If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Just had to google dap myself ya learn something new every day !!!

Dab, Mrs MC, dab. Google "dap" and I'm guessing you'll learn about fly fishing or something more salacious:)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Dab, Mrs MC, dab. Google "dap" and I'm guessing you'll learn about fly fishing or something more salacious:)

TbL

Did see the fly fishing one but Apparently a dap is also the banging to two fists together so had visions of shay given pump fisting another player I'll have to put my glasses on reading or else it's memory loss by the time I get to the end of a paragraph !!! Back to google I'm intrigued :)

Okay got it now have learnt two new things today a dap and a dab !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Cam Newton and Dab and you'll get the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

my kids do that all the time, didn't realise it had a name!!

I must show how "cool" i am next time they do it and say "oh you're doing the Dab"!!!:rolleyes:
    See we all learn something new everyday!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

https://vimeo.com/181118448
    Dont mind dem buddy.... ur never too old to run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

:D:D Never mind a smackdown, maybe TBL and tang should have a battle instead :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Did see the fly fishing one but Apparently a dap is also the banging to two fists together so had visions of shay given pump fisting another player I'll have to put my glasses on reading or else it's memory loss by the time I get to the end of a paragraph !!! Back to google I'm intrigued :)

I know he bangs on a bit but normally his posts aren't that boring :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    :D:D Never mind a smackdown, maybe TBL and tang should have a battle instead :pac:

Yeah TbL in his Bay City Rollers suit and me in my baggy jeans and glow sticks!!!

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I know he bangs on a bit but normally his posts aren't that boring :P

No it's just old age and forgetting what I read 5 mins ago .... Who are you again !!!

Yesterday: plan called for recovery miles. Got 6 miles very easy @ 8.53 done around the pitches in Dangan. Was gonna do another evening recovery run but the body was tired, stiff and the knee was grumbling so I did 30 mins stretching and foam rolling instead.

Today: plan called for easy miles. What a day, in Costa del Connemara, we could have done with another 10 or twenty days like this during our "summer"! Headed over to Seanadh Pheistin early this morning and topped up the Bogger tan over 10 easy miles @ 8.18.

Someone recommended cryo therapy, no, it doesn't involve freezing my vital body parts to save humanity at some point in the future but rather it's supposed to help with all the niggles and aid recovery. As its only a short session I was able to squeeze this in during lunch. It simply involves standing in a plunge pool with jets in 3.5 degree water for 10 minutes! Mother of sweet Jesus it was cold, was getting a tingling sensation all along my legs and my, em, ball bag went in cardio arrest! Lasted the 10 mins and when I got out the legs looked like they'd been badly sunburned. Legs feel much better after it though and I think I'll try it more frequently.

Had to drop the young lads to GA training and decided to do another few easy miles while I was waiting for them to finish. Did laps of the pitch they were training on and after about 8 laps the young lad ran over to me and asked me to stop coz I was embarrassing him!! Told him I was cool, did a dab and kept going :)

5 miles @ 8.05

15 miles for the day.

TbL

Today the plan called for 2 mile wu/cd with 2 miles @ 6.50, 1 mile @ 6.40 and half mile @ 6.30.

Got this done over Seanadh Pheistin this morning.

Was taken aback by how hard I found the 2 miles @ 6.50, had to work hard on the second mile to get in under the targeted pace. Nearly quit!! All of a sudden I seemed to get a young lads legs and it was a whole lot easier. Had to rein in the pace considerably over the last quarter on the mile rep and I went way too fast on the half mile rep.

8.3 miles for the day.

Was tempted to do a short recovery run but decided to just chill out.

TbL

Plan today called for an easy miles double.

Mental morning meant I didn't get out so I decided to do 10 miles easy over hills after work.

Ended up with 13 hilly miles @ 7.55.

Step by step, day by day, and week by week I finally seem to be going in the right direction. I'm still not in great shape but at least I'm starting to see consistent improvement. Just need to keep it going and stay on top of the niggles and I'll have a reasonable chance of hitting my target.

TbL

Today: plan called for easy miles double.

Got 8 miles done this morning @ 8.17, didn't feel the love at all and it was very slow to start but I worked into it.

My turn to cook tonight. Parked up beside the local chipper and ordered burgers and chips for the clan, told them I'd be back in 40 minutes and I got a 4 mile nursing home special done mainly on grass around the local pitch.

12 miles for the day but I probably needed them all to burn off enough calories for my haute cuisine :)

TbL

Yesterday: plan called for 20 mins easy. Kept putting this off and eventually got nothing done!

Today: plan called for the Charleville HM. Was up very early to drive down for this, wet and windy when leaving the West. Got there good and early collected my number and was heading back to the car park when I banged into AULDBOT. We compared niggles and did a bit of general moaning & groaning before heading off on a short warm up jog. Started to drizzle and the Dublin softie covered his head with a bin liner, bring out the Gymp, all he needed was a ball gag and I was gettin seriously concerned, was he trying to snuggle up to me under a tree before the start!!

