If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Rio 2016 Olympics Megathread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

I don't think Rory, with all his money and majors and fiancée was all that bothered by it all, to be honest. Why would he be?

I just think "affairs of the heart" should not be mocked like that . We don't know what happened, a miscarriage, infidelity , anything that could put strain on a relationship.

Whatever about the Ricky Fowler one, the wozniacki one in my opinion was not cool.

I wouldn't pose for a pic with a mates ex and send it to him saying " we make a nice couple". And I certainly wouldn't put it on Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Christy42 wrote: »
    Well I think a large part of the doping is so you can get the attention. No point in doping to come 4th. Even a good time helps her as it would bring advertising money afterwards.

Didn't see the race and have 0 knowledge of the athlete so I have no idea if she is clean or not!

Clearly the message here is that you shouldn't dope and smash the World record by 15 seconds because it puts huge attention on you, just dope and come 1st in a comfortable time and happy days.

And just in the interest of balance , I ain't a Rory fan whatsoever . I find him surly . But the wozniacki tweet . In poor taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,835 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

What does money or majors have to do with it? He was personally mocked in public. Of course that's going to affect someone.

It affects someone if they care.

Maybe he thinks it's meant as a joke and not malicious or maybe he really just doesn't care because Paddy Barnes doesn't register.

It was a big deal here but it probably isn't where McIlroy is.

I just think he wasn't likely to be as bothered as a lot of people seem to be on his behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

Augme wrote: »
    Clearly the message here is that you shouldn't dope and smash the World record by 15 seconds because it puts huge attention on you, just dope and come 1st in a comfortable time and happy days.

Possibly over done but would the winner of the women's 10k get much in advertising revenue without a WR?

Possibly 15 seconds is over egging it but that can be hard to judge (she can't just stop for 10 seconds at the finish line without looking very dodgy). How hard is it to judge your pace that well over 10k as I have no idea.

Maybe she feels confident she has the tests beat (or isn't doping I should add).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

The comms on BBC clearly favour Ennis Hill over Johnson Thompson..

Bit odd when they both represent GB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

FA Hayek wrote: »
    Ah see this is the reason why the rest of the world cannot respect Kiwi Supporters. Bad Winners and very bad losers. I can respect the likes of McCaw, Carter et al, they carry themselves around with a bit of respect but Kiwi fans are some of the most pig ignorant deluded narcissistic fools you will ever meet when it comes to sport and especially rugby. Odd because in general day to day life they are ok but when it comes to sport, its Dr. Jekyll Mr. Hyde stuff.

Not sure what all those video's proof by the way. It is not exactly that the Kiwi's are all gold and that their ****e smells of roses.

Congrats to the West Cork boys.

Right I have to jump in here. I'm a kiwi and a mad sports fan. And...... you're right. We can be obnoxious ****wits at times especially round the rugby.

In regards to the poster (NMS) who is pissing you and a few other off., I don't think he's from NZ. In another thread he claimed they drive on the right in NZ. He's probably never even been to the country.

Now this year's sheepshagging championship is actually in Waikikamukau not Invergiggle.

NMS, you did refer to GB as England. Several times I called you on it. So stop lying. And who gives a **** about fights and dirty play from old matches. Just try to enjoy the Games.

Finally, well done to those Cork boys. Great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

That dressage horse is beautiful (Judy Reynolds' horse).

I know the sport gets relentlessly mocked but I think it's amazing to see what they can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,197 ✭✭✭✭bnt

A bit of maths: a 14 seconds improvement on the old 10,000m record (29:31) is an improvement of just under 0.8%. Imagine the same thing happening in 100m: a 0.8 improvement on 10 seconds would be 8/100 seconds, which is not all that much.

"14 seconds!" sounds amazing, but over a 30 minute race, if you do the maths, there's no call to be accusing her of anything, in my opinion.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

bnt wrote: »
    A bit of maths: a 14 seconds improvement on the old 10,000m record (29:31) is an improvement of just under 0.8%. Imagine the same thing happening in 100m: a 0.8 improvement on 10 seconds would be 8/100 seconds, which is not all that much.

"14 seconds!" sounds amazing, but over a 30 minute race, if you do the maths, there's no call to be accusing her of anything, in my opinion.

But the old record is under suspicion. So judging it against that isn't much use. That's what O'Sullivan and others were pointing out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Maybe he thinks it's meant as a joke and not malicious or maybe he really just doesn't care because Paddy Barnes doesn't register.

I just think he wasn't likely to be as bothered as a lot of people seem to be on his behalf.

Bringing Wozniacki into it was the issue most people took issue with. Barnes overstepped the mark there a bit, not maliciously so but he got a bit carried away. We all thought it was a good laugh, but he probably knew he or even she wouldnt find it so! I dont think Rory or Wozniaki have spoken since he called off the engagement by a text. The rest was good natured banter,

. And this is from someone who thinks it is pathetic nonsense bringing the whole tweeting aspect into assessing his performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

You could be right. Maybe he doesn't care. If it was me I would care but I also wouldn't show that publicly.

