain distance or to submit the car for testing etc, but not to actually seize the vehicle.

They 100% can seize the car on the spot for being dangerous/defective.