Said hello to Hot Buttered Scones (well done, great time) and AULDBOT and I lined up at the start. Was leading AULDBOT for the first 0.28 miles before I decided to let him go :). I'd planned on staying with the sub 90 pacers for the first 3 miles until I worked my way into it. That plan went up in flames as the 90 min pacers seemed to be on crystal meth, they did the first mile around 6.22 pace. Gotta say it was appalling pacing and I let them go and pulled the second mile right back. I eventually passed the first sub 90 pacer around the 6 mile mark, (told him I thought he was way off pace) and many runners seemed to have been burned off, he'd only one or two still with him. The second sub 90 pacer was still way ahead and out of sight!

Think I hit half way around 44.02 and was happy with that, as I was feeling ok. No one had passed me since about mile 3 and I just concentrated on catching runners up ahead. It wasn't that I was picking up the pace, more so that they were coming back to me. Was happy to bash out 6.4x miles to the finish and I felt fairly ok till about mile 11 when I felt the strength start to drain a bit. The last mile had a bit of a drag and was into a slight headwind and I struggled a bit here, 3 or 4 runners passed me and I didn't really have the motivation to respond. Stopped the watch at 1.27:59.

I'll take that happily today (I would have taken a sub 90) and was happy enough that I wasn't in a heap at the finish, and hopefully no new niggles to contend with. With 10 weeks to SS and some strength returning I've given myself a platform to build on.

Met AULDBOT at the finish for a ham sambo and cuppa, he'd a great run finishing comfortably with a PB. We headed to the Charleville Park Hotel for a swim and a shower. Just as well AULDBOT's a half decent runner, he'd never make a triathlete if his "drowning dog" swimming technique is anything to go by :)

Headed off to the airport as I'm in London tonight and tomorrow.

69.2 miles for the week.

Splits:

5.57 (for the bit)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done!! Glad you had a good race :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Well done. Nice to put a face to the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice going. But jaysus, ham sambos, tea, a swim and a shower and Auldbot is still home in time for the match? That's impressive driving, never mind the running. Keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That's a solid run. Good work on keeping the pace. Looking good for SS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Very solid C - keep the good work up and don't let it go to waste !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭ger664

Well done C pity Stoke arent going as good as your running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Impressive running scan...
    But that first split, you should know better :D:D

The progression along this cycle is very consistent... Wasn't so long ago and you were struggling to hit sub 20 5k...
    Since then you've been getting stuck in, and even with a heavy work/travel load, you have put in very consistent training/mileage....

I think this is your time......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Your official chip time was 1:27:57. Good solid run and with 10 weeks to go it should give you a nice confidence boost and focus to keep up the good work.

As always good to catch up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Nicely done. Lovely even splits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

well paced, good job dropping pacers, could have been a disaster. Us less experience fellow may have held on for dear life:)

Nice running :)

Yesterday: Head was a bit all over the place after Sunday's half, didn't want to run at all. No interest in doing a cool down run with AULDBOT, I'll do a recovery run when I get to the hotel later. At the hotel I told myself I deserved the night off and I'd run early in the morning, in the morning I rolled over convincing myself that I'd benefit more from the rest. Was pissed off most of yesterday coz this has happened to me before and a bit of complacency turned into a full scale rut. Decided that no matter what I needed to get a few miles in. Drove from the airport and got into Galway around 11.00pm, parked up at the Salthill hotel and got a 5 miles nursing home special done @ 9.58. Was surprised by the state of the legs, not too bad!

Today: plan called for easy miles, got 8 miles done around Barna in the morning @ 8.43 and another 5 @ 8.24 around the grass pitches while the young lads were training.

McMillan predicts a 3.05 marathon off a 1.27.57 half and that would give me around a 40 second PB.

Still feel if I can keep it all together that I can do better than that. I'm not very fast but when I'm strong I can bash out the PMP miles fairly consistently.

13 miles for the day.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Yesterday: Head was a bit all over the place after Sunday's half, didn't want to run at all. No interest in doing a cool down run with AULDBOT, I'll do a recovery run when I get to the hotel later. At the hotel I told myself I deserved the night off and I'd run early in the morning, in the morning I rolled over convincing myself that I'd benefit more from the rest. Was pissed off most of yesterday coz this has happened to me before and a bit of complacency turned into a full scale rut. Decided that no matter what I needed to get a few miles in. Drove from the airport and got into Galway around 11.00pm, parked up at the Salthill hotel and got a 5 miles nursing home special done @ 9.58. Was surprised by the state of the legs, not too bad!

Today: plan called for easy miles, got 8 miles done around Barna in the morning @ 8.43 and another 5 @ 8.24 around the grass pitches while the young lads were training.

McMillan predicts a 3.05 marathon off a 1.27.57 half and that would give me around a 40 second PB.

Still feel if I can keep it all together that I can do better than that. I'm not very fast but when I'm strong I can bash out the PMP miles fairly consistently.

13 miles for the day.

TbL

I'd take that McMillan prediction with a pinch of salt (as always), plenty of work left to do between now and the big day anyway and if you stay consistent you'll surely hit your target ....don't let an online, generic calculator limit your ambitions !

Today: plan called for easy miles.

Out in a Connemara monsoon this morning, rain was bouncing of the ground, pity I wasn't, bit of a plod, 10 miles @ 8.04

Stopped off at Seanadh Pheistin after work and got a very easy run over the hills, 6 @ 8.33.

16 miles for the day

TbL