But for me, the main thing is that the boxer that put that on twitter appears to have no class and no respect for anyone if it means getting some attention for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Some good high jumping going on

Augme wrote: »
    She did say what she wanted to say though. She doesn't seem very good at expressing herself properly for TV. I don't think it was just the content.

No way did she say what she really wanted. She was gritting her teeth and holding back a lot there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Delboy2015

Some good high jumping going on

Two Brits are jumping brilliantly

You could be right. Maybe he doesn't care. If it was me I would care but I also wouldn't show that publicly.

But for me, the main thing is that the boxer that put that on twitter appears to have no class and no respect for anyone if it means getting some attention for himself.

another point by ken early and its a valid one - did caroline know what the pic would be used for before she posed for it? she was also fodder in this banter if it wasn't consensual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

LorMal wrote: »
    BBC are so excited and pleased for us. If only we would be as gracious when their sportspeople win.

Meh, every country has their rivals, including the UK! And it's nearly always for silly historical reason. :)

Someone suggested he must hate Rory and he replied that he didn't and he was just bored. Maybe he'll regret it and maybe he won't.

But McIlroy has 4 Majors and is one of the best players in the game, current form notwithstanding. Paddy Barnes probably barely registers on his radar. I doubt Rory follows Joe.ie.

If I put myself in Rory's boots, over in the US, and I don't have everyone around me talking about the 'slagging' Paddy Barnes is giving Rory, I wouldn't give a flying.

Rory and Karoline Wozniaki. Soooooooooooo last year!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Good attitude to have, they're not content with the runner up position. They have a winning mentality.

I admire that in an athlete, never settle for second best.

Me too, that's where gold medallists come from.

Annalise Race Cancelled :( Had just started

Wind is awful

https://twitter.com/Annalise_Murphy/with_replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The same people condoning Paddy Barnes actions on twitter are probably the same people who thought the "insights" given by the Irish rugby team on Instagram etc. (Paddy Jackson in particular) during the last WC were hilarious.

The way I see it, both parties took their eye of the ball on the biggest stage of all. Immersing themselves in social media interaction when they should have been entirely focused on an event that comes around once every four years. And they both ultimately failed.

Make out of that what you will.

Bringing Wozniacki into it was the issue most people took issue with. Barnes overstepped the mark there a bit, not maliciously so but he got a bit carried away. We all thought it was a good laugh, but he probably knew he or even she wouldnt find it so! I dont think Rory or Wozniaki have spoken since he called off the engagement by a text. The rest was good natured banter,

. And this is from someone who thinks it is pathetic nonsense bringing the whole tweeting aspect into assessing his performance

Don't disagree with most of that. I just don't think it would have overly bothered McIlroy.

Anyway, back to d'lympics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Delboy2015 wrote: »
    Just when the lads were greeting the BBC supporters "we'll have to be careful what we say to these lads"

did they drop a few F bombs with RTE yesterday?

You would think RTE would be straight onto that Analise race abandonment story. Shoddy stuff

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,335 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

The way I see it, both parties took their eye of the ball on the biggest stage of all. Immersing themselves in social media interaction when they should have been entirely focused on an event that comes around once every four years. And they both ultimately failed.

Make out of that what you will.

He won a medal 4 years ago fooling about on Twitter so don't feel that argument stands.

Yeah_Right wrote: »

NMS, you did refer to GB as England. Several times I called you on it. So stop lying. t

in post 181 in rugby forum rio thread i call them team gb .

admittedly i call them england a few times after that.

I've subsequently seen you pulling me up on it at 1029pm in post 349.

i don't see the "several" times I've been called on it. correct me if I'm wrong.

the " i wrote team GB " i was referring to was in this thread.

as a lateral aside. the sacred cow o donovan brothers in their interview after second last race joked that " with the year thats in it its great to beat britain".
    wales and scotland were anti brexit , so they are ****ting on the other two nations or like me did they make an admittedly natural mistake in confusing the GB team with england inc.

if they can be forgiven , than so should I.

the driving on other side of the road remark was a figure of speech tied into filthy lucre being acquired by poached players and a slip that has cost me my credibility to this day.

the sheep shagging championships are uncharictaristiclly on in horowhenua kapiti this year FYI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

fryup wrote: »
    did they drop a few F bombs with RTE yesterday?

They ended their RTE interview with "Tiocfaidh ár lá" moments before the BBC one.

pc7 wrote: »
    He won a medal 4 years ago fooling about on Twitter so don't feel that argument stands.

he didn't lose because of twitter. it takes a few seconds to send a tweet.

but he deserved to be pulled up on the caroline pic or ( what id have liked to seen) rory to eviscerate him in a digital retaliation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris