If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Rio 2016 Olympics Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭CFlat

Congratulations Evans. Really,really enjoyed that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭SebastianT

Jaysus, that shirt off was unexpected. :pac:

Well done, Scott!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Is the German high up the rankings?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Think the commentator said 14th? And Evans in the 70s. German was seeded anyway.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 59 ✭✭SebastianT

14th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

Excellent match from Evans. Took a lot of effort to come back after that first set. The German was just giving away points in the last set. Hopefully we'll get another great match from Magee later tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Disgrace. If she was smarter she would've paced herself. Going to be under some amount of scrutiny now

She nearly broke the 5000m record in June so she obviously has pedigree. The fact she's Ethiopian makes me think it could be not doping related but that could be naive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

She nearly broke the 5000m record in June so she obviously has pedigree. The fact she's Ethiopian makes me think it could be not doping related but that could be naive
    She? are we sure?

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Sonia sour puss

Jesus, that is an ignorant and stupid comment to make. Sonia had to suffer drug cheats robbing her of medals and well deserved glory throughout her whole career. She never moaned or complained. She was incredibly sporting and is a true heroine of Irish Athletics (and sport) - probably our best track athlete in our entire history.
    Go away with your keyboard bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

The German just packed it in :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Sonia O'Sullivan retired achieving ALOT and left the scene with nothing left to prove. She achieved everything that she could and unlike others, reached her potential!. World and European Champion, was not fit in Atlanta 1996 but was going in as World Champ, poor girl got pilloried by the public. She silver at the later stage of her career in 2000. She is a bone fide sporting hero!

Anyone who says anything negative about her career is an idiot.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'm still pumped from that win :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Sonia O'Sullivan retired achieving ALOT and left the scene with nothing left to prove. She achieved everything that she could and unlike others, reached her potential!. World and European Champion, was not fit in Atlanta 1996 but was going in as World Champ, poor girl got pilloried by the public. She silver at the later stage of her career in 2000. She is a bone fide sporting hero!

Anyone who says anything negative about her career is an idiot.

Would have had so much more without the drug cheats. Remember the 3 Chinese who beat her into 4th? No one had ever heard of them before. More drugs in them than Charley Sheen on a Saturday Night in Vegas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭taytobreath

those 2 cork lads come across as real nice salt of the earth type people. Im realy happy for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Choochtown

bnt wrote: »
    A bit of maths: a 14 seconds improvement on the old 10,000m record (29:31) is an improvement of just under 0.8%. Imagine the same thing happening in 100m: a 0.8 improvement on 10 seconds would be 8/100 seconds, which is not all that much.

"14 seconds!" sounds amazing, but over a 30 minute race, if you do the maths, there's no call to be accusing her of anything, in my opinion.

Disagree very strongly with this.

Usain Bolt's world record for 100m is 9.58 seconds.

If another athlete runs 9.50 seconds or below at these games, questions will be asked of them and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

mansize wrote: »
    Christ this thread is in bits

I've said it once before in this thread and I'll say it again - that was a nice thread we once had. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

Murray pulled through well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭Choochtown

LorMal wrote: »
    Would have had so much more without the drug cheats. Remember the 3 Chinese who beat her into 4th? No one had ever heard of them before. More drugs in them than Charley Sheen on a Saturday Night in Vegas.

Agreed! Sonia also lost out on an Olympic Gold medal to Szabo of Romania whose car was subsequently found when stopped to be carrying a performance enhancing substance (Actovegin which is a derivative of calf serum used to increase the oxygen-carrying capacity of blood)

Remove the cheats and Sonia would be remembered worldwide as one of the greatest ever female distance runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

Her mistake was not doing 5000m to "warm up" for that.

I don't believe it. I want to but she isn't the first Ethiopian so she beat all them by 15 seconds. Remember this isn't just beating someone by 15 seconds it is the fastest time ever beaten by 15 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Would have had so much more without the drug cheats.

Thats all on the assumption that she was clean. Which she may have been.
    But, track and field athletes of that era. Successful ones. Medal winners at major champoionships beaten only by know drug cheats. Well. Maybe she would have won more. But also maybe less, who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Elliott S wrote: »
    I've said it once before in this thread and I'll say it again - that was a nice thread we once had. :(

It is still a good thread, always going to be a few annoying neighbours dropping by to talk cr$p but overall I find this thread has kept a decent flow the last week! A bit of debate isn't any harm, once it is related to the the Olympics (and not Paddy Barnes tweets!) ,

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

In the 10k race did any of the Beeb commentators mention anything suspicious ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Christy42 wrote: »
    Her mistake was not doing 5000m to "warm up" for that.

I don't believe it. I want to but she isn't the first Ethiopian so she beat all them by 15 seconds. Remember this isn't just beating someone by 15 seconds it is the fastest time ever beaten by 15 seconds.

The fastest time ever, which was itself very questionable, given it was Jungxia who set it.

Sonia was remarkably restrained. Jungxia who held the record til today robbed her of a World Title in 93.

If it looks too good to be true then it probably is...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

ahlookit wrote: »

If it looks too good to be true then it probably is...

Really hope Bolt is the exception to this and is just genetically a freak! If it ever comes out he's doping I don't think I'd be able to watch the 100m again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭ahlookit

pc7 wrote: »
    Really hope Bolt is the exception to this and is just genetically a freak! If it ever comes out he's doping I don't think I'd be able to watch the 100m again

you're not the only one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

pc7 wrote: »

I genuinely think it would kill athletics if he was dirty. I think he is just a freak though. He must spend half his time pissing into cups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

For shame.

Egyptian Judoka refuses to shake hands after his defeat to his Israeli opponent.

Not even a bow, someone doesn't understand Judo & respect on the tatami.

A positive is that the Egyptian actually fought an Israeli this time.

I've said it before and I'll say it again - I'd hate to be an ordinary Israeli citizen, you'd just get treated as a pariah by so many people. The amount of otherwise rational people I know who practically spit blood at the mention of anything or anyone Israeli.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

maudgonner wrote: »
    Don't you mean whiff whaff? :) Yeah I saw some last night.

I saw a piece this morning about a Polish player, Natalie Partyka who was born without a right hand and is competing in both the Paralympics and Olympics. Hope she does well.

Hopefully she resists the temptation to shoot somebody in the next few months as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Jesus, that is an ignorant and stupid comment to make. Sonia had to suffer drug cheats robbing her of medals and well deserved glory throughout her whole career. She never moaned or complained. She was incredibly sporting and is a true heroine of Irish Athletics (and sport) - probably our best track athlete in our entire history.
    Go away with your keyboard bull****.

Did the Chinese girls ever test positive for drugs? Or anyone who ran against Sonia?

As far as I know those girls had to endure inhumane training practices for years prior to 1993 including having german shepherds set on them and the occasional beating. They were the first group under the coach Ma Junren. They were given antler soup daily and deer blood and venison. It probably was possible for them to do what they did without having PED's.